Good Job Everyone (GMO Awareness)

Daran

Re: Good Job Everyone (GMO Awareness)

Postby Daran » October 10th, 2015, 10:25 pm

Lol you find one lil cut and paste argument against that study ready to taint all GMO.

You are aware of the intensive testing gmo undergoes to get FDA approval right?

What exactly is your stance here? GMO isn't safe? Or should be regulated and labeled? Banned outright? Should under go even more testing?

Postby meccalli » October 11th, 2015, 6:18 am

If you can't see the fundamental problem with that study, it's no wonder that you buy into everything that mainstream media tells you.
FDA? lol, I rest my case.
Aspartame, HFCS, Monsanto's bunny that gives them power in the US.
FDA is more concerned about shutting down organic farmers and amish raw milk producers than the mercury laden and carcinogenic sweeteners they approve with their "intensive testing".

Daran

Postby Daran » October 11th, 2015, 6:22 am

So what's your stance? Monsanto is evil and all gmo is bad?

I'm trying to understand because apparently you don't understand the stringent process by which gmo undergoes.

Postby meccalli » October 11th, 2015, 6:59 am

GMO is amazing technology with great potential. It's cheap and can make a big positive change if proper long term study is done. The goal is strictly end product with no consideration for health. Due to agricultural practices, the additional resistance lends itself to the heavy reliance on particular pesticides and have created organisms that are unfamiliar and dangerous. Monsanto a monopoly with no competition and no pressure, with powerful individuals behind them- their primary concern is money and other stuff I'll keep to myself based on the nature of that agenda.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 11th, 2015, 7:20 am

Daran wrote:So what's your stance? Monsanto is evil and all gmo is bad?

I'm trying to understand because apparently you don't understand the stringent process by which gmo undergoes.

ok homie. let me educate. you just proved my case in point. earlier i said lobby groups are paid to market GMO foods and also publish studies to advocate for GMO as safe for human consumption, while you out there blindly advocating for them, for free. you have plenty to learn about the new political landscape of 'scientific studies' in the west.

the sad and unfortunate truth is, as your post shows, relies heavily on the database at Genera. let me tell you what is Genera. the Genera database is owned and published by a company called 'Biofortified'. Biofortified research is funded by guess who... that's right... Monsanto. 10% of the companies funding can be visibly seen as coming from Monsanto while the rest of funding sources is hidden. so much for transparency.

let me explain how this new scientific political landscape works. if i need to publish scientific studies that shine positive light and lure investors to my company i can.. set up my own company. hire scientists and lab assistants fresh out of college. pay them a nice salary they cant get anywhere else to betray the human race. and then task them with CREATING experiments which will fail to show the carcinogenic effect of the GMO. they will then repeat the experiments over and over to get the result. this creates statistics. the statistics can be peer reviewed, that is, when all the SAME steps are followed the same result can be replicated by other independent scientists. but the major problem is.. scientists can devise experiments to statistically prove pretty much any "negative outcome" they want. example, if i really wanted to i could fudnd a project which devises experiments that show the bite from a cobra snake is non-toxic. lol

but thats not all. there were 1200 tests done by biofortified, but only 400 of those tests made it unto the database. that's 30%. meaning that 800 of the angles they attempted failed to produce the consensus they were hoping for and demonstrated GMO as toxic. of course, they would not publish that when they are being paid as a lobby group to support and further support of GMO products.

this is not a conspiracy. this is how things work now. many corroded studies, biased research coming out of lobby group funded projects.

here the boss. have a read. a paper which actively and directly diffuses the content of your post.
http://www.ensser.org/fileadmin/user_up ... SER_LV.pdf

