EmilioA wrote:zoom rader wrote:EmilioA wrote:bluesclues wrote:i have a suggestion.
fire this fool
You know citizens cannot be denied entry into thier own country.
That is not true a trini citizen name Stokely Carmichael was barred from entering trini by the PNM.
Incorrect. Carmichael became a US citizen at the age of 13 in 1954.
EmilioA wrote:zoom rader wrote:EmilioA wrote:bluesclues wrote:i have a suggestion.
fire this fool
That is not true a trini citizen name Stokely Carmichael was barred from entering trini by the PNM.
zoom rader wrote:EmilioA wrote:zoom rader wrote:EmilioA wrote:bluesclues wrote:i have a suggestion.
fire this fool
Lots of Trinis are US citizens.
Still no need to banned a son of the soil, US passport holder or not.
EmilioA wrote:zoom rader wrote:EmilioA wrote:zoom rader wrote:EmilioA wrote:bluesclues wrote:i have a suggestion.
fire this fool
Lots of Trinis are US citizens.
Still no need to banned a son of the soil, US passport holder or not.
I eh know what point you trying to make. Carmichael was no longer a Trinidadian citizen. He was an American.
My point is that citizens of a country cannot be banned from entering that country. Which blues clues seemed not to know.
bluesclues wrote:sigh. an excuse to inaction. u working as the national security minister. u telling me, u cannot come up with a legislation to deal with militants returning to trinidad? just let them through the airport? and furthermore, send out a international message to the world that they are welcome to return and will most likely face no repurcussion even up to the point when they launch the trinidadcentric wave?
a stronger message need be sent. all returning should be considered suspect planning to carry out terror plots on our soil. jail them, lose the key and barr the media. we can also announce that their citizenship will be renounced all who leave to fight in syria with isis.
i would take it we've been through these common sense options already and decided they were no good so decided to do nothing and report about it?
ABA Trading LTD wrote:Lol if them fellas come back here, a setta masked police gonna kidnap them and next thing they know they waking up in a us jail
EmilioA wrote:bluesclues wrote:sigh. an excuse to inaction. u working as the national security minister. u telling me, u cannot come up with a legislation to deal with militants returning to trinidad? just let them through the airport? and furthermore, send out a international message to the world that they are welcome to return and will most likely face no repurcussion even up to the point when they launch the trinidadcentric wave?
a stronger message need be sent. all returning should be considered suspect planning to carry out terror plots on our soil. jail them, lose the key and barr the media. we can also announce that their citizenship will be renounced all who leave to fight in syria with isis.
i would take it we've been through these common sense options already and decided they were no good so decided to do nothing and report about it?
Trinidad and Tobago Constitution
S.5(2)
Without prejudice to subsection (1), but subject to this Chapter and to section 54, Parliament may not—
(a) authorise or effect the arbitrary detention, imprisonment or exile of any person;
(b) impose or authorise the imposition of cruel and unusual treatment or punishment;
(c) deprive a person who has been arrested or detained—
(i) of the right to be informed promptly and with sufficient particularity of the reason for his arrest or detention;
(ii) of the right to retain and instruct without delay a legal adviser of his own choice and to hold communication with him;
(iii) of the right to be brought promptly before an appropriate judicial authority;
(iv) of the remedy by way of habeas corpus for the determination of the validity of his detention and for his release if the detention is not lawful;
(e) deprive a person of the right to a fair hearing in accordance with the principles of fundamental
justice for the determination of his rights and obligations;
(f) deprive a person charged with a criminal offence of the right—
(i) to be presumed innocent until proved guilty according to law, but this shall not invalidate a law by reason only that the law imposes on any such person the burden of proving particular facts;
So legislation to do what ? Remove the TT Bill of Rights ?ABA Trading LTD wrote:Lol if them fellas come back here, a setta masked police gonna kidnap them and next thing they know they waking up in a us jail
This may really end up being the practical outcome.
Redman wrote:So this open source warfare is the dynamic that needs to be addressed.
ISIS is just the best marketed and most topical participant in several warS...whose sides are happy to have conscripts from all over the world coming and willing to fight.
3+ years ago the problem in Libya was that so many foreigners were coming in that the centralized authorities could not control their forces.
So it was just one big mosh pit...albeit with Aks grenades,missiles and of course a bunch of technicals..Hilux FTW.
Lets face it...given the social,economic and future prospects here in sweet TnT...much less in the harsher places in the world...if you ask 100 young men to go and have an adventure,be part of something,get a gun,shoot down planes etc etc etc...how many will say yes?
sheit at 17...I might have said hell yeah.
Just like the recruitment posters for any state military.
if we are to make legislation ...what is the infraction??
is ISIS specifically to be made illegal? or foreign warfare in general??
