I.T jobs and salaries in T&T

smily245

Re: I.T jobs and salaries in T&T

Postby smily245 » July 22nd, 2015, 7:27 pm

Media graphics what's your buddy monthly payment?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » July 22nd, 2015, 8:00 pm

around $6500

nismo14

Postby nismo14 » July 22nd, 2015, 8:29 pm

Just to stray. Salary is 11000.00 which is 9 and change after tax with 3 o levels. Join a service bro lol.

Advent

Postby Advent » July 23rd, 2015, 10:01 am

Media Graphics Ltd. wrote:
Advent wrote:
halfbreed_1 wrote:Damn Trinidad doesnt pay sheit.

If I had my currently salary living in Trinidad I would be loaded lol

$20,000 salary im guessing by salary yall mean monthly salary? so thats about $3333 US a month. That aint sheit. Is that a lot in Trini?

yes 20G here can get you a nice car and a mortgage for a home and still live comfortably, add a spouse salary to the mix and yuh set

20g qualifies one for a 1 million dollar mortgage at TTMF for a 30 year loan.
Where you finding a house for that price?? Or are you a shotter with a big downpayment?

thats incorrect. I have contacts in ttmf & regularly deal with land & conveyancing attorneys. Under 10k/month gets u 850k, up to 100% financing with ttmf under the 2% interest plan.
Had a buddy who recently(1 month ago) went in for assessment with a fixed salary under 10k (he works in sales) and was approved for 1.4mil with 10% dpayment.

1.4 m mortgage works out to almost 9000 a month on a 30 yr mortgage according to TTMF s mortgage calculator at 5% interest. That doesn't seem right given your buddy's income.

but that wasnt at 2% interest ?

Postby Dizzy28 » July 23rd, 2015, 11:19 am

Advent wrote:
Media Graphics Ltd. wrote:
Advent wrote:
halfbreed_1 wrote:Damn Trinidad doesnt pay sheit.

If I had my currently salary living in Trinidad I would be loaded lol

$20,000 salary im guessing by salary yall mean monthly salary? so thats about $3333 US a month. That aint sheit. Is that a lot in Trini?

yes 20G here can get you a nice car and a mortgage for a home and still live comfortably, add a spouse salary to the mix and yuh set

20g qualifies one for a 1 million dollar mortgage at TTMF for a 30 year loan.
Where you finding a house for that price?? Or are you a shotter with a big downpayment?

thats incorrect. I have contacts in ttmf & regularly deal with land & conveyancing attorneys. Under 10k/month gets u 850k, up to 100% financing with ttmf under the 2% interest plan.
Had a buddy who recently(1 month ago) went in for assessment with a fixed salary under 10k (he works in sales) and was approved for 1.4mil with 10% dpayment.

1.4 m mortgage works out to almost 9000 a month on a 30 yr mortgage according to TTMF s mortgage calculator at 5% interest. That doesn't seem right given your buddy's income.

but that wasnt at 2% interest ?

According to TTMF's website 2% is for properties up to 850,000.
Properties greater than 850,000 up to 1.2 mil eligible for 5% which goes up by .5% per year till it reaches 7% after 5 years.
Everything else is 7%.

If you all aware that those rules have changed please aware me.

Postby desifemlove » July 23rd, 2015, 7:19 pm

IT is a big field. and how old are you? if you're under 30, yuh gonna work as a entry tech for the rest of your career?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 30th, 2021, 6:47 pm

Anyone know what kind of salaries you're usually looking at in Trinidad for software engineering? For someone with a BS in CS/Software engineering from the US?

I heard someone say you can get equivalent to 100k US/year with a couple of years experience....is that true?

Postby st7 » May 30th, 2021, 7:26 pm

for a trinidadian company?

highly doubt that.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 30th, 2021, 7:27 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Anyone know what kind of salaries you're usually looking at in Trinidad for software engineering? For someone with a BS in CS/Software engineering from the US?

I heard someone say you can get equivalent to 100k US/year with a couple of years experience....is that true?
Which company paying that?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 30th, 2021, 7:30 pm

Good software engineers, emphasis on good make between 20k and 45k.

