WHO are the $$$million dollar LAWYERS?

Re: WHO are the $$$million dollar LAWYERS?

Postby BrotherHood » October 14th, 2015, 1:34 pm

moti wrote:
cueball1990 wrote:I make barely 60k a year atm . I myself would like to know who dingo layin with we tax money

Sorry, but if you "barely" making 60K a year then you may want to consider the fact that you don't pay tax.

Therefore when referring to tax money that the state collects, you cannot say "we".
This is only because of the fact that you do not make contributions to said "tax".

Hmm. So one's gross income alone is a means of paying tax?
What about the purchase and consumption of consumer goods?

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » October 14th, 2015, 1:57 pm

zoom rader wrote:Awaiting on PNM to call names, if not its just PNM propaganda

Did Kamla give the names on the list she waved in Parliament?

#sheep

Lance

Postby Lance » October 14th, 2015, 2:20 pm

What's his logic for not releasing the names?

Postby rollingstock » October 14th, 2015, 2:43 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
moti wrote:
cueball1990 wrote:I make barely 60k a year atm . I myself would like to know who dingo layin with we tax money

Sorry, but if you "barely" making 60K a year then you may want to consider the fact that you don't pay tax.

Therefore when referring to tax money that the state collects, you cannot say "we".
This is only because of the fact that you do not make contributions to said "tax".

Hmm. So one's gross income alone is a means of paying tax?
What about the purchase and consumption of consumer goods?

You studying that ass? Apparently he alone pays taxes and can say who does and does not.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 14th, 2015, 2:49 pm

Just think when you buy an electronic item you paying 38% Tax.
the average man working for less than $60K actually pays a lot of tax in this country, or say you spend $2000 a month in grocery check most of that is 15% tax.

Recently I paid $100 tax on a computer part that is not subjected to Vat, yet I had to pay the money because who going and take customs to court. And I only work for $150 a Week, yet I pay so much taxes.

Postby RASC » October 14th, 2015, 3:10 pm

You work for $150 a week?
ED more chupid than I thought... Window washers make more than that :lol:

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2015, 3:14 pm

Better sell water by traffic lights

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2015, 3:31 pm

most if not all of those lawyers were listed in a article a while back tho

will try to find it

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2015, 3:33 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/MIL ... 16311.html

Some of the

payments include:

Avory Sinanan—$10,406,925

Alix Partners—$20,090.020.78

Alan Newman—$14,474,613.54

Charles Russell —$63,181,472.71

Christlyn Moore —$1,064,666.66

Daniel Solomon

Associates—$2,095,373

Donna Allison

Prowell—$2,833,075

Dana Seetahal—$9,294,500

Douglas Mendes—$1,844,600

Deborah Peake—$1,943,500

Elaine Green—$2,179,010

Ernst & Young—$26,415,744

Fyard Hosein—$1,552,500

Fenton Ramsahoye —$9,969,080

Gilbert Peterson—$2,798.000

Gerald Ramdeen—$15,541,423

Fitzgerald Hinds—$11,000

Israel Khan—$11,660,800

Jagdeo Singh—$5,772,166

James Lewis—$2,457,619

Jwala Rambarran—$1,064,260

Kelvin Ramkissoon —$9,723,399

Larry Lalla—$6,974,825

Lesley Ann Lucky Samaroo —$1,274,605

Martin George & Co—$1,902,508

Martin Daly—$2,514,423

Mustapha Ibrahim—$1,000,000

Mark Seepersad—$758,666

Om Lalla—$741,750

Pamela Elder—$7,831,500

Russell Martineau—$8,834,875

Shastri Roberts—$1,613,851

Seenath Jairam—$9,850,210

Timothy Cassel—$857,008 Vincent Nelson—$20,400,544

Zainool Hosein—$25,000

Wayne Sturge—$3,140,499

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2015, 3:34 pm

those figures are based on a 300sum million total though

not the 900million figure

Postby RASC » October 14th, 2015, 3:36 pm

This list has been published before.
Thanks for reminding the public-outrageous.

No Calder Hart
No Manning
No Pena

Yet... MILLIONS spent.
Waste of Time AG. But don't worry, his family UML will come to defend!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 14th, 2015, 3:38 pm

I want a report from Inland Revenue on all these guys!

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2015, 3:38 pm

lol ent the former AG have a rolls royce with his name on it.

Postby rollingstock » October 14th, 2015, 3:44 pm

Oh goar how de go do Hinds so, 11k?

