absolute vs. subjective morality

Postby desifemlove » June 22nd, 2015, 2:19 pm

another thread made me think.

i propose there is no objective morality. and that moral facts don't exist.

but these are some base definitions:

- Objective - independent of human opinion or feeling

- absolute - applying in all places and areas

- subjective - subject to individual thought/feeling

- morality - rules/guidelines about right and wrong in human behaviour

So as there is no evidence that morals are absolute in this definition, then how can morality not be subjective?

Other points are that morals are man-made, and anything man-made has to come from our own experiences, thoughts and needs.

And if humanity ever meets aliens, their morals would be completely different to ours, beause they evolved with different needs.

So, can anybody demonstrate how morality is objective? if anybody saying the Bible or Koran or Gita, no. I won't agree. Cos there's no proof that God wrote these books, or primarily inspired them.

Re: absolute vs. subjective morality

Postby desifemlove » June 22nd, 2015, 2:20 pm

and if anybody saying i support slavery or genocide or murder/rape, no i won't ever do that. I simply believe there's nothing in nature to say these are absolutely wrong.

Postby zoom rader » June 22nd, 2015, 2:35 pm

So what you think about the general Lee

Advent

Postby Advent » June 22nd, 2015, 2:38 pm

Morality is man made, in essence we evolved to have morality because it was beneficial to our species, nature well nature is just "indifferent"

Postby desifemlove » June 22nd, 2015, 3:13 pm

zoom rader wrote:So what you think about the general Lee

not above. I mentioned slavery. Doesn't mean I cannot call it out as wicked/savage, ent? General Lee was operating the era/values of his time, nd his Union enemies were no better.

Postby crazybalhead » June 22nd, 2015, 3:19 pm

Absolute morality is the stuff of two year olds. But more interestingly, I find that pricesmart member's select underwear have a better resilience that big name brands like hanes and fruit of the loom. After a hard day work, they retain their shape better and keep the family jewels in place. The latter mentioned brands get very stretched out and soggy and lose their shape.

Postby crazybalhead » June 22nd, 2015, 3:25 pm

Sports and tight jeans can't work with free floating morals ruffneck.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 22nd, 2015, 3:32 pm

I hate having to adjust my morals with tight trousers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2015, 3:55 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Absolute morality is the stuff of two year olds.
this

Postby K74T » June 22nd, 2015, 5:17 pm

This one time, in morality camp...

Daran

Postby Daran » June 22nd, 2015, 5:41 pm

bible morals is bess morals

Postby 88sins » June 23rd, 2015, 5:41 am

desifemlove wrote:and if anybody saying i support slavery or genocide or murder/rape, no i won't ever do that. I simply believe there's nothing in nature to say these are absolutely wrong.

good to know
so if someone makes arrangements to enslave you & beat you, then reverse your stool flow violently, vigorously & often, wipe out your genetic lineage & then end your existence, there should be zero complaints from you

Daran

Postby Daran » June 23rd, 2015, 6:00 am

desifemlove wrote:and if anybody saying i support slavery or genocide or murder/rape, no i won't ever do that. I simply believe there's nothing in nature to say these are absolutely wrong.

good to know
so if someone makes arrangements to enslave you & beat you, then reverse your stool flow violently, vigorously & often, wipe out your genetic lineage & then end your existence, there should be zero complaints from you

Dude it was a different time, back then people were honored to be slaves and torture was just a sacrifice that made them stronger.

Postby 88sins » June 23rd, 2015, 9:23 am

Daran wrote:Dude it was a different time, back then people were honored to be slaves

Long ago, some persons considered it an honor to be in servitude to a master, but often those were by choice for whatever reason, most frequently as a means of showing gratitude or settling a debt. Some persons even offered their offspring to this effect, & often their children would accept their fate, though many would attempt to escape eventually or sometimes their masters would be release them from the bonds their parents placed them in.
I have never read in any text anywhere by any scholar where persons considered it an honor to be enslaved.

Daran wrote:torture was just a sacrifice that made them stronger.

This is true even up to today. The old adage 'what doesn't kill you' applies here

Daran

Postby Daran » June 23rd, 2015, 10:22 am

oh my, sarcasm fail on my part....

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » June 23rd, 2015, 1:39 pm

What is the purpose of being moral if morality is subjective?

