Clogged 4 inch pvc sewer drain pipe....... help needed fast

jsr

Clogged 4 inch pvc sewer drain pipe....... help needed fast

Postby jsr » May 29th, 2015, 9:21 am

Looking for someone who can fix a clog in a sewer line. Tried for myself to find the clog but no luck. The cesspit was emptied so i know the problem is not the cesspit.

Any suggestions
Last edited by jsr on May 29th, 2015, 9:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Clogged sewer drain pipe....... help needed fast

Postby MG Man » May 29th, 2015, 9:24 am

sewer line or normal 4 inch pvc waste line?
If so, you gotta start cutting and chooking with a long pole.....get yerself a raincoat and duct tape

jsr

Re: Clogged sewer drain pipe....... help needed fast

Postby jsr » May 29th, 2015, 9:37 am

MG Man wrote:sewer line or normal 4 inch pvc waste line?
If so, you gotta start cutting and chooking with a long pole.....get yerself a raincoat and duct tape

Thanks

4 inch pvc waste line

Re: Clogged 4 inch pvc sewer drain pipe....... help needed f

Postby MG Man » May 29th, 2015, 9:51 am

Not much else you can do...I men, you can try drano, but I doubt it will eat thru a clog of paper and poop...but see if it works before cutting.....you can try knocking the pipe and listen for a blockage, but most likely it will be in a bend, not a straight section
Last edited by MG Man on May 29th, 2015, 9:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » May 29th, 2015, 9:56 am

Mg go and clear the man sewer line with the special tool yuh have na

Postby MG Man » May 29th, 2015, 9:57 am

nah, dat is only tuh clear rollingstock sewer line

roadhog

Postby roadhog » May 29th, 2015, 9:59 am

Call tr plumbing in curepe. They have one of those line snakes. That clears pipes. Not sure the cost

HSA

Postby HSA » May 29th, 2015, 10:14 am

i had this experience once..our cesspit was built in two sections with a floating wall in the middle..one side of heavier stuff and the other side leads to the soakaway....our 4 inch is about 3-4 feet away from the middle of the wall... so when we flush, the water rushes down, hits the wall and by doing that is broken down further....

one flaw tho is that after a period of time, sediments begin to build up where the water is hitting the wall from the pipe and eventually it might reach as far as blocking the end of the pipe. this happened once and we tried alot of wire snakes, solutions etc....

we ended taking the whole cover of the cesspit off and then the issue was seen....had to use a 20ft pole to clear the block from the floating wall to the pipe.....and even 20ft wasnt enough...that was my shittyest day

jsr

Postby jsr » May 29th, 2015, 10:17 am

roadhog wrote:Call tr plumbing in curepe. They have one of those line snakes. That clears pipes. Not sure the cost

Happened to call them before

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 29th, 2015, 10:32 am

HSA wrote:i had this experience once..our cesspit was built in two sections with a floating wall in the middle..one side of heavier stuff and the other side leads to the soakaway....our 4 inch is about 3-4 feet away from the middle of the wall... so when we flush, the water rushes down, hits the wall and by doing that is broken down further....

one flaw tho is that after a period of time, sediments begin to build up where the water is hitting the wall from the pipe and eventually it might reach as far as blocking the end of the pipe. this happened once and we tried alot of wire snakes, solutions etc....

we ended taking the whole cover of the cesspit off and then the issue was seen....had to use a 20ft pole to clear the block from the floating wall to the pipe.....and even 20ft wasnt enough...that was my shittyest day
lol yuh supposed to have a tee on the inside of the septic tank with a piece of pipe 18 inches long, down into the tank this way the stuff always go down into water and not onto stuff that gets hardened on the surface

Postby MG Man » May 29th, 2015, 10:44 am

^^^yup
unfortunately for me, my builder decided it made more sense for the crap to hit the wall, so he removed the tee when I was not there :-/

jsr

Postby jsr » May 29th, 2015, 10:48 am

seems like i may have some digging to do and i am sure the whole thing may have to be redone. I am beginning ro think that there is a flaw somewhere.

Shocked that snaking can be so costly

Postby Chimera » May 29th, 2015, 10:57 am

It have no two toilet man who could agree on the same thing. We running a new toilet tank(the plastic ones) and toilet right now and gone through 3 plumbers already.

Everything from soak away stone type and size to fabric to cover the stone to anchoring the tank, nothing they could agree on.

Postby sMASH » May 29th, 2015, 11:14 am

Google some international recomendations.
He problem is that builders not that smart. They do things mostly because hat is how they learned before... Sry, lunn it. Everybody comes up with their idea of what could wuk, with no real trial, experimentation and analysis.

