not now, but eventually it could adversely affect the price of all food.antlind wrote:Does not change the price or bodi. Or bhagi.
RBphoto wrote:What if they find traces of god instead of traces of life? What then?
ok, why do you say that?Miktay wrote:Another NASA nancy story...
chulo45 wrote:Where bluefete and habit7
Habit7 wrote:chulo45 wrote:Where bluefete and habit7
This is not the first evidence that points to liquid water in the universe or in our solar system. Water is just a compound that is liquid within a certain temperature and pressure range. If you know the politics operating behind NASA, any big announcement they can make is an attempt to justify their budget.
The Real Martian: Can We Afford a Trip to the Red Planet?
By Jonathan Zhou, Epoch Times | September 22, 2015Last Updated: September 23, 2015 7:19 pm
The date of the events in “The Martian,” the fall blockbuster starring Matt Damon as an astronaut stranded on Mars, isn’t explicitly revealed in the film itself, but the author of the novel the movie is based on said that the initial launch of the mission to Mars takes place on July 7, 2035, for reasons involving the orbit pathways of the two planets.
The 2030s is a common estimate for when mankind will take its first steps on the red planet. Top NASA officials have set 2039 as the provisional date for the first Mars landing, and Elon Musk, founder of SpaceX, said that his company could offer $500,000 tickets to Mars as early as 2025.
But the road to landing a shuttle on Mars is far from straightforward, and a cursory glance at the details of such an undertaking can be daunting.
The perennial obstacle is funding: Congress repeatedly cut NASA’s budget during and after the Great Recession, and the space agency will receive only $18.5 billion in funding for 2016—just $100 million more than what it was allotted in 2011.
NASA chief Charles Bolden has frequently complained about the paucity of financial support the agency has received, and wrote an open letter to Congress in August expressing frustration at spending $490 million on Russian rockets to send American astronauts into space, all because NASA couldn’t afford to build its own infrastructure.
“It’s as if we keep ordering expensive takeout because we haven’t yet set up our own kitchen—only, in this case, the takeout meals are costing us hundreds of millions of dollars,” Bolden wrote in Wired.....
O. Glenn Smith, former manager of shuttle systems engineering at the Johnson Space Center, put the cost of a single mission to Mars at $230 billion earlier this year in an editorial for Space News, and at $1.5 trillion for 9 missions, the same number of crews NASA attempted to send to the moon (six made it).
It’s unlikely NASA will ever get that money. In a 2012 General Social Survey, only 20 percent of Americans supported more space funding; 40 percent thought that funding was adequate, and 30 percent wanted to lower it.
http://www.theepochtimes.com/n3/1754033 ... t/?photo=2
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:ok, why do you say that?Miktay wrote:Another NASA nancy story...
I think you meant 6000-12000 yrsstev wrote:...or wait nevermind. I now realize ur one of those '4000 old universe' guys.
oh I thought you were saying finding water on Mars was improbable.Miktay wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:ok, why do you say that?Miktay wrote:Another NASA nancy story...
NASA badly needs a compelling reason for funding support.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think you meant 6000-12000 yrsstev wrote:...or wait nevermind. I now realize ur one of those '4000 old universe' guys.
antlind wrote:Does not change the price or bodi. Or bhagi.
daas wrote:Would be nice if oil was found there....
this is true3stagevtec wrote:
India has had one of their space craft orbiting Mars for over a year now. It arrived there on September 24 2014.stev wrote:daas wrote:Would be nice if oil was found there....
oil? why?
u doh think its time humans start moving away from that crap?
come to think of it....if oil was found there, things would change drastically!!! NASA would be pumped full of money as well as the ESA...several other space agencies would start popping up as well.
exponential increase in technology!![]()
...ok maybe not.
stev wrote:daas wrote:Would be nice if oil was found there....
oil? why?
u doh think its time humans start moving away from that crap?
come to think of it....if oil was found there, things would change drastically!!! NASA would be pumped full of money as well as the ESA...several other space agencies would start popping up as well.
exponential increase in technology!![]()
...ok maybe not.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:this is true3stagevtec wrote: