Nicki Minaj - Does Not Rep Trinidad!

Postby bluefete » September 26th, 2015, 9:07 pm

Pound The Alarm by Nicki Minaj has 154.7 MILLION views!!!!!!

When this so-called author - Ayana Malaika Crichlow comes anywhere close to that with her writing, then I may take her seriously.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/ayana-mal ... 91244.html

Ayana Malaika Crichlow
Daughter of the twin isle of Trinidad and Tobago

Nicki Minaj Doesn't Represent My Trinidad
Posted: 09/24/2015 7:03 pm EDT Updated: 09/24/2015 7:59 pm EDT

Nicki Minaj has been one celebrity I have not wanted to write anything about because I can't decide how I feel about her. Honestly, I really don't know if I like her or not. The fact that she is Trini always had me reserving my initial opinion of her, waiting to see if there will be some redeeming quality appearing on the many forms of media, and I must say, most times I am disappointed.

The first time I noticed her, I thought her background was Jamaican because her attire was reminiscent of a dancehall queen to me, and I was shocked when they said she was Trini, but I said to myself, people are allowed to express themselves as they so wish, so I chastised myself for judging. I didn't care for the music or the message. And don't get me started on "Anaconda" -- I wanted to scream at her, "who the hell cares what the Anaconda doesn't want; it's what the Kitty Kat wants that's important,sheit!"

I do love how direct she is about her opinion and how she evidently loves her fans. I admire how vocal she is if she doesn't like something and speaks her mind instead of being timid, how she stands up for herself and her immediate family. And I really want to like how she represents for Trinidad -- but I don't. I know I have already heard the argument that she is reppin Trinidad in her own way, and not everyone reps the same way, blah, blah, blah. Oh, please. We aren't talking about if what she is saying about Trinidad is negative but true; we are talking about her having a massive audience, opening for the VMAs with an even huger audience, and singing a song called "Trini Dem Girlz" in an accent from some other island, patting her pum pum which is not a Trini dance and doing so on a dancehall sounding rhythm. Give me a break, really.

To folks who say well, maybe she doesn't know how to do a Trini accent, please stop. She can do an English accent and Jamaican accent and not a Trini accent? The country where she is supposedly from, where her mother and father are from. But moving past the accent, as important as I think the accent is to my Trini culture, and how when I hear it in a store, it reminds me of home, the point is that she does nothing distinctly Trini. She never speaks about our food, fashion or music, our artists, or the most common identifier of Trinidad, our carnival.

I know many Trinis could care less about what she does whether representing the island or not. In fact, the vast majority don't care if she does or not. Personally, I don't care whether she represents us, but if she is going to do so, as she seemingly has been, I think it's irresponsible to do that dishonestly to the many fans that she has. If you must tell the marish and the parish that you are from Trinidad, please don't do so and then behave in a manner that is obviously Jamaican culturally. We have a hard enough time letting people know we aren't from Jamaica, or that Trinidad is not in Jamaica, so having a so-called Trini feel more comfortable performing her art in a Jamaican accent is unacceptable.

To others who say, at least she says she's from Trinidad, I think she should rep Trinidad the most, not in the least or just don't rep us at all. But most of all, her fan base is too huge and may include many people who don't know where Trinidad is for her to give a skewed view of this magnificent country. I think it's possible that maybe she has no Trini friends, maybe she has mostly Jamaican friends and they made more of an impact, and I think it's sad that she identifies with another culture more than her own.

daas

Re: Nicki Minaj - Does Not Rep Trinidad!

Postby daas » September 26th, 2015, 9:13 pm

ok....

Postby Gem_in_i » September 26th, 2015, 9:36 pm

Hmmmm

Postby K74T » September 26th, 2015, 9:39 pm

Nah OP, stick to dailymail instead.

Postby ismithx » September 26th, 2015, 9:41 pm

^^ I can't even

Postby Dizzy28 » September 26th, 2015, 9:41 pm

My life is changed!!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 26th, 2015, 9:46 pm

Bluefete......what positives has nicki brought to trinidad

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 26th, 2015, 10:25 pm

I know many Trinis could care less about what she does
The term is "couldn't care less".

