Trinispougla wrote:Firstly, Utt has moved past a levels as a requirement for higher study as has most countries in the british commonwealth, including our neighbors Guyana(through UG) and Jamaica(Utec). Secondly, utt was created as a facility to deal specifically with Manufacturing and its related disciplines,not aviation,fashion and other nonsense. Thirdly, ask any manager coming out of the industrial estate who they prefer, the theorists from uwi or practical engineers from utt. A Guyanese engineer who coordinated three hydroelectric plants at home said that uwi produces many good engineers and also a plethora of quacks. A levels is the worse prerequisite for engineering right now as it is so practical. They may know how to prove mathematically the efficiency of a transformer but cannot do a simple synchronization of phases. But that is the side note. Gate has a fifty-fiftu chance of staying the way it is. Politically, it may not make much sense. What needs serious attention are social programs. Cepep and Urp need to be revenue earners. As it is the employees their ate virtually wards of the state. The gas subsidy i think may be tweaked, not taken out completely. Something will have to be done about the foreign exchange market also. Gate could be tweaked by next year though, probably fifty/fifty payment plan could be installed which is better than nothing. One of the bad things about gate is uwi and utt now overload their programs with courses so as to maximize their profits.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Trinispougla wrote:Firstly, Utt has moved past a levels as a requirement for higher study as has most countries in the british commonwealth, including our neighbors Guyana(through UG) and Jamaica(Utec). Secondly, utt was created as a facility to deal specifically with Manufacturing and its related disciplines,not aviation,fashion and other nonsense. Thirdly, ask any manager coming out of the industrial estate who they prefer, the theorists from uwi or practical engineers from utt. A Guyanese engineer who coordinated three hydroelectric plants at home said that uwi produces many good engineers and also a plethora of quacks. A levels is the worse prerequisite for engineering right now as it is so practical. They may know how to prove mathematically the efficiency of a transformer but cannot do a simple synchronization of phases. But that is the side note. Gate has a fifty-fiftu chance of staying the way it is. Politically, it may not make much sense. What needs serious attention are social programs. Cepep and Urp need to be revenue earners. As it is the employees their ate virtually wards of the state. The gas subsidy i think may be tweaked, not taken out completely. Something will have to be done about the foreign exchange market also. Gate could be tweaked by next year though, probably fifty/fifty payment plan could be installed which is better than nothing. One of the bad things about gate is uwi and utt now overload their programs with courses so as to maximize their profits.
Sir I must commend you this is an excellent post. But you did miss my point on where I said 80 to 90% of Engineering students drop out after year 1 in UTT I am not sure of it is the same for UWI. And this is a direct result of giving people without A levels an actual Engineering exams within just a month and a half of the first semester, and think they are going to know all of this in such a short time, any University that offers Engineering degrees to any tom dick and harry of the street without pre requisite of at least a B in A levels maths and science is just there to make money alone. (And yes a LOT of British Universities are also degree mills aswell, don't feel because in UK some universities don't require A levels this somehow makes it ok this just shows how incompetent the school really is)
I understand fully what you mean with practical engineers from UTT and the needs for our local sector. (I started a second degree now and I am studying Engineering at UTT) So what I am telling you is first hand experience. I am in noway saying I want gate to be removed as that puts me at a disadvantage. I am just pointing out the horrible flaws of this GATE and how tax payers are being abused by schools, employers, students etc. Also real universities ask for A level pre requisite for a reason because they hold a certain rating for percentage of students who actually graduate. All of this gives a school further recognition and respect from the international community.
Not that I actually want GATE to go back to dollar for dollar, but that does not change the fact that dollar for dollar is the best method for this program. What I would want personally is GATE to remain 100% free as it is now. But this does not mean that its not a burden on tax payers who are victims of one of the biggest con jobs in history of this country.
The other poster said it correct, the fastest way to earn money now is open a fly by night school and offer one of those quack ass "foreign" degrees that helped no one get a job. Just understand what I am telling you here is from experience this isn't something I am making up. It is devastating to take people who has failed all their A levels and put them to do an Engineering Degree, this makes no sense really, this is why UWI will always be far more respected internationally over all the other local schools. I have had UTT lecturers who told my class that our UTT Engineering degrees are nothing more than glorified technician diplomas and its designed to fill a certain role but to make no mistake in the field your boss will be a UWI graduate.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:wow I have finally met my match in word count.
