wtk: travelling with infant via CAL

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » July 16th, 2015, 10:59 am

checked their website and called and getting different info.

i am travelling with my 1yr old child as a lap infant (no paid seat)

what luuggage am i allowed?

ALSO

no liquids allowed on plane so how am i supposed to make his bottle in waiting area (are there water dispensers just installed) . i would get hot water on airplane etc. at jfk on landing will there be hot water dispensers?

any info greatly appreciated

Re: wtk: travelling with infant via CAL

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 16th, 2015, 11:03 am

baby bottles do not count - they allow them
Luggage would be the same as if you were travelling alone AFAIK
If you have a stroller you can use it up until you board the aircraft, then you can give it to the crew and they will stow it until you land.

air wick

Postby air wick » July 16th, 2015, 11:11 am

Don't worry you are allowed a baby bag with bottles, thermos with hot water, juice, snacks etc.

As for luggage the baby is allowed one piece no more than 23kg.

A car seat and stroller

Just returned from YYZ this week with my 23month daughter.

Also once there is space on board the aircraft you will get a whole 3 row for yourself

On your way back home the stuff in the baby bag will be swab tested. That's the formula, hot water, juice etc.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by air wick on July 16th, 2015, 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » July 16th, 2015, 11:13 am

Walk with your formula and hot water will be provided on request by Air hostess

air wick

Postby air wick » July 16th, 2015, 11:16 am

shotta 20 wrote:Walk with your formula and hot water will be provided on request by Air hostess

So what will he do while waiting at the gates etc.? If the baby is hungry?

It's allowed. Walk with cotton to put in the baby ear to help with the air pressure.

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » July 16th, 2015, 11:17 am

luggage info ok. thanks
its the baby bottle that the info varies
they saying no hot water in waiting area, what am i to make tea with?
the other person saying it is allowed . so what should i do, gonna call again, best out of three responses then

air wick

Postby air wick » July 16th, 2015, 11:20 am

You are being paranoid for no reason. It's allowed! Walk with the baby stuff and don't worry!

ruffnexz

Postby ruffnexz » July 16th, 2015, 11:20 am

Travelled recently with my 1yrs via CAL, Both in Trinidad and Toronto we walked with his Thermos filled with water and was not asked to empty it, maybe it depends on the officer that deals with you.

The baby has his own luggage, carry one and personal item, carried a suitcase, baby bag and car seat for my son as his own with no issues.

jcrew

Postby jcrew » July 16th, 2015, 11:29 am

nightcrawler wrote:luggage info ok. thanks
the other person saying it is allowed . so what should i do, gonna call again, best out of three responses then

Boss you can carry the bottle with hot water and mix yuh formula. We mixed forumla and tested the hot water in the waiting area in front of the airline reps. Nobody called police or homeland security. Travelling with an infant has plenty perks also.

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » July 16th, 2015, 11:57 am

thanks alot

Postby SMc » July 16th, 2015, 12:03 pm

jcrew wrote:

Boss you can carry the bottle with hot water and mix yuh formula. We mixed forumla and tested the hot water in the waiting area in front of the airline reps. Nobody called police or homeland security. Travelling with an infant has plenty perks also.

Only for the parents, fcuk the rest of the people on the plane that hadda hear it bawl for hours on end

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 16th, 2015, 1:28 pm

SMc wrote:
jcrew wrote:

Only for the parents, fcuk the rest of the people on the plane that hadda hear it bawl for hours on end

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: ent

Postby crazybalhead » July 16th, 2015, 1:44 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
SMc wrote:
jcrew wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: ent

Hard luck beyotches. I sorry. OK not really. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby Chimera » July 16th, 2015, 1:54 pm

SMc wrote:
jcrew wrote:

benadryl drowsy in they mc

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 16th, 2015, 2:38 pm

Some parents actually do this

air wick

Postby air wick » July 16th, 2015, 6:53 pm

Postby pete » July 16th, 2015, 6:59 pm

Buy a good headphones

Postby Dizzy28 » July 17th, 2015, 11:59 am

Why do some parents let their kids run wild though?? Last month coming back on a CAL flight the wife and I were in front of a couple and their kid (looked 5-6ish). First hour everything going ok kid engrossed on a tablet, then all of sudden we found our arm rests being lifted. The kid kept reaching forward and pulling them upwards. Then he felt like he was Messi because was only kick after kick on the seat backs. Spoke to the couple and they never scolded or stopped the kid. Eventually was glad he knocked out for the final hour of the flight.

Shane18

Postby Shane18 » July 17th, 2015, 12:16 pm

If you're carrying a stroller take pics before you give it to gate check. Bought a light umbrella stroller for travel a few months ago with its own bag for gate check and both bag and stroller were damaged. Still waiting on CAL for reimbursement. Flight was YYZ-POS. On check in, car seat and one checked bag are free, no limit to weight of car seat either. (Ours is 54+ lbs with the bag)

And yes, you can walk with water, most they do is ask you to open it for inspection. We've carried water, mixed bottles, juice in sippy cups etc. I wouldn't use the plane's water for mixing unless it comes from a bottle.

Postby pete » July 18th, 2015, 7:17 am

When coming back from Miami last year with my daughter we also didn't go through the full inspection line. Scanned bags and walked through, no full body scan.