*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

hoverauto

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby hoverauto » July 16th, 2015, 7:45 pm

Electronic Interiors Ltd wrote:
hoverauto wrote:Now I know this doesn't really fit into full home theater systems, but I'm looking for a good pair of headphones (wired or wireless) for me to use with my tv at night. My bro just had a baby and I don't want to wake her up when I'm gaming or watching movies.

I was going to buy a random Beats headphones from the Apple Store in west mall, but I figured I'd ask you guys for your recommendations.

For long hours of gaming or tv I would recommend over ear headphones as on-ear and in-ear tend to get a little uncomfortable.

You can take a look at some of the headphones available from Bowers & Wilkins.

Currently we have P3 , P5 & P7 in stock.

All Bowers & Wilkins headphones come with carrying cases and replaceable cords.

Here is a review of the Bowers & Wilkins P7 headphone from Karim Khan :
Karim Khan wrote:As you guys know I travel often . The most boring part is waiting at the airport and the airplane ride.

Just recently I picked up the Bowers and Wilkins P7 headphone to keep me from not getting board out of my mind.

The sound quality on this headphones is totally amazing with rich bass smooth highs and realistic reproduction of both male and female voices. I've owned lots of high end head phones but in my opinion P7's blows the competition away .

The build quality is also amazing . Just one look at it and you know this is a quality item. Rich leather and brushed aluminum gives you that elegant look that stands out from the crowed at any airport or even on the airplane.

Paired with a headphone stand , this also makes a nice center piece in your library or music room . I hired a high end wood worker to make a custom stand as seen bellow ;

When traveling I use the premium leather case that fits nicely in my carry on and does not take up to much space. The over ear headphones keeps out the noise. On my recent flight to Fort Lauderdale I got a seat next to a mom and toddler and well I don't have to say the rest . I just popped on my P7 and played my favorite tunes and I did not even hear the crying baby next to me.

To this end , if your an audiophile or just looking for a nice pair of headphones I will recommend you give the Bowers and Wilkens P7 a try.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1434941293.425864.jpg

For more info you can visit the Bowers & Wilkins site :
http://www.bowers-wilkins.com/Headphone ... range.html

Or our Facebook page :
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Electron ... =bookmarks

Thanks man. Will definitely have a look.

Anton

Postby Anton » July 17th, 2015, 10:11 pm

Hey guys, my sunfire sds 12 sub is not powering up from standby, any recommendations for a repair technician? :sad:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 24th, 2015, 11:47 pm

there is a small section on the signal detection circuitry that sometimes need a resistor changed..

not sure if you are one of those guys that fell victim to this.. :(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 24th, 2015, 11:49 pm

hoverauto wrote:Now I know this doesn't really fit into full home theater systems, but I'm looking for a good pair of headphones (wired or wireless) for me to use with my tv at night. My bro just had a baby and I don't want to wake her up when I'm gaming or watching movies.

I was going to buy a random Beats headphones from the Apple Store in west mall, but I figured I'd ask you guys for your recommendations.
there is a headphones thread you can check also
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=450764

as X_Factor said above it depends on your preference. In ear headphones hurt me after a while, so i use on ear or better yet over ear.

If you have a Roku 3, you can plug the headphones into the remote and control the volume from there too, instead of having a long cable to the TV.

now this is interesting!

back home and ready to start this project...also will upload some pics in a bit with my new toy thats finally in hand :)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 25th, 2015, 9:18 am

Sorry for bad quality pictures. Lightning was poor. This bugger needed an entire check piece with just one towel. It's that heavy. Played it with my altec Lansing 641 sats. Just 2, no sub. And boy oh boy. So clean and controlled. You really do get what you pay for.

Anton

Postby Anton » July 25th, 2015, 10:19 am

Chiney wrote:there is a small section on the signal detection circuitry that sometimes need a resistor changed..

Yup. There is a burnt diode and a burnt resistor, but can't determine the value of the resistor! :x Any leads on where I might find that info? Been scouring the web but no luck as yet.

Anton

Postby Anton » July 25th, 2015, 10:22 am

Great receiver there!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 25th, 2015, 10:22 am

Not sure of who can handle it or more information on the parts. But this usually happens when plugging and unplugging the sub signal rca while the rx is on.

Postby M_2NR » July 25th, 2015, 1:48 pm

Guys. Need some advice. Now I went ahead hurryingly and bought this mount on sale on Amazon without checking it has lag bolts for wood stud installation.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00VMLFG3C

Upon asking the seller for info for our hollow clay masonry mounting, they told me that it will void my warranty using it...

Now I know normally I can use a lead anchor or the plastic shield with the bolt for mounting smaller applications on the wall... The weight of the stand is 10lb and the TV is 32lb.

I was considering using lead anchors as the bolts are 5/16" in diameter and a little over 2" in length.

Anyone here ever mounted this mount and can they advise if I'm on the right path?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 25th, 2015, 3:07 pm

^ just use concrete anchor bolts. For a 32LB TV you can even use the orange wall plugs and suitable screws.

you really going to send that back under warranty?

Postby M_2NR » July 25th, 2015, 3:35 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ just use concrete anchor bolts. For a 32LB TV you can even use the orange wall plugs and suitable screws.

was thinking to use that too! IIRC two of those holding a stinking condenser on the other side of my wall and it eh fall down yet.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you really going to send that back under warranty?

NAH! Unless yuh bought FedEx recently?

Thank D!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 25th, 2015, 4:16 pm

exactly!

Postby X_Factor » July 25th, 2015, 5:00 pm

yeah some m8 or m10 bolts and he good to go

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 25th, 2015, 5:03 pm

Duane said it before me.. Use concrete anchor bolts.. A size suited for your wall.. Consider depth for it to start expanding and grip. You will be good to go

Postby M_2NR » July 25th, 2015, 5:16 pm

Thanks guys!

Anton

Postby Anton » July 26th, 2015, 8:45 am

Chiney wrote:Not sure of who can handle it or more information on the parts. But this usually happens when plugging and unplugging the sub signal rca while the rx is on.

Thanks bro. Don't think that may have been the cause in my case, once the sub was in place and dialed in I didn't have cause to move or adjust anything. Sigh. I guess it's just one of those things. I'll start the process of choosing a replacement plate amp or maybe take this chance to upgrade.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » July 26th, 2015, 12:36 pm

anton, can you make out any of the colour rings on the resistor at all?

Anton

Postby Anton » July 27th, 2015, 1:34 pm

Soundstream_626 wrote:anton, can you make out any of the colour rings on the resistor at all?

Unfortunately,no. The board uses the flat type resistors with no determining colours. The values are printed on the surface of the resistor but its too burnt to identify the figures. :(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 28th, 2015, 9:27 am

Really hope u get through.... :(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 28th, 2015, 10:15 am

Anton

Postby Anton » July 29th, 2015, 1:06 pm

^^Thanks. Nice passives !

Postby X_Factor » July 29th, 2015, 1:55 pm

Anton wrote:
Chiney wrote:there is a small section on the signal detection circuitry that sometimes need a resistor changed..

Yup. There is a burnt diode and a burnt resistor, but can't determine the value of the resistor! :x Any leads on where I might find that info? Been scouring the web but no luck as yet.

Post some pics on the burnt section on those DIY ht forums, i am sure someone who have one can help u identify the burnt parts

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 29th, 2015, 2:16 pm

Anton

Postby Anton » July 29th, 2015, 2:33 pm

I wish that pic was. :sad:
Good idea RE using the HT forums. Will try that. Tried to upload the pics here but the app is problematic. Will post them when I get back to the pc.
Thanks guys.

Anton

Postby Anton » July 29th, 2015, 2:39 pm

1438195192953.jpg

Anton

Postby Anton » July 29th, 2015, 2:45 pm

Will try to get better pics later. That's the section with the burnt out resistor labeled r83 on the board.
Was able to figure out the diode because there is a twin next to it.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 29th, 2015, 9:53 pm

Awaits pics to see if I can do it for u...

Slowly but surely!

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » July 30th, 2015, 7:22 am

Hey Chiney,
What type of board are u using , mdf, I found this paint to be very effective base primer to seal against water, water/ moisture destroys mdf. I used it on an arcade cabinet recently and the finish is amazing after 2 coats with a light hand sand in between.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1438255252.994224.jpg

I got it in FTfar fan and u see the price per quart. It's a little expensive but stretches nicely

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » July 30th, 2015, 7:25 am

Pic of the arcade
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1438255542.014228.jpg

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 30th, 2015, 7:53 am

sweet thanks! yeah it is mdf, and i planned to do a few coats on it. spoke with a guy from youtube who did a similar product and he told me what to look out for..

all my years of joinery and im still edgy about working with MDF, the thing is troublesome.

will go FT and check out that there and see the other options they have, im going for a black finish.