If so the 'freedom', fighters in Libya,Iraq,Afghanistan,Israel/Palestine,Syria and the multiple conflicts of different sizes throught Africa,Asia et al are breaking the law too??
It would then be illegal for our citizens to join foreign armies?
What of Medics in ISIS..?
Whats their crime?
excuse me? i sense isis sympathetic tone? a freedom fighter is a freedom fighter. a savage barbarian is a savage barbarian.
the world is fighting these types not only in the middleeast but in africa too. using rape as a tool of war and other heinous acts within war to demonstrate savagery and instill fear. making brother have sex with sister or father with daughter in front the rest of the family. killing women and children and raping babies to death.
redman i have a feeling u repeating what someone tell u to say there
Of all the photos following ISIS’s horrendous assault on Paris, among the most moving are those of the long lines of people waiting to donate blood outside hospitals where the wounded had been taken.
There’s a good chance that among them were persons of Islamic faith standing in line to share the blood of life with their fellow French men and women.
Photo: Paris is in mourning after terrorist attacks on Friday November 13.
(Copyright AFP 2015/Kenzo Tribouilard)
More likely, though, were the many more French Muslims who were longing to but didn’t dare join the line for fear of public reprisal.
The ostracism of entire groups that results from the fear sparked by the actions of a few is not an alien experience for us. There are Muslims among us who still remember the pain of social rejection in the immediate aftermath of the Jamaat-al-Muslimeen’s violent assault on the state in 1990.
It is an open question how much of that old pain and anger has fuelled the unfathomable willingness of some 150-plus Trinidadians, including entire families and professionals, to join the terrorist organisation known as ISIS.
Responding to the inevitable wave of heightened bigotry against Muslims following Friday night’s ISIS massacre in Paris, several commentators were at pains to point out that more Muslims than any other group have died at the hands of Islamic extremists such as Al Qaeda, Boko Haram and ISIS.
In Iraq and Syria, Muslims are being plowed down by the thousands as ISIS expands its hold on conquered territory, even as they are caught in the crosshairs of western artillery aimed against ISIS.
Photo: The ISIS army waves its flags.
(Copyright IBTimes)
At times like these, when our hearts bleed for the many innocents who were cut down as they enjoyed dinner, watched a football match or danced to heavy metal rock, it is easy to seek refuge in the fundamentalism of absolutes that blinds us to the often variegated colours of truth.
It makes our lives easier to control when we can navigate by the rules of absolutism, especially an absolutism empowered by divine sanction that spares us the responsibility of thought.
In today’s world, ISIS is merely one of the most potent modern expressions of the politics that cloaks itself in the power of divine right to justify its actions and commandeer people committed to their faith. The war with ISIS is thus the 21st century sequel to the Holy Wars which have for centuries shaped and reshaped Europe and the Middle East.
As it has been throughout history, wherever religion provides a tactical advantage to political ambition it is co-opted with single-minded ruthlessness, sweeping up all in its path.
This ancient war continues unabated because almost every solution applied has merely succeeded in sowing several new problems. The situation has been amplified and speeded up by the technological solutions developed in military laboratories that have found their way into the mainstream and into the hands that are now recruiting young lives to ISIS’ cause.
"In this battle, there are no safe spaces, even for little islands like our own. As networked into the global system of money and mayhem as anybody else, we are there for the pickings if anyone so chooses to make an example of us."
With the globalisation of this ancient war, we cannot afford to linger on in the old role as bystanders. We need to get busy on our own business in understanding the forces that are driving our young people to risk death in Syria and the elements here at home that are part of the global network of war.
Twenty five years ago, we were all sitting ducks when guns were opened inside the Parliament, Police headquarters was bombed and the lone TV station was hijacked. Like France, we too had been warned but when the day came, many of us, too, were comfortably watching a football match at the stadium.
On a per capita basis, the body count that we suffered on July 27, 1990 was significantly higher than that of France on Friday night. And yet, given daily experience, it would require more than a leap of faith to believe that between then and now, the Defence Force and the Police Service are in any better shape to detect and pre-empt a terror attack on T&T soil.
Photo: A soldier searches for a car bomb in the immediate aftermath of the July 27 attempted coup in Port of Spain.
(Copyright Trinidad Guardian)
If anything, the situation has been exacerbated by the expedient and expensive alliances that have been struck between politicians and criminal elements pledged to one religious group or another.
This is the consequence of politics that have failed to ground itself in real representation of people and in which gang leaders have assumed the role of substitute MPs in exchange for a piece of the pie.
In this war between militant Islam and the West, we are involved whether we like it or not.
After he sends his condolences to the people of France, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley should summon his top security people for a full intelligence report on the human traffic between T&T and ISIS. He also needs to find out exactly what is happening in the Muslim community and the impulses that are luring our people to battle on ISIS’ side, both on the battlefield and in the energy industry.