Tha's real fork up ting, he leff de police wukk but still getting shaft wrt pay

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2015, 3:47 pm

rollingstock wrote:Oh goar how de go do Hinds so, 11k?

yeah boy daz thing to vex for lollll

lalla dem getting 7million and hinds get a 11k

they always trying to keep the rasta down

Postby rollingstock » October 14th, 2015, 3:53 pm

No wonder he mouth stink man cyah afford Colgate.
Cunnylal should shame to say that

cheese

Postby cheese » October 14th, 2015, 4:31 pm

Article from 2013:

"If the advice you seek is that of attorney Jagdeo Singh, then one hour of his time costs $2,500."

"On May 24, 2012, Singh submitted six invoices to the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Transport for providing six legal opinions at a cumulative cost of $1.82 million, representing a total of 728 hours at the rate of $2,500 an hour."

"Ramsahai submitted two invoices for two opinions to the ministry, in the same format as Singh’s, under the same address listed by Singh for a cumulative value of $606,000. She had billed the ministry for a total of 404 hours at $1,500 an hour."

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/BIG-BILLS-224748162.html

Guideline figures for fee earners on the basis of hourly rates
14. When considering what fee should be allowed for work done by instructing or advocate attorneys-at-law the court should calculate such fee on the basis of an hourly rate in accordance with the guideline figures set out in the table below:

Band A
Instructing under 5 years call - $ 650.00 per hr
Advocate under 5 years call - $ 800.00 per hr

Band B
Instructing over 5 years but under 10 years call - $1,000.00 per hr
Advocating over 5 years but under 10 years call - $1,200.00 per hr

Band C
Instructing over 10 years but under 20 years call - $1,700.00 per hr
Advocating over 10 years but under 20 years call - $2,000.00 per hr

Band D
Instructing over 20 years call - $2,250.00 per hr
Advocate over 20 years call - $2,500.00 per hr

Band E
Senior Counsel / Queen’s Counsel - $3,500.00 per hr

http://www.ttlawcourts.org/index.php/component/attachments/download/80
PAGE 4

10-01

Postby 10-01 » October 14th, 2015, 4:43 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

rollingstock wrote:Oh goar how de go do Hinds so, 11k?

yeah boy daz thing to vex for lollll

lalla dem getting 7million and hinds get a 11k

they always trying to keep the rasta down

hes a rasta also if u didnt know , doh get tie up ... if have nothing to do with ras :|

Postby shogun » October 14th, 2015, 5:38 pm

Wow...

Postby De Dragon » October 14th, 2015, 5:59 pm

Wait until they are replaced by the PNM favoured clique. Politicians will use any and everything to play politics with the masses. I getting a feeling that this Gov't laying a foundation for non performance under the guise of "empty Treasury" "a lot of correctives before we can do anything". I really hope that I am wrong and this is mere blustering in a debate.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 14th, 2015, 9:09 pm

Is not just fees that is the scandal. Some of them lawyers there do some funny things, like not showing up for the court case and not filing documents so the State end up losing in default judgement.

Its almost like they deliberately botch cases so that the State would lose and have to pay to certain people.

Of course the lawyers still get they million dollar fees.

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2015, 9:19 pm

Some does just cut and paste like in prisongate

sickbad

Postby sickbad » October 14th, 2015, 11:06 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/MIL ... 16311.html

*Among the local legal fraternity, the highest sum was paid to Gerald Ramdeen, who has figured in the “Prisongate” affair as well as in the current controversy involving the location of judiciary files in his office. He received $15,541,423.

*Second in line was Israel Khan SC, who benefitted from legal briefs under the tenure of former attorney general John Jeremie, but who now serves as the Prime Minister’s lead attorney in the emailgate matter. He was paid $11,660,800.

*Third in line is Avory Sinanan SC, who received $10,406,925.

*Law Association president Seenath Jairam SC, who received $9,850,210, is next in line.

* Coming closely behind were Kelvin Ramkissoon, who was paid $9,723,399, and the late Dana Seetahal, who received $9,294,500 during the same period.

*Russell Martineau SC, who received $8,834,875, and Pamela Elder SC, who was paid $7,831,500, are next major beneficiaries.

*Completing the top ten list are Larry Lalla, who was paid $6,974,825, and Jagdeo Singh, who received $5,772,166.

Falling just outside that list is Wayne Sturge, the 11th-ranked attorney in terms of earnings from state briefs. Sturge received $3.1 million.

York

Postby York » October 15th, 2015, 1:03 am

figures are those of the legal drug lords. i was appalled when i hear on the news that Israel Khan and 3 other lawyers claimed over $10M in legal fees:

Jensen La Vende
Published: Friday, July 10, 2015.
British Queen’s Counsel James Lewis, left, and Allan Newman, centre, who have been retained by the State to conduct extradition proceedings against Jack Warner initiated by the United States, leave the Port-of-Spain Magistrates Court, yesterday, accompanied by Gerald Ramdeen. PHOTO: NICOLE DRAYTONOn his second court appearance since being arrested on fraud charges arising out of his tenure as vice president of Fifa, Jack Warner’s attorneys have already indicated a possible way out for him.

