Living with Cancer... my pain, trials, and learning to cope.

Re: Living with Cancer... my pain, trials, and learning to c

Postby Morpheus » July 18th, 2015, 4:36 pm

Condolences to De Dragon and all who have lost loved ones.

I did indeed see the offensive comment and knew who he was referring to. Thought is really was in bad taste. But I knew those 2 have a history back and forth. But I didn't expect it to reach that low. I just exited...

Prayers are with you the 2nd time around V8 Boys...

Postby nervewrecker » July 18th, 2015, 5:56 pm

Condolences de dragon.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby supercharged turbo » July 18th, 2015, 6:06 pm

Condolences de dragon and other who have lost loved ones

Postby cinco » July 18th, 2015, 6:11 pm

Condolences boy dragon

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » July 18th, 2015, 7:00 pm

Sorry to hear about your mom, dragon. Condolences.
As said a love one of mine is fighting this battle.
She completed chemo and radiation treatments about a month ago (which was hell ) but her cancer markers is now going up. Several CT's and MRI are now showing other issues else where.
She is getting very frustrated with all of the needles, side effects, the commute etc.
This is also is getting to me.
It is also getting to her , at times she tells me she wants to go : since the cure seems to be more
difficult than the disease.
Good (not sure what I am saying is right) to know V8 is still with us since my loved one
at times at night in pain she says she wants to go.

konartis

Postby konartis » July 18th, 2015, 7:04 pm

Reading this I have a lump under my knee for the longest while, really hard and moves around when I tough it...need to check it out, stay strong, remember don't let ur mind get the better of u. Keep thinking positive

Postby 88sins » July 18th, 2015, 7:56 pm

Sorry for your loss Dragon. Losing a loved one is never easy. Stay strong.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » July 18th, 2015, 10:49 pm

Hello my friends, it's been awhile.

So much has happened in the last year or so...maybe I could talk a little about it, but allow me to thank those of you have continued to show interest in this thread, in me and my story.

It is very humbling to read such kind comments from people I have never met. And also to wish that those who have lost their loved ones to this enemy may find some comfort in the fact that they are no longer in pain.

I sometimes wonder why I'm still here, especially when so many much stronger, wiser and healthier than I am have gone the way of all mankind.

I have come to see how futile and fragile life can be...it doesnt have to be cancer that takes our joy away...steals our loved ones away...it could be anything. An accident, a heart attack, kidney failure or a gunshot, or two, or three or.....

But cancer does something to a person's mind, not just their body...you see as De Dragon and Anthony were saying...the fight against cancer DRAINS you not just physically but emotionally and mentally. You see those side effects from the chemo? I have heard of stories of some jumping to their deaths and overdosing on sleeping pills just to end the torture that chemo brings.

Unless you actually HAVE cancer you will never fully understand what someone who has it goes through. You could sit there with your mom for hours, tend to her all day and night, comfort her, make soup and spoon feed her, talk to her, about old times, make her smile, read comforting passages from a Holy Book until she slowly falls asleep...but you will NEVER be able to keep her from dreading the day she wont wake up to see her loved ones again.

That feeling she gets when she realizes that she is fading and losing her battle and there is nothing anyone or any drug can do to stop it...is the darkest most powerful emotion the human mind can undergo.

Cancer robs you of your dignity and your will power.

I just thought I'd share that reality with you all. Not to shock or scare you...but to allow you to have some sort of perspective....that there IS something you can do, there is hope despite how hopeless and helpless you feel.

Some handle these things differently, some blank out as much of the emotional attachment they have to someone as they can, some force themselves to believe that a cure will be found in time to save their loved ones. Some refuse to think of what their lives will be like without that person.

Some have faith in a strongly held religious belief...and then there are those that may be reading this and scoffing at what they perceive as the futility of a God.

I'll tell you guys this though: there are trees that live for thousands of years, turtles to 170, whales to 200 even a fish we all know as the Grouper and The Red Fish may live to 160....

There HAS to be more than this pain filled existence we live!

Anyhow, I am still here...

I had been feeling really weird for some months now, in Jan Feb this year I was having some really tough breathing problems..almost like someone sitting on my chest at night... Docs said it was bleomycin Toxicity...yup...an overdose of one of the chemo drugs.

