2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Hyperion

Re: 2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Hyperion » October 12th, 2015, 7:10 pm

^^ I am sure you were stockpiling real food in case the UNC lost, unlike the other party hacks who actually thought they were going to win and now have to eat grass.

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2015, 7:13 pm

Hyperion wrote:^^ I am sure you were stockpiling real food in case the UNC lost, unlike the other party hacks who actually thought they were going to win and now have to eat grass.

No need for me to stock pile bro, have ppl farming me lands bro. I dont charge them and when they ready plenty bodi dropping home by me.

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2015, 7:15 pm

So PNM trade Unions set to collect a few Millions and now they want state lands.
Well done PNM with your trade unions

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 12th, 2015, 7:21 pm

Hyperion wrote:^^ I am sure you were stockpiling real food in case the UNC lost, unlike the other party hacks who actually thought they were going to win and now have to eat grass.

No need for me to stock pile bro, have ppl farming me lands bro. I dont charge them and when they ready plenty bodi dropping home by me.

So why would you have your fellow UNC peeps eat grass while you live nice? give them a bodi discount when they show the party card.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 12th, 2015, 7:24 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Well good for them, they will have to eat grass now

Ahh good you agree there is no secret permanent UNC majority . That is the first step to acceptance.

Postby RASC » October 12th, 2015, 7:44 pm

The princess has returned...
Yuh well gih dem in parliament zoom.

Equality for your kind might soon be upon us?!?

Postby desifemlove » October 12th, 2015, 7:54 pm

EmilioA wrote:
zoom rader wrote:As I said a set of black jacket white jacket. PNM tuners need to take note of these false tuners.
One min they UNC and now they PNM, men looking to eat ah food

You really are a dunderhead , you know. 90,000 votes swing from the UNC to the PNM in 2015 ....and you talking about white jacket black jacket.

More like stolen vote

proof? oh, you was ahead at 6pm in a secret ballot.

Postby Habit7 » October 12th, 2015, 7:57 pm

16 cycles wrote:See roget saying he had some fruitful talks with rowley on issues affecting workers agenda

Now that's a joke the PNM is biggest anti union group.
20/20 or 20/30 vision or whatever they the hell they call it, is all anti union and media.

zoom rader wrote:So PNM trade Unions set to collect a few Millions and now they want state lands.

Be consistent with your anti PNM rhetoric nah.

Postby K74T » October 12th, 2015, 8:04 pm

Trololol zoom impsing himself right through.

Postby desifemlove » October 12th, 2015, 8:05 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Racism is strong is this thread smh..sad to see what I assume to be educated people dropping to this level....come on fellas better than this

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yeah Hinds educated but is the biggest racist

Hinds disgusted by rastaman's Kamla kiss
Published on Nov 23, 2011, 10:44 pm AST
0 CommentsArticle
Share:FacebookTwitter

The move of a rasta to kiss the palm of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar during her tour of flooded areas in Maraval on Monday made Opposition Senator Fitzgerald Hinds upset and sick.

So disgusted was Hinds, he said, if he had the opportunity he would cut off the man's dreadlocks.

"Yesterday, I saw one little idiot dreadlocked boy somewhere in Trinidad and Tobago, the Prime Minister two or three hours into her tour of the flooding maybe held about six shovels and two pick axe looking for photograph opportunity as usual, no doubt must have shook about 2,000 dirty muddy hands and I saw an idiot little rasta boy kissing the Prime Minister's palm. That made me sick. And if I had my way, I cut every dreadlock off his head, every one, madame vice President, that idiot boy, what a rude little dreadlock," said Hinds.

Hinds said he felt further sick when he heard a woman saying that she had forgiven the Government for detaining her son during the State of Emergency because she was happy that he found employment in Government's "Colour Me Orange" programme.

This is racist..how? yep, criticising a rival politician iz racism.

Postby pete » October 12th, 2015, 8:08 pm

Well if they used the union to get power then paid them off a 15M to avoid the unions taking any action then yeah, I'd say they're anti union.

Postby Redman » October 12th, 2015, 8:23 pm

15 m vs wage settlement..???
One might argue that the 15 m is a more cost effective solution
it wasn't hidden

If it was a bribe then the only anti union people are the ones receiving it.

Postby pugboy » October 13th, 2015, 4:33 am

anybody know the current status of taxes/duties on cctv stuff ?
wanna bring in a dvr setup

York

Postby York » October 13th, 2015, 7:42 am

There are international anti-bribery laws....applicable especially to government agencies.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 13th, 2015, 8:09 am

Interesting- So the Governor of the Central Bank received over $900,000.00 mere days before his appointment by the former administration. Look ting!

theres also rumors that there are over 300 luxury vehicles that were obtained during the past administration for private use that have paid contracts to maintain for the next 5 years ................ this should be good...................

