:: The official TOOLS thread ::

amd-dude

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby amd-dude » November 21st, 2015, 8:14 pm

shivastarr wrote:
amd-dude wrote:No joke, I went in last month to buy a vice, end up leaving with instant solder, irwin auto wirestrippers, bocsh kobalt drill bits and 3 cans of plasti dip. :/

But did u get the vice?

Yea but not one as originally planned. Got a small stanley fully articulating one for holding things when I soldering and I got the table top one, which is what I initially went for. Hadda collect some back pay for christmas, then is trouble.

This gives me an idea, how bout alyuh share stories of what you were supposed to get in any tool store vs what you actually left with. :D

Postby supercharged turbo » November 22nd, 2015, 12:55 am

Morpheus wrote:Where's the best place to get a low profile jack?

Went allied and bought mines.Got it on sale for ah hundred and something.Bought 2pairs of jackstands while I was at it.Them rel wicked...tempting people with their prices

Postby Ted_v2 » November 23rd, 2015, 1:42 pm

Them small Jacks is too much antics

Postby black start » November 23rd, 2015, 2:10 pm

What's the price for the low profile jack at allied?

Civic on d ground and I breaking meh back with them scissors...

Postby Ted_v2 » November 23rd, 2015, 2:13 pm

Tool house Duncan village have those full aluminum Jacks. One hand business. Rell legit. 2600$ tho. Almost 250+ us for it online

Postby X_Factor » November 24th, 2015, 7:39 am

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00T2GT9L4/ref ... 790975M1DQ

excellent deal here fellas, i used one of these for about 8 days, no battery in the car
just clamp and start

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 24th, 2015, 8:38 am

X_Factor wrote:http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00T2GT9L4/ref=gbps_img_s-3_4782_75e66350?smid=A294P4X9EWVXLJ&pf_rd_p=2292984782&pf_rd_s=slot-3&pf_rd_t=701&pf_rd_i=gb_main&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=0NBGWK1PC6790975M1DQ

excellent deal here fellas, i used one of these for about 8 days, no battery in the car
just clamp and start

Good eye there dude!!!

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » November 24th, 2015, 9:58 am

I've had one of those for the past 5 months and it works really well, started a 2.5 diesel, my 3.2 V6 and even my cousins V8 supercharged range (which neither of us expected to work) Very very good buy, I paid $80 for it at that price it is a steal.

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2015, 11:02 am

After you start the vehicle, would you be able to use the cigarette lighter to charge back the device?

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » November 24th, 2015, 2:07 pm

It should, mine came with a cig charger, never tried it though

Postby supercharged turbo » November 24th, 2015, 2:13 pm

Went tool shopping today and Allied prices kinda went up.Also went SSL and their prices dropped.It even lower than Allied on a good few items.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 24th, 2015, 10:30 pm

tootz

but i lurrve the goodyear kit. Very well designed. Too bad i have all the tools :/

shady23

Postby shady23 » November 25th, 2015, 12:55 pm

ADONI wrote:
X_Factor wrote:http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00T2GT9L4/ref=gbps_img_s-3_4782_75e66350?smid=A294P4X9EWVXLJ&pf_rd_p=2292984782&pf_rd_s=slot-3&pf_rd_t=701&pf_rd_i=gb_main&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=0NBGWK1PC6790975M1DQ

just clamp and start

Good eye there dude!!!

They had it reduced further yesterday. Got it for $50 :)

Postby supercharged turbo » November 25th, 2015, 1:23 pm

nick639 wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Went tool shopping today and Allied prices kinda went up.Also went SSL and their prices dropped.It even lower than Allied on a good few items.

You breaking my heart with that news.. Down to last month my dad tools got stolen and they were the cheapest for quality stuff..

Anyone tried out the ratchet wrench set from pricesmart here?? Thinking bout picking up a set
Yes they were the cheapest for quality tools,that is why I make sure and buy all my tools when they were a bit more reasonable one time.I don't buy any tools from pricesmart.Hearing more bad reviews than good now but from what I gathered,they were plenty better awhile ago.