There is no scientific consensus on the safety of genetically modified foods and crops, according
to a statement released today by an international group of more than 90 scientists, academics
and physicians.[1]
The statement comes in response to recent claims from the GM industry and some scientists,
journalists, and commentators that there is a “scientific consensus” that GM foods and crops
were generally found safe for human and animal health and the environment. The statement
calls these claims “misleading”, adding, “This claimed consensus on GMO safety does not exist.”
"Such claims may place human and environmental health at undue risk and create an
atmosphere of complacency," states Dr. Angelika Hilbeck, chairperson of the European Network
of Scientists for Social and Environmental Responsibility (ENSSER) and one of the signatories.
“The statement draws attention to the diversity of opinion over GMOs in the scientific community
and the often contradictory or inconclusive findings of studies on GMO safety. These include
toxic effects on laboratory animals fed GM foods, increased pesticide use from GM crop
cultivation, and the unexpected impacts of Bt insecticidal crops on beneficial and non-target
organisms,” Dr Hilbeck continues.
ENSSER e.V. * Marienstr. 19/20 * 10117 Berlin * Germany P +49 (0) 30 / 21234056
F +49 (0) 30 / 21234057
E office@ensser.org
W http://www.ensser.org
In spite of this nuanced and complex picture, a group of like-minded people makes sweeping
claims that GM crops and foods are safe. In reality, many unanswered questions remain and in
some cases there is serious cause for concern.

and if that isnt enough, or too much to read.

Bon Apetite

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 11th, 2015, 7:32 am

Daran wrote:Lol you find one lil cut and paste argument against that study ready to taint all GMO.

You are aware of the intensive testing gmo undergoes to get FDA approval right?

What exactly is your stance here? GMO isn't safe? Or should be regulated and labeled? Banned outright? Should under go even more testing?

the usda is in league with monsanto boy. monsanto is heavily backed as biological weapons producer for the department of defence. he have real clout from making chemical weapons and partner with the usa investing in this gmo technology. AND FORCING IT OWN PPL THROAT USING THE PUBLIC AS GUINEA PIGS. is not the first time america use its population as guinea pigs. do your research.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 11th, 2015, 9:27 am

cool, reading some cool stuff in this thread.

Changing my mind from my earlier post.

Postby RASC » October 11th, 2015, 9:31 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:Tell the starving child in africa india middle east his food he may get is gmo, and do not eat it

Ent...
This f*king conversation does slay me every time some far left nut job brings it up.
Everything in moderation-but don't come preaching this nonsense when people are starving!

Postby RASC » October 11th, 2015, 9:34 am

Unless you're preaching POPULATION control and RESPONSIBLE family planning along with the Anti-GMO rhetoric, this is a waste of time.

Postby The_Honourable » October 11th, 2015, 12:37 pm

Big biotech claims that genetic engineering is a necessary step towards feeding the world's growing population. And yet debate still rages as to whether GM crops actually increase yields at all. Furthermore, the UN recently stated that 30,000 people a day were starving to death, but not because of underproduction of crops. It's simply through lack of access.

Read more: http://amazingdiscoveries.org/H-decepti ... s_diseases

and: http://amazingdiscoveries.org/H-decepti ... ed_GM_corn

Main Menu: http://amazingdiscoveries.org/H-decepti ... llen-White

beetee

Postby beetee » October 11th, 2015, 12:54 pm

i've actually stopped breathing in normal air because its filled with pollutants and tons of gmo gases.

i buy different mixes of oxygen/nitrogen and i breathe in that only.

Cant trust what the government is giving us.

pluggie

Postby pluggie » October 13th, 2015, 4:46 am

These GMO & MSG issues are difficult to deal with in Trinidad at this stage since there are not much alternatives and the few alternatives are much more expensive. You need to keep in mind that a lot of Trinidad's foodstuff are imported and these importers are usually choosing the cheapest options in order to have competitive prices and make substantial profit. When I visited Trinidad earlier this year , I've notice that is a lot cheaper to eat unhealthy than healthy. A salad in TGI is more expensive than a burger / chips , a proper steak (over 300g) in a restaurant is over $250... The cheaper options are take aways which give a sheit load of rice , roti etc and 2 piece of bone on the side.

Postby 88sins » October 13th, 2015, 9:28 am

bluesclues

you think way to much & have too much free time on your hands.
Think less, live more & try to enjoy yuh life while yuh could. cuz no matter what you eat or don't eat, GMO or otherwise, it ain't gonna make you immune to the human mortality condition

Advent

Postby Advent » October 13th, 2015, 9:36 am

Daran wrote:What utter BS is this???

GMO foods are thoroughly tested and are perhaps the biggest contributor the increasing food supply. These campaigns are retarded and attempt to demonize a lot of good brilliant scientists.

This 'awareness' issue is moot, but fine label them if you insist. And you're free to not buy them, but do you really think Organic is safer or better? It's perhaps worse and takes up far more resources to produce. In the end, organic is the one that should be demonized, not GMO.

What these people dont recognize is that if we are to depend on only organic food, there would not be enough food to feed all the people of the world ( or land to plant the crops) and that only the richest of the rich would be able to afford the food that can be supplied leaving most the world hungry.

Also GMO are probably the most tested product in history with regards to food, people complaining about GMO and have no problem eating a Julie mango or a banana which is a less safe way of engineering food or crops ( grafting)

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » October 13th, 2015, 9:56 am

GMO Testing:

1. Eat GMO corn...chew chew chew...for some reason, some still come out whole.
2. Eat non-GMO corn...chew chew chew...yay no yellow corn in poopie.

:mrgreen:

Postby 88sins » October 13th, 2015, 10:22 am

genetic modification of food goin on for centuries, is only now the overly sensitive masses want to take issue with it happening in a lab with greater precision and with easily repeatable results & not in a field thru trial & error

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 13th, 2015, 11:33 am

pluggie wrote:These GMO & MSG issues are difficult to deal with in Trinidad at this stage since there are not much alternatives and the few alternatives are much more expensive. You need to keep in mind that a lot of Trinidad's foodstuff are imported and these importers are usually choosing the cheapest options in order to have competitive prices and make substantial profit. When I visited Trinidad earlier this year , I've notice that is a lot cheaper to eat unhealthy than healthy. A salad in TGI is more expensive than a burger / chips , a proper steak (over 300g) in a restaurant is over $250... The cheaper options are take aways which give a sheit load of rice , roti etc and 2 piece of bone on the side.

when i just started trying to change over, yeah, it seemed like organic food was so expensive compared to unhealthy food. part of the issue with the worldwide food supply 'issue' and monsanto is here to save the world bit. but i eventually learned to navigate. and wel,, nothing could be further from the truth. and for us. organic food is waaay cheaper than packaged food and gmo products. we have everything here to make everything at home. just we have the raw ingredients to work with and it not all done and ready to microwave.

with fruits and vegetables. well you have to know how to navigate. u must have a farmer padna or something. help him out when he need transport or however else u could help and you link. dont charge no money just take goods as you need. trade with friends who have different type of trees and thing.

but grannma grow we up good on good food. trini eh know we food pure and organic as it is is a precious item in todays world. larger countries menu being replaced with substitute foods and fillers. we have we original dahl and rice and bahgi and ting, pelau etc all healthy foods. trini culture has been a culture of healthy food. not like america.. fry everything.

Postby RBphoto » October 13th, 2015, 11:55 am

I hear the new $5.00 doubles is GMO and gluten free. All them $3.00 doubles is GMO devil business.

Postby meccalli » October 13th, 2015, 1:54 pm

bluesclues wrote:trini culture has been a culture of healthy food. not like america.. fry everything.

That's pretty far from the truth going on observation alone(both people and popular food fried doughs), not to mention obesity and diabetes related stats. I will say, it has great potential because of the presence of things like you mentioned, bush tomatoes, taro, ground provisions and wild fed animals, not to mention the prospects of farming wild meat on agricultural byproduct that doesn't make market.

88sins wrote:genetic modification of food goin on for centuries, is only now the overly sensitive masses want to take issue with it happening in a lab with greater precision and with easily repeatable results & not in a field thru trial & error

lol, well... Maybe you can tell me, because I can't recall in times gone past where farmers and growers were doing anything other than naturally crossing sexually viable species and asexual propagation in order to introduce characteristics of another naturally occurring species in their present application and conditions.
For instance, http://www2.ca.uky.edu/entomology/entfacts/ef130.asp
maybe Bacillus thuringiensis protein expressing genes inserted into corn, so that it produces its own pesticide that poisons endemic corn pests. You know anybody who crosses soil microbes and vegetables? This is why its called GMO, it's a new organism. Sounds appetising.
'Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.'

Postby RBphoto » October 15th, 2015, 7:28 am

meccalli wrote:naturally crossing sexually viable species and asexual propagation in order to introduce characteristics of another naturally occurring species in their present application and conditions.

Corn looks nothing like its wild counterpart. If you don't like GMO's then you would rather see something like golden rice not be used and numerous children go blind?

http://www.goldenrice.org/

Postby dougla_boy » October 15th, 2015, 8:01 am

mero wrote:Lol at you mortals questioning Daran's intelligence, d f*q you think u are?

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2015, 8:17 am

bluesclues vs daran = cripple fight.

Postby dougla_boy » October 15th, 2015, 9:26 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:bluesclues vs daran = cripple fight.

would still watch 8-)

Postby 88sins » October 15th, 2015, 9:40 am

would place bets :D
daran is d up&comer
bluesclues go beat him wit experience :lol: :lol:

Postby meccalli » October 15th, 2015, 10:01 am

RBphoto wrote:Corn looks nothing like its wild counterpart. If you don't like GMO's then you would rather see something like golden rice not be used and numerous children go blind?

Neither does a pompek, and yet done through simple selective breeding just like corn over time.
Golden rice must be the only way to solve vitamin A deficiency.
Particularly now, that the paper that presented the findings was retracted due to poor ethics and science as in the earlier case. That's an encouraging trend.

Lets see how long extended monoculture will provide sufficient nutrition for those in need. smh

Daran

Postby Daran » October 15th, 2015, 10:44 am

Bluesclueless and meccalli (sorry couldn't think of an insulting spin on your handle), are widely uninformed, alarmists, paranoid and going in circles with your claims.

Take off the tinfoil hats for a second. If GMO were unsafe, then wouldn't there be an increase in mortality and ill-health? In fact, we see the opposite. And while access to food is still a problem, GMO has contributed to reducing malnutrition more than any other factor.

Secondly, you all clearly don't understand genetic modifying. It is no different to 'natural breeding' which has been practiced since humans started agriculture. However, with one key difference is that GMO is thoroughly tested. While breeding (which is moving genes from one species to another can lead ) is often messy and of course untested and can lead to high variant results (hence tonnes of trial and error involved here). And just to confirm, are you ok with Cross breeding/hybridization /artificial selection, which are all forms of genetic modification?

GMO funded labs are filled with brilliant scientists who are investigating ways to improve yields, boosts nutrition, resilience, resistance to pests and other diseases. You also make it seem FDA approves anything Mosanto hands them, this is far from the truth. FDA and other world regulating bodies (especially in Europe) extensively test GMO produce before sanctioning them.

So again, I'm not saying blanketly that GMO is safe, however, please respect the scientific bodies and agencies that not only verify their safety, but they contribute to improving these products safer.

You guys need to stop spreading misinformation and pseudoscience, it is only contributing to the growing science denial which encourages the rejection of evolution, climate change, vaccination, GMO and western medicine.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2015, 10:47 am

88sins wrote:would place bets :D
daran is d up&comer

:rofl: @ experience.

Tuner does still have annual awards for posters? Daran, bluesclues, uml and ZR need to collect various prizes.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 15th, 2015, 10:51 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
88sins wrote:would place bets :D
daran is d up&comer

:rofl: @ experience.

Tuner does still have annual awards for posters? Daran, bluesclues, uml and ZR need to collect various prizes.

Doh forget Effectic, I nominate him for the Forest Gump award.

Postby meccalli » October 15th, 2015, 7:23 pm

Daran wrote:Secondly, you all clearly don't understand genetic modifying. It is no different to 'natural breeding' which has been practiced since humans started agriculture. However, with one key difference is that GMO is thoroughly tested. While breeding (which is moving genes from one species to another can lead ) is often messy and of course untested and can lead to high variant results (hence tonnes of trial and error involved here). And just to confirm, are you ok with Cross breeding/hybridization /artificial selection, which are all forms of genetic modification?

lol...too tired to bother to respond to nonsense. Form 3 biology.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 15th, 2015, 7:39 pm

Lol take your time reading your cxc bio text. I go wait