.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby RASC » August 11th, 2015, 6:04 pm

The five greatest MP's alive:

Kamala
Kamala
Kamala
Kamala

and Kamala

/ChapelleVoice

Postby RASC » August 11th, 2015, 6:09 pm

What this shows is a clear lack of respect for the electorate.

"We will give you a candidate when we feel fit and you go still vote for them because you are our sheep."

That is EXACTLY what they're saying. Imagine you as a resident in a so called safe seat have not even been able to meet your candidate look them in the eye and ask them a question, hear their plans for your neighborhood or learn anything about them. Total collapse of the democratic principles...

They're giving them whatever and expecting the masses to vote for whatever.

Postby De Dragon » August 11th, 2015, 6:12 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I'm still surprised that with literally LESS than a month to go the pp hasn't put up all their candidates yet.

Matters not unfortunately, as people vote party and not candidate. The polls have winners for several such seats with no named candidate.

Daran

Postby Daran » August 11th, 2015, 6:17 pm

Our governing system allows very little power to MPs, which is also the general consensus I hope.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 11th, 2015, 6:51 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I'm still surprised that with literally LESS than a month to go the pp hasn't put up all their candidates yet.

Matters not unfortunately, as people vote party and not candidate. The polls have winners for several such seats with no named candidate.

I live in a marginal and the winner doesn't always automatically get back the seat the next time so it matters.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » August 11th, 2015, 6:59 pm

De Dragon wrote: :? :? I would have thought it obvious that with her extremely favourable poll numbers that they would push her image as representative of the party.

Representative yes, but the UNC name nowhere on that cover/poster. its as if they hiidng they party. If they not careful, some people going to go into the polling booth looking for KAMLA .

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » August 11th, 2015, 7:01 pm

rfari wrote:Whats this talk about UNC putting forward a candidate for Tunapuna? What happen to prakash?

Look to see if Sando West also goes to a UNC candidate.

As an aside though . Hamlyn Jailal vs Esmonde Forde is going to be the most important race in the entire election. Who win this seat will decide the election. And I barely know who these two fellas is. We come a long way from Eddie Hart and Mervyn Assam.

Postby Habit7 » August 11th, 2015, 7:30 pm

EmilioA wrote:
rfari wrote:Whats this talk about UNC putting forward a candidate for Tunapuna? What happen to prakash?

Look to see if Sando West also goes to a UNC candidate.

As an aside though . Hamlyn Jailal vs Esmonde Forde is going to be the most important race in the entire election. Who win this seat will decide the election. And I barely know who these two fellas is. We come a long way from Eddie Hart and Mervyn Assam.
Forde was my councillor when I was in Tunapuna. I was told he was very approachable and effective. He lives opposite Tunapuna Presbyterian Primary. Never really dealt with him but I believe he has it in the bag. Among Tunapunians Forde has more notoriety and track record than Jailal.

Postby eliteauto » August 11th, 2015, 7:42 pm

Yup Esmond is well known, his grandmother was the go-to preschool for many in Tunapuna in the 70's and 80's, he's very approachable, accessible and well known he's also the Dep Chair of the TPRC. Jailal started becoming visible about 2 years ago with Christmas hampers and events, he was also instrumental in opening the UNC office in Tunapuna

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » August 11th, 2015, 8:29 pm

Hamlyn Jailal's name has been called in several questionable NIPDEC contracts, etc.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/800 ... 23241.html

nixonliketheprez

Postby nixonliketheprez » August 11th, 2015, 11:07 pm

Hyperion wrote:Hamlyn Jailal's name has been called in several questionable NIPDEC contracts, etc.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/800 ... 23241.html

Any contract SIS didn't get is cuz they didn't want it. The bias towards them is blatant and very disgusting. The money they made in the last 5 years is obscene. They and the gov't care nothing about what the pop. thinks and knows.

3 cheers for the yellow army... Is a special kinda smart could vote for this

Postby RASC » August 12th, 2015, 6:29 am

UNC meeting rally/meeting last night ...tassa blasting and two men wining on each other.

Anyone have the vid? It's making the rounds on social media...

BRZ

Postby BRZ » August 12th, 2015, 7:09 am

BOTH of the main parties in Trinidad need a thorough "weeding out" . All the old heads NEED to get out, only then will the thievery and dishonesty slow down.

Postby K74T » August 12th, 2015, 7:52 am

https://www.facebook.com/rishi.harnanan ... 614563706/

So this is what happens when you are enticed with free alcohol to show up at a gathering.

Postby eliteauto » August 12th, 2015, 8:09 am

Jack Warner has announced his candidacy for Chaguanas East. I really doubt the UNC is going to give Cadiz the nod now, excellent political strategy by Mr Warner considering the previous MP was PNM and the last polls division was around 4K votes

Postby Redman » August 12th, 2015, 8:16 am

BRZ wrote:BOTH of the main parties in Trinidad need a thorough "weeding out" . All the old heads NEED to get out, only then will the thievery and dishonesty slow down.

why???

