Official New Born Baby Thread

PapaC

Re: Offical New Born Baby Thread

Postby PapaC » December 3rd, 2015, 7:44 am

Well said. I got a walker as a gift but we can't substitute our own involvement with a learning aid or a tablet or tv.

sk1111

Postby sk1111 » December 3rd, 2015, 8:50 am

My two kids enjoyed their walker when they had it. They love the mobility and it's amazing to see where they can reach with it. They both began walking when they were suppose to and as far I can see no development issues.

sk1111

Postby sk1111 » December 3rd, 2015, 8:55 am

Also, for kids beginning to walk you guys should check out robeez shoes for them. They are a soft leather shoe that work amazing. There are other company's that make similar but I can't vouch for them. They are not sold in Trinidad as far as I know.

eitech

Postby eitech » December 12th, 2015, 1:33 pm

My son is 14mths and he really needs a haircut. I doh tink he stayin still for anyone. Advice please

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » December 12th, 2015, 2:24 pm

Take him to your barber around his nap time.. cut while sleeping...
Bribe with things that he likes.. phone, ipad, toy. Have more than one as he will not be able to move and be uncomfortable in a barber's chair..
Let him see u sit down for a haircut if possible before his.
If all that fails.. skittles

Postby X_Factor » December 12th, 2015, 2:36 pm

hoss, cut his hair while he is sleeping if u can
or be prepared to hear some serious bawling

recently while i am using the machine to trim my facial hair, i keep him around and let him see whats going on, i let him hold the machine etc
hoping next time around it may ease up the bawling

Postby RBphoto » December 12th, 2015, 2:54 pm

Posted in the photographer's thread, Thought it was apt here. Merry Christmas to all. Client's kid is one year old though.

12348082_935334689890910_3214760469159862175_n.jpg

12342647_935332939891085_1881061330518066701_n.jpg

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » December 13th, 2015, 11:06 am

eitech wrote:My son is 14mths and he really needs a haircut. I doh tink he stayin still for anyone. Advice please

why not diy for the 1st few times? So as to get him used to it & not hv to go thru the crazy bawling in the barbershop

Sent from my D6653 using Tapatalk

Postby Chimera » December 13th, 2015, 11:58 am

eitech wrote:My son is 14mths and he really needs a haircut. I doh tink he stayin still for anyone. Advice please

Benadryl and knock him out

eitech

Postby eitech » December 13th, 2015, 9:55 pm

Lol yeah i will wait till he is asleep. Boi when i have to cut his nails is all kinda antics to distract him.

Postby goalpost » December 14th, 2015, 9:42 am

My son using a specific type of Enfamil for reduced spit up (it reinforced with rice cereal). the Type is Enfamil A.R.

However I cannot find the product in the box with the two bags, but rather the tub. Would prefer to get the box so I can always refill the tub. Anyone knows where?

eitech

Postby eitech » December 14th, 2015, 12:08 pm

goalpost wrote:My son using a specific type of Enfamil for reduced spit up (it reinforced with rice cereal). the Type is Enfamil A.R.

However I cannot find the product in the box with the two bags, but rather the tub. Would prefer to get the box so I can always refill the tub. Anyone knows where?

I used to buy in superpharm trincity or trincity mall. But that was probably over 6 mths now

sk1111

Offical New Born Baby Thread

Postby sk1111 » December 14th, 2015, 12:30 pm

From what I remember the cheapest place for enfamil is at brydens near the back
Of the Porsche/Suzuki dealer. Make your bill there then go to the old Heineken factory to pick up, this was a little while back so please
Call brydens to make sure it still works this way.

They are also the agent for enfamil so if anyone will have it, it's them.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 14th, 2015, 2:19 pm

If you're from south u can get enfamil in all different sizes and packaging from Bryden Pi on royal road.

Postby X_Factor » December 14th, 2015, 8:15 pm

any of u all give ur kid the klim 1+?
thoughts on it?
we use SMA level 3 but that went up from 100 a tin to almost 150+
if pricemart has its 120 last price we paid and we run through 6 tins a mth

Postby Dave » December 14th, 2015, 9:26 pm

I went from sma to klim at 1 yr old for both boys. Was an easy transition. Sma milk up to 1yr taste good. The one yr plus taste bad so I knew klim would have been liked very much.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » December 14th, 2015, 11:33 pm

SMA has a lot more nutrients than Klim. I use both. Maybe give the SMA once a day and use Klim otherwise. In any case after. After the first year plus formula was not not the primary source of meals so my bills for formula are low.

Postby X_Factor » December 15th, 2015, 8:27 am

^ true, he usually drinks about 3 bottles for the day
one around 7-9pm and then one when he gets up...and one either before or after the day time nap

having issues with him eating fruits now,
prior to 14 mths, he would eat bananas, apples, grapes etc
since he get accustom to regular food ( rice/curry chicken, goat, fish etc)
fruits gone out the window

19 mths now, never had soft drink ( proud of that!)

PapaC

Postby PapaC » December 15th, 2015, 7:07 pm

My daughter doesn't even like juice. Cold water in a sippy cup and she is good.

Postby goalpost » December 15th, 2015, 7:22 pm

My 7 month old son scared the hell out of me last night!
He woke up around 10:30pm crying so we fed him, after about 4oz he just vomited (projectile), bathing me down. We cleaned him up and put him on the bed to sleep. He woke up 11pm and vomited all over the bed; the vomit seemed to be more milk. While my wife was changing the sheets and I was holding him, he vomited a third time, this time he was retching and I could smell the bile (?). He had no fever and absolutely nothing else seemed to be wrong. He went back to sleep and woke at 4am to feed, and he drank all with no event, and whole day today he just good and normal.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 15th, 2015, 7:52 pm

Strange.... Reminds me of the time my daughter had chick v. She had fever etc. Probably gas.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby X_Factor » December 15th, 2015, 9:15 pm

probably gas
ovol drops worked for us

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » December 16th, 2015, 4:29 am

Could be signs of reflux?
On a side note..we use oval as well for gas

khandman

Postby khandman » December 16th, 2015, 5:20 am

Sounding like a bit of reflux. I read that it is pretty normal for babies. Just monitor to be sure.

Steamroller

Postby Steamroller » December 16th, 2015, 6:00 am

Hey guys does anyone know where I can get ovol drops? It worked for my first baby but all the places I checked were out. My newborn is 3 weeks old and last night was hours of crying. Gripe water seems to do nothing. A little help please!

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » December 16th, 2015, 7:34 am

Didn't get oval anywhere here. All the pharmacies said that the distributor has been out of stock for a long time.
I got a friend in Canada to send me some.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » December 16th, 2015, 8:49 am

For that reflux try to keep him upright as much as possible after feeding. Don't just burp and put down. More gas might get out that way.

Postby tr1ad » December 16th, 2015, 8:57 am

White CZ4A wrote:Didn't get oval anywhere here. All the pharmacies said that the distributor has been out of stock for a long time.
I got a friend in Canada to send me some.

did it help?

now hit the 6mth mark with the little princess

searchingone

Postby searchingone » December 16th, 2015, 9:48 am

This working fine at the moment

sk1111

Postby sk1111 » December 17th, 2015, 2:37 pm

searchingone wrote:For that reflux try to keep him upright as much as possible after feeding. Don't just burp and put down. More gas might get out that way.

That's great advice.

Also what I've noticed with my 3rd newborn, burping a bit before feeding helps too.