Road Tripping T&T

Nexus

Road Tripping T&T

Postby Nexus » December 30th, 2015, 9:44 am

Ever wanted to take a trek through somewhere but not sure the conditions of the road or even if its worth it?
Well been thinking of making a journey this weekend down Cumuto, Coryal, Tamana and come out Montrose via Todds road. However I have no idea the conditions of the roads if my car capable.
Thought this would be a platform for other Tuners to contribute, share their experiences and even help others learn about some of our interesting places.

Re: Road Tripping T&T

Postby BrotherHood » December 30th, 2015, 9:59 am

If coming through from Cumuto side, the road is good until about the Quick Shop after Cumuto junction. After that it is a mess. Never passed on the other side to get into Coryal but I heard from locals that the road is in much better condition physically, although there is not any good lighting. So if you must come from that side, do so in the day or have a very efficient headlamp and bulb lighting system.

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2015, 10:02 am

the road from Coalmine to Biche is bad but u can take your time and go with a car...from Biche to Plum Mitan, right through to Tabaquite is pretty decent. Cumoto is getting bad but again, if you take your time, it should be ok...can't say for Tamana and Todds road tho.....
A nice drive is from manzan to Tabaquite via Plum Mitan...nice twisty roads until Plum Mitan, not many bad spots to navigate, beautiful countryside

Postby Habit7 » December 30th, 2015, 10:04 am

MG Man wrote:A nice drive is from manzan to Tabaquite via Plum Mitan...nice twisty roads until Plum Mitan, not many bad spots to navigate, beautiful countryside

I did this recently and I was pleasantly surprised. Really nice drive.

Postby rspann » December 30th, 2015, 10:33 am

A nice drive is to go through Park st. Morvant, go over Red Hill till you reach Laventille Rd. Keep driving till you get shot, or till you reach Picaddilly st. East Dry River.

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2015, 10:49 am

OP best to tour those roads with a trail bike or mountain biking.

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2015, 10:49 am

Habit7 wrote:
MG Man wrote:A nice drive is from manzan to Tabaquite via Plum Mitan...nice twisty roads until Plum Mitan, not many bad spots to navigate, beautiful countryside

I did this recently and I was pleasantly surprised. Really nice drive.

Jah bless PP Roads

NotYetNamed

Postby NotYetNamed » December 30th, 2015, 10:51 am

I'm glad someone created this thread, I'm constantly looking for places to drive and adventure.. Subscribing. :grin:

Postby j.o.e » December 30th, 2015, 10:52 am

rspann wrote:A nice drive is to go through Park st. Morvant, go over Red Hill till you reach Laventille Rd. Keep driving till you get shot, or till you reach Picaddilly st. East Dry River.

Yup. Very thrilling drive, lots of excitement ... Best done at night

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2015, 10:52 am

NotYetNamed wrote:I'm glad someone created this thread, I'm constantly looking for places to drive and adventure.. Subscribing. :grin:

Buy a Trin map and just drive, best to use a 4x4 or trail bike

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2015, 11:06 am

zoom rader wrote:OP best to tour those roads with a trail bike or mountain biking.

nope nope nope
nobody expects a cyclist on those roads.....you gonna get lick dong
Also, full sized PTCS busses run from Manzan to Plum Mitan, up till late evening, so don't be tempted to pelt round those bends because the roads seem empty
Plum Mitan to Grande via Coalmine is a nice night drive, if you have a pickup (or very carefully with a car)....not many street lights and it makes the forest all the more amazing to drive through

Postby SMc » December 30th, 2015, 12:37 pm

MG Man wrote:the road from Coalmine to Biche is bad but u can take your time and go with a car...from Biche to Plum Mitan, right through to Tabaquite is pretty decent. Cumoto is getting bad but again, if you take your time, it should be ok...can't say for Tamana and Todds road tho.....
A nice drive is from manzan to Tabaquite via Plum Mitan...nice twisty roads until Plum Mitan, not many bad spots to navigate, beautiful countryside

Ive done that drive in both an Xtrail and a BJ 323 without issues, though the Xtrail with the higher clearance and bigger tyers was more forgiving.

Another nice (but fairly short drive) is if you on your way to Maracas via Maraval make a detour through Paramin along the Saut D'eau rd<->Fond Pois Doux rd , a nice drive I have done in the same BJ 323 and a L200 on another occasion.

Blanshisseuse rd from the North Coast to Arima is always a nice drive but the box drains nearer the Arima end of the drive spoils the scenery and really don't do sheit to stop the occasional landslides.

Postby BrotherHood » December 30th, 2015, 1:00 pm

rspann wrote:A nice drive is to go through Park st. Morvant, go over Red Hill till you reach Laventille Rd. Keep driving till you get shot, or till you reach Picaddilly st. East Dry River.

I have a better one.
Turn off at Old St. Joseph road on the EMR. Drive until Erica Street and make a left. Go up into Prizgar lands and then take the connecting road back into Paradise Heights. Proceed North on Lady Young Avenue up until Matapal Street. Make first right in Matapal Street and go up in Pelican Extension.

