Windows 10

original_lollybob

Re: Windows 10 (Release date: July 29th)

Postby original_lollybob » June 23rd, 2015, 1:46 pm

^
somebody is gonna fight u down for that and tell u that you crazy eh

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 23rd, 2015, 1:49 pm

can we discuss windows 10 mobile in here as well

current build 10136 is usable but still not stable enough as a daily driver for me... had to go back to 8.1 update

im not sure how i feel about the new mobile interface (well the current win10 interface scaled down to mobile)

i really really like pivots and ellipses and squares...

but i guess hamburgers and circles will be it now...

Postby skylinechild » June 23rd, 2015, 1:59 pm

original_lollybob wrote:^

:lol: dan is tuner...men does froth over EBC brake pads i buy for a march :lol:
the fact is....nothing is for free. you get what you pay for.

problem is everyone want free..... :lol:

original_lollybob wrote:can we discuss windows 10 mobile in here as well
current build 10136 is usable but still not stable enough as a daily driver for me... had to go back to 8.1 update
im not sure how i feel about the new mobile interface (well the current win10 interface scaled down to mobile)

we can discuss windows 10 mobile but i dont know nothing much about mobile O.S. :oops:

i have a nokia N8 - gorilla glass penta band ( five bands) runs symbian belle has a 16GB internal memory and 16GB class 10 memory card.... 12 MP camera- carl zeiss optics - tessar 2.8/28 12MP AF Xenon flash...nothing spectacular...

thats about it.. :|

btw i like hamburgers too.. but i rarely eat them..i like fries..not soo much fried chicken... 8-)

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 23rd, 2015, 2:05 pm

skylinechild wrote:
we can discuss windows 10 mobile but i dont know nothing much about mobile O.S. :oops:

i have a nokia N8 - gorilla glass penta band ( five bands) runs symbian belle has a 16GB internal memory and 16GB class 10 memory card.... 12 MP camera- carl zeiss optics - tessar 2.8/28 12MP AF Xenon flash...nothing spectacular...

btw i like hamburgers too.. but i rarely eat them..i like fries..not soo much fried chicken... 8-)

u still rocking an n8?!

wow

time to upgrade to a windows phone :D

my previous gen Lumia 820 died last night...

looking to dive into a Lumia 930 soon...

dont think i'll be able to afford flagship models when they come out later this year

Postby skylinechild » June 23rd, 2015, 2:19 pm

original_lollybob wrote:u still rocking an n8?!
wow
time to upgrade to a windows phone :D
my previous gen Lumia 820 died last night...
looking to dive into a Lumia 930 soon...
dont think i'll be able to afford flagship models when they come out later this year

yep...i happy with it....it can make a call receive a call.....store nude pics ..bluetooth...wifi...full metal body....ohh it has HDMI on it...soo yea... :|

i could upgrade but funds always low...

my other phone is a nokia 3120

works ok..has its issues now an then...but works and i happy with it....
i think i bought it in 2005...i cant remember..will try to find the receipt for it... :lol:

Postby DVSTT » June 23rd, 2015, 4:44 pm

In for info.

Postby Spitfir3 » June 23rd, 2015, 5:44 pm

skylinechild wrote:

niice phone eh but symbian os is just ewwww

Postby skylinechild » June 23rd, 2015, 5:56 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

niice phone eh but symbian os is just ewwww

symbian died and went to OS heaven like going on 3 years now....its a dead platform and yep phone is nice....does what its supposed to.. 8-)

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 30th, 2015, 9:29 am

Postby skylinechild » July 1st, 2015, 9:56 am

original_lollybob wrote:https://www.thurrott.com/windows/windows-10/4411/windows-10-build-10158-heads-to-windows-insider-fast-ring-testers

downloading now :D

looks promising....

I Wish I had the extra pc to download and install this on...but sadly ALL of my pc's are in use.

since we on windows 10...any tuner out there still using 32bit architecture.?
any tuners out there tested the 32bit build of the windows 10 software and can give feedback.??

my moms soon to be old pc is a dell dimension 3000 series... and well it has windows 7 ultimate - genuine however I find it strange how I didn't get the notification to upgrade to windows 10 :? :?:

specs are as follows

Intel Pentium processor P4 @ 2.8GHZ - single core
2GB DDR RAM - (MAXED out)
lite on DVD rom ( soon to be replaced by a DVD burner - possibly a blu ray drive)
NVidia GeForce 8400GS 512 MB PCI video card W HDMI output :lol:
80GB Maxtor IDE HDD

On the current hardware configuration I'm able to play need for speed most wanted - 2005 on it - on medium settings - due to the cpu.

my windows experience score is as follows :

Processor Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz ------3.7
Memory (RAM) 2.00 GB--------- 4.5
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS---------- 4.1
Gaming graphics 1275 MB Total available graphics memory--------- 4.5
Primary hard disk 39GB Free (74GB Total)-------- 5.7

from the above scores we can see the bottle neck is at the CPU.
Ive been looking on eBay for a processor upgrade. Cost is like 15 USD for a used processor to work on this pc.. the processor speed is 3.6GHZ - and yes for the persons worried about cooling I already have a full copper heat sink installed.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 1st, 2015, 2:32 pm