Postby desifemlove » June 23rd, 2015, 1:43 pm

good to know

is this a law of the universe? this is all i saying... we can say it's wrong, but it is truly absolutely wrong?

MD Marketers
Location: 391-4558 tntresearchers@hotmail.com www.trinidadforsale.com

Postby MD Marketers » June 23rd, 2015, 7:51 pm

The only absolute right thing is Good Will.
The only absolute wrong thing is Bad Will.
Everything else is subjective morality. Can change sides based on perspective.

I'm willing to bet anyone here. Place your wager.
No one can show me a single example of:
A right "bad will"
or
A wrong "good will"
Last edited by MD Marketers on June 24th, 2015, 7:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » June 23rd, 2015, 8:32 pm

LOL. 8:15 pm someone answered the challenge and deleted it. I barely read it and left the page. Anyone know who it was?

To answer if the act of slavery is right or wrong.
The answer is neither.
Slavery is a system. Therefore there is no such thing as "an act of slavery"

Slavery:
The practice or system of owning slaves
Slave:
A person who is legal property of another & is forced to obey them.

The enforcement of slavery is an act. To find the answer we must ask the right question.

Question:
Is the enforcement of slavery right or wrong?

Answer:
That depends on what you think right & wrong is.
If wrong is simply anything that is bad for you then that would mean to the slave owners slavery is right, whilst to the slaves it is wrong. Therefore subjectively we cannot know.
What is your definition of right & wrong?
I have one that works but it makes subjectivity omniscient, thereby limiting reality to make morality objective. In a way it's like cheating the answer, so I won't bother posting it here.
Would like to see what others come up with though.
Maybe someone might be smart enough to find a good definition that will work no matter how we look t it.

Postby desifemlove » June 24th, 2015, 8:06 am

it simple.

how do we know that anything is absolute? measurement. Morals cannot be measured, they're not physical but abstract. Any morality is a product of thought/feeling, little else.

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » June 24th, 2015, 8:30 am

desifemlove wrote:it simple.

how do we know that anything is absolute? measurement. Morals cannot be measured, they're not physical but abstract. Any morality is a product of thought/feeling, little else.

Absolute isn't defined by measurement. It is incapable of being measured. It is the extreme opposite of indefinite.
We know it is absolute when we cannot find any theoretical argument against it. No hypothetical situation can be fathomed whereby we can prove our understanding of something to be wrong.

Your claim that absolute is about finite measurement is like saying infinity is measurable.

absolute/ˈabsəluːt/

adjective
1.not qualified or diminished in any way; total.
2.viewed or existing independently and not in relation to other things; not relative or comparative.
3.(of a construction) syntactically independent of the rest of the sentence, as in dinner being over, we left the table.

noun
a value or principle which is regarded as universally valid or which may be viewed without relation to other things.

Advent

Postby Advent » June 24th, 2015, 9:04 am

MD Marketers wrote:The only absolute right thing is Good Will.

A right "bad will"
or
A wrong "good will"

How do you define "Good" or "bad" will ?

Postby desifemlove » June 24th, 2015, 9:16 am

which is why morals cannot be absolute, since we don't know what is absolute.

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » June 24th, 2015, 10:10 am

Advent wrote:

A right "bad will"
or
A wrong "good will"

Good Will is an intention to do Good
Bad Will is an intention to do Bad

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » June 24th, 2015, 11:20 am

What is good and bad though? What defines it?

Postby Monk BANzai » June 24th, 2015, 12:28 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Absolute morality is the stuff of two year olds. But more interestingly, I find that pricesmart member's select underwear have a better resilience that big name brands like hanes and fruit of the loom. After a hard day work, they retain their shape better and keep the family jewels in place. The latter mentioned brands get very stretched out and soggy and lose their shape.

this i think is the main issue CBH ....I think when Millennial women think of Hanes, they often think of the brand's comfy fuller-coverage styles. So when Hanes launched a new line of stylish, colorful underwear for young women, it was desigened to bring them out of the comfort conversation and into the fashion conversation.

Local newsfeed Late 'O Clock news discovered that Millennial women are more than willing to share it all on social media - including their underwear color, which they see as a direct reflection of their mood and personality. Put simply: the color women choose to wear underneath it all says something about them, and they want the world to hear it.

