The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby nervewrecker » July 3rd, 2015, 8:35 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Speak of the devil.. I just got a G3 to unlock lol. Anyone ever unlocked one?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Can you give a review if this phone?

Is it the 32gb 3gb ram version? What's the amount if ram used up on idle?

Im Seriously considering it.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 3rd, 2015, 8:37 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Speak of the devil.. I just got a G3 to unlock lol. Anyone ever unlocked one?

Can you give a review if this phone?

Is it the 32gb 3gb ram version? What's the amount if ram used up on idle?

Im Seriously considering it.

This guy told me it's a G3 he's dropping for me.. It was a G2. Wow LOL. Got it unlocked in ten mins for 13US anyway.. Not bad. Saved myself all the rooting troubles. I have used the G3 and I can't give a full review on it cause I don't have it in hand rn but from initial impressions.. I'd personally prefer a pure Google phone cause it just doesn't feel as buttery smooth. It isn't slow by any means.. But I'm a picky guy

Last edited by Jonathan_337 on July 3rd, 2015, 8:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » July 3rd, 2015, 8:42 pm

I'd really like some hands on experience with one.
I too like the raw os of the nexus but I need something with a bigger screen than my n4 and the universal remote.
Willing to risk it provided its snappy.

I like m8 but I'm not impressed by the display.

Anything else I should be looking at? Not keen on the one plus one.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 3rd, 2015, 8:48 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I'd really like some hands on experience with one.
I too like the raw os of the nexus but I need something with a bigger screen than my n4 and the universal remote.
Willing to risk it provided its snappy.

I like m8 but I'm not impressed by the display.

Anything else I should be looking at? Not keen on the one plus one.

I think I was more impressed with the performance of the m8.. I'd suggest trying to get one in ur hands and feel it for yourself then make a decision. Each of us have our little pets and peeves

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » July 3rd, 2015, 8:52 pm

Well if anyone want meh nexus 6 offer me a price and take it nah xD

Performance on point tho

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 4th, 2015, 2:45 am

If anyone buys my nexus 5 I might consider the 6 haha. What roms you nexus users using though? Tried cataclysm and chroma.. Just looking for better battery life and change.

Postby M_2NR » July 4th, 2015, 7:40 pm

Mostly stock with gravity box. Used to use paranoid and use beanstalk a lil bit.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 6th, 2015, 5:25 am

I feel like my N5 slows down after a while..Dunno if it's in my head or what. I use whatsapp a lot and sometimes it feels a bit more sluggish than usual. Doing a clean install of Cataclysm and I'd see if it makes a diff.

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2015, 5:53 am

5.1.1 lollipop?
Sure is not memory being used up?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » July 6th, 2015, 7:46 am

http://techcrunch.com/2015/07/03/is-thi ... oid-phone/
Anyone see this? Looks good for the keyboard people

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » July 6th, 2015, 9:53 pm

July 27th or 28th may be the launch date for the Oneplus Two ,which has confirmed to be under $450 , definitely selling the nexus and buying that! It already sounds like the perfect phone!

Snapdragon 810 v2.1
3gigs ram
Fingerprint sensor
Rumoured unibody design
Dual cameras

Sounds fantastic!

Postby RASC » July 7th, 2015, 6:49 am

No it doesn't.

Dual camera? We've already seen this gimmick at work-no one was impressed.

Finger print scanner? No one on android has gotten this correct EXCEPT Samsung. I wouldn't hold my breathe for one plus' ability.

Postby dougla_boy » July 7th, 2015, 8:17 am

fingerprint scanner on my 5S wasnt bad...it worked most time....and have seen the 6 as being fairly decent....

Postby stev » July 7th, 2015, 8:53 am

native fingerprint support on android M...shudnt be too bad.

...awaiting new nexus

Postby M_2NR » July 7th, 2015, 8:17 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:I feel like my N5 slows down after a while..Dunno if it's in my head or what. I use whatsapp a lot and sometimes it feels a bit more sluggish than usual. Doing a clean install of Cataclysm and I'd see if it makes a diff.

all android devices face this. Whatsapp database may be need purging. I have over 300k messages and had to delete it recently.

Postby Greypatch » July 7th, 2015, 9:32 pm

clear your cache

Postby K74T » July 10th, 2015, 10:00 pm

Anywhere in south other than Crow's Nest I can get the loudspeaker on my S3 mini checked/repaired? Dropped the phone and it stopped working.

Postby nervewrecker » July 10th, 2015, 10:23 pm

stev wrote:native fingerprint support on android M...shudnt be too bad.

...awaiting new nexus

I'm getting impatient.

Postby nervewrecker » July 16th, 2015, 5:48 pm

I operate a new blu phone today, it costs about $150usd
Damn damn damn that phone is great!!!!!

More of a phablet but jeeze and ages.
Video clean, camera clean, display clean, snappy as furk, no bloatware.
For 1gb of ram on an octacore its very very impressive.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » July 16th, 2015, 6:25 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I operate a new blu phone today, it costs about $150usd
Damn damn damn that phone is great!!!!!

More of a phablet but jeeze and ages.
Video clean, camera clean, display clean, snappy as furk, no bloatware.
For 1gb of ram on an octacore its very very impressive.

Dude those Blu phones really stepping out these days! Blu stepping up their game big time with their phones!

On top of all that they very budget friendly!

Postby stev » July 16th, 2015, 6:38 pm

Marshall’s new London smartphone:

Every Audiophile's Dream

4.7-inch, 720p display
2GB of RAM
2500 mAh (removable) battery
Snapdragon 410 processor.
Micro SD Card support

http://www.theverge.com/2015/7/16/89765 ... one-images

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » July 17th, 2015, 11:10 am

Okay so I know a lot of people here don't stand by benchmarks and all that.

But allegedly this is the benchmarks for the Nexus 5 2015!!

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Nexus-5- ... Tu_id71494

Postby ismithx » July 18th, 2015, 8:49 pm

upgraded to a galaxy A5 and liking it so far real slim and the screen real bess

Postby RASC » July 18th, 2015, 9:37 pm

What did you have before?

Postby ismithx » July 18th, 2015, 10:38 pm

xperia m2

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 19th, 2015, 1:44 pm

Nexus 5 really up for sale.. If anyone is interested PM me

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » July 19th, 2015, 11:36 pm

Anyone have experience with the lg g4 on our local networks?
I'm thinking of upgrading from my one plus for sake of the g4 camera specifically.
New samsungs are no good because if i'm upgrading, I'll want the removable battery again.

OPO is just too hit or miss for me right now....even on the same rom

Postby 16 cycles » July 20th, 2015, 9:47 am

no specs on the DAC for the Marshall phone....???

seems to be just branding...

a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) for playing 24-bit/192kHz FLAC files. Everyone else can save $30 and get a nicer paint job by sticking with the original.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2457604,00.asp
^DAC on the harmon kardon version of the HTC one (m8)

originalbling

Postby originalbling » July 22nd, 2015, 11:48 am

Fellas, a relative's samsung phone got some water in it. They said when they opened the back cover there was a little water on lower corner of back cover and a couple drops behind the battery. We left it to dry and turned it on but it only keeps showing the samsung galaxy screen and reboots.

I was able to get to the menu to do a hard reset however it still reboots continuously. The phone was an unlocked version purchased in a store in the US and now using a local sim. Do I need to download the latest firmware for the US region or can I use the TT version (from samsung-updates.com) and is it as simple as installing it via odin?

Postby dougla_boy » July 22nd, 2015, 12:14 pm

are u able to access recovery mode or anything like that?