Nexus

Postby Nexus » December 30th, 2015, 2:22 pm

Thanks fellas,
Ive done the route thru plum mitan and biche, was pleasantly surprised about the condition of the roads. That was about 3 years ago
The Arima to Blanch road i went pass about a two months ago, bad in some parts but the fixing it, very very slowly though.
I never really route through the central range and parts like el quemado and thing. Might still check out the Coryal and Tamana trek weekend.

Yea this thread is more to get other users advice on road conditions, things to do, maybe parlours to stop by etc

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 30th, 2015, 2:36 pm

Living sangre chiquito is road trip enough

Postby rollingstock » December 30th, 2015, 2:48 pm

BrotherHood wrote:

I have a better one.
Turn off at Old St. Joseph road on the EMR. Drive until Erica Street and make a left. Go up into Prizgar lands and then take the connecting road back into Paradise Heights. Proceed North on Lady Young Avenue up until Matapal Street. Make first right in Matapal Street and go up in Pelican Extension.

Allyuh making me feel like I in work yes.

A nice drive is through woodland, San francique, avoiding the creek to Fyzabad and a nice midnight cruise through forest reserve, dimmer yuh bulbs the better.

Nexus

Postby Nexus » December 30th, 2015, 3:33 pm

^ Nicer drive is from Tabaquite to Rio in the night.... the blackest black

Ruff

Postby Ruff » December 30th, 2015, 3:46 pm

Nexus wrote:^ Nicer ride is from Tabaquite to Rio in the night.... the blackest black

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » December 30th, 2015, 4:20 pm

I've done the Arima to Las Cuevas and the road was too rough to enjoy but there were moments of beautiful scenery. I've done Grande-manzan-Ptown at night which was lovely. Also did Grande-Biche-Tabaquite at day and night amd.it was aite, not bad but no real wow moments. Recently went to the Lighthouse at night which was a really nice drive and we made a few stops alomg the way. I'm from south so basically getting to trincity is roadtrip enough.

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2015, 5:02 pm

Good route is from Penal through Rock Road then on to the Moruga Road to Princess town.

Postby DVSTT » December 31st, 2015, 1:15 am

Subscribed.

Postby rollingstock » December 31st, 2015, 3:03 am

M2 ring road, Cortina ghia, straight six from commodore, 4fwd, smooth ass BF's, heavy rain and cane trash and ashes on the road.

The day my balls dropped.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 31st, 2015, 8:01 am

Nexus wrote:. . .Well been thinking of making a journey this weekend down Cumuto, Coryal, Tamana and come out Montrose via Todds road. However I have no idea the conditions of the roads if my car capable.
Thought this would be a platform for other Tuners to contribute, share their experiences and even help others learn about some of our interesting places.

I made the run from Tamana to Montrose via Todds Road a couple months ago. You can do it with a normal car, just take your time in certain areas.

A nice run was from Rio Claro to Montrose through Tabaquite, Brasso and Caparo. I found the scenery through Brasso in the evening to be very beautiful.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 31st, 2015, 8:14 am

zoom rader wrote:Good route is from Penal through Rock Road then on to the Moruga Road to Princess town.

What's the condition of Edwards Trace? Used to make Guayaguayare to Moruga in 30 minutes through Edwards Trace when they were laying the first pipeline for Train 1 of ALNG.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 31st, 2015, 8:17 am

zoom rader wrote:Jah bless PP Roads

Go check out Sisters Road in Suruj's own constituency. His two favourite contractors re-constructed that road less than a year ago and as of yesterday, it is almost impassible. Suruj pave over the road for elections without fixing the landslips. Now there are about five or six major landslips, one taking up almost the entire width of the road. Yes boy ZR, Jah bless PP roads.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 31st, 2015, 8:19 am

I want to try this run with a 4x4 in the dry season next year.

Postby zoom rader » January 1st, 2016, 5:26 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Good route is from Penal through Rock Road then on to the Moruga Road to Princess town.

What's the condition of Edwards Trace? Used to make Guayaguayare to Moruga in 30 minutes through Edwards Trace when they were laying the first pipeline for Train 1 of ALNG.

Used that road about 2 years ago, u need 4x4.

Postby rspann » January 1st, 2016, 7:35 am

Go through Mamoral to Mundo Nuevo, bad but easily passable with a car,nice scenery.Also when you reach Flanagin junction turn left,go to Mary Ayoung rd and over the hill to Brasso Venado,you can also go through Brasso Venado and reach Tabaquite by Navet dam.

Postby Morpheus » January 1st, 2016, 8:41 pm

Made this drive last September. East/West Corridor to Grande, down to Mayaro, Guayaguayare. Back up to Mayaro and across through Tabaquite to Sando. Further south to the "new highway", then straight up the highway back to the East/West corridor. Took around 6 hours.

Birthday Drive.jpg

Postby Morpheus » January 1st, 2016, 8:42 pm

Did North Coast to Arima once. Worse impulse move ever. LoL. TEIN lowering springs is not for that! LoL