Also "rep" is not a word.

Postby j.o.e » September 27th, 2015, 2:45 am

Ok

Postby rollingstock » September 27th, 2015, 4:07 am

I didn't bother to read all tha tooz
Just scrolled and gaped the pics
Op post more pics

Postby MaxPower » September 27th, 2015, 6:16 am

Ok bluetote

Postby Redman » September 27th, 2015, 7:36 am

Oddly just last week..a Romanian business man asked me to Thank the people of TNT because he loved NM.

And her butt.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » September 27th, 2015, 9:30 am

You mean de made in china fake butt

Postby Redman » September 27th, 2015, 10:03 am

It woking jes so

Postby desifemlove » September 27th, 2015, 11:58 am

cos people are stupid. they reckon one person of any country represents every person....besides, i doh think she care about T&T, and probably couldn't have given a sheit about recent elections, Kamla, Dr. Rowley, or anybody. Kams was in NYC a lot in her premiership, doubt she gave a firetruck about meeting she...she's let go us T&T, so this article writer and Nicki have a win-win.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 27th, 2015, 1:09 pm

Lets be real here. Do we REALLY want somebody like nicki minaj to rep Trinidad?

Let she rep Carrera or sumn.

Postby RBphoto » September 28th, 2015, 12:02 am

I am a Niki fan.

Postby K74T » September 28th, 2015, 12:04 am

OP - Does Not Rep Jesus

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 28th, 2015, 5:07 am

Nudes or ban op

Sent from my LG-D618 using Tapatalk

Daran

Postby Daran » September 28th, 2015, 6:17 am

Typical ungrateful trini. Nikki does not owe you or trinidad anything. The fact that she is at least trying to promote the country of her ancestry is more than we deserve.

Postby Les Bain » September 28th, 2015, 8:16 am

Is not as if she fly out as a teenager or young adult; how best somebody supposed to represent their homeland with bare memories from childhood, if she remembers that much.

I wish the article writer would have put some suggestions forward for Nicki Menjai, so the article could be more laughable.

(Not a fan, but she more bearable since she tone down the loud colours/clown makeup)

Daran

Postby Daran » September 28th, 2015, 8:31 am

After reading more of a author's (Ayana Malaika Crichlow) work, I have lost even more respect. She is a negative hater who prefers the world feel sorry for her, rather than influence change. She also has a very skewed view of Trinidad herself, no wonder Nicki doesn't represent her Trinidad.

Postby crazybalhead » September 28th, 2015, 9:48 am

"behave in a manner that is obviously Jamaican culturally."

LOL...WUT???

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 28th, 2015, 10:15 am

crazybalhead wrote:"behave in a manner that is obviously Jamaican culturally."

LOL...WUT???
thought the same thing

She has issues
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/ayana-mal ... 73936.html

Postby crazybalhead » September 28th, 2015, 11:41 am

Oh boy...

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 28th, 2015, 12:42 pm

now all we need is for her to MArry a WHITE meng and you will see how some tuner will go APe sh1t on them . LMAO

Postby sliderz1 » September 28th, 2015, 12:48 pm

tits or gtfo

Postby K74T » September 28th, 2015, 1:23 pm

BRZ wrote:now all we need is for her to MArry a WHITE meng and you will see how some tuner will go APe sh1t on them . LMAO

Nah, no LMAO.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 28th, 2015, 4:50 pm

crazybalhead wrote:"behave in a manner that is obviously Jamaican culturally."

LOL...WUT???
thought the same thing

She has issues
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/ayana-mal ... 73936.html

Hear where the problem come in....

As I fall more in love with myself, I find that I have become more confident in my feelings and my voice, I don't think anymore that my feelings aren't important or that I should be dismissed. In the past I would not have been able to openly voice the way I felt or my insecurities, for fear of being rejected, critiqued or dismissed. I wish this same personal awakening and love of self for all, because once you love yourself you can see the beauty in others.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » September 30th, 2015, 12:23 am

Tootoo.