FIFA Officials Arrested on Corruption Charges

Re: FIFA Officials Arrested on Corruption Charges

Postby bluefete » June 2nd, 2015, 1:34 pm

Hubris strikes again!!!

Uncle Sam must have given him some 'good' news.
Last edited by bluefete on June 2nd, 2015, 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

daas

Postby daas » June 2nd, 2015, 1:36 pm

@ben_rumsby
Blatter to Swiss TV on Friday: "Why would I step down? That would mean I recognise that I did wrong."

Postby bluefete » June 2nd, 2015, 1:43 pm

Postby bluefete » June 2nd, 2015, 1:45 pm

The FIFA statement follows a New York Times report that American law enforcement officials believe Valcke transferred the money in 2008 to accounts controlled by Warner.

Postby rfari » June 2nd, 2015, 1:47 pm

Ways. Check how the UNC govt become an integral part of Fifa nuh?

Postby bluefete » June 2nd, 2015, 1:51 pm

rfari wrote:Ways. Check how the UNC govt become an integral part of Fifa nuh?

Wah you talking 'bout boy??

Tantie Kams say de PP is not part of FIFA!

daas

Postby daas » June 2nd, 2015, 1:53 pm

Elections are expected to take place sometime between December and March.

“I will continue to exercise my function (until the new election),” Blatter said.

ffs

Postby bluefete » June 2nd, 2015, 1:59 pm

Allyuh go believe this one right? It's not from the daily Mail!

Bribery Inquiry Drawing Closer to FIFA’s President, Sepp Blatter

By WILLIAM K. RASHBAUM and MATT APUZZOJUNE 1, 2015

Federal authorities believe that Sepp Blatter’s top lieutenant at FIFA made $10 million in bank transactions that are central elements of the bribery scandal engulfing international soccer, United States officials and others briefed on the case said Monday. The revelation puts the money trail closer to Mr. Blatter, FIFA’s president, than had been previously known.

Jérôme Valcke, the soccer organization’s secretary general, is the unidentified “high-ranking FIFA official” who prosecutors say transferred $10 million in 2008 from FIFA to accounts controlled by another soccer official, Jack Warner, the officials said. The payment is a key piece of last week’s indictment accusing Mr. Warner of taking a bribe in exchange for helping South Africa secure the right to host the 2010 World Cup.

The indictment does not say that the high-ranking official knew that the money was being used as a bribe, and unlike many other FIFA officials and marketing executives, Mr. Valcke is not identified as a co-conspirator in the document. Danny Jordaan, the chief executive of South Africa’s World Cup bid and the current president of its soccer federation, has said the money was not a bribe but a legitimate payment into a soccer development fund in the Caribbean.

Mr. Valcke, who said in a brief email that he had not authorized the payment and did not have the power to do so, has not been charged or accused of wrongdoing.

Mr. Valcke and Mr. Blatter are the two top officials in FIFA, an organization that has more than $1 billion in the bank and generates billions more each year. Mr. Valcke’s involvement is sure to raise more questions about what Mr. Blatter knew about the money transfer. The officials and others who identified Mr. Valcke spoke on condition of anonymity because they were not authorized to discuss the investigation.

Mr. Valcke’s statement that he did not authorize the wire transfer does not directly address whether he was involved. The indictment says the unidentified official “caused” the payments to be made. And a spokeswoman for FIFA, Delia Fischer, said the chairman of the finance committee at the time, Julio Grondona, authorized the payment. Mr. Grondona died last year. Ms. Fischer said the payment was “executed in accordance with the Organization Regulations.”

Those regulations say the secretary general is responsible for maintaining the organization’s accounts and has the authority to make transactions.

Federal prosecutors in Brooklyn brought charges last week against 14 soccer officials and marketing executives accused of corrupting FIFA, the governing body of international soccer. United States authorities have said more charges are expected and have promised to rid the organization of corruption.

The $10 million payment, made in three wire transfers in January and March 2008, is described in the indictment in paragraph No. 192 and has prompted questions about which top FIFA executive was responsible. “Definitely that is not me,” Mr. Blatter said last week after he was re-elected as FIFA’s president and reporters asked if he was the unidentified official. “I have no $10 million.”

The charges, which were unsealed last Wednesday morning in United States District Court in Brooklyn, coupled with the arrests at dawn of several high-ranking FIFA officials at a luxury hotel in Zurich, were stunning even by the standards of international soccer, which has been dogged by allegations of corruption for years. Swiss authorities also raided FIFA’s headquarters as part of a separate investigation into how FIFA chose the host countries for the 2018 and 2022 World Cups.

Mr. Valcke, of France, has previously been involved in financial controversy. He joined FIFA in 2003 as its marketing director but was fired in December 2006 after a New York judge ruled that he and others lied repeatedly in negotiations with MasterCard and Visa over a sponsorship deal.

“The fact cannot be overlooked that FIFA’s negotiations breached its business principles,” FIFA said in its news release at the time. “FIFA cannot possibly accept such conduct among its own employees.”

"the money was not a bribe but a legitimate payment into a soccer development fund in the Caribbean"Oh, so it was just like our 501(c)(4)...

So why do we care if the organization takes payment in order to put the cup in a particular place? Don't many events go to the highest...
douglas_roy_adams 1 hour ago

Keeping things in perspective; 10 mil? Medicine in America hides that much med-Mal every -- too often; with many willing on-US-soil...

See All Comments Write a comment

A federal appeals court threw out the ruling in May 2007. The next month, days after FIFA reached a settlement with MasterCard, Mr. Blatter chose Mr. Valcke to be secretary general, the organization’s No. 2 post. Mr. Valcke was never charged with a crime in that case.
FIFA Investigation By Caitlin Prentke and Emily B. Hager 2:24

As Mr. Blatter emerges from a week of scandal with a fifth term as the head of soccer’s world governing body, a look back at his troubled tenure. By Caitlin Prentke and Emily B. Hager on Publish Date May 28, 2015. Photo by Arnd Wiegmann/Reuters.

In an interview with the Sunday Independent, a South African newspaper, Mr. Jordaan said the timing of the payment proved that it could not have been a bribe. “How could we have paid a bribe for votes four years after we had won the bid?” he said.

American prosecutors, however, say the bribery scheme played out over several years. In 2004, as FIFA’s executive committee considered where to host the 2010 World Cup, South Africa’s government agreed to pay Mr. Warner and others $10 million in exchange for their votes, according to the indictment.

Mr. Warner voted for South Africa, but in the months and years after the vote, South Africa was unable to pay. So rather than take a payment directly from South Africa, the indictment says, FIFA itself paid Mr. Warner in 2008, using money that would otherwise have gone to South Africa to support the World Cup.

In effect, the indictment says the bribe was paid on the back end so South Africa received $10 million less from FIFA than it otherwise would have.

Mr. Jordaan said the money was sent to the accounts of Concacaf, a FIFA entity that oversees soccer in North and Central America, as part of South Africa’s effort to support soccer there. Mr. Warner was Concacaf’s president at the time and controlled the accounts. Prosecutors say he took much of the $10 million for his personal use. Mr. Warner has maintained his innocence and said the United States brought the charges because it lost the bidding to host the 2022 World Cup.

FIFA announced Monday that, “due to the current situation,” Mr. Valcke would not attend the opening of the Women’s World Cup in Canada next week. “It is important that he attends to matters at FIFA’s headquarters in Zurich,” the organization said in a news release.

Correction: June 1, 2015
An earlier version of a headline with this article misstated the given name of FIFA’s president. He is Sepp Blatter, not Seth.

Sam Borden contributed reporting.

A version of this article appears in print on June 2, 2015, on page A1 of the New York edition with the headline: Bribery Inquiry Drawing Closer to FIFA’s Chief. Order Reprints| Today's Paper|Subscribe

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/06/02/sport ... .html?_r=0

Postby rfari » June 2nd, 2015, 2:01 pm

bluefete wrote:

She could say wha she want. Fifa have shares in the UNC and its govt now

Postby bluefete » June 2nd, 2015, 2:03 pm

rfari wrote:
bluefete wrote:

She could say wha she want. Fifa have shares in the UNC and its govt now

:D :D :D

That NYTimes article though ...