Thing is CBH, Since style (like Morality) is subjective, there is much more than meets the eye – the colors and patterns young women choose to wear underneath their clothes bear meaning – women are more apt to share their “Undercover Color” with the world.

women are encouraged to go online and select their current underwear hue on an interactive color wheel and tweet it out to the world using the hashtag #undercovercolor. Media buys across leading women’s sites placed Hanes in the middle of the style conversation, and paid and earned social media content generated even more shares. The effort even included a digital billboard in Times Square that streamed #undercovercolor mentions ticker-tape style and broadcast which colors were trending at that very moment. Jack Warner's Sunshine was no different: ads placed on the back page of thier newspaper using Hanes brand underwear gave the paper a boost, as opposed, to say, Wonderful World Chinese Brand.

The REsults? Simple CBH. “Undercover Color” propelled Hanes’ women’s line into the fashion space, as the brand’s fresh new styles splashed across the pages of top fashion publications like WWD, Glamour and People StyleWatch. With millions of earned media impressions, the campaign effectively shifted Millennial perception of Hanes. The brand saw a significant lift in Millennial women who said Hanes is “modern & current” as well as competitor shoppers who said Hanes was “a brand for them”

Advent

Postby Advent » June 24th, 2015, 12:58 pm

MD Marketers wrote:
Advent wrote:

A right "bad will"
or
A wrong "good will"

Good Will is an intention to do Good
Bad Will is an intention to do Bad

Please see below quote
Altec55 wrote:What is good and bad though? What defines it?

Define Good and bad please!!

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » June 24th, 2015, 1:08 pm

desifemlove wrote:which is why morals cannot be absolute, since we don't know what is absolute.

We know the meaning of absolute.
Unless you have some issues with the English dictionary. Why would you say such a thing?

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » June 24th, 2015, 4:30 pm

Good:
1.to be desired or approved of.
2.possessing or displaying moral virtue.
3.giving pleasure; enjoyable or satisfying.
Noun
1.that which is morally right; righteousness.
2.benefit or advantage to someone or something.

Bad:
1.of poor quality or a low standard.
2.not such as to be hoped for or desired; unpleasant or unwelcome.
3.lacking or failing to conform to moral virtue..
4.worthless; not valid.

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » June 24th, 2015, 5:12 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Absolute morality is the stuff of two year olds. But more interestingly, I find that pricesmart member's select underwear have a better resilience that big name brands like hanes and fruit of the loom. After a hard day work, they retain their shape better and keep the family jewels in place. The latter mentioned brands get very stretched out and soggy and lose their shape.

this i think is the main issue CBH ....I think when Millennial women think of Hanes, they often think of the brand's comfy fuller-coverage styles. So when Hanes launched a new line of stylish, colorful underwear for young women, it was desigened to bring them out of the comfort conversation and into the fashion conversation.

Local newsfeed Late 'O Clock news discovered that Millennial women are more than willing to share it all on social media - including their underwear color, which they see as a direct reflection of their mood and personality. Put simply: the color women choose to wear underneath it all says something about them, and they want the world to hear it.

Thing is CBH, Since style (like Morality) is subjective, there is much more than meets the eye – the colors and patterns young women choose to wear underneath their clothes bear meaning – women are more apt to share their “Undercover Color” with the world.

women are encouraged to go online and select their current underwear hue on an interactive color wheel and tweet it out to the world using the hashtag #undercovercolor. Media buys across leading women’s sites placed Hanes in the middle of the style conversation, and paid and earned social media content generated even more shares. The effort even included a digital billboard in Times Square that streamed #undercovercolor mentions ticker-tape style and broadcast which colors were trending at that very moment. Jack Warner's Sunshine was no different: ads placed on the back page of thier newspaper using Hanes brand underwear gave the paper a boost, as opposed, to say, Wonderful World Chinese Brand.

The REsults? Simple CBH. “Undercover Color” propelled Hanes’ women’s line into the fashion space, as the brand’s fresh new styles splashed across the pages of top fashion publications like WWD, Glamour and People StyleWatch. With millions of earned media impressions, the campaign effectively shifted Millennial perception of Hanes. The brand saw a significant lift in Millennial women who said Hanes is “modern & current” as well as competitor shoppers who said Hanes was “a brand for them”

Can this information benefit Men in any way?
Last edited by MD Marketers on June 24th, 2015, 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.