Postby X_Factor » November 26th, 2015, 7:12 am

lookin for that kinda clip
its a ratcheting cable clip
1448536326427.jpg

Postby X_Factor » November 26th, 2015, 7:45 am

also hav that for sale
it can take a good jamming and even used it to set a caliper piston once
1448538302578.jpg

Postby pugboy » November 28th, 2015, 10:56 am

I went Allied yesterday and buy 3 12" clamps
the Irwin like above were $145
I bought the Eclipse which seem just as good for $111 each
the fixed end is also removable which is nice.

they have good prices on a lot of things, bosch belt sander belts are cheap $40 for pack of 3 or something like that.

Gorilla Cyanoacrylate glue for $28, normally around $40 in north

Place is pretty big with a lot of staff
how long have they been open ?
they must do a lot of sales to pay so many staff.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 28th, 2015, 12:41 pm

They gave away a car in a promotion a while back, so things must be good.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 29th, 2015, 1:45 am

Got to agree Allied prices are really good, I shop there for most of my stuff instead of dansteel now .
hopefully they start stocking steel and lumber.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 29th, 2015, 7:23 am

Yup, I was going to buy a paint gun but the man insisted that it isn't right for my job, sent me elsewhere where I could get the correct thing

Postby pugboy » November 29th, 2015, 2:22 pm

looking for a 2" straight double carbide blade router bit 1/2" shaft

Built a router jointer jig only to realise the cheapo bit I have is crooked and blades not in alignment
cheap ting no good

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 30th, 2015, 1:26 am

Got a factory refurbished Skil Hammer Drill for $375 at Home Store.
Will try to test it out this week to see if it works well.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 2nd, 2015, 2:26 pm

Just to update. Tested it out and it works well.

vij_twincamgt

Postby vij_twincamgt » December 2nd, 2015, 5:04 pm

Make sure and get some drill bits of a higher quality, (dewalt, Makita) and the skil drill will go a long way for u. Also ensure that there is a cool down period during prolong use. The internal parts have a lower heat threshold that more reputable brands.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 2nd, 2015, 8:09 pm

$375??? that same dril was $250 last years sale. but vij is right .. treat it well and it will last long. not a professional tool but it does the work around the house.

Postby Morpheus » December 2nd, 2015, 9:20 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Yup, I was going to buy a paint gun but the man insisted that it isn't right for my job, sent me elsewhere where I could get the correct thing

Please stop lying..... :shock:

Postby Ted_v2 » December 2nd, 2015, 10:13 pm

nope, a lil indian fella, his dad is a painter by trade so he gave me good advice.

BTW i got a set of tekton 3/8 impact sockets for sale if anyone interested.

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2015, 10:20 pm

Trying hard to resist going there but a trip has to be made soon.

Postby 3stagevtec » December 3rd, 2015, 4:44 pm

Anyone here familiar with lathes? I want to build a small basic lathe for home use using a drill.. What I want is to get a decent lathe chuck and adapt it to fit my 1/2" drill.. Looking for a chuck that would fit up to ~3" diameter round stock at maximum, can work well with hard plastic / delrin / teflon / polyurethane stock and maybe light metal work in between..

I was doing some digging around on Amazon and found these:

The problem I see with this chuck is that it is not self centering.. and care would be needed to properly center your work.

This one seems better IMO as it is self centering. The downside is it is not a screw on type, so a special adapter will need to be made to connect it to my drill.

I am also not familiar with some of the terms used to describe the chucks..
Internal Jaw Clamping Range: 0.0787" -0.8661".
Internal Jaw Jamming Range: 0.9843" - 2.7559" .
External Jaw Clamping Range: 0.8661" - 2.4803"

Can someone convert that to English for me please.. and any other advise on the topic would be appreciated.

Thanks

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » December 3rd, 2015, 7:25 pm

IMHO that is an exercise in futility. Your drill will have way to much runout causing alot of vibration. Secondly drill brearings are not designed to take side loads amd thus will be damaged in short order.