I have read your post and I understand what you are saying. You are right, UWI has a lot of age on their side so they do have an automatic advantage because of this.
German Finance Minister warns of market bubble
Warning: a bubble could be back in the stock market.
Germany's Finance Minister Wolfgang Schaeuble is the latest to raise concerns that financial markets are getting unhealthy.
"If you look at what's going on [on] a global level, this increasing public and private liquidity on the financial markets ... we are moving to the next bubble," Schaeuble said Friday at a conference organized by the American Council on Germany, according to Dow Jones.
This isn't the first time Schaeuble has raised the caution flag, but it takes on added significance as the U.S. Federal Reserve meets next week to decide whether to raise interest rates from its near 0% level for the first time since December 2008.
Related: Loud chorus of voices tell Fed: 'Don't do it'
"I think we should learn lesson(s) from crises we had," Schaeuble said Friday.
The Finance Minister has warned that there will be consequences from the easy money policies of the European Central Bank and Fed. Both banks slashed interest rates to historically low levels after the financial crisis and have kept them there in an effort to jumpstart economic growth.
However, the low rates have also caused investors and businesses to pump money into the stock market and other riskier assets.
"We have seen that monetary policy -- and finance ministers as well as central bank governors agree on that -- can't solve the problems we face," Schaeuble said. He stressed that many nations need to push forth more difficult structural reforms as well.
Many prominent voices, including the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund, are urging the Fed not to increase rates next week.
While Schaeuble didn't comment explicitly on what he thinks the Fed should do when it meets September 16 and 17, his comments made it sound like he would be in favor of a rate hike sooner rather than later.
Schaeuble's remarks come as a prominent hedge fund manager David Tepper also raised the prospect of a less easy money environment. Tepper said he was "not as bullish" now on stocks.
His waning enthusiasm is due to weaker corporate earnings and the global reality that money is unlikely to keep flowing into financial markets like it has been. The era of low interest rates around the world and central banks doing quantitative easing policies will come to an end soon, he argues.
"We're talking about the market has to come to certain new realities," Tepper said Thursday on CNBC. "When you change the flows, or you may be changing the flows, you better be thinking about changing your positions."
hoverauto wrote:Steups, this whole tread turning into tl:dr.
Daran wrote:Don't worry we've got Colms vast experience to handle this.
Zedenka wrote:I wonder if they will increase the stipends for OJT trainees and by how much? Anyone knows or have an estimate? Just curious
Zedenka wrote:Got this from their manifesto.
Zedenka wrote:Yes that is the current stipend rates for different qualifications. But i heard from someone that in their manifesto they were increasing it. There are a lot of persons who although are qualified and have experience cant even get a job, i know a few so they decided to go OJT.
ingalook wrote:I may be in the minority here but, I think that MPs' salaries are far too low
You take people from the private sector who are making MILLIONS
You pay them THOUSANDS
THEN you put BILLIONS in their hands and tell them not to touch
Then you wonder why there is corruption
Don't give me that "for the good of the country" altruistic Mother Theresa BS, does that exist in the real world?
Many of these ministers were doctors and lawyers etc. before taking their portfolio - they and their families are accustomed to a certain lifestyle, it is naive to think they will suddenly start living on the salary of a mid-level bank manager.
Paying the ministers (and the PM) a bit better will cost us a few more million every year, but it may end up saving us BILLIONS
Trinispougla wrote:I remember when Britain was in financial constraints, thatcher sold off most of the state owned companies to bring hard currency to the coffers. Somehow, the job losses that accompanied privatisation barely affected her bid for reelection.
RASC wrote:ingalook wrote:I may be in the minority here but, I think that MPs' salaries are far too low
You take people from the private sector who are making MILLIONS
You pay them THOUSANDS
THEN you put BILLIONS in their hands and tell them not to touch
Then you wonder why there is corruption
Don't give me that "for the good of the country" altruistic Mother Theresa BS, does that exist in the real world?
Many of these ministers were doctors and lawyers etc. before taking their portfolio - they and their families are accustomed to a certain lifestyle, it is naive to think they will suddenly start living on the salary of a mid-level bank manager.
Paying the ministers (and the PM) a bit better will cost us a few more million every year, but it may end up saving us BILLIONS
Been speaking about this with regards to the police service also.
Again don't expect intelligent convo.
They live in fantasy land. One guy even suggesting scrap all luxury SUV's and give them TIIDAS...
I can't even with these people anymore.