10159 today

hero wallpaper! :\

i have a 32bit lappy at home but havent tried 10 on it as yet

regarding build 158/159

muchhhhhhhhhhh better performance wise... the start menu works for me now

that was the last thing holding me back from using it as my daily machine

i pretty much hate the mail app tho... how the heck do u get ride of that cloudy background and how do u turn off the reading pain? (intended error)

Postby Spitfir3 » July 1st, 2015, 2:58 pm

windows 7 ultimate on a dimension 3000 and an ide hdd ? de f0rq? even with dem upgrades that thing mubbe slow like a camel

personally i wouldn't put anything more than xp on that system had a dimension 2300 and 4700 myself the 4700 had ddr2,sata and agp which was real sauce at the time 8-)

Postby skylinechild » July 1st, 2015, 3:59 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:windows 7 ultimate on a dimension 3000 and an ide hdd ? de f0rq? even with dem upgrades that thing mubbe slow like a camel

personally i wouldn't put anything more than xp on that system had a dimension 2300 and 4700 myself the 4700 had ddr2,sata and agp which was real sauce at the time 8-)

well it had XP initially when i got it - but remember XP is out of date and i gave it the memory and video card upgrade in orer to run windows 7. however the system is stable runs smooth (enough) and gives ZERO issues - but it does have its pros and cons.

pro- the nvidia video card gives it a very very nice speed boost - no sharing memory from the system for the onboard video card

con - its a PCI- not even AGP card

pro - maxxed out the RAM

con- its STILL only 2GB :oops:

pro- doing everyday tasks is easy and runs relatively smooth.

con- it slows down considerably when browsing the interwebs - possibly explorer - will try mozilla.

pro- i can play need for speed most wanted -

con that game came out in 2005.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 25th, 2015, 10:24 am

Woke up to another auto upgrade. Looks like RTM version is here. No more build number on the bottom of the screen. Just plain Windows 10 Pro in the about window.

Postby skylinechild » July 25th, 2015, 8:50 pm

^^ can u put up a screenshot of some info.??

pull up command prompt and in the window type in "winver" without the quotation marks.

it is supposed to bring up some additional info like the build number and such...
( i hope they didnt gt rid of the winver command)

for example doing it on my windows 7 pc brings this up
windows 6.1 build #7601 SP1

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 26th, 2015, 10:03 pm

Says Windows 10.0 (Build 10240) seems like that build is the final one but with little updated being pushed. (KB3074681, KB3074679, KB3074680, KB3074674)

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 26th, 2015, 11:19 pm

Still didn't get the notification to upgrade, even though every single one of my versions are genuine
:/

Re:

Postby DVSTT » July 27th, 2015, 8:22 am

src1983 wrote:Still didn't get the notification to upgrade, even though every single one of my versions are genuine
:/

Google how to get the notification. It was in one of the windows updates.

Postby skylinechild » July 28th, 2015, 9:37 am

one more day to go !!!!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2015, 9:54 am

I cant wait!!

make meh care

Postby make meh care » July 28th, 2015, 2:18 pm

i will wait and see the reviews from other persons and give it time for all the little bugs in the system to be fixed before i have this installed.

Postby stev » July 28th, 2015, 3:09 pm

the hardest part is waiting for it to finish download. lol

that gonna take rel long no matter your connection speed.

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 28th, 2015, 3:22 pm

The verge review

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 28th, 2015, 3:33 pm

Nah Stev. Only takes a hour or two.

If you have Windows 8. Don't think, upgrade. If you have Windows 7, go for it. It has the stability of Windows 7 and the interface is an improvement once you configure it to how you want, (ie. you don't have to keep all the rubbish that's added to the start menu like news and the like. Just drag out what you don't want and add in what you do.)

I went from Windows XP to 7 and avoided that Windows Vista abortion completely. Same for Windows 8, I acted like it never existed. Windows 10 is what 8 should have been in the same way Windows 7 was what Vista was supposed to be.

Postby redmanjp » July 28th, 2015, 7:00 pm

can u make an iso file from the download and install later?

Postby redmanjp » July 28th, 2015, 11:31 pm

Windows 10 might already be downloading to a folder called C:\$windows.~BT on your PC- i seeing it and also seeing network activity for hrs now

searchingone

Postby searchingone » July 29th, 2015, 8:33 am

With Blink's shitty speed these days, good luck.

Postby DVSTT » July 29th, 2015, 8:47 am

Update taking so damn long though.....

Postby Spitfir3 » July 29th, 2015, 9:28 am

searchingone wrote:With Blink's shitty speed these days, good luck.

x2 is real failure

Postby DVSTT » July 29th, 2015, 10:14 am

GT!
Windows 10 pro.
Like the look of the interface but I haven't fiddled around in it much.

I don't have cortana....