Fyard Hosein, SC, told Chief Magistrate Marcia Ayers-Caesar that the United States and the Attorney General had up to July 26 to get their house in order, otherwise Warner would be legally obliged to file for an immediate dismissal of the charges.

Hosein made the submission while resisting an application made by special state prosecutor Allan Newman, QC, to have the case adjourned to August 10.

Newman told the court that August 10 was sufficient time for both the US authorities and the Office of the Attorney General to file their case.

“I am somewhat surprised that the formal request has not yet been made. However, I will be amazed if it is not by the specified deadline,” Newman said.

[color=#FF0000]Newman, along with British Queen’s Counsel, James Lewis; Pamela Elder, SC; Israel Khan, SC; Jagdeo Singh; Wayne Sturge; Gerald Ramdeen; and Varun Debideen are representing the interests of the requesting state
. Warner’s legal team comprises Hosein, Nyree Alfonso, Rishi Dass and Anil Maharaj.[/color]

8 attorneys for the state and 4 for Jack Warner. Like we at war with the US like Russia? attorneys are terrorists? WTF dey does be doing so?

we need PNM procurement legislation, tendering procedures for securing services of legal advise. but wait why don't we just employ competent attorneys in the office of the attorney general to work an 8-4 job. Why the does the attorney general not have the competence to do this job with his staff? Competence was not a criteria to be AG...ohho!

Why the hell they didn't just the damn thing off the bat? Is not like is China or North Korea or Cuba or Russia or the Vatican (lol) making the request. Sign it and then tell JW he has enough of FIFA's money to defend himself by hiring all those same lawyers to defend himself...(when he knows he is guilty).

Oh we owed him one for working his ass off for $1 per month as Minister of Works and Transport (and who knows what else.) So we even now.

To boot, the new PNM AG comes in (sorry rides in) knowing all of this and couldn't read the reports or call a meeting or listen to the voice mail or whatever form the advice took...and couldn't sign the extradition order ON TIME to get taxpayer value for money.

Postby zoom rader » October 15th, 2015, 7:12 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/MILLION--DOLLAR--MEN-296516311.html

Some of the

payments include:

Avory Sinanan—$10,406,925

Christlyn Moore —$1,064,666.66

Daniel Solomon

Associates—$2,095,373

Donna Allison

Prowell—$2,833,075

Dana Seetahal—$9,294,500

Douglas Mendes—$1,844,600

Deborah Peake—$1,943,500

Elaine Green—$2,179,010

Ernst & Young—$26,415,744

Fyard Hosein—$1,552,500

Fenton Ramsahoye —$9,969,080

Gilbert Peterson—$2,798.000

Gerald Ramdeen—$15,541,423

Fitzgerald Hinds—$11,000

Israel Khan—$11,660,800

Jagdeo Singh—$5,772,166

James Lewis—$2,457,619

Jwala Rambarran—$1,064,260

Kelvin Ramkissoon —$9,723,399

Larry Lalla—$6,974,825

Lesley Ann Lucky Samaroo —$1,274,605

Martin George & Co—$1,902,508

Martin Daly—$2,514,423

Mustapha Ibrahim—$1,000,000

Mark Seepersad—$758,666

Om Lalla—$741,750

Pamela Elder—$7,831,500

Russell Martineau—$8,834,875

Seenath Jairam—$9,850,210

Timothy Cassel—$857,008 Vincent Nelson—$20,400,544

Zainool Hosein—$25,000

Wayne Sturge—$3,140,499

So why de UNC lawyers? All dem above is PNM

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2015, 10:38 pm

what about the list of diplomatic passports ?
when that releasing ?

Postby zoom rader » October 16th, 2015, 10:21 am

pugboy wrote:what about the list of diplomatic passports ?
when that releasing ?

Yuh have to wait PNM trying to produce fail proof false papers

Postby K74T » October 16th, 2015, 10:54 am

Yet u forever producing beat up.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » October 16th, 2015, 11:59 am

Daran wrote:the PNM mindset is strong in this one.

I don't know about you (maybe you're unemployed and living off my tax dollar too) but comments like that prove why we'd always be regarded as a Third World Country. 900+ million dollars of tax payer money went into the pockets the friends of an attorney general and your focus is political cause you have the mindset of a sheep. #pathetic

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » October 16th, 2015, 12:01 pm

" Avory Sinanan—$10,406,925

.............What the absolute f@ck!!!