The ct scan at that time showed a partially collapsed lung so I was put on steroids for a few weeks...it helped. But has been coming back recently.

So when I almost passed out driving a few weeks ago, I decided to get some tests done...and one of them made us anxious.

I am going to POS General on Monday morning to try get the other 2 test results and also the results for a ct scan i did on Tuesday this week.

I am not hoping for the best because I don't believe in fooling myself...hey...I got cancer, not a flu...hahahahaha!

Whatever the outcome I have already resolved in my mind and heart to fight like a wounded lion...I eh goin dong easy at all!

I havent been losing weight and I'm not in any real pain....as yet. So let's focus on the positives, encourage those we can, help the ones that need the help and make this thread one that helps those with cancer and those that love them!

Thank you guys!

I leave you with a likkle vid I made of a beach I grew up around...Its actually called Biscayne...it's on Monos Island where my family first settled in 1712. ENJOY!!!

Postby bluefete » July 19th, 2015, 8:02 am

Thanks pj15 for the update.

V8 continue to fight the good fight. Sometimes, we only truly question and understand the reason for our existence when we go through trials and suffering.

Postby 88sins » July 19th, 2015, 12:40 pm

V8 boy it's good to see you still around & fighting.
The only time we lose the battle is when we concede defeat. So keep fightin this condition in body, if you can't do that, fight it in mind, & if you can't manage with that, keep fight it in spirit.

Postby bluefete » July 19th, 2015, 5:24 pm

V8: Sometimes, regardless of the pain and suffering, God is giving you a chance to put things right / in place.

Many people do not get the opportunity that you have been given.

When we are caught up in the moment, we often do not see the little blessings that come our way.

Those blessing include the chance to appreciate life more fully and treasure moments with our loved ones.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » July 19th, 2015, 7:32 pm

extremely good advice 88sins and bluefete! I will take it to heart.

A good friend of mine who is also a survivor told me this: Pain lets you know that you are ALIVE!
And that all this time I've been fighting and having a hard time...that I am STILL alive and must recognize that...do stuff she said, even if you are flat in bed...cant move...grab a pencil, write, read...send emails...DO SOMETHING! She would tell me.

I'm so glad I started this thread...and that I am still alive to continue it...you guys give me really good encouragement. Thank you so much!

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » July 19th, 2015, 8:09 pm

V8 good to have you writing again on this thread.
As you said in your previous post with cancer you have a new family ie the people
you see at the chemo centre.
At times you will go and see a different person at the treatment chair only to be informed
that the previous person is not cured but has passed on ....

Postby rfari » July 19th, 2015, 8:27 pm

De Dragon wrote:Stay strong bro, your story is a great example to people who feel that they have things tough when they really have no idea. Just today my mom was diagnosed with cancer, and I'll share your story and maybe she will draw some inspiration from you.

After 2+ years of fighting the good fight against cancer, my mom passed away last Friday 10th July. Goodbye mom, surely you are in a better place and your suffering is no more. RIP Nerissa.

Condolences bai spanish

Postby bluefete » July 19th, 2015, 8:41 pm

V8: While I do not share your suffering, I also agree with you that there MUST be something more to / than this life.

I have, in the past several months, been thinking about my own mortality and you sharing you sickness has helped me put it in a greater context.

You will never truly know how many lives you have touched or what a tremendous difference you have made just by starting this thread.

But sometimes, it is not for us to know, but as your friend told you, just to do.

God Bless.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » July 20th, 2015, 5:04 pm

V8, good to know you're still around. Your condition is one you can over come. You're still fighting it, and I see you and many others to be alot stronger than me. Your story made an impact on the lives of many including mine. I reflect upon my life at times, and don't think I have the strength like you to go through that ordeal. God is great. Must have some natural cure out there. I hope you get through all this completely.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » July 21st, 2015, 7:14 am

De Dragon wrote:Stay strong bro, your story is a great example to people who feel that they have things tough when they really have no idea. Just today my mom was diagnosed with cancer, and I'll share your story and maybe she will draw some inspiration from you.

After 2+ years of fighting the good fight against cancer, my mom passed away last Friday 10th July. Goodbye mom, surely you are in a better place and your suffering is no more. RIP Nerissa.

Condolences De Dragon, all the best to you and your family.

V8 good to see you around and keeping strong, keep it up bro