What would you do?

bluesclues

What would you do?

Postby bluesclues » December 29th, 2015, 1:01 pm

having trouble making a decision. been working for myself for years now. i dropped out of local employment search years ago unsatisfied with the compensation i was getting for the amount of work and time i was giving to local companies. that and working in england for a couple years where they paid me 10x any job in trinidad may have spoiled me a bit. i really could no longer accept a substandard paygrade considering the quality of service i provided. only in england seemed to really value me and promote me through the ranks very quickly.

either way. i havent applied for a job in 10 yrs. funny enough, i got a call for a job recently. which is actually offering me a reasonable salary. but i am already able to make that money on my own by 12pm lunchtime everyday and i have the whole rest of the day to myself.

can anyone convince me why accepting a job for a local corporation is better than working for myself?

i can take day offs when i want. i have time and enough money to get absolutely anything i need. but i already have all my needs. the question has been with me all christmas and i feel i may just turn down the job offer.

there are some pluses to working for a local company over working for urself. but is it really worth it to trade out from working 6 to 12 at home.. for a 9-5 in pos? i am from arima. and i know when i was younger i would jump at the opportunity. but now i feel really secure in my financial future i really dont need the job. so why should i take it?

anyone?
Last edited by bluesclues on December 29th, 2015, 1:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: What would you do?

Postby SMc » December 29th, 2015, 1:10 pm

Why not work a few more hours at home everyday, put aside the extra and retire a lot earlier?

I work for a multinational, and I have to admit they are quite flexible with days off, hours etc, I do find myself working within my free/off time and I were working for myself that would have translated into additional earnings (which it does not now as I am on a salary).

Choice is yours, only you know your real situation and what suits you best so it hadda be your decision at the end of the day.

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » December 29th, 2015, 1:19 pm

What field are you in?
Sounds like you are well qualified and experienced and have a good reputation in the UK
Have you considered to continue working abroad, if they are paying that much better and you have a better standard of life?

A 9 to 5 is not 9 to 5 when you add time in traffic

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » December 29th, 2015, 1:21 pm

You have to consider what the real benefit of going back to work for someone else would be. Steady paycheck? Experience?

I know people who tried to make the jump from self employed after several years and make the switch so they could get a pay check to access mortgages etc. They were miserable at the decision, but stuck with it for the perks.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 29th, 2015, 1:24 pm

SMc wrote:Why not work a few more hours at home everyday, put aside the extra and retire a lot earlier?

I work for a multinational, and I have to admit they are quite flexible with days off, hours etc, I do find myself working within my free/off time and I were working for myself that would have translated into additional earnings (which it does not now as I am on a salary).

Choice is yours, only you know your real situation and what suits you best so it hadda be your decision at the end of the day.

this is exactly what i was thinking. and some days i do work a little extra hrs to stretch my income and increase my daily savings rate. but most days as it is now after 12 i am ducking clients till the next day lol. chilling at home. watching tv. playing videogames. studying whatever i want to do with my time. and i value that greatly. for me it is a very high, stress free quality of life. and thats what ive always aimed to build my life on. having time for family etc etc.

i consider working for them for 1-3 yrs but they say that i cant leave and will have to pay the company back for any training they gave me during that time and stuff. i dunno its just so confusing. everything good and then out of the blue i get this fonecall and being sold a job. dont even know how they got my resume.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 29th, 2015, 1:38 pm

fallen_angel wrote:What field are you in?
Sounds like you are well qualified and experienced and have a good reputation in the UK
Have you considered to continue working abroad, if they are paying that much better and you have a better standard of life?