Plenty of their designs are too small and still waste of space.

Postby MG Man » May 29th, 2015, 11:27 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:It have no two toilet man who could agree on the same thing. We running a new toilet tank(the plastic ones) and toilet right now and gone through 3 plumbers already.

Everything from soak away stone type and size to fabric to cover the stone to anchoring the tank, nothing they could agree on.

I went thru that headache for a whole year......I have a couple yards of soak away stone free if you want...just bring some manpower to help you load up.....the trick is to wash each barrow-full before you dump it int he trench, to spray out any dirt or silt (which yo'll always get)....used it for soak-away and a rubble drain...no problems at all

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 29th, 2015, 12:34 pm

sMASH wrote:Google some international recomendations.
He problem is that builders not that smart. They do things mostly because hat is how they learned before... Sry, lunn it. Everybody comes up with their idea of what could wuk, with no real trial, experimentation and analysis.

Plenty of their designs are too small and still waste of space.

The Trinidad and Tobago Small Building Code has detailed designs for septic tanks.

Postby rfari » May 29th, 2015, 12:39 pm

OP, you should have cleanouts at bends and long runs of waste pipe leading to the septic tank. Before you do any cutting or digging check at these points

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 29th, 2015, 3:01 pm

D man cudda call me

jsr

Postby jsr » May 29th, 2015, 7:03 pm

quietdevil wrote:You should have clean outs at every bend and whenever a straight run is longer than 12'. Start by removing all the caps from the clean outs. Sometimes waste sticks at the bends and eventually hardens and clogs that system. If you don't see any blockage at the bends then flush with clean water from the clean out closest to the septic tank. Once you see the water backing up then you found the piece that is clogged. A flexible piece of bamboo with a piece of cloth wrapped around it and secured with binding wire can punch through the blockage. Anytime a plumber has to clean your sheit it will cost a lot so better to clean it yourself.

Thanks the problem is i bought the house and i believe some fault exists somewhere

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » May 29th, 2015, 10:39 pm

jsr wrote:
quietdevil wrote: A flexible piece of bamboo with a piece of cloth wrapped around it and secured with binding wire can punch through the blockage.

if the bamboo doesn't work then you can try renting a plumber's snake

http://www.rjmcompany.com/plumbers-snakes/plumber-snake-GO68HD.pdf

from Rent-A-Tool

http://www.rentatool-trinidad.com/

or somewhere similar. I rented their snake (which was manual) to clear a 4 inch pvc drain pipe a couple years back. Their snake is basically a flexible 1/2 inch steel rod; turning it manually on one end causes a sort of torsional energy to build up in the snake which causes the blade on the other end to rotate and cut through clogs

the rental isn't cheap, probably about $300-400. i'd only use it if the bamboo doesn't work

Postby UML » May 30th, 2015, 2:45 am

drink more water and eat more fibre!

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2015, 5:32 am

dont flush sanitary pads

Postby supercharged turbo » May 30th, 2015, 9:17 am

pugboy wrote:dont flush sanitary pads

x2...heard about people having problems because of this

jsr

Postby jsr » June 11th, 2015, 7:33 am

seems like i have to dig up the line

landroverdefender

Postby landroverdefender » June 11th, 2015, 7:45 am

Sanitary pads ,paper towel .....etc ........long as it not tissue paper it bundles on the bends .......another thing you have to remove the cesspit cover for sure (save a buck ) I won't be surprised in the tank there might be a tee or elbow very close to the baffle wall .......built up over the years sediment will clog it ......cut it off you don't need it ok .........problem solved .......p.s. Snakes won't work for sewer unless it's the high water pressure industrial types (very very expensive to rent ( pump compressor etc...)

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2015, 7:45 am

you were able to try one of the big snake machines ?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 11th, 2015, 1:38 pm

My company has done some or these jobs commercially , but we use water and convert a machine into very powerful jetter that would be overkill for domestic lines, a snake is old technology .

For home owners that need a solution , there is a GT water products group of line cleaners that would save any home owner some grief with most clogged lines . The main draw back with this process is that the home owner needs to get the right rigidity lead hose and sanitize the tools after use ie interact with sewerage . These provide a great solution for most domestic jobs. I use them extensively for many friends clogs .

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=drain+king

Postby timelapse » June 11th, 2015, 2:24 pm

Flush down about 4 gallons of muriatic acid if you cant find a clean out .If you have a clean out, there's usually one just after a toilet meets the drain pipe, empty said muriatic acid in there. Leave it for about a half hour ,close the clean out and flush all your toilets .My 2c