What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panason

Postby nervewrecker » August 15th, 2015, 12:19 pm

Must pay attention to these quacks and ask questions.
Here what I want you to do for me, turn on the ac and go outside to the evaporator. Give it a few mins after the compressor comes on.
See these two lines, condensation should start to occur on one. Leme know if this happens.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » August 15th, 2015, 4:44 pm

Ok nerve I did as you requested, when I go outside to the unit and the compressor comes on both of those copper lines (as per your picture) forms condensation and water droplets occur on both of the lines. I'll send a pic in a bit. Thank you kindly for your response and assistance.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » August 15th, 2015, 7:14 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ here he is

https://www.facebook.com/PurityAirCondition

$2300 for 12K BTU new, installed. Has to be the cheapest price in Trinidad

Cool thanks.

Didn't see them advertising Lennox though, saw ge and jack frost and thing

Postby ronsin1 » August 15th, 2015, 9:36 pm

I would not Buy the GE as these condensers are know to deteriorate in less than a year.

as for the Jack Frost I believe it I the same as the gree unit never use it so I done know

Postby nervewrecker » August 15th, 2015, 11:49 pm

Nah, the frost aren't the same as the gree.
1kingmed, as soon as I get a chance I'll see what I can find out for you OK.
Did the guys vacuum the lines when they installed the unit?

oleskool

Postby oleskool » August 15th, 2015, 11:51 pm

I don't know which is d best. But it's not Genesco! Sensors always fail!

Postby ronsin1 » August 16th, 2015, 6:21 am

1kingmed what is the size of the unit you purchased, what is the size of you room and more importantly is there any leakage of air from the room.

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » August 16th, 2015, 7:47 am

My room is 12 X 13 X 9ft ceiling, no leakage. Not sure whether they vacuumed the lines, My room has no leakage. It's a pioneer 12000btu unit.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » August 16th, 2015, 2:09 pm

Nervewrecker, is it the norm for both lines to sweat and leak water droplets at a time ?

I installed two 24k btu GE units last December in a 30 x 20 area and use one a lot more than the other. I noticed the same one sweats and leaks water and wanted to know if this is normal ?

Postby nervewrecker » August 16th, 2015, 2:54 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Nervewrecker, is it the norm for both lines to sweat and leak water droplets at a time ?

I installed two 24k btu GE units last December in a 30 x 20 area and use one a lot more than the other. I noticed the same one sweats and leaks water and wanted to know if this is normal ?

I originally asked why the guys touch the lines on the condenser and they said you know the system working if one line cold and the next not. It's just a quick check.
But all systems not designed the same. I checked my condenser out of curiosity and both lines were cold and sweating. By default curiosity got the better of me and I asked wazzup with that? They explained well different systems designed different, it depends on where the expansion valve is located among other factors (cent remember everything off the top of my head).
Seems with the jack frost systems at least there is one line cold and one warm. If I'm not mistaken its the low pressure line cold and high pressure line warm. Open to correction on that one.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » August 18th, 2015, 12:31 pm

Anyone using Katashi?

Postby ronsin1 » August 19th, 2015, 7:11 am

1kingmed wrote:My room is 12 X 13 X 9ft ceiling, no leakage. Not sure whether they vacuumed the lines, My room has no leakage. It's a pioneer 12000btu unit.

the room is slightly big for a 12K BTU unit but it should work ideally a 12K unit is sized for a room 100 sqft based on heat load, however it can be used is a space that is 144 sqft with a 9ft ceiling height easy. I have seen it done before. you have 156 sqft at a 9ft ceiling height which should not really be an issue. what is the heat load of the room and how much direct sun does it get during the day.

I have had that issue one with the sun hitting two sides of a room with an appropriately sized unit and it had issues cooling.

I also never liked the pioneer

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 19th, 2015, 3:18 pm

I have a small issue, I set the timer on my AC to turn on for 9AM and I woke up 11AM to find it was not on but the green light was blinking. Outside fan was spinning very slow and inside fan was not spinning. Turn it off back on sale thing I then manually moved the inside fan blade with my hand and one of those house lizards came out apparently he was blocking the inside fan from turning hence causing it to appear malfunction.

My question is could this have done any sort of damages to my Motor? MY AC seems to work fine now. But dunno if any sort of damages happened I THINK the inside motor is spinning slower but I can't sure could be my imagination.