Postby RASC » October 13th, 2015, 8:41 am

Expose them all... No mercy!
We need to start prosecuting...building cases etc

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2015, 1:37 pm

Habit7 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:See roget saying he had some fruitful talks with rowley on issues affecting workers agenda

Now that's a joke the PNM is biggest anti union group.
20/20 or 20/30 vision or whatever they the hell they call it, is all anti union and media.

zoom rader wrote:So PNM trade Unions set to collect a few Millions and now they want state lands.

Be consistent with your anti PNM rhetoric nah.

Unions just got paid a couple of millions with state lands on the table bro.

PNM money talks and labour suffers

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 13th, 2015, 1:41 pm

The PNM had no choice in this matter right now bro. They will have to give away the state lands if they want to be in power else they will end up like UNC.

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2015, 1:49 pm

Only a matter of time before Trade unions start beating up with PNM.
PNM will have to pay heavy.

Meanwhile what has the trade unions movement done for contract. ( government) workers. Are contract workers better off now .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 13th, 2015, 1:57 pm

^ The unions are just thugs looking to eat ah food they don't actually care about anyone. But the honest truth is until Trinis evolve and stop making voting choice based on what union and religious organizations say to vote for then we will be stuck with giving into their demands.

They should be given state lands somewhere very remote in the forest. But I have a feeling this won't be the case, the unions have too much power and this should not be. This is also part of the reason we cannot get foreign investors in Trinidad, read reports about how our workforce is lazy, incompetent and unreliable. All encouraged by unions which also happens to be encouraged by the PNM. But they have the raging bull by the nuts, there is little he can do right now about this. Else he go end up like Kamla.

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2015, 2:33 pm

Unions is why working conditions in trini is primitive. From the late 1970s to present the unions have reached nowhere.

Postby Habit7 » October 13th, 2015, 9:02 pm

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 13th, 2015, 9:08 pm

^^ She will never be affected by traffic....that is probably the reason she can't envision the need for the rapid rail.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » October 13th, 2015, 9:15 pm

Marlene now buss de mark how in Union hall, approx 1100 units were built and the contractor charged 1.4 billion. That works out to approx 1.27M / unit.

How the F uck that could be subsidized gov't housing geared towards lower middle income.

Wasn't it TN Rannath that had that contract, and is the one presently building the Mansion in Penal ?

She went on further that in 2014 Moonilal got cabinet approval quietly to increase the joint income threshold from 25K/mth to 45K/mth. to qualify for HDC house.

Postby sMASH » October 13th, 2015, 9:34 pm

RASC wrote:Expose them all... No mercy!
We need to start prosecuting...building cases etc
since even the last administration, agreed.
I don't really appreciate shamfa's manners and tone, but if she gets reliable evidence of wrong doing and obtains valid convictions, I would be able to forgive her 'enthusiastic' nature.

Postby zoom rader » October 14th, 2015, 12:51 pm

Chemical wrote:Marlene now buss de mark how in Union hall, approx 1100 units were built and the contractor charged 1.4 billion. That works out to approx 1.27M / unit.

How the F uck that could be subsidized gov't housing geared towards lower middle income.

Wasn't it TN Rannath that had that contract, and is the one presently building the Mansion in Penal ?

She went on further that in 2014 Moonilal got cabinet approval quietly to increase the joint income threshold from 25K/mth to 45K/mth. to qualify for HDC house.

1.27M to build a house with land too, wazs that real cheap.

Buying land to build house is around 1.5 million by todays prices.

No mark ant buss bro, thats the normal price

Postby Habit7 » October 14th, 2015, 12:54 pm

McDonald: HDC construction costs “insidious”
Published on Oct 14, 2015, 10:24 am AST
By Joel Julien

HOUSING Minister Marlene McDonald has described the “leakage” in construction costs at the Housing Ministry during the tenure of the former People’s Partnership administration as “insidious”.

McDonald said between the period 2002 to 2010 under the tenure of the Patrick Manning-led People’s National Movement (PNM) government, 26,000 houses were built at a cost of $6 billion.

This worked out to a unit cost of construction of $230,000, she said.

During the tenure of the Kamla Persad-Bissessar-led People’s Partnership administration however only 4,178 housing units were built at a cost of $5.3 billion, McDonald said.

“The unit cost of construction ranges between $700,000 upwards to about $1.2 million,” McDonald said.

She made the statements on Tuesday night as she delivered her contribution to the budget debate.

McDonald said subsidised housing provided by the State is meant to assist the country’s “most vulnerable” and the exorbitant construction costs were defeating that purpose.

