FIFA Officials Arrested on Corruption Charges

Re: FIFA Officials Arrested on Corruption Charges

Postby dougla_boy » June 10th, 2015, 9:27 am

lol whut? allyuh have a problem with him buying air time? but no problem with JW buying airtime to bash who ever (Cant remember right now, but i sure somebody would remember) or no problem wit us putting him as MP and Minster of National Security and Acting PM amidst the allegations?

Postby zoom rader » June 10th, 2015, 9:29 am

R!CH!E wrote:Don't you all feel disgusted, slighted and downright abused???

This John Oliver person, came on our local station and attacked our vernacular, our intelligence, our hearing and our free will.

Well I do, I am a trini, I have no problem with him "witch-hunting" Jack, but I have a problem when he thinks we can only understand "trini slangs" shouted at us.

Lastly, thank you TV6 for allowing him to rape our eyes and ears! We know that the owners of this TV6/CCN was part of Jack's money laundering and hope they get arrested.

Thats some heavy comments you laid down. Are you say a PNM media house is invloved in moneylaundering.

Lance

Postby Lance » June 10th, 2015, 9:32 am

This John Oliver person, came on our local station and attacked our vernacular, our intelligence, our hearing and our free will.

Well I do, I am a trini, I have no problem with him "witch-hunting" Jack, but I have a problem when he thinks we can only understand "trini slangs" shouted at us.

Lastly, thank you TV6 for allowing him to rape our eyes and ears! We know that the owners of this TV6/CCN was part of Jack's money laundering and hope they get arrested.

What an egg.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 10th, 2015, 9:35 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:For men wanting to hide bribe money.....they really wasn't too smart about it eh.....just doing wire transfer to personal accounts normal normal.

They not as sophisticated as the Ministers and local contractors who using casinos in Las Vegas to do the dirty work of getting money moved about in the USA.

Postby noshownogo » June 10th, 2015, 10:00 am

No, no I don't.

R!CH!E wrote:This John Oliver person, came on our local station and attacked our vernacular, our intelligence, our hearing and our free will.

And the politicians inclusive of Jack don't do this? Carry on...

R!CH!E wrote:Well I do, I am a trini, I have no problem with him "witch-hunting" Jack, but I have a problem when he thinks we can only understand "trini slangs" shouted at us.

Good grief, get over yourself already

R!CH!E wrote:Lastly, thank you TV6 for allowing him to rape our eyes and ears! We know that the owners of this TV6/CCN was part of Jack's money laundering and hope they get arrested.

...and Tobago :arrow:

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 10th, 2015, 10:12 am

lolwut

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 10th, 2015, 10:42 am

Dizzy28 wrote:People real thinned skin if they felt that John Oliver clip was insulting to the country. Glad you all are not Americans and see what Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert use to say about America every night of the week.

Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert are both Americans tho... This makes your comparison invalid. Please try another

Postby Dizzy28 » June 10th, 2015, 10:49 am

uncle sam wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:People real thinned skin if they felt that John Oliver clip was insulting to the country. Glad you all are not Americans and see what Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert use to say about America every night of the week.

Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert are both Americans tho... This makes your comparison invalid. Please try another

Well look at John Oliver then. He is equaling condescending to America on Last Week Tonight.
The replacement for Jon Stewart is a South African, I'm sure it will be no holds barred then too.

And if you all believe John Oliver is the one who is bringing shame on the country then clearly you all living not living in reality.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 10th, 2015, 10:54 am

Oliver's take was not on Trinidad, it was a jab at Jack. The man is a comic its his job.

I think the politicians of Trinidad..........and Tobago do a better job of embarrassing us.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 10th, 2015, 11:06 am

uncle sam wrote:

Well look at John Oliver then. He is equaling condescending to America on Last Week Tonight.
The replacement for Jon Stewart is a South African, I'm sure it will be no holds barred then too.

And if you all believe John Oliver is the one who is bringing shame on the country then clearly you all living not living in reality.

I'll take that... I am usually as cool as a cucumber and I don't mind a good laugh. I don't need gripe-water for any hurt but the clip was very stale. 2nd He didn't have to be condescending and obnoxious to be funny that is the lowest level of comedy I think but I am no comedy-evaluating expert (yes I could have used the word critic)...anyway let me get back to pricing bodi

Postby dougla_boy » June 10th, 2015, 12:01 pm

well link a bess price nah....

Postby pete » June 10th, 2015, 12:31 pm

John Oliver critiques everything that is SO SO WRONG in the USA.

The show which for mother's day which showed how horribly America treats new mothers was really eye opening to me.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » June 10th, 2015, 12:39 pm

BRZ wrote:Trinidadians should stand up and DEMAND that JW be sent to face the charges against him!
STOP being a COWARD and face up to the alleged charges if youre so innocent.

STFU uncle tom

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 10th, 2015, 12:49 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
BRZ wrote:Trinidadians should stand up and DEMAND that JW be sent to face the charges against him!

STFU uncle tom

whistles "life without music.."

