call to freeze all salaries

davymaraj

call to freeze all salaries

Postby davymaraj » November 24th, 2015, 7:45 pm

What are you thoughts on this call. A senior lecturer today was calling for this to be done across all sectors.
Last edited by davymaraj on November 24th, 2015, 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: call to freeze all salaries

Postby stev » November 24th, 2015, 7:52 pm

sigh....post thing that people will understand nah...

Low energy prices force NGC to cut costs; cites industry job loss of 55,000

Low energy prices have forced the National Gas Company (NGC) to freeze all salaries and benefits to staff for the rest of 2015 and 2016.

It will also cut bonuses.

In a memo sent to all staff of the NGC and its subsidiaries—National Energy (NE), Phoenix Park Gas Processors Limited (PPGPL), and NGC CNG—on November 16, the company said it has been impacted by low commodity prices.

Furthermore, the NGC expects this to continue "into the foreseeable future, resulting in significantly lower revenues and earnings; much lower than have been experienced over the past five years".

This will impact about 1,500 employees. Comparatively, the NGC noted: "Across the industry, 55,000 people have been displaced."

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151121/news/hard-times

Postby 88sins » November 24th, 2015, 8:23 pm

If by all salaries he means the salaries of illiterate & ignorant half wit pseudo intellects such as himself then i agree

Tell him i say he need to ease of the crack pipe before going to class.

davymaraj

Postby davymaraj » November 24th, 2015, 8:29 pm

He thinks he has the answer to every economic situation.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 24th, 2015, 9:35 pm

Tell him hush he stink mc

Postby 88sins » November 25th, 2015, 7:56 am

So his answer to our currently sonewhat unstable economic situation is to crash the economy & watch it burn.
Some that supposed to be really smart does come up with some extremely stoopid ideas sometimes.

LeRobot

Postby LeRobot » November 25th, 2015, 8:05 am

Let the market decide. You can't willy nilly cap all salaries, that is exactly how to lose your best employees.

LeRobot

Postby LeRobot » November 25th, 2015, 8:06 am

88sins wrote:So his answer to our currently sonewhat unstable economic situation is to crash the economy & watch it burn.
Some that supposed to be really smart does come up with some extremely stoopid ideas sometimes.

It's two things, they're either not smart, or did a poor did expressing their point of view.

Postby pete » November 25th, 2015, 8:16 am

How is a wage freeze going to crash the economy?

Postby Chimera » November 25th, 2015, 8:21 am

Ummm mm

By freeze salary they mean them ngc employees not getting paid for this month and for Christmas?

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » November 25th, 2015, 8:33 am

Why that senior lecturer don't freeze himself

LeRobot

Postby LeRobot » November 25th, 2015, 8:45 am

pete wrote:How is a wage freeze going to crash the economy?

It isn't. I actually support this position in the government sector. The lack of productivity actually warrants a salary cut.

A wage freeze for those who don't know simply means salary increases negotiations will be postponed indefinitely.

Postby 88sins » November 25th, 2015, 9:46 am

LeRobot wrote:
pete wrote:How is a wage freeze going to crash the economy?

It isn't. I actually support this position in the government sector. The lack of productivity actually warrants a salary cut.

A wage freeze for those who don't know simply means salary increases negotiations will be postponed indefinitely.

LeRobot, read slowly & try to keep up
A wage freeze is generally fixed to a period of time & basically means that your salary is fixed at it's current numerical value & will not be allowed to grow or shrink until that time. it has nothing to do with negotiations. Anyone can negotiate salaries during the freeze. The results of those negotiations just can't take effect until after the stipulated period has elapsed.

Freezing wages does not stop or slowdown inflation. That's the primary reason why it's never a good idea.

with increases in costs due to inflation and a frozen income, much buying power can be lost very quickly by the bulk of the population, and spending patterns will change to reflect this, so ppl will be spending less. If ppl spending less that means less income for a lot of ppl in the private sector, and potential loss of jobs due to private and govt employers having to downsize to cut labor costs that will be too high in relation to the changes in revenue generating capacity, because of a drop in sales of goods and a decrease in the demand for services. For the private sector the decrease in sales would force this, if the company wants to remain afloat to ride out the freeze period. since the decrease in sales and increase in other costs due to inflation would result in severe changes to the income stream and they will not have the resources to pay the full staff that they have, or even have sufficient to settle their liabilities to their creditors.

