US Network Channels blocked in T&T

Re: US Network Channels blocked in T&T

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 19th, 2015, 9:56 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Dunno why people even bother to pay for cable tv

When a 15mb broadband connection is $200 and you can download anything you want in minutes.

Who is your service provider.....where r u getting 15mbps for $200?

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » August 19th, 2015, 10:07 am

FLOW has 15mb for 199 I believe

Postby Habit7 » August 19th, 2015, 10:27 am

redmanjp wrote:
src1983 wrote:What it think is unfair is the quality of what is received.

For example when World Cup comes around and people are subjected to TV6 poor quality, when directv and cable provides better quality. Standards should be enforced

that's why we urgently need to do this

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_terrestrial_television

Digital terrestrial television (DTTV or DTT) is a technological evolution of broadcast television and an advancement over analog television. DTTV broadcasts land-based (terrestrial) signals. The advantages of digital terrestrial television, are similar to digital versus analog in platforms such as cable, satellite, and all telecommunications; the efficient use of spectrum and provision of more capacity than analog, better quality images, and lower operating costs for broadcast and transmission (after the initial upgrade costs). A terrestrial implementation of digital television (DTV) technology uses an aerial to broadcast to a conventional television antenna (or aerial) instead of a satellite dish or cable television connection.

Competing variants of broadcast television systems are being used around the world. Advanced Television Standards Committee created the ATSC standards that use an ATSC tuner in North America and South Korea—an evolution from the analog National Television System Committee (NTSC) standard. Integrated Services Digital Broadcasting (ISDB-T) is used in Japan, with a variation of it being used in most of South America. DVB-T is the most prevalent, covering Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Colombia and some countries of Africa. DMB-T/H is China's own standard (including Hong Kong and Cuba, though Hong Kong's cable operators use DVB); the rest of the world remains mostly undecided, many evaluating multiple standards. ISDB-T is very similar to DVB-T and can share front-end receiver and demodulator components. Several European countries have switched from analog to digital terrestrial television, with the rest hoping to have completed the switchover mostly by 2012.

according to the article so many other countries have already transitioned, why T&T have to be the only one lagging behind?

what is TATT doing? i mean we haven't even started testing a digital signal, whilst other countries have completely transitioned years ago :roll:
DIGITAL TERRESTRIAL TELEVISION

TATT is hoping to implement the process of moving from analogue to digital television broadcasting by 2015. This process is called the “digital switchover.”
The switch to digital, which is a requirement of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU), will have numerous benefits for viewers, broadcasters and the wider society. Most importantly, it will make much more efficient use of spectrum used in broadcasting. Another benefit is the potential for television broadcasters to offer additional services to their customers. This not only gives broadcasters new lines of business but also gives consumers wider access to new services and new choices in service providers.

http://tatt.org.tt/TATTBytesNewsletter/ ... tives.aspx

Postby S_2NR » August 19th, 2015, 3:00 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:Got this

And it shows this

Disconnected cable last month.

Hulu Plus , Netflix , Amazon Instant, Torrents and this antenna is all I need.

U buy this in Trinidad?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Postby tr1ad » August 19th, 2015, 4:36 pm

I have a similar one I bought on Amazon for my mom, works for her

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 20th, 2015, 7:39 pm

S_2NR wrote:U buy this in Trinidad?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Amazon

Postby bluefete » August 20th, 2015, 8:36 pm

Encore Western is the only non-commercial channel.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 20th, 2015, 8:54 pm

wheelbarrow, any particular reason you chose that brand/ model vs the 50 mile one from Amazon Basics? Also, what's your general location?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 20th, 2015, 8:56 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:I have on the nearest window now. That window faces west.
wheelbarrow if you don't mind me asking, what area of the country are you? Also on a hill, or valley/flat open plain?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 20th, 2015, 8:59 pm

Good reviews on that model that's why I chose it.

I'm in Piarco.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 20th, 2015, 9:09 pm

thanks man.
Was looking at mohu vs the amazon before I came across this thread. Always better to have local feedback though. Might try the Amazon one just to give others feedback on an alternative.

Postby S_2NR » August 20th, 2015, 10:36 pm

RIP Flow

Postby redmanjp » August 20th, 2015, 11:03 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:Good reviews on that model that's why I chose it.

I'm in Piarco.

u pick up tv6 good? i'm in Cleaver Heights Arima and it's still snowy even with an HD indoor antenna

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 20th, 2015, 11:06 pm

I'm in Piarco.
Wow that's a surprise - thought it was probably somewhere in the west for that kinda quality. That looks promising for me then.

Now just to figure out how to get Zee TV easily for the older folks in the house before I could cut cable.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 20th, 2015, 11:19 pm

redmanjp wrote:

I'm in Piarco.

u pick up tv6 good? i'm in Cleaver Heights Arima and it's still snowy even with an HD indoor antenna

That's TV6 now. It is kinda snowy but watchable.

That's the antenna chook in my window.
That's the temp location, I plan to put it on a bracket on my roof. Maybe the reception will improve.

Postby cinco » August 20th, 2015, 11:22 pm

Pink walls are nice

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 20th, 2015, 11:25 pm

cinco wrote:Pink walls are nice

Purple/Lavender dan...
Gangsta is purple... (scants to terror fabulous)

Postby The_Honourable » August 20th, 2015, 11:50 pm

Customers upset over removal of 16 cable channels:

Postby The_Honourable » August 20th, 2015, 11:53 pm

One cable provider is insisting that it's not broadcasting any channels illegally to its subscribers.

roadhog

Postby roadhog » August 21st, 2015, 6:40 pm

TATT is a big friggin joke yes. they supposed to slap a huge fine on providers. how long now they stealing these channels and charging us for it.

Postby pugboy » August 21st, 2015, 7:12 pm

I am still getting them on flow

rotary8

Postby rotary8 » August 21st, 2015, 8:01 pm

Wow i am so pissed with flow but they giving all channels free from 12 tonght to 12 sunday night.

It advertised on flow fb page

Postby Ted_v2 » August 21st, 2015, 8:13 pm

Bodow. # nosleep

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 22nd, 2015, 3:11 am

dredman1 wrote:Now just to figure out how to get Zee TV easily for the older folks in the house before I could cut cable.

http://www.zeefamily.tv/en-TT/selectpackage 8-)

Postby M_2NR » August 22nd, 2015, 5:24 pm

^dat does work REAL bess. HD in yuh prefffen.

If you have a samsung tv or one of those android boxes... well yuh sorted.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 23rd, 2015, 12:13 am

fouljuice wrote:
dredman1 wrote:Now just to figure out how to get Zee TV easily for the older folks in the house before I could cut cable.

http://www.zeefamily.tv/en-TT/selectpackage 8-)
Tks

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2015, 9:28 pm

Word is the satellite dish provider was behind this whole tatt taking action thing