KiD wrote:altho i drive subaru, euro>all when it comes to safety
Slartibartfast wrote:Crash tests can only simulate a limited number of real world scenarios. That's why I'm curious on people's opinions.
j.o.e wrote:This is really lame rum shop talk for a Friday...gimme a few minutes to work on a Friday thread
MG Man wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Crash tests can only simulate a limited number of real world scenarios. That's why I'm curious on people's opinions.
peoples opinions are wildly inaccurate, ad oftentimes misguided
Case in point: the Elantra that rolled on the highway and lost its engine....all the 'experts' jump ad bawl 'oh look how dat car mash up and engine fly out...elantra is toots..'
Never mind the cabin structure remained intact, the engine was designed to drop out, and the driver walked away with minor bumps and bruises
Second case in point: I posted some NCAP crash vids, and some clown was carrying on about how strong the corolla was, and how the a-pillar never deformed....never mind the tuntun was looking at the door window frame, which popped out and stayed in shape while the a-pillar deformed
Third case in point 'if ah de wearin mih seatbelt, ah woulda dead'
you really wanna trust opinion vs NCAP? Go right ahead....just remember, when a car spins and ends up in the median, drivers will tell you their car flipped seventy-nine times in the air
:-/
MG Man wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Crash tests can only simulate a limited number of real world scenarios. That's why I'm curious on people's opinions.
peoples opinions are wildly inaccurate, ad oftentimes misguided
Case in point: the Elantra that rolled on the highway and lost its engine....all the 'experts' jump ad bawl 'oh look how dat car mash up and engine fly out...elantra is toots..'
Never mind the cabin structure remained intact, the engine was designed to drop out, and the driver walked away with minor bumps and bruises
Second case in point: I posted some NCAP crash vids, and some clown was carrying on about how strong the corolla was, and how the a-pillar never deformed....never mind the tuntun was looking at the door window frame, which popped out and stayed in shape while the a-pillar deformed
Third case in point 'if ah de wearin mih seatbelt, ah woulda dead'
you really wanna trust opinion vs NCAP? Go right ahead....just remember, when a car spins and ends up in the median, drivers will tell you their car flipped seventy-nine times in the air
:-/
88sins wrote:Most local cars safe.
If you want something to worry about, worry about the new crop of idiots coming out of LO with a drivers permit that hurry to buy cars yet couldn't drive a fly with a case of baygon