St Clair Police Station to make way for hotel

Re: St Clair Police Station to make way for hotel

Postby Redman » November 23rd, 2015, 7:20 am

generally agreed Lance, but we have a lack of depth on the equity market....why not let the GORTT contribute the land via long term lease and own 40 -49 %...non dilutable...with the mandate to create a another NEL type investment vehicle to hold title to the shares.
IPO the vehicle and let the people own some of it.

I see no reason for the GORTT/people to own the productive assets in this way.

Its when the GORTT wants to RUN the enterprise..that I have an issue

Postby pugboy » November 23rd, 2015, 7:23 am

The hyatt is allegedly one of the most profitable worldwide
they probably think that can be repeated
hyatt was built by uncle patrick in record time no budget

BRZ

Postby BRZ » November 23rd, 2015, 7:38 am

im sure MANY of you are completely Unaware that when Hyatt was built by the government that a majority of local input was Excluded! Local suppliers were not favored and many companies who can manufacture the SAME products locally were denied any participation.

ALL govts love to Cheat their OWN people!

Xplode

Postby Xplode » November 23rd, 2015, 8:06 am

BRZ wrote:im sure MANY of you are completely Unaware that when Hyatt was built by the government that a majority of local input was Excluded! Local suppliers were not favored and many companies who can manufacture the SAME products locally were denied any participation.

ALL govts love to Cheat their OWN people!

You know that ,the structure of Hyatt building is all local building material , the interior and furniture was all brought in containers from the usa ,if you ever stayed in the Hyatt Regency Trinidad and abroad Hyatt same bed ,glass shower they try to keep a look and standard.Same interior decorator was hired for the chain of Hyatt Hotels .

Postby j.o.e » November 23rd, 2015, 8:29 am

That's reasonable, imagine the savings they receive from furnishing all their hotels from the same vendors. Also makes upkeep/replacement easier

yrkwstcttbh

Postby yrkwstcttbh » November 23rd, 2015, 9:41 am

Structural work for the Hyatt was all done locally...

Postby desifemlove » November 23rd, 2015, 11:30 am

Lance wrote:
desifemlove wrote:SO will the state run this or own it? i support it. Economic diversification, and St. Clair ent no scruff/gunta area, so high-end hotel fits. Only objection is that hotels don't need to be owned by the state. i does believe in small government.

So why not let the private sector do this.

You're saying that you support state led capitalism?

It's the government's role to induce diversification through policy and regulation, NOT to actively engage in profit driven enterprises.

name a country in which the state don't drive economic activity? whether this is tax breaks, incentives, or PPPs, or leases, most do it, even in the USA, UK, Canada.

Lance

Postby Lance » November 23rd, 2015, 2:23 pm

desifemlove wrote:
Lance wrote:
desifemlove wrote:SO will the state run this or own it? i support it. Economic diversification, and St. Clair ent no scruff/gunta area, so high-end hotel fits. Only objection is that hotels don't need to be owned by the state. i does believe in small government.

So why not let the private sector do this.

You're saying that you support state led capitalism?

It's the government's role to induce diversification through policy and regulation, NOT to actively engage in profit driven enterprises.

name a country in which the state don't drive economic activity? whether this is tax breaks, incentives, or PPPs, or leases, most do it, even in the USA, UK, Canada.

lol, you seem confused.

Tax breaks and incentives are passive mechanisms in the form of policy. It provides a stimulus and is NOT direct engagement. You can also include infant industry protectionist policies in this category

Countries have been doing leases for DECADES in the form of industrial estates, cluster infrastructure and EPZs. Again its a promotional mechanism, not direct engagement.

Most PPPs are usually done when there is a clear developmental agenda. But again, its usually led by the PRIVATE aspect. It should also be noted that most PPPs fail to achieve its predefined objectives and the developmental aspect is usually never achieved!

Postby desifemlove » November 23rd, 2015, 4:32 pm

governments run economies, dude. Rowley nor Khan said what the exact nature is, but then we have FCB, ent this profit-making and state-owned? nothing wrong with the state identifying and driving econmic activity, this is its job, dude...

Postby zoom rader » November 23rd, 2015, 4:37 pm

desifemlove wrote:governments run economies, dude. Rowley nor Khan said what the exact nature is, but then we have FCB, ent this profit-making and state-owned? nothing wrong with the state identifying and driving econmic activity, this is its job, dude...

Rowley only controls his people. It's his financiers that control this economy now to their benefit.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » November 23rd, 2015, 7:34 pm

whereas in the previous administration, the heads in control were themselves the bosses of all the misapproiated funds. How complimentary.!!!

Postby zoom rader » November 24th, 2015, 8:12 am

BRZ wrote:whereas in the previous administration, the heads in control were themselves the bosses of all the misapproiated funds. How complimentary.!!!

It meant the greater citizenry shared in the benefits and produce entrepreneurs which tricked down to the agv citizen.

Under this government only a very few select ppl benefit.