A 9 to 5 is not 9 to 5 when you add time in traffic

IT. i work in environments requiring security clearance and stuff in uk. got promoted to managerial position within 9 months of being there. then right after that graduated into energy and financial sectors.

skills and experience i have tonnes. qualifications... not so much. i just perform very well wherever they put me because i study and practice diligently on my own.

yeah uk was great and i always think about going back. but i also think about it from the perspective of abandoning my country. i want to contribute, but i dont want to feel cheated or exploited as i have been to some extent since i came back. when i was in uk i never got to work a day late. and worked overtime everyday i could get it cleared. they paid well.. i gave them 110%

Postby rollingstock » December 29th, 2015, 3:28 pm

Bullsheit!
If you were really doing that good you wouldn't be asking these questions, and especially here.

So I'll be the one to say it.

STOP FRONTING!

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » December 29th, 2015, 3:39 pm

the thing is when trinis in trinidad they seldom give 110% in a job, even if they do it in the start the momentum is lost soon after, untill they end up giving ~25%

its a tough cycle, but if you are ok outside, realistically it probably better to work there and come home when you ready to retire.

runnin business isnt easy, if it was you wouldnt be contemplating taking a 9-5 again, business is risk, working for someone means after 5 u cud walk away and not care, you have no liability, and u cud get a loan with a job letter
Last edited by fallen_angel on December 29th, 2015, 4:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » December 29th, 2015, 3:39 pm

rollingstock wrote:Bullsheit!
If you were really doing that good you wouldn't be asking these questions, and especially here.

STOP FRONTING!

Lmao!!!

Same thing I was thinking.
Imagine I'm so secure but I have to come on one of the most controversial forums for advice.

You should be handing out advice with all the qualifications and Xp you have.

#bluesclueless

Postby Spitfir3 » December 29th, 2015, 4:03 pm

sounds like you need a dog

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 29th, 2015, 5:10 pm

STOP FRONTING!

i dont front padna. im very good at what i do. i was one of the first it techsa in trinidad as a child since the days of windows 3.1.

i am asking because it is a good opportunity. i cant deny that. its the conflict. i always wanted a job that paid a reasonable/fair wage for the skills they require of me since i came back trinidad. i wasnt getting that after 6 years to local companies, so dropped out to fare my way on my own. but now that im doing well for myself its just hard to make the decision.

i just wanted some feedback from ppl who may have faced similar situations, their choice and how it came out. i believe in entrepeneurship tho so most likely and the way i feeling now i may opt out.

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2015, 6:13 pm

ganeshlalchan wrote:

STOP FRONTING!

Lmao!!!

Same thing I was thinking.
Imagine I'm so secure but I have to come on one of the most controversial forums for advice.

You should be handing out advice with all the qualifications and Xp you have.

#bluesclueless

Ent he was kamla advisor too?

If he make 50 different thread is 50 different jobs he do. I remember when he now join he was a car audio installer for years and resides in Siparia.

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » December 29th, 2015, 6:15 pm

D man talented...maybe that is y foreign runnin him down so much...

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » December 29th, 2015, 6:19 pm

Why did you leave your UK job BC? Given that they were paying you so much? Was it the taxes over there?

BTW is this is stealth inflation/devaluation topic?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2015, 6:26 pm

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=202192&hilit=reroute&start=1050

He have a masters in common sense too :lol:

here he was looking to import hazmat suits for carnival:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=598675

here he displays his level of intelligence:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=605151&p=8409815#p8409815

I think this guy needs help.

but keeping on topic:

Postby rollingstock » December 29th, 2015, 6:38 pm

Official big stinking liar thread?

Lord Nelson eh wha nothing with this fella

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2015, 6:47 pm

Postby mero » December 29th, 2015, 6:50 pm

OP is Daran

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » December 29th, 2015, 6:56 pm

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 29th, 2015, 7:38 pm

novastar1 wrote:Why did you leave your UK job BC? Given that they were paying you so much? Was it the taxes over there?

BTW is this is stealth inflation/devaluation topic?

nah just went for a 2 year working holiday. when it was done i came back home. work up to the last week lol. an agency just used to supply me with contracts. i build a rep and get plenty recalls and so got promoted and recommended for higher positions almost with each contract. 1 9 month public sector contract and a few other 1week to 3month contracts after that. 9 months was the maximum length they could employ me in a contract under the visa regulations.

