divali greetings

rye

divali greetings

Postby rye » November 10th, 2015, 12:08 am

shubh diwali to hindu community...share some of experiences on diwali day...non-hindu and hindus

Re: divali greetings

Postby tr1ad » November 10th, 2015, 12:29 am

Blessings to the tuner community and their families

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 10th, 2015, 12:37 am

Shubh Divali!

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » November 10th, 2015, 12:44 am

Shuba shuba...shuba shuba ayeeee... Happy festivities!

A33_BZ

Postby A33_BZ » November 10th, 2015, 12:46 am

Divali greetings tuners..and to the Hindu community..

DTAC

Postby DTAC » November 10th, 2015, 12:59 am

Shubh Divali. Just finished 9 days at the Nagar. Was really nice. Some nice food. Met a soap star from Zee TV. I'll be spending the day resting my poor feet and watching the lights in the evening.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » November 10th, 2015, 1:49 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Shubh Divali!

Is today Divali ?

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » November 10th, 2015, 2:24 am

Divali- Festival of Lights (light skin folks)

As much as i like many aspects of Hinduism, (and i strongly disagree with the typical Christian demeaning of worldviews that are non christian), i wonder if people ever consider the racism embedded in Divali.... The victory of light over darkness???. Although, the concept of darkness representing ignorance, and light representing enlightenment is not original to Hinduism, i am concerned about how this festival is projected given the well known Hindu attitudes towards darkness, and blackness. Thus the association between darkness and some negative state cannot be simply dismissed as it fits to neatly into racist attitudes that already exist.

triston

Postby triston » November 10th, 2015, 3:57 am

It's not just light over darkness. Have you ever watched ramleela? Or read the story of Ram and Seeta? Of you, you will understand the meaning of diwali a little better. Happy diwali to everyone.

TriP

Postby TriP » November 10th, 2015, 4:08 am

Join four friends on a journey to discover the meaning of Deepavali.

The light that radiates from within illuminates lives.

Wishing all of our Hindu friends around the world a joyous Divali and a Happy New Year.

Divali night is full of lights, may your life be filled with colors and lights of happiness.

Happy Divali

Postby Gem_in_i » November 10th, 2015, 4:50 am

Happy Diwali

Postby K74T » November 10th, 2015, 7:11 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1447153916.023809.jpg

Fuzzle

Postby Fuzzle » November 10th, 2015, 8:47 am

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » November 10th, 2015, 8:55 am

triston wrote:It's not just light over darkness. Have you ever watched ramleela? Or read the story of Ram and Seeta? Of you, you will understand the meaning of diwali a little better. Happy diwali to everyone.

Yes, i have. I am quite familiar with Hindu theology. The story of Ram and Seeta ties into what i am saying. Rawan the dark demon king of Lanka seen as the evil force in Hinduism and his destruction by Ram ties into the victory of light over darkness. In India dark skin Indians are often associated with Rawan, and in the indentureship context, the Rawan concept was transferred to Africans.

Interesting those of the south have a different concept of the Ram, Rawan and Seeta story, seeing it first as northern brahmic attempts to dominate the darker south regions. They have their own narratives in which Rawan is the hero.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 10th, 2015, 9:23 am

Happy divali to my Hindu sisters and brothers. I want roti and parasad please.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » November 10th, 2015, 9:32 am

Happy divali my Hindu brethren & sisthren. Have a safe and peaceful celebration

Postby desifemlove » November 10th, 2015, 10:28 am

TrinbagoMan wrote:Divali- Festival of Lights (light skin folks)

As much as i like many aspects of Hinduism, (and i strongly disagree with the typical Christian demeaning of worldviews that are non christian), i wonder if people ever consider the racism embedded in Divali.... The victory of light over darkness???. Although, the concept of darkness representing ignorance, and light representing enlightenment is not original to Hinduism, i am concerned about how this festival is projected given the well known Hindu attitudes towards darkness, and blackness. Thus the association between darkness and some negative state cannot be simply dismissed as it fits to neatly into racist attitudes that already exist.

eh? cool story bro..

jus like how God said let there be light in de Bible....cos God is white and hates blacks, ent?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 10th, 2015, 10:30 am

Because other religions are any better? the only religion better than Hinduism is Buddhism, because Buddhism is a religion with no god, like a prison with no walls.

Look at it this way, Hinduism is not part of the Abraham triangle of insanity which should be a major plus, sure Hindus obsessed with skin color but this is better than when Christians used burn women alive for being "witches"

Postby desifemlove » November 10th, 2015, 10:55 am

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » November 10th, 2015, 11:29 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Because other religions are any better? the only religion better than Hinduism is Buddhism, because Buddhism is a religion with no god, like a prison with no walls.

Look at it this way, Hinduism is not part of the Abraham triangle of insanity which should be a major plus, sure Hindus obsessed with skin color but this is better than when Christians used burn women alive for being "witches"

I agree with you IN GENERAL on the abrahamic triangle of insanity.... but yours is a strange defence. If someone starts to beat you, will you consider that there are people who just dont beat, but will rape you too? If i am making a case for bad customer service from TSTT, this does not infer that Digicel is any better. So stop distracting by highlighting other barbaric religions and address the essence of what i am saying head on.

It is not just a harmless obsession with skin colour, but this obsession manifests itself in a socio-economic hierarchies, religious justifications, racism, colourism that have been very abusive.

Witch burning was a part of the abusiveness of Christianity and European patriarchal feudalism, but what of sati (widow burning) ?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 10th, 2015, 11:39 am

Just something to note though, I have never read any Hindu scripture that says to burn anybody alive or any part of the scripture that says white superior to black etc.

The Bible does however say to stone people to death.

Postby K74T » November 10th, 2015, 11:45 am

Ok, please don't note anything else in this thread.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 10th, 2015, 11:47 am

K74T wrote:Ok, please don't note anything else in this thread.

Postby stev » November 10th, 2015, 11:49 am

Happy Divali to everyone...plz secure your pets tonight and be extra careful on d roads.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » November 10th, 2015, 12:59 pm

Happy Divali everyone stay safe, and

please ED hush yuh cant nah, let the day pass and let ppl like yuh a lil bit nah

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 10th, 2015, 11:16 pm

11168387_441973365986196_5436892337967064731_n.jpg