Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
kamakazi

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby kamakazi » June 23rd, 2015, 8:59 pm

If you changing every 5000km.... cheapest properly specced oil
Chevron Delo 400LE 15w40 @$130

If you have more money to burn and synthetic is more your flavor you can use the amsoil you were using before.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » June 23rd, 2015, 9:15 pm

2012 hilux owner's manual wrote:Diesel engine
Oil Grade: G-DLD-1, API CE, CD, CF CF-4
Viscousity: 10W30, 15W40, 20W50
An oil with a higher viscousity may be better suited if the vehicle is operated at high speeds, or under extreme load conditions.

ravist

Postby ravist » June 24th, 2015, 7:40 am

Thanks fellas for all the info and advice...

oceanhunter

Postby oceanhunter » July 21st, 2015, 1:00 pm

I'm looking for a mechanic that knows the 2kd inside out. I'm having some clutch and injector issues that's causing me some sleepless nights. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Postby Rainman » July 21st, 2015, 1:34 pm

What the amount of fluid required for an ATF drain and refill on the 3.0 hilux?

Postby Team Loco » July 21st, 2015, 2:04 pm

disappointed. all my mup to date maintenance on the d4d and now realise chassis rotted

Postby Ted_v2 » July 21st, 2015, 2:08 pm

Front below the rad?

Postby Team Loco » July 21st, 2015, 10:14 pm

Below rad yes. But around rear shock mounts its also rotted
1437531230126.jpg

Postby Ted_v2 » July 22nd, 2015, 12:54 am

Yikes. Get that sorted out and undercoated

nemram

Postby nemram » August 3rd, 2015, 9:03 am

Good morning guys...

So I decided to do a lil DIY service on my hilux... Its a 3.0 manual local 2013 model and I have two challenges :

1. I not seeing a separate reservoir for clutch fluid and my Brake pads like on 25% (low). I saw on my manual that brake fluid should be changed. Does it need to be changed? Also, my gears are now beginning to slip (gear engaged but little less power to wheels). Challenge - can low or old fluid cause gears to begin slipping?

2. I used a liqui moly diesel purge by bypassing fuel filter and placing suction and return line into a bowl with liqui moly. After 15 minutes of idling the van, I hooked up a new fuel filter and added rest of bottle to tank. Van idles smooth. Drives smooth on highway. Van did not cut off. Challenge - the van is vibrating a lot when pulling off in second and if van slows in traffic if I don't change gears lower, it vibrates again (like if low end torque less). Also, I am noticing that the van is also a little louder.

I am using original toyota filters (fuel and oil) k+n air and 15w40 amzoil full synthetic.

Any help to solving challenges?

Thanks

Postby Ted_v2 » August 3rd, 2015, 1:01 pm

Brake fluid flush and clutch is a pretty good idea. Most people don't do it but I believe it makes sense. Performance wise no improvement but it's a good service.

Change all. Just connect a hose with a bottle and break bleeder and pump till fluid colour change. Don't use any crap fluid. Like generic stuff.

Google Eric the car guy. He did a nice tutorial on the brake fluid flush.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 3rd, 2015, 6:58 pm

@nemran

Changing your brake fluid is a good idea
When changing brake pads, I usually connect a tube and bottle to the bleed valve on the caliper so that the brake fluid isn't pushed back into the reservoir under the hood. Changing removes most of the the old fluid that is contaminated with moisture and debris from the rubber seals.

Low or old fluid has nothing to do with gears slipping. What you perceive as gears slipping might be a reduction in power due to engine component wear (if the loss of "power is accompanied by a similar reduction in engine rpm)....or....a tired clutch (if RPM remains the same but the actual forward movement is less than before)
Low fluid would cause difficulty in disengaging the clutch as it defaults to engaged.

I have some theories for the second challenge but nothing proven
While diesel purge might be an excellent product....sticking two tubes into a container and running unfiltered is a bit questionable. The factory filter is designed to filter around 6 microns and the injector openings are very very small.
Could probably try some cetane boost and or some lubricity improver and see is that quiets the beast
The MAF could be contaminated by the K&N filter as issues with K&N have been mentioned before

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 3rd, 2015, 7:01 pm

Rainman wrote:What the amount of fluid required for an ATF drain and refill on the 3.0 hilux?

I drained roughly 1 gallon out of the 2.5 if that helps any.

nemram

Postby nemram » August 3rd, 2015, 7:54 pm

@kamakazi

thanks man. First problem is tired clutch as u explained. My theory is that as pads low, single reservoir would be low and thus clutch would give problems :|
Could be wrong and could just be worn clutch.

Second with regards to the filter... Maybe in retrospect I should have used the filter and just place suction into container. But I did not see any dust or even dirty fluid or so when cycled. I did add a diesel kleen in the tank (on half) and would see how it goes.

Thanks man

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 3rd, 2015, 8:12 pm

No problem. ... Hope you get through

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 1st, 2015, 9:03 pm

Recently changed the fluid in the rear diff, transfer case and gearbox of the old man's lux
Change was overdue about 30000 Kms
Still have to do the front diff; kinda of a pain as it requires an allen key socket vs the 24mm that works on all the other fill and drain bolts

Purchased one of those gallon fluid pumps from amazon and used with an amsoil gallon bottle; takes about 25 pumps to go through 1 quart of fluid.

Fluid used
Castrol 80w-90 axle Limited Slip
Castrol 85w-140 Hypoy C Gear oil
Valvoline 80w-90 High Performance gear oil

Rear Diff ~ 3 quarts
Transfer Case ~ 1 Quart
Gearbox ~ 3 quarts

Changed Fuel Filter in my lux to deal with always on fuel warning light...I am hoping that the diesel fuel conditioner will deal with stubborn deposits in the tank.
Will run Unipet's filtered kerodiesel for a while :shock:

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » September 8th, 2015, 6:14 pm

Out of interest, is anyone interested in trading a 3.0 manual Hilux (TDD) for a 3.0 auto and cash difference?? Just throwing this out there...

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » September 10th, 2015, 12:19 pm

Guys anyone knows a good installer to install an Apexi turbo timer in my 2014 3.0l closer to Diego or port of spain would be best

Paullct

Postby Paullct » September 10th, 2015, 3:01 pm

why not put the timer that fits in the OEM slot? looks much cleaner

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » September 10th, 2015, 4:27 pm

Well I already had the Apexi from before but in any case where would I get the one you speak of online or there's a dealer here

Postby equipped2ripp » September 11th, 2015, 9:15 pm

I have the OEM turbo timers, $600.00.

620-9674

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » September 11th, 2015, 10:01 pm

I'll take one on Tuesday going out of the country tonight

Paullct

Postby Paullct » September 12th, 2015, 9:29 am

i got mine from equipped2ripp. no issues here. easy to install

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » September 12th, 2015, 10:11 am

equipped2ripp wrote:I have the OEM turbo timers, $600.00.

620-9674

You do installation

Postby equipped2ripp » September 12th, 2015, 11:19 am

No I don't. But I can put you on to persons to do it, average cost is $200 to install.

stickiejuice

Postby stickiejuice » September 14th, 2015, 10:27 pm

Looking for a driver door mirror for toyota hilux... any help

Postby Team Loco » September 16th, 2015, 11:25 am

stickiejuice wrote:Looking for a driver door mirror for toyota hilux... any help

check ebay UK.

stickiejuice

Postby stickiejuice » September 16th, 2015, 12:15 pm

Looking for a front bumper for 2011 toyota hilux

Rush

Postby Rush » September 20th, 2015, 2:20 pm

Sooooo....anybody going to try to capitalise on getting one of the current Hilux models from TTTL since the new model has been released?

Figure they should be going on a special now....

kamakazi

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby kamakazi » September 21st, 2015, 12:00 am

Usually new models have teething issues. ...I would wait a bit

Still interested in seeing how those new gd engines cope with our diesel

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”