Changed Alert Level at Kick 'em Jenny Submarine Volcano

Re: Changed Alert Level at Kick 'em Jenny Submarine Volcano

Postby black start » July 23rd, 2015, 10:02 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Where I am in work now, we usually see Grenada.

Leave yuh van in start name nuh....

Rip sniper 3000

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 23rd, 2015, 10:14 pm

1.In the event of any natural disaster first responders will not be responding until at least 3 days have passed.The relevant authorities are trying to build resilience in the trini public since this is what happens in Japan(good luck with that one)

2.It's not so much an eruption as much as the sides of the volcano collapsing that will cause a tsunami since the volcano is subsea.

3.In Trinidad there is no tsunami warning system so if there were to be a tsunami you will not be forewarned except maybe by people spreading the word around if you know the right people.

4.Models have shown that in the event of a tsunami we will have approximately 1 hour before it hits our shores.Couple this with our lack of warning system above and the general public will know absolutely nothing until they see it happening and by then it's too late.

5.If there were to be a tsunami the authorities don't know what will happen since they haven't done the studies and modelling necessary.There could be no tsunami at all or there could be the mother of all tsunamis or everything in between i.e people saying there is nothing to be worried about have no scientific evidence to support their claim.They are just trying not to cause panic.

6.In the event of a tsunami, predictions are that all of South up to San Fernando maybe as far as central could be inundated with water.Again this is just speculation since there are no studies.

Do with the above information what you will.

Postby Habit7 » July 23rd, 2015, 10:18 pm

Skanky wrote:6.In the event of a tsunami, predictions are that all of South up to San Fernando maybe as far as central could be inundated with water.Again this is just speculation since there are no studies.

That is rubbish.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 23rd, 2015, 10:30 pm

I am mostly concerned about the submarine fiber lines that Flow, TSTT and Digicel has.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » July 23rd, 2015, 11:52 pm

Had a Kick 'em Jenny party at the Oval this evening

Postby redmanjp » July 23rd, 2015, 11:53 pm

all d recent quakes around barbados related to this?

Postby redmanjp » July 24th, 2015, 12:07 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I am mostly concerned about the submarine fiber lines that Flow, TSTT and Digicel has.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150723/news/tstt-working-to-repair-cables-damaged-by-seismic-activity
TSTT has said it is working to resolve Internet connection problems after its submarine fibre optic cables, located up the Caribbean between St Vincent and Grenada, were damaged.

Damage to the cables was caused by increased seismic activity at the Kick 'em Jenny underwater volcano yesterday.

In a press release yesterday, TSTT noted that it uses the underwater cables for international data and Internet traffic.

It said as a result of the damage, local customers may experience slow browsing and data speeds for Internet access and mobile data, where the content resides outside of Trinidad and Tobago.

“This is also affecting some TV channels,” the company said.

TSTT noted that the cables are run by a regional communications company.

“TSTT is providing all assistance possible for the vendor to have this issue resolved in the shortest possible time so that normal services can be restored to customers. TSTT will provide updates as more information becomes available.”

All calls to TSTT officials to get further comment on the matter went unanswered yesterday afternoon.

The Express understands that Grenada is also experiencing similar connectivity problems and that only the FLOW network is currently operating.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 24th, 2015, 3:51 am

redmanjp wrote:all d recent quakes around barbados related to this?

I suspect so but maybe daran or habit could enlighten.

Daran

Postby Daran » July 24th, 2015, 5:44 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
redmanjp wrote:all d recent quakes around barbados related to this?

I suspect so but maybe daran or habit could enlighten.

why me? But yes usually earthquakes on nearby or neighboring tectonics plates do influence the balance of their the entire system.

Also guys, I'm not panicking, I was simply informing that this has the potential to be a bad disaster for the Caribbean (trini included) which is why I asked for more info.

Right now it seems it may be nothing major....but we should be aware and monitor the situation closey. God is not a trini (well he isn't even real, but that's another discussion)

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 24th, 2015, 6:26 am

Skanky wrote:1.In the event of any natural disaster first responders will not be responding until at least 3 days have passed.The relevant authorities are trying to build resilience in the trini public since this is what happens in Japan(good luck with that one)

2.It's not so much an eruption as much as the sides of the volcano collapsing that will cause a tsunami since the volcano is subsea.

3.In Trinidad there is no tsunami warning system so if there were to be a tsunami you will not be forewarned except maybe by people spreading the word around if you know the right people.

4.Models have shown that in the event of a tsunami we will have approximately 1 hour before it hits our shores.Couple this with our lack of warning system above and the general public will know absolutely nothing until they see it happening and by then it's too late.

5.If there were to be a tsunami the authorities don't know what will happen since they haven't done the studies and modelling necessary.There could be no tsunami at all or there could be the mother of all tsunamis or everything in between i.e people saying there is nothing to be worried about have no scientific evidence to support their claim.They are just trying not to cause panic.

6.In the event of a tsunami, predictions are that all of South up to San Fernando maybe as far as central could be inundated with water.Again this is just speculation since there are no studies.

Interesting points

Btw, what is your take on UWI saying the seismic activity near Barbados is not related to this? Mind you, since Kick em Jenny started acting up, there have been no further earthquakes reported near Barbados

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » July 24th, 2015, 6:43 am

[surfer voice/] its a conspiracy man, coming from the government. They're feeding us a bunch of lies man [/surfer voice]

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 11:02 am

redmanjp wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I am mostly concerned about the submarine fiber lines that Flow, TSTT and Digicel has.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150723/news/tstt-working-to-repair-cables-damaged-by-seismic-activity
TSTT has said it is working to resolve Internet connection problems after its submarine fibre optic cables, located up the Caribbean between St Vincent and Grenada, were damaged.

Damage to the cables was caused by increased seismic activity at the Kick 'em Jenny underwater volcano yesterday.

In a press release yesterday, TSTT noted that it uses the underwater cables for international data and Internet traffic.

It said as a result of the damage, local customers may experience slow browsing and data speeds for Internet access and mobile data, where the content resides outside of Trinidad and Tobago.

“TSTT is providing all assistance possible for the vendor to have this issue resolved in the shortest possible time so that normal services can be restored to customers. TSTT will provide updates as more information becomes available.”

All calls to TSTT officials to get further comment on the matter went unanswered yesterday afternoon.

The Express understands that Grenada is also experiencing similar connectivity problems and that only the FLOW network is currently operating.

ok this explains the shitty speed I getting.

Flow customers lucky yes, and here I always assumed TSTT operates their own submarine line. Didn't know they buy bandwidth from another company, so this explains why flow can afford to give us such huge bandwidth so cheap?

Daran

Postby Daran » July 24th, 2015, 12:20 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

ok this explains the shitty speed I getting.

Flow customers lucky yes, and here I always assumed TSTT operates their own submarine line. Didn't know they buy bandwidth from another company, so this explains why flow can afford to give us such huge bandwidth so cheap?

It's actually a last mile limitation with cable having a big advantage over ADSL.

Postby zoom rader » July 24th, 2015, 5:08 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Where I am in work now, we usually see Grenada.

Looks like you on a platform

Postby desifemlove » July 24th, 2015, 6:34 pm

would this affect Trinidad? we have no major population centres on the north coast, and its mainly rocks and cliffs. even tobago, maybe Scarborough/Plymouth get ting, but not much.