Nasa scientists find evidence of flowing water on Mars

Re: Nasa scientists find evidence of flowing water on Mars

Postby desifemlove » September 29th, 2015, 11:05 am

stev wrote:
daas wrote:Would be nice if oil was found there....

oil? why?

u doh think its time humans start moving away from that crap?

come to think of it....if oil was found there, things would change drastically!!! NASA would be pumped full of money as well as the ESA...several other space agencies would start popping up as well.

exponential increase in technology! :shock:

...ok maybe not.

why not? no rivers, or oceans or animals to pollute. but oil that will take decades to get there and back..nah, i ent seeing it.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 29th, 2015, 11:37 am

stev wrote:
daas wrote:Would be nice if oil was found there....

oil? why?

u doh think its time humans start moving away from that crap?

come to think of it....if oil was found there, things would change drastically!!! NASA would be pumped full of money as well as the ESA...several other space agencies would start popping up as well.

exponential increase in technology! :shock:

...ok maybe not.
India has had one of their space craft orbiting Mars for over a year now. It arrived there on September 24 2014.
1443541068371.jpg
1443541068371.jpg (7.74 KiB) Viewed 3347 times

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 29th, 2015, 11:50 am

RBphoto wrote:Now remember, not all life may be carbon based. Water might not be the catalyst for life on that planet. Let's hope we don't contaminate their water with germs on the rover.

What if after millions of years the germs on the rover evolve?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 29th, 2015, 12:15 pm

I hope its like this... 8-)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

Postby RBphoto » September 29th, 2015, 1:21 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
RBphoto wrote:Now remember, not all life may be carbon based. Water might not be the catalyst for life on that planet. Let's hope we don't contaminate their water with germs on the rover.

What if after millions of years the germs on the rover evolve?

And develop technology to explore the solar system and one day find a desert scarred planet with a thin atmosphere, much like their own, thinking that it might be the salvation of their civilization. Hoping it would contain traces of water to indicate life lived there... and their priests tell them, that the markings on the rover did speak of such a planet, and their inhabitants called it...

Houston.

Postby sMASH » September 30th, 2015, 9:11 am

^^haha

Postby sMASH » September 30th, 2015, 9:13 am

Earth has finite resources. Eventually we would run out of everything. There needs to be some measure of capitalism in space exploration, for it to be sustainable, far less for justified.

Postby RBphoto » September 30th, 2015, 11:29 am

I think colonizing something closer...let's say.. the moon, might be a better idea.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 30th, 2015, 11:37 am

RBphoto wrote:I think colonizing something closer...let's say.. the moon, might be a better idea.
there's no water on the moon

Postby pete » September 30th, 2015, 11:44 am

There's no air on the moon either. Isn't that that bigger problem?

Postby RBphoto » September 30th, 2015, 11:47 am

But if your mother have to send roti for you..... best you stay closer to home.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 30th, 2015, 11:59 am

pete wrote:There's no air on the moon either. Isn't that that bigger problem?
yup that's a key reason why there's no water either

Mars atmosphere is 100 times thinner than Earth's, and it is 95 percent carbon dioxide, while the moon's atmosphere is less than one hundred trillionth (10−14) of Earth's atmospheric density at sea level, so almost all gases are lost to space

antlind

Postby antlind » September 30th, 2015, 12:24 pm

Like Duane is an astronaut.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » September 30th, 2015, 12:29 pm

antlind wrote:Like Duane is an astronaut.

It's basic astronomy bro

antlind

Postby antlind » September 30th, 2015, 1:37 pm

chulo45 wrote:

It's basic astronomy bro

Too sophisticated for me. I'm still trying to reassemble this clock I took apart. It's not as easy as you would think.

Postby RBphoto » September 30th, 2015, 1:46 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:so almost all gases are lost to space

So if I fart on the moon... *wonders*

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 30th, 2015, 1:51 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 30th, 2015, 2:50 pm

antlind wrote:
chulo45 wrote:

It's basic astronomy bro

Too sophisticated for me. I'm still trying to reassemble this clock I took apart. It's not as easy as you would think.
just make sure and put it in a silver metal briefcase, for effect.

Postby RBphoto » September 30th, 2015, 2:51 pm

11140002_10153781913164369_4700343605353552466_n.jpg
11140002_10153781913164369_4700343605353552466_n.jpg (22.1 KiB) Viewed 3206 times

Postby pete » September 30th, 2015, 9:10 pm

That would only make sense if they had found smooth roads on Mars.

Postby stev » September 30th, 2015, 9:18 pm

pete wrote:That would only make sense if they had found smooth roads on Mars.

:shock: :rofl: :rofl: ded

Postby pete » September 30th, 2015, 9:50 pm

Postby bluefete » October 1st, 2015, 7:06 pm

chulo45 wrote:Where bluefete and habit7

Why allyuh does call my name in allyuh Tantana? I trying to behave these days.

But since you asked: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

This is not news to me or anyone who has been following NASA for years.

Water was discovered on Mars in 1976 with the Viking lander but it was covered up. Likewise the fact that Mars has an atmosphere unlike the 'red' that NASA wants you to believe.

15 years ago a scientific paper was published about running water on Mars:

http://www.sciencemag.org/site/feature/ ... 02330p.pdf
Last edited by bluefete on October 1st, 2015, 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » October 1st, 2015, 7:09 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 1st, 2015, 11:43 pm

bluefete wrote:

Water was discovered on Mars in 1976 with the Viking lander but it was covered up. Likewise the fact that Mars has an atmosphere unlike the 'red' that NASA wants you to believe.

what about martians, tell them about the martians!

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 2nd, 2015, 12:15 am

Using images from the Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter, NASA scientists have confirmed the discovery of a water theme park on the planet Mars. "The roughly two-square-mile area known as Six Flags Olympus Mons apparently provided an assortment of exciting rides and Martian family entertainment," said researcher Helmut Richtaffler. "Our best guess is that the entire facility was abandoned when season passes became progressively more expensive, followed by a disastrous expansion into Euro-Six Flags Olympus Mons."

In addition, scientists say the Orbiter's HiRISE camera shows evidence of the crystallized bodies of young and old Martians waiting outside Echus Chasma of Death, a popular super slide attraction which required a special E-ticket. "There is no doubt that those Martians perished while waiting to get on the ride," says professor Irwin Lafferdean of the Institute of Interplanetary Amusement. "Can even advanced species survive the quest for reasonably-priced fun for all ages? I don't know. Damn it, I just don't know."

http://feeds.huffingtonpost.com/c/35496 ... tory01.htm

AlliDr

Postby AlliDr » October 2nd, 2015, 12:28 am

Martians you say

pathfind.gif
pathfind.gif (31.06 KiB) Viewed 3130 times

Postby bluefete » October 2nd, 2015, 4:40 am

bluefete wrote:

what about martians, tell them about the martians!

Well since you said so, boss - take your pick!