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 29th, 2015, 7:49 pm

A person with some kind of vision would use his time more wisely. Playing video games at 1pm? Ducking Clients? Really hoss

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2015, 7:49 pm

Daran

Postby Daran » December 29th, 2015, 7:53 pm

Translation of Bluesclues

I am unemployed except for some CEPEP work that finishes noon. A multinational fast food company has hired me to be their new fry packer. Should I ditch my amazing CEPEP gig for this new and potentially amazing opportunity? The hours are longer and pay isn't that much higher, CEPEP pays roughly the same but that wuk is half day. However, this salary is a still a joke compared to the £6 minimum wage I made packing fries in the UK.
Last edited by Daran on December 29th, 2015, 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » December 29th, 2015, 8:16 pm

This certainly clarified a lot.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 29th, 2015, 9:27 pm

src1983 wrote:A person with some kind of vision would use his time more wisely. Playing video games at 1pm? Ducking Clients? Really hoss

like i say. im happy with how much money i making. dont feel the need to kill out myself for more. i love to spend my time doing what i like to do. if is playin game or goin out to the beach for a spin. i find that is a better way to live than slaving. i just streamlined my income. dont need a big mansion. dont need 4 benz. and is just me, single by myself so i have no liabilities.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 29th, 2015, 9:29 pm

Daran wrote:Translation of Bluesclues

I am unemployed except for some CEPEP work that finishes noon. A multinational fast food company has hired me to be their new fry packer. Should I ditch my amazing CEPEP gig for this new and potentially amazing opportunity? The hours are longer and pay isn't that much higher, CEPEP pays roughly the same but that wuk is half day. However, this salary is a still a joke compared to the £6 minimum wage I made packing fries in the UK.

allyuh just showing how small allyuh is. yeah i does come on the forum and talk like i stupid. but that good. judge me by my forum presence. ii have all this time because i am in control of my life through the Father guidance.

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2015, 9:30 pm

bluesclues wrote:

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » December 29th, 2015, 10:52 pm

bluesclues wrote:

allyuh just showing how small allyuh is. yeah i does come on the forum and talk like i stupid. but that good. judge me by my forum presence. ii have all this time because i am in control of my life through the Father guidance.

Yuh ever consider selling doubles hoss?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 29th, 2015, 11:40 pm

ganeshlalchan wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

Yuh ever consider selling doubles hoss?

jealousy is a hell of a drug. but i go just rub it in allyuh stink mind face more.

this life is the life the father promise as it is written in the bible. I do not worry about what i will eat or what i will wear. i am fully provided for by the Father like the birds and the bees. my life is rich in quality. through the blessing of the father. anything i need comes to me. and in fact it is even told to me by the Father that it comin beforehand. i on a special social welfare program. sponsored by heaven itself. my life is blessed and you could grovel how much you want and try to talk down my accomplishments in this life. but t wont change the fact that the only reason u respond so is cus u upset with your life and jealous other ppl own.

my life.. real fkin good. so.. fk allyuh and allyuh sheit talk. at the end of the day allyuh is slaves. but i was set free by the Father. and that is why only i could free allyuh from allyuh bonds besides he. but i wont doubt u will opt against me and so to keep your bonds. but so be it. because i .. am an immortal God...

muahahahah

the reason y my life so.. is because i sacrifice everything to listen the father. surviving in this reality is a piece of cake for me. i can become anything i want tomorrow morning. a doctor a lawyer.. ah just bright so. learning easy. i does just suck in everything and remember.. not no drain brain.i am accomplished enough that work comes to me and i dont go to it. so.. put that in allyuh pipe and smoke. tomorrow is the same ting for me.. i takin a day off and all. pff

piece bytches.
Love the Father and you will be Loved by the Father.

Postby rollingstock » December 29th, 2015, 11:47 pm

My father is ah muddercont.
Wha you trying to say?