A salary freeze is never a good idea. If a gov't were to look for a means of cutting costs & increasing revenue & stabilizing the economy a safer method would be a proper restructuring of the taxation system for the corporate & private sector and passage of anti-profiteering legislation, as well as seriously working on encouraging & developing growth in sectors that would diversify the nations global revenue earning potential.

I could go on into much further detail about some of the resultant benefits of such a high risk move , but I ain't typing all dat

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » November 25th, 2015, 10:05 am

i agree especially for dem lazy Petrotrin, TSTT and NGC type workers.
Dem mofos does get big money when the contractors working for these companies get near minimum wage and actually do work.
An people like me in private sector hav to wok hard hard hard.
Imagine a dumb OJT getting all kind 6500-9000 an eh no sheit whereas it have professionals ent gettin da kinda money.

johnny123

Postby johnny123 » November 25th, 2015, 10:06 am

those staff getting overpaid in any case...its about time they freeze

Postby nervewrecker » November 25th, 2015, 10:10 am

johnny123 wrote:those staff getting overpaid in any case...its about time they freeze

Overpaid, naw. High salary usually associated with a certain amount of risk.

Not in opposition of the wage freeze btw eh.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 25th, 2015, 10:45 am

things shaping up nicely.

Postby 88sins » November 25th, 2015, 11:53 am

but for whom, that is the real question

Postby RBphoto » November 25th, 2015, 12:03 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Tell him hush he stink mc

I find I endorse this stance a lot more since the PNM has come to power. People think they can jump out of nowhere with half baked catch all ideas to solve problems festering for years in a single swoop. I don't find the PNM is adhering to their manifesto... which nearly swayed me to vote for them this year (I did not vote BTW.. fack me right?).

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » November 25th, 2015, 12:11 pm

johnny123 wrote:those staff getting overpaid in any case...its about time they freeze

You go to work in an environment where an oversight can cost you or your colleagues your life...then argue that high wages aren't warranted...till then go fu(k yourself

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » November 25th, 2015, 12:12 pm

daxt0r wrote:i agree especially for dem lazy Petrotrin, TSTT and NGC type workers.
Dem mofos does get big money when the contractors working for these companies get near minimum wage and actually do work.
Imagine a dumb OJT getting all kind 6500-9000 an eh no sheit whereas it have professionals ent gettin da kinda money.

I lol'ed

Postby RBphoto » November 25th, 2015, 12:15 pm

sleepertercel wrote:
daxt0r wrote:i agree especially for dem lazy Petrotrin, TSTT and NGC type workers.

I lol'ed

Sufferers gonna suffer.

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » November 25th, 2015, 12:17 pm

Man hatin on salaries of people who more qualified than he is yess

Postby RBphoto » November 25th, 2015, 12:29 pm

sleepertercel wrote:Man hatin on salaries of people who more qualified than he is yess

Had men outside TOFCO yard used to come and ask me for electrical work cause they hear it pays good. Find out that their "experience" was one worked as a bakery van driver and one had "real connections that I could take advantage of"... but outside the gate begging for work. I told them I was a contractor and I only there to file paper and make tea for the boss.

Everybody feels they could do everybody else's work once they get a contact to get that work.

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » November 25th, 2015, 12:34 pm

Ent...and quick to classify the rest as overpaid and lazy

Postby teems1 » November 25th, 2015, 12:52 pm

sleepertercel wrote:Ent...and quick to classify the rest as overpaid and lazy

overpaid and lazy, maybe not.

overstaffed and top heavy, definitely true.

All government ministries/companies needs to trim the fat.

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 25th, 2015, 1:04 pm

I work in the public sector...low moral is an excuse for laziness.....freeze if it means stabilising economy and meaningful gross economic saving

Daran

Postby Daran » November 25th, 2015, 1:27 pm

Entitlement works both ways.

And if you didn't know, TSTT management staff (non-unionized) are working with 2004/5 salaries as far as I'm aware. Ask anyone there. Same can't be said for the others though.

A salary freeze is sometimes useful to stem out of control inflation.....which we do not have, so I'm not even sure why I'm mentioning it. carry on.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 25th, 2015, 2:41 pm

88sins wrote:but for whom, that is the real question

for me to be the only one who can save this country with the right policies.

Postby nervewrecker » November 25th, 2015, 4:15 pm

bluesclues wrote:
88sins wrote:but for whom, that is the real question

for me to be the only one who can save this country with the right policies.

And who are you? :roll: