What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panason

Postby ronsin1 » September 20th, 2015, 8:49 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Alright guys, I fixed it.

Cheapest AC guy in Trini was charging $350 to fix it. had someone go Maraj AC in Aranguez and bought a 30uf Capacitor TGM brand for $35. Opened up the compressor and pulled out the old one, wired the new one exactly like the old. Turned it on and VIOLA!!! AC pumpin!!

Only thing the old capacitor was a 450 volt and the new one I bought is a 370 volt but both are 30uf

The AC however works fine so I eh know if that matters. Could using a 370V capacitor damage the compressor? or the life of the capacitor would just be shorter?

Should have very minimal affect there is the issue of capacitve resistance but this is limited to a couple OHMS there is a tolerance +/- 5% on the compressor which will help

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 20th, 2015, 11:07 am

^thanks dude, this is good to know, sort of puts my mind at ease.

I am surprised the original capacitor only lasted 5 years. We have a huge fridge since 1998 running 24/7 and somehow capacitor still works, nothing has ever gone wrong with that.

BTW the fan in the inside evaporator unit does that also have a capacitor? I notice it does spin slower than when it was new.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 20th, 2015, 12:51 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:BTW the fan in the inside evaporator unit does that also have a capacitor? I notice it does spin slower than when it was new.
Yep. But much smaller than the one for the compressor (obviously).

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 20th, 2015, 1:43 pm

^ how difficult would it be to reach that capacitor?

Postby nervewrecker » September 20th, 2015, 2:16 pm

Should look something like that and not be far from the 30uf you removed.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 20th, 2015, 2:59 pm

Yep, cap looks like that.
Can't say for other units, but on mines the cap is in the evaporator (inside) unit.
Once you know how to remove the cover its easy. Its to the side with the board in my LG unit.

Postby nervewrecker » September 20th, 2015, 3:31 pm

Shouldn't take him long to find it :lol:

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 20th, 2015, 3:44 pm

Interesting I replace a ceiling fan capacitor like that once.

I guess the only thing that would be difficult to replace would be the fan motors? Allyuh ever try to replace the fan motor in the evaporator unit? how hard is it to do?

Postby nervewrecker » September 20th, 2015, 4:00 pm

Condenser is easy, you disconnect the wires, remove the 4 screws at the base of the bracket and out it comes (motor, bracket, fan etc).

Evap is a little different. I suggest you pay a qualified tech for that.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 20th, 2015, 4:32 pm

^Yeah looking at conden it was easy to reach and just a few screws. But looking at the evap that one seems rather complicated.

Seems like Evap fan and compressor is pretty much AC tech call. But in your opinion would it make sense to replace something like a compressor? considering a new AC is $2300 installed?

You would then have to take into account the remaining hours of life left on fan motors and circuit board etc? which may not make it feasible to replace compressor IF it lasts you 9 years?

I bet this is what the evap motor looks like

Postby nervewrecker » September 20th, 2015, 5:08 pm

Yup, evap fan motors look like that.

Doesnt make sense to replace a compressor. Compressor plus install is half the price of a new ac. If you got some years out of it already its best you get a new one. If comp gone through in a new ac you have issues to look into before replacing.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » October 3rd, 2015, 6:44 am

Morning I have a 30 amp half size single pole breaker with a 220v outlet and a 220v lighted toggle switch. The circuit is wired 4.0 ecc flat wire
Could this run a 36000BTU Without causing any damages to my electric or a surge in my current flow.

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » October 3rd, 2015, 7:38 am

Yes u will damage your ac an d 30 amp breaker will start to trip because its to small u need 6.0 wire an a 40amp breaker

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » October 3rd, 2015, 8:16 am

Thanks.

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » October 3rd, 2015, 10:53 am

No problem

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 5th, 2015, 10:32 pm

So one other issue pop up with my AC now, after replacing the capacitor where the compressor would not turn on now the opposite thing happen.

Compressor will not turn off, even when you power off the inside unit the outside condenser will remain on. If you unplug the AC from the socket or turn off breaker is the only way it will shut off, if you plug it back on the compressor unit will turn on without even touching anything on the AC.

Could this issue be the contactor inside the outside condenser itself? the black thingy next to the capacitor? Anyway to test to know if this is the issue? if is the circuit board in the inside unit I may be screwed. lol Right now does just use it for half an hour cause then room gets too cold have to unplug it. Don't wanna spend too much money on a old unit like this.

Won't mind if I could put a switch close by that I can manually turn on and off the compressor. LOL don't wanna turn off the whole AC as the fan does blow cold air for quite some time after the compressor is shut off.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » October 5th, 2015, 10:41 pm

Contacter stuck on

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 5th, 2015, 10:45 pm

cheese pie wrote:Contacter stuck on

I see hmm thats the black thingy in the compressor unit next to the 370V run start capacitor right?

Can this fix? or do I buy a new one?

if so do I have to buy it in a AC shop like I did with the capacitor or can this be bought in any electrical store? And what would be the exact name I am looking for when buying this? 240 volt 40 amp? I don't wanna take it out I prefer leave it in and replace the wire one by one with the new one so I don't mess it up.

Unit is a 1350 watts 12,000 BTU frigidaire Split Unit.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 6th, 2015, 3:56 pm

so I open up the condenser unit outside and all I found was this white thingy and a black fan capacitor 2.5 uf

Is there anyway this white thingy is the contactor? seems odd was expecting something much different.

My friend told me this is not the contactor which would mean the contactor is on the evaporator circuit board?

http://s22.postimg.org/s7z5q8sgg/IMG_20 ... WA0006.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 6th, 2015, 4:20 pm

And here is the wiring diagram of the outside unit let me know if this outside unit even has a contactor i feel like I wasted 1 whole hour taking apart the damn thing.

Postby nervewrecker » October 6th, 2015, 5:27 pm

You dig up in the evaporator ent?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 6th, 2015, 6:21 pm

^ I eh open the evaporator LOL. It just one day happens that the compressor does not turn off

Postby nervewrecker » October 6th, 2015, 6:57 pm

Contactor stuck.
Switch off ac while observing it. If it don't move when you switch off, it stick.
Just switch it on and touch it with your finger plenty. Dip your hand in some salt water first. It should cut off.

Serious though, go Google ac contactor mah man.

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » October 6th, 2015, 11:21 pm

Yo d relay is on circuit board it can b replaced change out mines already because off d same problem

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 6th, 2015, 11:32 pm

sinnaz25 wrote:Yo d relay is on circuit board it can b replaced change out mines already because off d same problem

thanks for the PM

what I was saying is that when I google about contactor I found lots of images as to what a contactor looks like, but I found no such device in my condenser unit even though condensers in the US etc all seem to have contactor in them.

Now that you say its on the circuit board I have to ask is it the inside evaporator circuit board I am looking for?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 6th, 2015, 11:35 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Contactor stuck.
Switch off ac while observing it. If it don't move when you switch off, it stick.
Just switch it on and touch it with your finger plenty. Dip your hand in some salt water first. It should cut off.

Serious though, go Google ac contactor mah man.

I google it for 2 days, and nowhere on the condenser can I find such a device, all images is from bigger split unit in the US which all have contactors on the condensor unit but mine has none even the diagram does not show a contactor

Which leads me to my next question you say switch off the AC while observing it, well yeah if I could find where it is? since I saw nothing on the condenser then I assume now the contactor in my unit is on the evaporator inside? Just need to know before I rip apart this inside unit.

Postby nervewrecker » October 7th, 2015, 5:45 am

A pic of the condenser internals might help.
What size BTW?
Where the wires go after the cap?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2015, 3:53 pm

nervewrecker wrote:A pic of the condenser internals might help.
What size BTW?
Where the wires go after the cap?

I just confirmed the guy on this page send me a PM he said because this is a pricesmart AC it has no contactor in the condenser. Here is a pic this is the only 3 devices fond in the condenser.

There is nothing else except for the Fan and the actual compressor it self, this is all the electrical devices really, so I guess the contactor is on the Evap circuit board. How that replacing? via soldering?

Postby nervewrecker » October 7th, 2015, 4:57 pm

Usually the bigger units have contactors, that's why I asked what size.
Time to open up the evaporator. :D

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 9th, 2015, 9:15 am

Hey guys, can anyone tell me if the smart programmable home thermostats like this or the Nests can be connected to the regular split units we use locally? And if so, how simple is it to do? Would I need a trained technician or DIY stuff?