In this, the entire Muslim community will be an important ally.
He might discover that the same forces that are driving our people into ISIS’ arms are also those that are making them easy prey for drug lords and gun runners.
About The Author
Sunity Maharaj is a journalist with 38 years of experience and the managing director of the Lloyd Best Institute of the West Indies. She is a former Trinidad Express editor in chief and TV6 head of news.
EmilioA wrote:Trinidad and Tobago Constitution
S.5(2)
Without prejudice to subsection (1), but subject to this Chapter and to section 54, Parliament may not—
(a) authorise or effect the arbitrary detention, imprisonment or exile of any person;
bluesclues wrote:absolutely not. legislation can surely be crafted in a way that agrees with the bill of rights but also caters for 'extreme' circumstances.
i say it is as simple as 123 in our case. define terrorism in our legislation, label it a crime, take all the names and photos from international sources as they are supplied. all in foreign found fighting with isis labelled international criminals. lodge the data with customs and immigration.
now all returning terrorists will face immediate detention upon stepping on our soil, international authorities are then called to come and pick them up.
really is that so hard and unconstitutional?
Slartibartfast wrote:EmilioA wrote:Trinidad and Tobago Constitution
S.5(2)
arbitrary
adjective
based on random choice or personal whim, rather than any reason or system.
This means that they need a reason and system for exiling.
Reason - Joined international terrorist group and suspected of returning to promote said group and ideals within country.
Now all they need to do is develop a system to ensure that the proceedings are free from prejudice. Notice there was no mention of race, class, sex or religion here. I don't see how this goes against our constitution. Also... constitutional amendments are apparently a thing.
Reason - Joined international terrorist group and suspected of returning to promote said group and ideals within country.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:When trinis leave here to go join ISIS here is a little sample of what they are going to do
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... nfire.html
The minister of national security of this country just says its fine for them to return because nothing in the law prevents them from returning and he goes on his merry way, what has this man done so far to change any of this? I sense he don't give a sheit just like all other ministers before him, sending the police out for carnival is more important after all. Whatever happens to this country when these fellas return is not his problem I guess.
EmilioA wrote:bluesclues wrote:absolutely not. legislation can surely be crafted in a way that agrees with the bill of rights but also caters for 'extreme' circumstances.
i say it is as simple as 123 in our case. define terrorism in our legislation, label it a crime, take all the names and photos from international sources as they are supplied. all in foreign found fighting with isis labelled international criminals. lodge the data with customs and immigration.
now all returning terrorists will face immediate detention upon stepping on our soil, international authorities are then called to come and pick them up.
really is that so hard and unconstitutional?
Its unconstitutional becuase you have left out the part where the ACCUSED appears in COURT where the state has to PROVE his guilt . Or we throwing people in jail without trial now ?
After all we dont want someone to photoshop some pics of bluesclues in Syria and next thing you know bluesclues get deported.Slartibartfast wrote:EmilioA wrote:Trinidad and Tobago Constitution
S.5(2)
arbitrary
adjective
based on random choice or personal whim, rather than any reason or system.
This means that they need a reason and system for exiling.
Now all they need to do is develop a system to ensure that the proceedings are free from prejudice. Notice there was no mention of race, class, sex or religion here. I don't see how this goes against our constitution. Also... constitutional amendments are apparently a thing.
Arbitrary in legal terminology means the means the person was punished without trial. So the proceedings part you mentioned is the important thing.Reason - Joined international terrorist group and suspected of returning to promote said group and ideals within country.
Also we dont punish people based on "suspected". The State has to have a trial and prove guilt.
ABA Trading LTD wrote:on a serious serious note
wha allyuh think about isis and that football match against the usa later
cornfused wrote:How does a TnT national wanting to join ISIS get the funding for the ticket and travel money ?
Who is purchasing tickets for those areas and who is paying ?
As said before legislation could be developed to stop such members from entering TnT.
bluesclues wrote:[
look a fella with a head on his shoulders. the thing is i also know its possible and how to craft the legislation. but i find i shoildnt have to spoonfeed everything to the pnm. there are things i couldve said to redman as well but i truly prefer to keep my opinions regarding tactical law private for the time being.
as someone who has worked as a paralegal researcher i can agree you have done all the proper interpretation regarding this. it is easy as i said and u would find no contradiction... to detend aiders and abetters, and ship them to the relevant authorities under the UN and NATO charter. now that france is activating clause 5 as america did for afghanistan, that is going to make things even easier for UN countries to trade information on international criminals.. terrorist. a terrorist should be wanted in all countries for a barbaric crime committed in any one of them. this is grounds enough to at least make an arrest. it means the creature will not be out among the public and precedes the need for military intervention.
l.
ship them to the relevant authorities under the UN and NATO charter