Re: tyres

Postby vtec-ghost » October 25th, 2015, 10:46 pm

jus as the person above asked, does anyone know if
205/50/16 will work on an altis?

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 26th, 2015, 5:23 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Purchased 4 Dunlop DZ102 in 205/45/17 at Tyre Clinic. $615 each.

The only non Chinese tyre available in that size i could find. Coming off Kumho Ecsta SPT which not available in any 17" size anymore apparently.

Very skeptical about these after having used DZ101s but needed new shoes in a hurry. Time will tell.

2 months of use and I have found these to be mediocre at best.

Much more ABS intervention in straight line braking compared to previous tyres.
Lateral grip not too bad, corners have gone well so far (...so far).
Rides softer than previous Kumhos (probably due to taller sidewall) but pretty noisy in comparison. Not hum/drone noisy but more so than any tyre should be.
No hydroplaning YET up to 100kph, I don't do faster than that in heavy rain.

Sadly, I may put another set of these on my other car for lack of anything better in this size.

FU tyres in almost any 17" size is almost impossible to find and where has, is like new tyre price or they worse than the Kumhos I changed in the first place.

Postby cinco » October 26th, 2015, 5:28 pm

Thanks for the update. Few people ever gives an honest review of their experience

SYKO

Postby SYKO » October 26th, 2015, 8:47 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Purchased 4 Dunlop DZ102 in 205/45/17 at Tyre Clinic. $615 each.

The only non Chinese tyre available in that size i could find. Coming off Kumho Ecsta SPT which not available in any 17" size anymore apparently.

Very skeptical about these after having used DZ101s but needed new shoes in a hurry. Time will tell.

Rides softer than previous Kumhos (probably due to taller sidewall) but pretty noisy in comparison. Not hum/drone noisy but more so than any tyre should be.

Sadly, I may put another set of these on my other car for lack of anything better in this size.

FU tyres in almost any 17" size is almost impossible to find and where has, is like new tyre price or they worse than the Kumhos I changed in the first place.

Go to Johns in balmain. They got a shupment last week. Lots of 17's in stock. 200 and 250, the ones for 250 like new

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 26th, 2015, 9:28 pm

Will check them

Wife + 205/40 = bent rim, buss tyre, cut sidewalls etc etc etc

*sigh*

Postby cinco » October 26th, 2015, 11:48 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Will check them

Wife + 205/40 = bent rim, buss tyre, cut sidewalls etc etc etc

*sigh*

That's what u get fuh letting her out d kitchen

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 27th, 2015, 9:36 pm

SYKO wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

Go to Johns in balmain. They got a shupment last week. Lots of 17's in stock. 200 and 250, the ones for 250 like new

No FU 17s whatsoever. They had NEW Double King brand tyres tho. Told the guy I couldnt afford New tyres and left quickly.

Postby cinco » October 27th, 2015, 9:54 pm

Double king as in king king? Rofl

SYKO

Postby SYKO » October 28th, 2015, 8:25 pm

Lol @ king king. I bought a pair last week friday and it had a lot could have been about 150-160 easy.

tyre boys

Postby tyre boys » November 1st, 2015, 9:07 pm

for sale 4- 215.35.18 $575.00 Dunlop tyres
for sale 4 215.40.17 $475.00Dunlop tyre
all brand new inbox me if you interested. tyres are brand new with sticker on them. serious ppl only thanks

Postby nervewrecker » November 11th, 2015, 10:13 pm

Used Kumho KR21 on my previous car and they worked well so I bought two pair's for my truck.
Working good on the wet road, better braking, better traction and softer ride as opposed to the commercial grade tyre's.

P235/70/15

Milkman45

Postby Milkman45 » November 12th, 2015, 1:58 pm

Where can I get 205/50/15 reasonable ?

Postby nervewrecker » November 12th, 2015, 5:37 pm

Mileage mack

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

haydn0

Postby haydn0 » November 16th, 2015, 10:45 pm

I went Jacks on Mulchan Seuchan Road a couple months ago.. Got the Dunlop Direzza DZ101 - 195/55R15 they charged me 600 for 1 tire. I also remember seeing Michelin 15' for 750. Now since reading this thread, I'm thinking that it was kinda pricey. :roll:

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » November 17th, 2015, 9:58 am

got 4 maxxis z4s in 205/50/16
must say i am loving the feel on the roads. No major rain yet to test it out.
but for $550 a piece, its worth it

Postby noshownogo » November 18th, 2015, 3:32 pm

Where you got them?

BlackOps2

Postby BlackOps2 » November 21st, 2015, 5:20 pm

Anyone ever imported their own tyres? If so is it worth it?

Postby nervewrecker » November 21st, 2015, 5:25 pm

BlackOps2 wrote:Anyone ever imported their own tyres? If so is it worth it?

Yes and I came out pretty good.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby Dave » November 21st, 2015, 9:19 pm

I always but I bring tyres u can't buy locally so the justification is that u can't get it in Trinidad and for the price it is worth it

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » November 22nd, 2015, 12:29 am

noshownogo wrote:Where you got them?

singhs in penal

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » November 22nd, 2015, 7:40 am

Brandtec Ltd. Chaguanas has massive sale now on. Buy three get one free

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » November 22nd, 2015, 11:58 am

until when?

richgold1000

Postby richgold1000 » November 22nd, 2015, 2:36 pm

Nov. 30

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 23rd, 2015, 10:39 am

richgold1000 wrote:Brandtec Ltd. Chaguanas has massive sale now on. Buy three get one free

Try them, i guarantee they will have a brand name you' ve never heard on sale. I called last week and even the person answering the phone couldn't pronounce the name.

tyre boys

Postby tyre boys » November 23rd, 2015, 2:45 pm

Tyre clinic marketing in Plaisance park have sale on Dunlop sumtomo an fallen tyres.. All Japanese tyre 6598973

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 23rd, 2015, 9:02 pm

tyre boys wrote:Tyre clinic marketing in Plaisance park have sale on Dunlop sumtomo an fallen tyres.. All Japanese tyre 6598973

They were always in plaisance park?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 23rd, 2015, 9:16 pm

Anybody ever heard about safetech tyres?....lots of unknown brands out there

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 24th, 2015, 7:43 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
tyre boys wrote:Tyre clinic marketing in Plaisance park have sale on Dunlop sumtomo an fallen tyres.. All Japanese tyre 6598973

They were always in plaisance park?

Yep they always had a branch there.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 24th, 2015, 9:42 am

D forq. And I going up Chag and couva to the other branches.

Thanks