She outlined the construction costs of specific housing areas to bolster her point:

Oasis Housing Estate: 1,159 units at a cost of $1 billion with an average construction cost of $800,000

Eden Gardens: 458 units at a cost of $355 million with an average construction cost of $750,000

Cypress Gardens: 1,182 units at a cost of $1.4 billion with an average construction cost $1.1 million

Trestrail D’Abadie: 1,204 units at a cost of $1.5 billion

McDonald said there was no Cabinet approval for these housing estates and a group of preferred contractors were used.

McDonald said the housing estate that “really concerned” her “a lot” however was the one at Indian Trail located “at the back of the Couva Children’s Hospital” where the land use was changed from “agricultural to residential”.

At that location “they propose to build 920 units at a cost of $1.2 billion with an average cost of $1.1 million”, McDonald said.

“I have had no sight of Cabinet’s approval for the construction cost of these housing units. This leads to the issue of the source of funds. Where did the approval come from? I was informed, there is an argument that the board of the HDC (Housing Development Corporation) gave approvals for the construction cost, the Cabinet will give approval for the purchase of the land.

“Can a State agency bind a Cabinet to these millions and billions of dollars? I think that this approach is questionable. It is something that I will have to discuss with the Cabinet, bring a note and let us have it discussed because it has to change because it is inside of there,” she said.

The HDC currently has a liability of some $2.6 billion, McDonald said.

These include:

ANSA Merchant Bank Loan of $1.2 billion

ANSA Merchant Bank Bridge loan of $300 million

FCB Loan $450 million

Republic Bank overdraft of $390 million

Sums owing to contractors $290 million.

“This is something that the Cabinet, the board at HDC would have to deal with in order for us to go forward with our construction plans,” McDonald said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151014 ... -insidious

Postby zoom rader » October 14th, 2015, 1:07 pm

^^^ Again 1.3Million for a built house is cheap

Postby Habit7 » October 14th, 2015, 1:14 pm

Habit7 wrote:McDonald: HDC construction costs “insidious”
By Joel Julien

HOUSING Minister Marlene McDonald has described the “leakage” in construction costs at the Housing Ministry during the tenure of the former People’s Partnership administration as “insidious”.

McDonald said between the period 2002 to 2010 under the tenure of the Patrick Manning-led People’s National Movement (PNM) government, 26,000 houses were built at a cost of $6 billion.

During the tenure of the Kamla Persad-Bissessar-led People’s Partnership administration however only 4,178 housing units were built at a cost of $5.3 billion, McDonald said.

“The unit cost of construction ranges between $700,000 upwards to about $1.2 million,” McDonald said.

She made the statements on Tuesday night as she delivered her contribution to the budget debate.

McDonald said subsidised housing provided by the State is meant to assist the country’s “most vulnerable” and the exorbitant construction costs were defeating that purpose.

She outlined the construction costs of specific housing areas to bolster her point:

Oasis Housing Estate: 1,159 units at a cost of $1 billion with an average construction cost of $800,000

Eden Gardens: 458 units at a cost of $355 million with an average construction cost of $750,000

Cypress Gardens: 1,182 units at a cost of $1.4 billion with an average construction cost $1.1 million

McDonald said there was no Cabinet approval for these housing estates and a group of preferred contractors were used.

McDonald said the housing estate that “really concerned” her “a lot” however was the one at Indian Trail located “at the back of the Couva Children’s Hospital” where the land use was changed from “agricultural to residential”.

At that location “they propose to build 920 units at a cost of $1.2 billion with an average cost of $1.1 million”, McDonald said.

“I have had no sight of Cabinet’s approval for the construction cost of these housing units. This leads to the issue of the source of funds. Where did the approval come from? I was informed, there is an argument that the board of the HDC (Housing Development Corporation) gave approvals for the construction cost, the Cabinet will give approval for the purchase of the land.

“Can a State agency bind a Cabinet to these millions and billions of dollars? I think that this approach is questionable. It is something that I will have to discuss with the Cabinet, bring a note and let us have it discussed because it has to change because it is inside of there,” she said.

These include:

FCB Loan $450 million

“This is something that the Cabinet, the board at HDC would have to deal with in order for us to go forward with our construction plans,” McDonald said.

No $230,000 for a built house is cheap.

Postby zoom rader » October 14th, 2015, 1:19 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:McDonald: HDC construction costs “insidious”
By Joel Julien

These include:

FCB Loan $450 million

No $230,000 for a built house is cheap.

Of course $230000 is cheap, but 2002 was 13 years ago. I paid 250K for a house in 2000 bro, its present value now is 1.1 Million