The Ballah report said the original PNM stole 66% of the petro dollars

The Airport COE said the airport cost 1.6B but they could only see 600M worth of work.-66% disappear

Same story...separated by decades and political allegiance.

UML box drain contractors making 300% on their money....Campaign finance 101.

its the SYSTEM that enables this....

Change the system and our people will step up.

leave it and they will do as little as possible to get by

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 12th, 2015, 9:10 am

RASC wrote:UNC meeting rally/meeting last night ...tassa blasting and two men wining on each other.

Anyone have the vid? It's making the rounds on social media...

You mean like this?

Postby De Dragon » August 12th, 2015, 9:16 am

EmilioA wrote:
De Dragon wrote: :? :? I would have thought it obvious that with her extremely favourable poll numbers that they would push her image as representative of the party.

Representative yes, but the UNC name nowhere on that cover/poster. its as if they hiidng they party. If they not careful, some people going to go into the polling booth looking for KAMLA .

I think that is exactly what they are aiming for.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » August 12th, 2015, 9:39 am

Meanwhile, Canada also has upcoming elections...

Postby RASC » August 12th, 2015, 9:55 am

https://www.facebook.com/rishi.harnanan ... 614563706/

What is Kamala's plan for HOMOSEXUALITY moving forward?
UNC has a disproportionate number of members of the gay and lesbian community, yet she has not addressed their concerns.

Postby De Dragon » August 12th, 2015, 10:18 am

RASC wrote:https://www.facebook.com/rishi.harnanan/videos/1689931614563706/

UNC has a disproportionate number of members of the gay and lesbian community, yet she has not addressed their concerns.

You wanna tell us how you know this?

Postby pete » August 12th, 2015, 12:06 pm

This was her last position.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/PM- ... 64981.html

Probably the same thing Dr. Rowley would say as well. A position either way would be a problem. To come out and say you're going to decriminalize would lose you the support of all the bible thumpers and to say that there's no place in Trinidad for that would make the whole western world think you're a bigot and possibly lose investment potential. No way either party will take a firm stance on this just before an election.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » August 12th, 2015, 12:27 pm

eliteauto wrote:Jack Warner has announced his candidacy for Chaguanas East. I really doubt the UNC is going to give Cadiz the nod now, excellent political strategy by Mr Warner considering the previous MP was PNM and the last polls division was around 4K votes

I disagree. Chag West was his base, he could a still pull off a narrow victory there. Fighting in Chag East means PNM takes the seat. .....unless that's the plan.

EmilioA wrote:

I think that is exactly what they are aiming for.

I work as a Poll Clark already. Trinis could be dotish eh. I predicting some people will go in there look for Kamla name, not see it and spoil they ballot.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » August 12th, 2015, 12:30 pm

Habit7 wrote:Forde was my councillor when I was in Tunapuna. I was told he was very approachable and effective. He lives opposite Tunapuna Presbyterian Primary. Never really dealt with him but I believe he has it in the bag. Among Tunapunians Forde has more notoriety and track record than Jailal.

eliteauto wrote:Yup Esmond is well known, his grandmother was the go-to preschool for many in Tunapuna in the 70's and 80's, he's very approachable, accessible and well known he's also the Dep Chair of the TPRC. Jailal started becoming visible about 2 years ago with Christmas hampers and events, he was also instrumental in opening the UNC office in Tunapuna

If that's the case election done then. Tunapuna is the deciding seat.

Postby UML » August 12th, 2015, 12:35 pm

eliteauto wrote:Jack Warner has announced his candidacy for Chaguanas East. I really doubt the UNC is going to give Cadiz the nod now, excellent political strategy by Mr Warner considering the previous MP was PNM and the last polls division was around 4K votes

How long I telling allyuh the PNM and Jack had agreed to this

He fraid to go back up for Chaguanas West :lol::lol::lol:

Postby Monk BANzai » August 12th, 2015, 12:37 pm

pete wrote:

This was her last position.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/PM- ... 64981.html

Probably the same thing Dr. Rowley would say as well. A position either way would be a problem. To come out and say you're going to decriminalize would lose you the support of all the bible thumpers and to say that there's no place in Trinidad for that would make the whole western world think you're a bigot and possibly lose investment potential. No way either party will take a firm stance on this just before an election.

well said....

Postby UML » August 12th, 2015, 12:44 pm

EmilioA wrote:

DAMNED IF YOU DO DAMNED IF YOU DON’T

Postby rfari » August 12th, 2015, 12:47 pm

Uml. What you think of COP unable to send a candidate up for tunapuna and UNC filling the void?

Postby desifemlove » August 12th, 2015, 12:51 pm

what do you base that on? :?

Postby UML » August 12th, 2015, 12:53 pm

You wanna tell us how you know this?

Oh gormmmmmmmm yuh send him to hide dey bai

:pwned: