Flow Internet Thread

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby maj. tom » July 24th, 2015, 9:00 pm

Yes just tell the CSR on the phone that u already have a router and u just want the modem alone. And they will install a stand alone modem. The wifi modem costs more anyway.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 9:05 pm

My father has the wifi modem from flow and its real trash sometimes in the other room just 12 feet away it cannot even pick up the wifi.

I have a linksys with custom DDWRT firmware. So I hope they give me a wired one and not come and claim they only have wifi ones I eh want that.

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » July 24th, 2015, 10:11 pm

I had the flow no Wi-Fi modern hooked up to my apple router, great signal throughout the house, decided to take the basic cable package, tech came and took away my non Wi-Fi modern and gave me the crappy Arris Wi-Fi modem/router box, he and the custom rep on the phone said I had to take the Arris combo modem/router because their new cable and internet packages would only work with the new combo modem/router. So if you also want cable, then you have no choice.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 24th, 2015, 10:12 pm

I find the arris does work pretty good. No problem with Mines. Once a modem got damaged and they came and changed it out.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 10:41 pm

~*SiLvA MeRa*~ wrote:I had the flow no Wi-Fi modern hooked up to my apple router, great signal throughout the house, decided to take the basic cable package, tech came and took away my non Wi-Fi modern and gave me the crappy Arris Wi-Fi modem/router box, he and the custom rep on the phone said I had to take the Arris combo modem/router because their new cable and internet packages would only work with the new combo modem/router. So if you also want cable, then you have no choice.

Hi I do not watch TV neither can I afford cable TV

I just want a 15MB broadband connection.

what is the name and or model of the non wireless modem that flow gives you?

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » July 25th, 2015, 7:17 am

The non wireless modern was also an Arris that I got from flow over 6-7 years ago when I switched over to their internet service, no idea what the model number was as the technician took it with him when I got the crappy new one.

Postby X_Factor » July 25th, 2015, 8:18 am

well honestly the flow's wifi modem works pretty ok, getting coverage in some places the el cheepo linksys i would normally use

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2015, 8:23 am

^ can we buy our own modem? like the ones on Amazon?
btw SiLvA or anyone here with flow can you do me a favor?

ping sony.com

ping capcom.com

in command prompt

what you get?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2015, 9:57 am

nick639 wrote:Na cant get our own modems.. I soo wish we could tho

nick one last favor

ping sony.com

ping capcom.com

what ping you got?

I got 140ms and 192ms respectively

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2015, 1:05 pm

So I spoke to a network engineer and he told me you can use your own Modem instead of what flow gives you. So I was thinking of using this

http://www.amazon.com/ARRIS-Motorola-Su ... XNPY57RXKF

look how sexy them lights looking. He said I just need to call flow and have them add the mac address to my account? anyone familiar with this process?

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 25th, 2015, 1:37 pm

That's not true. Flow doesn't allow customers to use their own modems. That's coming from multiple flow network engineers as well as some of their fiber techs. It is possible to be done but not allowed. There are persons doing it but you have to have a connection inside to get you modem provisioned on their network.

This has also been discussed before in the thread.

brickman

Postby brickman » July 25th, 2015, 2:46 pm

bossmann wrote:That's not true. Flow doesn't allow customers to use their own modems. That's coming from multiple flow network engineers as well as some of their fiber techs. It is possible to be done but not allowed. There are persons doing it but you have to have a connection inside to get you modem provisioned on their network.

This has also been discussed before in the thread.
This.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » July 25th, 2015, 9:55 pm

^^^^ lol at the guys who think this is possible..... the modem pulls a .bin file via tftp..... that bin file is created with the specs to work with the model modems flow has.... not saying if u buy your own arris modem it wont work... but there is a high possibility that it wont work... Plus it doesnt matter, the model will never enter onto the system anyway.... The modems white listed on the network were already defined when they bought it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2015, 9:57 pm

^ but this sucks? I mean in the US you can buy your own modem off Amazon.

Why Can't we do the same in Trinidad? whats the big deal that flow don't want to allow it?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » July 25th, 2015, 10:01 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ but this sucks? I mean in the US you can buy your own modem off Amazon.

Why Can't we do the same in Trinidad? whats the big deal that flow don't want to allow it?

its to ensure customers dont call in complaining that they buy their own modem online and it "nuh wukking" with the network... Sell the service and the product together and less people will complain.... How would u feel if u working KFC and a customer say he bring he own fries to put in the box... and then hands u it....and then complains that the chicken not agreeing with his fries......

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2015, 10:15 pm

^ yeah but not everybody illiterate and ignorant of how computers work.

If ah man buying he own modem and willing to accept all faults on his own and agrees to hire his own help then I see no harm. Doh see the big deal cause in the USA you can use any modem you want and the ISP does not fight you down. The customer is always right, customer is paying for his service the customer not begging for anything free.

If I had issues I would not call flow, just imagine I call flow the other day and asked them about the 15MB upgrade and the technicians are 100% clueless about it they told me I do not know what I talking about. Then I get into an argument with the man over the phone he then said ok fine he going to ask his supervisor if this is true. He come back and say yes sir you are correct.

For Christ sakes the thing is on the website, steups. How don't you know about it? and you are a technician? I never bother calling flow since that day I does google my issues. I get better results
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on July 25th, 2015, 10:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 25th, 2015, 10:23 pm

shaq090 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ but this sucks? I mean in the US you can buy your own modem off Amazon.

its to ensure customers dont call in complaining that they buy their own modem online and it "nuh wukking" with the network... Sell the service and the product together and less people will complain.... How would u feel if u working KFC and a customer say he bring he own fries to put in the box... and then hands u it....and then complains that the chicken not agreeing with his fries......

HAHA I like this.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 25th, 2015, 10:25 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ yeah but not everybody illiterate and ignorant of how computers work.

If ah man buying he own modem and willing to accept all faults on his own and agrees to hire his own help then I see no harm. Doh see the big deal cause in the USA you can use any modem you want and the ISP does not fight you down. The customer is always right, customer is paying for his service the customer not begging for anything free.

Hoss customer always right across there because of competition. Flow has no real competition here so don't expect everything to line up like abroad.

Even then broadband speeds here better than average U.S. speeds so it's not all bad.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2015, 10:33 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ yeah but not everybody illiterate and ignorant of how computers work.

Hoss customer always right across there because of competition. Flow has no real competition here so don't expect everything to line up like abroad.

Even then broadband speeds here better than average U.S. speeds so it's not all bad.

Yes I hope this modem is satisfactory.
Its just sad that flow technicians are so ignorant of how computers and the internet works. Lets hope this modem is as good as anyother one out there. While its fat and ugly and nasty, it does have excellent reviews

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008GG ... _i=desktop

think this is the same one flow giving free. Fat, Ugly and Nasty but seems to have excellent reviews.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » July 26th, 2015, 12:16 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Yes I hope this modem is satisfactory.
Its just sad that flow technicians are so ignorant of how computers and the internet works. Lets hope this modem is as good as anyother one out there. While its fat and ugly and nasty, it does have excellent reviews

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008GG ... _i=desktop

think this is the same one flow giving free. Fat, Ugly and Nasty but seems to have excellent reviews.

Not all flow techs are ignorant... its just all the good ones have moved on up... I was once a technician there in flow.... now im an engineer :D

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 26th, 2015, 2:07 pm

Well dan tell them to sort out that 6pm-2am blocking of programs nah.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 26th, 2015, 3:35 pm

Does FLOW throttle youtube?

Can a 15MB stream a 4K video without buffering or is this going to be another 15MB buffering at 144p? like dem comcast users with 150MB watching youtube at 144p?

brickman

Postby brickman » July 26th, 2015, 3:41 pm

Flow never throttled my YouTube, 1080p all day every day.Used to catch stress with blink though.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 26th, 2015, 3:46 pm

brickman wrote:Flow never throttled my YouTube, 1080p all day every day.Used to catch stress with blink though.

Even when I had my 4MB Blink I could barely go above 240p on youtube. While torrent would run at full speed
Which is why I downgraded to 1MB because even at 1MB is still the same 240p. I feel I could take 256K from these idiots and still run at the same speed.

Can't wait till flow tech reach here Tuesday yes, lets hope they keep their word and actually reach Tuesday, so the woman at the front desk said after we paid her the $250. Paid this money Friday, so will wait and see. I cannot imagine what it must be like to click 1080p and watch at 1080p without buffering must be a dream come true yes.

Postby gastly369 » July 26th, 2015, 4:04 pm

Wouldn't be disappointed .. Basic modem and your own WiFi router n u in de game..

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » July 26th, 2015, 5:40 pm

gastly369 wrote:Wouldn't be disappointed .. Basic modem and your own WiFi router n u in de game..

Does flow take back the modem and give the basic on request?

Sent from my D6653 using Tapatalk

Postby Ted_v2 » July 26th, 2015, 8:05 pm

Yall not easy na.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » July 27th, 2015, 7:49 pm

no flow doesnt throttle you but for p2p connections the traffic priority is less... What you need to do is encrypt your packets.,.. there is an option in utorrent.. Options>Preferences>BitTorrent- Protocol Entryption } Forced .. and make sure and check allow incoming legacy connections

Postby M_2NR » July 27th, 2015, 8:24 pm

These days I've noticed A LOT of speed drops with youtube and netflix. I'm not sure if it's my node. I'll monitor it but especially my streaming services. Well... those.

Zeetv online works relatively fine however... yes... zeetv... problem?

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » July 27th, 2015, 9:04 pm

^^ I have the same issue with youtube