The high paying field in CS right now is Data Science and AI.

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » May 30th, 2021, 7:31 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Anyone know what kind of salaries you're usually looking at in Trinidad for software engineering? For someone with a BS in CS/Software engineering from the US?

1. "depends on experience." on average maybe 9 - 12k per month. expertise in this field is grossly undervalued here unfortunately

2. degree is irrelevant
edit: mostly* irrelevant

3. no, you will not get much in trinidad
Last edited by i_code_and_stuff on May 30th, 2021, 7:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 30th, 2021, 7:32 pm

The best paid ppl i know in that field earn around 35,000TTD or so a month so 100k USD is a stretch concerning most i know in the field work closer to 20000TTD.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 30th, 2021, 7:33 pm

daxt0r wrote:The best paid ppl i know in that field earn around 35,000TTD or so a month so 100k USD is a stretch concerning most i know in the field work closer to 20000TTD.
What type of qualifications they have and experience to get that salary?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 30th, 2021, 7:42 pm

went farrin for AIX and/or Oracle training as well as whatever uni stuff they had b4, 15+ years
There may be higher paying but only IT or Project management level, not devops.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 30th, 2021, 9:02 pm

Whats the best way to learn basic networking?
want to learn how to setup a server, set up VMs, build small home networks for data sharing across devices, configuring NAS etc. Anyone doing a lil course on this? or just keep google fired up with youtube LOL?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 30th, 2021, 9:44 pm

^Ah LAN ent too hard to set up if is home only. googz & Utube is yuh best buds.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » May 30th, 2021, 11:32 pm

Good fields - Data Science and BI - being able to develop dashboards etc , Cyber Security, Developers - being able to support complex APIs and build mobile apps and Project Managers. Azure, OCI and AWS admins.
Salary varies by industry.

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » May 31st, 2021, 6:36 am

triniboi49 wrote:Good fields - Data Science and BI - being able to develop dashboards etc , Cyber Security, Developers - being able to support complex APIs and build mobile apps and Project Managers. Azure, OCI and AWS admins.
Salary varies by industry.
These are in demand fields in US but in T&T most companies pay IT staff on the same scale whether you are in demand field or not.

abbow

Postby abbow » May 31st, 2021, 10:45 am

Yes this is possible with some more experience though. You have to be involved in projects on an international level though. Dont expect to be working local and regional projects to get that. This means the local company you working for needs to have worldwide clientele and be doing beyond excellent work.

Postby redmanjp » May 31st, 2021, 11:37 am

Anyone familiar with VMware ? I'm trying to install Server 2012 in a VM on an ESXi host but it is telling me it doesn't have any drives.

Now the VM is not a new one. It previously had a linux installation on it but I was told to install Windows over it.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 31st, 2021, 2:46 pm

redmanjp wrote:Anyone familiar with VMware ? I'm trying to install Server 2012 in a VM on an ESXi host but it is telling me it doesn't have any drives.

Now the VM is not a new one. It previously had a linux installation on it but I was told to install Windows over it.

Did you attach the vmdk to the new VM?
If you are trying to repurpose an existing VM it could be the controller driver isn't present in that version of Windows as the VM type at creation also determines the chosen controller.
Try creating a new VM configuration and disk and see if detect the disks after you select Custom Installation.

Postby redmanjp » May 31st, 2021, 3:52 pm

Yes the vmdk is attached. I feel it could be that driver u said that's missing.

If I'm creating a new VM should I just delete the current vmdk file? Would it be recreated?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 31st, 2021, 4:57 pm

right click the existing VM and say delete from disk, that would delete the VM and remove its related configuration and disk files from the datastore.
If it's old linux VM and you have no need for it just delete it like above, other than that you can just unregister the VM which leaves the VM config and vmdk on the datastore so you can reimport.

When creating the new VM ensure you use the ISO, it should be auto detected, if not manually select Server 2012 R2 to ensure the VM Hardware can work with the VM.