"Some a dem call him Uncle Sam
Some a dem call him Uncle Tom
Uncle Sam and Uncle Tom
Yes they are the same man"

HEY!!! :evil:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 10th, 2015, 12:53 pm

uncle sam wrote:He didn't have to be condescending and obnoxious to be funny
you might like this article then

http://lateoclocknews.com/white-british ... nostalgic/

A wave of nostalgia washed over Trinidad and Tobago tonight after the host of HBO’s Last Week Tonight, John Oliver, bought five minutes of airtime on TV6 and proceeded to mock the nation with his use of Trinibagonian slang. In awe of the white British man’s theatrical ability and wisdom, Trinis remembered a time when white British men like John Oliver owned slaves who looked just like them, and they long for the return of those happier times.

“Boy, I study history in school,” said Igno Remus of Arima, “and I always wished I lived in a time when white British men told us how to live our lives and made fun of our culture. Slaves seemed so happy to not have to think for themselves when decisions were made on their behalf. It not like now where we have to plan for the future and hold leaders accountable. It was easy back then.”

“If I was a slave, I wish I had a master like John Oliver,” said Eedie Otte of Diego Martin. “He would have had me laughing while he was whipping my wife in front me and her children.”

The smaller half of the nation, Tobago, however, was not pleased by Oliver’s near forgetting of their existence. One Tobago man said, “the British have always treated Tobago like a second class nation so I did not expect much more from this Oliver man.”

it's satire though.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 10th, 2015, 12:54 pm

Why u hadda tell him is satire.

Postby Country_Bookie » June 10th, 2015, 1:48 pm

I don't see how John Oliver attacked or made fun of our country last night. He was attacking Jack alone. Those trini slangs were not necessary, but maybe he thought it would help him connect with the broader Trini audience, who may not be familiar with his work on Daily Show & Last Week Tonight.

Postby S_2NR » June 10th, 2015, 2:19 pm

That whole thing was just unnecessary. Tv6 should have just showed Mike and Molly on time instead

Postby pete » June 10th, 2015, 2:54 pm

Jack Warner's address to the nation was unnecessary. That was the point of John Oliver's segment, to make fun of Warner's.

Postby sMASH » June 10th, 2015, 3:34 pm

pete wrote:Jack Warner's address to the nation was unnecessary. That was the point of John Oliver's segment, to make fun of Warner's.

Ent!

Just flies over their heads, doesn't it.

Postby Redman » June 10th, 2015, 3:51 pm

I though it was funny...

The 2 earlier pieces on FIFA were hilarious.

Jon Oliver musbe a PNM

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2015, 5:26 pm

I don't think satire is in the nelson west indian reader

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 10th, 2015, 5:58 pm

S_2NR wrote:That whole thing was just unnecessary.
the irony

Postby Slartibartfast » June 10th, 2015, 6:13 pm

uncle sam wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:

STFU uncle tom

Uncle Sam and Uncle Tom

The name of the song is Roller Skates by Steel Pulse

S-A-M
Stealer ah Music
T-O-M
Tiefah O Music

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 10th, 2015, 6:41 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
uncle sam wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:

STFU uncle tom

Uncle Sam and Uncle Tom

The name of the song is Roller Skates by Steel Pulse

S-A-M
Stealer ah Music
T-O-M
Tiefah O Music

k captain obvious

Postby shogun » June 10th, 2015, 7:11 pm

I'd have no problem being condescending to the UK if they were to make a figure like Jack Warner (Someone with years of allegations and notoriety) a member of parliament, acting PM and given portfolios to oversee public funds. We deserved it, because we should know better. Jack can fund any political entity he wishes, but being brought into the political fold was crossing the line for me personally.

Postby S_2NR » June 10th, 2015, 9:25 pm

pete wrote:Jack Warner's address to the nation was unnecessary. That was the point of John Oliver's segment, to make fun of Warner's.

Anybody have a link to this?

I just don't think a foreign comedian should get prime time airtime for shits and giggles. He's just as bad as Jack Warner. He just wants ratings, Jack wants to inflate his ego.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 10th, 2015, 9:43 pm

You can't blame jack or John for using the readily available system. Basically if anyone has enough money they can buy airtime to say the most ridiculous thing. Swear y'all keep shooting the messengers in damn near everything while missing the message.

Postby Redman » June 10th, 2015, 9:49 pm

S_2NR wrote:

Anybody have a link to this?

I just don't think a foreign comedian should get prime time airtime for shits and giggles. He's just as bad as Jack Warner. He just wants ratings, Jack wants to inflate his ego.

Tell us who is allowed air time...and for what?

but locals allowed to buy time and fill people head with chit?

It was 5 minutes.

Kamla say Jack will raise the international profile by being in Govt.

Well consider it raised.

Postby S_2NR » June 10th, 2015, 9:55 pm

Lol dude. I don't even watch local TV. I'm not arguing with you all. You are all right. But this is Trinidad. We as a people do not take anything seriously (at least for not more than 2 wks)