WTK - Battery Swollen - Is This Dangerous?

V2NR 3.0

WTK - Battery Swollen - Is This Dangerous?

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 11th, 2007, 9:55 am

As the question implies?

Postby Greypatch » December 11th, 2007, 10:06 am

off course it is...seems the container will be leaking soon

shinaka

Postby shinaka » December 11th, 2007, 10:15 am

I think you should get rid of that quickly and handle with care....you looking at battery acid which is dangerous to skin and eyes and lead poisoning....Safely get rid of it and check your charge rate if this battery being used in a working car now...

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 11th, 2007, 11:23 am

^ ditto.
remove it from the car ASAP and replace with a new battery..

It is also important to get your electrical system checked to make sure that the alternator is not overcharging.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 11th, 2007, 11:36 am

Can overfilling the battery cause it to swell?

V2NR 3.0

battery

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 11th, 2007, 1:16 pm

Well,

The battery was fine and i opened the caps to top up with some soda water. Now these batteries have the flat caps with the "cross" slots on top of it. I had to use a flat head screw driver and in doing so punctured some of the caps by accident. Some acid leaked out together with the re-fill. what i did was silicone back the "holes" and left the battery there. I noticed that the left side of the battery had swollen a bit.

Could this explode whilst in the car?.

Oh sheit...i gotta look for some $ to replace the battery.

Jah...

V2NR 3.0

battery

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 11th, 2007, 1:19 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Can overfilling the battery cause it to swell?

Yes breds...thats what i did.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 11th, 2007, 1:20 pm

Whats the price of batteries out there (starts counting dollars)...

Postby X_Factor » December 11th, 2007, 1:27 pm

^^ u dont wanna know...cater 850and up for normal lead/acid
but u can get the gel type batteries for 1200+

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 11th, 2007, 7:03 pm

that is probably what cause your battery to swell. Each plug have a vent cap to release the hydrogen gas that is produced during charging putting silicone covered the vent cap and the gas had no where to go except to swell your battery remove the silicone immedately because you could cause your battery to explode

why would you spend 10 dollars for a beer but you cannot spend 5 dollars for a bottle of distilled water
there is a fill line on the battery when you fill up your battery it should not have any reason to overflow

cjawahir

Postby cjawahir » December 11th, 2007, 7:34 pm

[quote="hong kong phooey"]that is probably what cause your battery to swell. Each plug have a vent cap to release the hydrogen gas that is produced during charging putting silicone covered the vent cap and the gas had no where to go except to swell your battery remove the silicone immedately because you could cause your battery to explode

unplug the vent .

man you just made a hydrogen bomb , thank God you posted it here ,

unpulg the f@#$%ing thing quickly ..

cj

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » December 11th, 2007, 8:22 pm

WTH!!

man nearly blowup he car :shock:

and fugging battery price gone skyrocketed

Postby Hook » December 11th, 2007, 9:01 pm

it's simple electrolysis pallie...the battery acid produces hydrogen gas as a by-product when it's being discharged, hence the reason for the vented plug caps

hong kong phooey is quite right...u MUST keep the vent holes clear of debris, and so by sealing them with silicone, u allowed the gas to accumulate and swell the casing...while clearing the vents solves this problem, the battery shell is now weaker due to stretching the plastic and the battery should be replaced anyway....now u know what NOT to do next time

V2NR 3.0

battery

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 13th, 2007, 11:19 am

Hey people,

Thank you for the information. I carefully removed and replaced the battery the very same evening. Put in a new "Track" battery with a 2 year warranty and it works fine. It cost 600tt. Small battery with the same specs as the original one. No more silicone on these vent caps....(expensive mistake)

The old one is at home. I may be wrong, but isnt there a firm who re-cycles batteries instead of throwing them out in the trash?.

Thanks....

NOS4R2

Postby NOS4R2 » December 13th, 2007, 2:25 pm

Doh forget to go back for a checkup every 5-6 mths
battery & alternator
:wink:

Postby Hook » December 13th, 2007, 4:44 pm

methinx ACL is the dealer for "track" batteries, not so?

with your new warranty, go straight to the dealer and have the battery and the car's charging system checked and have the waranty signed...that way, u fully covered and in case of anything, nobody could say the problem is ur car cuz d firm never check it

and every 2-3 mths, have it serviced by the dealer...they'll check ur charging rate, battery potential and internal resistance and top up battery water FREE for the period of the warranty...and in case of any manufacturer's defects, you would have a service history on the battery

Nyo1988

Postby Nyo1988 » December 18th, 2007, 9:51 am

man u answer your question already

xpertz101

Postby xpertz101 » December 18th, 2007, 2:55 pm

bump

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 19th, 2007, 10:15 am

Hook wrote:it's simple electrolysis pallie...the battery acid produces hydrogen gas as a by-product when it's being discharged, hence the reason for the vented plug caps

excessive hydrogen wud only be evolved if there are impurities in the electrolysis liquid (battery water). that is why u are suppossed to use distilled water. whatever metallic impurities were present in the soda water used for topping up reacted at the cathodes, causing more than normal hydrogen gas to be liberated, which eventually swelled the battery. i suspect also that CO2 was also liberated at the anodes to further worsen the situation. so please ppl, NEVER FILL BATTERIES WITH ANYTHING BUT DISTILLED WATER!

Sundar

Re: WTK - Battery Swollen - Is This Dangerous?

Postby Sundar » August 17th, 2015, 11:41 pm

So the +ve pole of my battery has swollen. Would overcharging/faulty alternator cause this? The battery is a die hard. The car is a medalist rb20det.

Postby Hook » August 18th, 2015, 12:51 am

Pure speculation here.
Might be an internal fault at the pole. If the connection is shaky, and the pole connects/disconnects frequently with vibration, it could cause heating and swelling at the pole, not unlike a swollen fuse in a loose socket.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 18th, 2015, 12:50 pm

well yesterday the battery couldn't crank the engine at all. Previously my volt gauge showed 12volts for a while and then after two clicks and the car starts it would go up to 14-15volts. the terminal are snug unless you mean the connection internally. i am using my bro battery atm so i don't want to damage his until weekend i can replace mine.

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » September 14th, 2015, 1:18 pm

Positive 'corrosion' is a normal consequence of battery electro chemistry. Positive plate and buss bar 'growth' occurs as a result of inter granular corrosion. Most batteries provide space for the 'growth' to go 'down'. If this space is filled the battery +ve post will PUSH up and break the seal causing more corrosion on the post.

The battery is near end of life and can 'die' anytime.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 14th, 2015, 7:39 pm

Thank you sir. I replaced the said battery. American superior is the new one name.

Postby Morpheus » September 24th, 2015, 6:38 pm

LoL Superior American.....

Maintenance free?

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 24th, 2015, 11:05 pm

Nope.