BRZ

Postby BRZ » June 2nd, 2015, 2:18 pm

pics now surfacing on Fb of cheque for One melleon dollarz from Jw to an advertising company for supposed funding of a partys campaign - look ting!

daas

Postby daas » June 2nd, 2015, 3:03 pm

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 2nd, 2015, 3:50 pm

Postby RASC » June 2nd, 2015, 4:04 pm

1433275441954.jpg
1433275441954.jpg (38.81 KiB) Viewed 2807 times

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 2nd, 2015, 4:07 pm

any better quality Renee? cant read shiet there.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 2nd, 2015, 4:28 pm

RASC wrote:
1433275441954.jpg

I don't think this could affect the PP, all they have to say is thats Jack Warner's doing. The real issue is Republic bank, since in effect they are the laundry.

As far as the PP is concerned or any business for that matter, it was paid by a cheque from a REPUTABLE bank, which has the responsibility of ensuring transparency.

Saying the UNC has FIFA money is a blanket statement but when looking closely Jack Warner actually paid Ross Advertising with clean money. No court can really tie the UNC or PP to FIFA, what they can do is tie Jack Warner to FIFA

A simple example is I sell cocaine, and I managed to get my money into RBL, then I came with a cheque and bought the car you have for sale. Are you laundering??

Postby RASC » June 2nd, 2015, 4:35 pm

No one is arguing the LEGAL issues here... We all know, in a court of law, these cheques do not stand up-and that kamala is legally correct *jack warner never give me no money*

WE ALL KNOW THIS

However in the court of law of the STREETS, on the GROUND, in the HOUSE of the common man on the street-the court of the people, the UNC took money from Jack Warner , which in turn was laundered money from FIFA corruption!

...and THAT Ladies and Gentlemen is the ONLY court that matters in this case, because it is the PEOPLE who decide on election day who is guilty and who is innocent!!

De Jure vs De Facto

Kamala could and would win the De Jure argument in the eyes of our judicial system any day anytime...but it matters not-because the all the electorate saying is: *SHE TAKE DE MORNEY NOW SHE TURNING SHE BACK ON DE MAN-SHE TOO LIE*

politics 101: Jack still schooling you drunkards.
Last edited by RASC on June 2nd, 2015, 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shogun » June 2nd, 2015, 4:37 pm

Hyperion wrote:
Mr Midas wrote:Blatter resigns as FIFA president

Sepp Blatter says he will resign as president of football's governing body Fifa amid a corruption scandal.

In announcing his exit, the 79-year-old has called an extraordinary Fifa congress "as soon as possible" to elect a new president.

Blatter was re-elected last week, despite seven top Fifa officials being arrested two days before the vote as part of a US prosecution.

But he said: "My mandate does not appear to be supported by everybody."

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/32982449

Blater had real belly to even seek re-election when his entire exec was accused of corruption. It looks like someone turned the screws in him.

No way you could be in that position and not be complicit. The other shoe dropped when it looked like things were going to go back to the status quo.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 2nd, 2015, 4:45 pm

RASC wrote:No one is arguing the LEGAL issues here... We all know, in a court of law, these cheques do not stand up-and that kamala is legally correct *jack warner never give me no money*

WE ALL KNOW THIS

However in the court of law of the STREETS, on the GROUND, in the HOUSE of the common man on the street-the court of the people, the UNC took money from Jack Warner , which in turn was laundered money from FIFA corruption!

If you want to look at it like that, the following will have to go too PNM, NAR etc.

What is more sickening is that they turned this into a silly political issue and missing they whole real issue of how come the banks wasn't able to stop the money from being washed

Just like you all call zoom, UML and whoever sheep

Just like that you all are PNM sheep and so the cycle goes

And give it a week and the Express and Guardian will have a big investigative piece trying to tie FIFA to UNC
and the good ole executives of RBL et al. whistling to work normal after being part of a major international money laundering scheme

Life in Trini....so nice

Postby RASC » June 2nd, 2015, 4:56 pm

Brudda Brudda Brudda... You wanna talk about PNM, NAR...Sheep who supporting who... Create your own thread.

Am I right or am I wrong?

...the electorate is not sitting with in their golden thrones, their convent accents and their year 3 law text books in front of them... The electorate thinks one thing:

SHE TOOK THE MONEY AND JACK POST THE TRUTH. SHE LIE.

THE END

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 2nd, 2015, 5:14 pm

RASC wrote:Brudda Brudda Brudda... You wanna talk about PNM, NAR...Sheep who supporting who... Create your own thread.

Am I right or am I wrong?

...the electorate is not sitting with in their golden thrones, their convent accents and their year 3 law text books in front of them... The electorate thinks one thing:

SHE TOOK THE MONEY AND JACK POST THE TRUTH. SHE LIE.

THE END

^^^^^ Reason 1 why we will never moved forward

And you are wrong, what you post is Jack paying Ross, suppose he just decided to do that on his own, cause he wanted to desperately win election.

None of the cheques was made to a UNC account.

The party just move like if jack was in the friend zone, he paid, cool scene.

Postby RASC » June 2nd, 2015, 5:40 pm

OK sure, you go ahead living your life in Black and White-By the Book and to the letter of the law...

Forget all about HUMAN NATURE ,Socio-Political Warfare and Understanding the areas of Grey/Subtext/Innuendo... I also suggest not to get into Poker-too risky for a person like you. Stick to the facts, the texts and what is written in stone.

Postby rfari » June 2nd, 2015, 5:42 pm

All a sudden pp sheep eat bulb and bright like sheit

Postby eliteauto » June 2nd, 2015, 5:52 pm

src1983 logically you're correct, however this election campaign just like the last will lean heavily on public opinion, the UNC/PP has and continues to use this tactic, Jack Warner was one of the main tacticians and strategists for the UNC/PP, remember the Manning-Mugabe parallel? Remember the many UNC media plants and UNC plants in the security services who fed information and printed exposés? What would you realistically expect JW to do with his back against the wall? JW knows the electorate as well as he knows politics, he swam with sharks so he knows what's bait, with a Gov't already tainted in the national discourse with allegations of corruption, he can do damage and create doubts with his revelations regardless of how little legal standing those revelations may have

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » June 2nd, 2015, 5:54 pm

yeah...
gottherealonionknight.jpg
gottherealonionknight.jpg (75.73 KiB) Viewed 2722 times

Postby Redman » June 2nd, 2015, 5:56 pm

allyuh getting on like we have all the info.

What somebody needs to do is to tell the PM to shut up and stop going off half cocked.

Everybody knows Jack was a financier-no UNC big wig protested that label until last week.

She might have eeked by with innocent till proven guilty-but he had to come out and paint herself in the corner.

in this century you cant not know where the money is coming from.

RASC is right the connection is cemented by her lie and Jack bringing what is circumstantial evidence.

Ross will have to work double time to reverse spin this.

Jack now start....so there is more to come.

oh src1983....none of the money I contributed to the COP/UNC in 2010 was paid to the party.
All went to service providers etc.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 2nd, 2015, 5:59 pm

RASC wrote:OK sure, you go ahead living your life in Black and White-By the Book and to the letter of the law...

Forget all about HUMAN NATURE ,Socio-Political Warfare and Understanding the areas of Grey/Subtext/Innuendo... I also suggest not to get into Poker-too risky for a person like you. Stick to the facts, the texts and what is written in stone.

So what you telling me it ok for the RBL to get away but good for UNC to sink correct?

This has nothing to do with the UNC, all they could really go on a podium and say is that -

"A ex-minsiter, yes people an ex-minster who has close ties to the PP was held for money laundering by the US government."

They cannot say "That minister, yes ppl that minister finance the PP"

And if they do such without hitting the banks with the same effect, I do not want such a party in power. As just like the PP they miss the real issues
Last edited by src1983 on June 2nd, 2015, 6:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » June 2nd, 2015, 5:59 pm

eliteauto wrote:src1983 logically you're correct, however this election campaign just like the last will lean heavily on public opinion, the UNC/PP has and continues to use this tactic, Jack Warner was one of the main tacticians and strategists for the UNC/PP, remember the Manning-Mugabe parallel? Remember the many UNC media plants and UNC plants in the security services who fed information and printed exposés? What would you realistically expect JW to do with his back against the wall? JW knows the electorate as well as he knows politics, he swam with sharks so he knows what's bait, with a Gov't already tainted in the national discourse with allegations of corruption, he can do damage and create doubts with his revelations regardless of how little legal standing those revelations may have

This is exactly what I've been trying to explain to this _________

Thank you for having the eloquence to put it so nicely.
It must have been my grey world vocabulary...living in his black and white world must be so challenging sometimes.
Last edited by RASC on June 2nd, 2015, 6:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 2nd, 2015, 6:00 pm

rfari wrote:All a sudden pp sheep eat bulb and bright like sheit
f

I think I have more PNM ties than you though

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 2nd, 2015, 6:00 pm

Nah man redman. Juss so yuh go drop it?