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » August 19th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Ronsin the room gets evening sun as it's located in the west, one window west and one window north with thick curtains. At night the room is cool and I run the pioneer unit at 16 degrees with the fan set on high all night long and I can sleep without covers, it does cool but simply not effectively. Thanks for the help bro.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » August 19th, 2015, 6:16 pm

Can anyone on best price for a reliable 24,000 BTU split unit, this is to replace an existing unit.

Postby ronsin1 » August 21st, 2015, 7:20 am

1kingmed wrote:Ronsin the room gets evening sun as it's located in the west, one window west and one window north with thick curtains. At night the room is cool and I run the pioneer unit at 16 degrees with the fan set on high all night long and I can sleep without covers, it does cool but simply not effectively. Thanks for the help bro.

were you affected by rain these couple days? if so how did the AC perform?

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » August 21st, 2015, 7:25 am

It performed a little better because of the cool weather and rain but was still not "trembling" cold, Ronsin1

amarmoonasar21

Postby amarmoonasar21 » August 21st, 2015, 7:58 am

My brother in law installed a samsung 24000 btu its the best ah see it very silent colding ur room within minutes

Postby ronsin1 » August 22nd, 2015, 6:10 am

1kingmed wrote:It performed a little better because of the cool weather and rain but was still not "trembling" cold, Ronsin1

you have a sizing issue.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » September 1st, 2015, 11:37 am

looking for a guy to service my 12k btu goodman unit in chaguanas area, looking for someone who is reasonably priced. pm or post number please

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 11th, 2015, 4:24 pm

looks like my AC Capacitor for the compressor has given out. Compressor hums but does not actually turns on, I opened the top panel and the capacitor does not have any bulge or anything but I was told its still bad.

Contacted a guy on facebook but he wants $350, so its $300 for labor and $50 for the capacitor.

Perhaps I could replace this myself and save $300? the capacitor is easily reachable through my window. Could this issue be something other than a capacitor though"?

wardonefamily

Postby wardonefamily » September 11th, 2015, 5:06 pm

U need to attach a hard start to the capacitor

Postby nervewrecker » September 11th, 2015, 5:50 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:looks like my AC Capacitor for the compressor has given out. Compressor hums but does not actually turns on, I opened the top panel and the capacitor does not have any bulge or anything but I was told its still bad.

Contacted a guy on facebook but he wants $350, so its $300 for labor and $50 for the capacitor.

Perhaps I could replace this myself and save $300? the capacitor is easily reachable through my window. Could this issue be something other than a capacitor though"?

How about you remove the cap and test for capacitance? If it is in fact good then it can be compressor locked up.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 11th, 2015, 6:44 pm

^ thanks I will remove it and test to see if its actually good.

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » September 11th, 2015, 8:27 pm

That is y your capacitor doing u using cheap capacitor

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 11th, 2015, 9:29 pm

sinnaz25 wrote:That is y your capacitor doing u using cheap capacitor

That is the one that come with the AC though, bought this AC in 2009

Postby nervewrecker » September 11th, 2015, 9:30 pm

Same Panasonic?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 11th, 2015, 9:37 pm

is a frigidaire unit I have, and on the capacitor it says 30uf wuxi honggaung capacitor co ltd

I go hadda get meh padner to lend me he test meter to see if this capacitor good before I waste time buying one next thing is the compressor that gone through.

I will assume the capacitor is dangerous, could kill even though its AC? or only DC capacitors kill since only DC store charge?

Postby nervewrecker » September 11th, 2015, 10:00 pm

You don't have a dmm? :/
Pretty sure someone close by has one.
Touch it and see nah :mrgreen:

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 19th, 2015, 11:18 pm

Alright guys, I fixed it.

Cheapest AC guy in Trini was charging $350 to fix it. had someone go Maraj AC in Aranguez and bought a 30uf Capacitor TGM brand for $35. Opened up the compressor and pulled out the old one, wired the new one exactly like the old. Turned it on and VIOLA!!! AC pumpin!!

Only thing the old capacitor was a 450 volt and the new one I bought is a 370 volt but both are 30uf

The AC however works fine so I eh know if that matters. Could using a 370V capacitor damage the compressor? or the life of the capacitor would just be shorter?