3ne2nr fishermen

daas

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby daas » September 4th, 2015, 12:45 pm

I'm reading stuff on fishing here. Want your advice. What do i do if i catch anything? Some say to bonk in on the head with a rock, then gut it immediately. I don't need to do gut it there right? Just put it in ice?

Postby dougla_boy » September 4th, 2015, 1:49 pm

depending on the fish...hold it behind the gills...unhook....put on ice...

fishes too be hit on head....crapaud and choof choof

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » September 4th, 2015, 3:10 pm

^ LMAO this convo....
You can try sushi as well just cut it up right there and eat it.

Greatthings786

Postby Greatthings786 » September 4th, 2015, 3:31 pm

What's some good inshore places for a newbie I'm from south San Fernando area

bumpie

Postby bumpie » September 4th, 2015, 6:56 pm

2011-01-01 20.26.30.jpg

wat kind of fish is this,caught maracus on left side of jetty
or is it a codfish?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » September 4th, 2015, 8:29 pm

^^ yep is small codfish, cobia. They real lose their colour though.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » September 5th, 2015, 2:59 pm

beetee wrote:Guys any fishing shop in south/central ?

Also does these fishing shops sell knives?

L.s hosein in Montrose chaguanas

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » September 5th, 2015, 3:05 pm

D joker mia these days boy. Man catching 100lb + grouper n 60lb blacktop shark n ain't checking nobody.
I

Postby gastly369 » September 5th, 2015, 3:18 pm

Lemme see what tonight brings...

daas

Postby daas » September 5th, 2015, 4:45 pm

Ok bought my first fishing rod. Now what? :?

Postby *KRONIK* » September 5th, 2015, 4:46 pm

Well put a pic nah...lewwe see what u buy

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » September 5th, 2015, 4:48 pm

Get some tackle - hooks, sinkers, barrel swivels, line. Then get some bait - shrimp and/or herring and head somewhere you have access to the sea. Finally - catch some fish.

daas

Postby daas » September 5th, 2015, 5:03 pm

Don't hate on the rod eh, i'm a newbie.

Got hooks, sinkers, extra line, a knife and clippers. Dunno where to get bait though. Also what kind a cooler you recommend for if i catch anything? Double insulator igloo marine cooler for $575 or can i get away with a regular cooler $170? No big brand tho
WP_20150905_020.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » September 5th, 2015, 5:14 pm

I buy a cheap styrotex (<$100) for carrying ice/bait/catch

Cuz a cooler after all that eh really usable for drinks etc.

I cyah see mihself buying a expensive cooler to stink up/blood up and cant use for anything else

daas

Postby daas » September 5th, 2015, 5:18 pm

Makes sense.

How to attach sinkers? the sinkers must go on first and then the hook?

Postby *KRONIK* » September 5th, 2015, 5:25 pm

Thats a whole different topic there.
There are many configurations thay can be used and all are specific to the area you fishing/type of fish u after/ type of gear etc.

Some you can tie without extra hardware, some you will need swivels/snaps.

Maybe one of the more experienced fellas here can give u some advice.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » September 5th, 2015, 5:30 pm

You should learn some simple knots.
Check this site out there are lots of useful things to read up on here
http://www.go-saltwater-fishing.com/sal ... knots.html

Same like what kronik said as well some depends on the fish type you after but most of the time you can use a simple dropper loop with the sinker at the end.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » September 5th, 2015, 5:35 pm

Dass all u need is a styrofoam cooler and u good to go. As for bait shrimp, herring, squid or bonito.Suggest salting all except the squid to keep it on your hooks. That's a good starter rod u got there good for anything under 20lbs. You want bigger than that u have to get a medium heavy with a decent reel to Handle that strain. My advice is to look at some fishing vids on YouTube to learn techniques in casting and setting up your fishing rigs.

daas

Postby daas » September 5th, 2015, 5:39 pm

Thanks Jay. Bait is another thing...how to get it? I bought a pack ting with some small hooks for catching bait fish but i don't know other ways to get bait.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » September 5th, 2015, 5:43 pm

Any market early in the morning. Any fishing stations early in the morning. If you from south the wharf in San do does have bait early.
Shrimp is really a universal kind of bait man you could catch almost anything with it so always take shrimp with you.

daas

Postby daas » September 5th, 2015, 5:47 pm

So just go in the market and ask them for bait? How much that cost?

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » September 5th, 2015, 5:49 pm

Seafood section and you will see shrimp n herring etc... Just tell them you want bait. Shrimp usually like $15-25 per lb.

Postby X_Factor » September 5th, 2015, 6:32 pm

the dropper loop to the end of the line is the most practical for regular banking/surf casting
you can add or drop weight easily without having to cut and re-tie everything

daas

Postby daas » September 5th, 2015, 6:50 pm

Whats this hook thing? I assume one end is for the main line and the other?
WP_20150905_021.jpg

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » September 5th, 2015, 7:19 pm

One end have a swivel and d clip on d next end is were d hook goes

daas

Postby daas » September 5th, 2015, 7:23 pm

So the end with the swivel is where the fishing line attaches? And connect the clip with another piece of line with the hook? jaysus

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » September 5th, 2015, 7:48 pm

Daas wrote:Whats this hook thing? I assume one end is for the main line and the other?

Boy I find i catch more fish with the finesse approach, fish don't really like to feel all this wire in their mouth. It is better to use straight monofilament nylon, you get more bites. The only time I will use wire is for live bait fishing for king or carite.

daas

Postby daas » September 5th, 2015, 7:50 pm

Seen. Thanks

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 5th, 2015, 8:58 pm

what are these ? was told they are young grouper!

Chin man *

Postby Chin man * » September 5th, 2015, 9:08 pm

Looks like "pag" or mangrove snapper