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » November 24th, 2015, 9:15 am

So the norm of the last administration.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

Xplode

Postby Xplode » November 24th, 2015, 10:03 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1448373630.549548.jpg

Site where the Prada street flats , police station construction and T&TEC sub station land interest .
st clair.jpg
st clair.jpg (12.45 KiB) Viewed 1338 times

Lance

Postby Lance » November 24th, 2015, 10:52 am

zoom rader wrote:It meant the greater citizenry shared in the benefits and produce entrepreneurs which tricked down to the agv citizen.

Did you just try to peddle some 1980s Reaganomics bullshiet?

hhahahahaha

Postby zoom rader » November 24th, 2015, 2:18 pm

Lance wrote:
zoom rader wrote:It meant the greater citizenry shared in the benefits and produce entrepreneurs which tricked down to the agv citizen.

Did you just try to peddle some 1980s Reaganomics bullshiet?

hhahahahaha

Why should only this government financiers get all contracts. The average Joe citizen must share in the wealth.
Kwame and harrylal needs to eat ah food.

Postby De Dragon » November 24th, 2015, 3:50 pm

Governments have all proven in the past that they can't own, operate or manage most projects effectively. Let private sector run hotels, which contrary to what most people believe is a hard thing to do properly. You can't talk cost cutting, deny people wages, yet talk about mega million dollar projects in which you have no track record or proficiency.

Postby eliteauto » November 24th, 2015, 4:11 pm

De Dragon wrote:Governments have all proven in the past that they can't own, operate or manage most projects effectively. Let private sector run hotels, which contrary to what most people believe is a hard thing to do properly. You can't talk cost cutting, deny people wages, yet talk about mega million dollar projects in which you have no track record or proficiency.

How would you rate the profitability of the Hyatt and The Hilton?

Postby De Dragon » November 24th, 2015, 4:54 pm

eliteauto wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Governments have all proven in the past that they can't own, operate or manage most projects effectively. Let private sector run hotels, which contrary to what most people believe is a hard thing to do properly. You can't talk cost cutting, deny people wages, yet talk about mega million dollar projects in which you have no track record or proficiency.

Like I said, things that the Government owns/part owns are best left to private interests to operate. Those ventures were entered into when there was money due to high oil prices.

Postby brams112 » November 24th, 2015, 9:16 pm

Bolt,or bobol or something is the new pnm racket,,,girls.

Postby K74T » November 24th, 2015, 9:42 pm

,,,comma chameleon strikes again

Postby eliteauto » November 24th, 2015, 9:59 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Like I said, things that the Government owns/part owns are best left to private interests to operate. Those ventures were entered into when there was money due to high oil prices.

It's interesting how many people are weighing in on a project when they have so little information about it yet, (albeit I agree with having a cautious outlook due to previous Gov't corruption) btw when ppl talk about diversifying their economy there are times when capital intensive projects have to be undertaken in spite of negative economic outlook, so that when fortunes turn the infrastructure is in place, if this is part of a tourism thrust it can be a good thing as that market is trending upwards

Postby zoom rader » November 25th, 2015, 4:40 am

eliteauto wrote:

It's interesting how many people are weighing in on a project when they have so little information about it yet, (albeit I agree with having a cautious outlook due to previous Gov't corruption) btw when ppl talk about diversifying their economy there are times when capital intensive projects have to be undertaken in spite of negative economic outlook, so that when fortunes turn the infrastructure is in place, if this is part of a tourism thrust it can be a good thing as that market is trending upwards

Yeah that's the problem with this government. Everything they do there is always little information, it's always done hush hush leaving the tax payer to pick up the bill.

Postby De Dragon » November 25th, 2015, 10:57 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Hotels by their very nature are a high risk venture even when you have "hotel" people running them. Look at Carlton Savannah. Did you also notice that the Courtyard Marriott is up for sale as well?

Postby DVSTT » November 25th, 2015, 11:47 pm

Given our crime situation do you really think tourism will experience a sudden increase within the foreseeable future, to justify the hotel?

Postby desifemlove » November 26th, 2015, 12:11 am

eliteauto wrote:

Hotels by their very nature are a high risk venture even when you have "hotel" people running them. Look at Carlton Savannah. Did you also notice that the Courtyard Marriott is up for sale as well?
From what I understand, it not just T&T, Dominican Republic and Costa Rica, could be these simply not selling rooms.

Postby De Dragon » November 26th, 2015, 3:03 am

desifemlove wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

From what I understand, it not just T&T, Dominican Republic and Costa Rica, could be these simply not selling rooms.

Yes, so do we expect that different people will spend lots more(if the hotel is to be a 5-star)?

Postby zoom rader » November 26th, 2015, 3:09 am

DVSTT wrote:Given our crime situation do you really think tourism will experience a sudden increase within the foreseeable future, to justify the hotel?

Hotels is only one part of it, don't forget trin is not a service friendly nation. Plus Tobago on the the blacklist for murdering white folks.

Postby desifemlove » November 26th, 2015, 4:33 am

desifemlove wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

Yes, so do we expect that different people will spend lots more(if the hotel is to be a 5-star)?

Depends if this pertains to all hotels, or something in the Courtyard brand. Or they have so many, that they discard three less performing ones, or ones in non-critical cities they ent need to care about. If tourism all across the board is falling, then there must be stats to show this.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » January 22nd, 2016, 2:18 pm

seeing they stop the construction of the new St. Clair police station don't know if the contract stop.