thanks! I thought of using floating shelves, but I went with an open cabinet on wheels and painted it with automotive paint and clear coat.wheelbarrow wrote:Forget Def Tech oui, 6x9 ftw... Lololol.
The office space looks great Duane, I have the same plan for the floating shelves under the TV.
I installed everything. I had the electrician run conduit under the floor for the rear speakers and for the power and USB data for the racing seat when they were pouring the concrete floor. Whent he construction was done I wired up everything. I had to use a 10ft USB extender as the run was longer than the usual USB cable length for the playseat. I used an angle grinder and cut the wall and ran 2" conduit with 4x4 cans on either end to run the HDMI and power for the TV in the wall and then 1/2" conduit for the front left and right speakers. The center channel wire runs from a hole made in the 2" conduit. Plastered up everything with plastermix and painted.Zim wrote:Duane well done, props! If yuh hiring, check meh
Who did the install & shelf for you?
bazoooka!crazybalhead wrote:Okay Duane.![]()
. 6x9's in two pig tail bucket dan. (yes...I have done that already)
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:bazoooka!
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I installed everything. I had the electrician run conduit under the floor for the rear speakers and for the power and USB data for the racing seat when they were pouring the concrete floor. When the construction was done I wired up everything. I had to use a 10ft USB extender as the run was longer than the usual USB cable length for the playseat. I used an angle grinder and cut the wall and ran 2" conduit with 4x4 cans on either end to run the HDMI and power for the TV in the wall and then 1/2" conduit for the front left and right speakers. The center channel wire runs from a hole made in the 2" conduit. Plastered up everything with plastermix and painted.Zim wrote:Duane well done, props! If yuh hiring, check meh
Who did the install & shelf for you?
Thanks to WagonR and Jus4Sho for helping install the TV!
I drew the shelf/cabinet in Sketchup and a joiner put it together for me. We sent it by a straightener to paint in red and clear coat. I got the caster wheels in Bhagwansingh and installed it with screws. The back of the cabinet is painted matt black and all the wires are run through BlueLounge Soba cable director fabric loom - looks really neat http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MXC4T7S/
The cabinet has two 120mm USB powered Noctua low noise ball bearing fans at the back to vent hot air at the back of the cabinet. Good for Playstations, Amps, receivers and other home theater devices that run hot
Noctua 120mm low noise fan
http://www.amazon.com/Setting-Anti-Stal ... 00BEZKX8Y/
nah I don't do installs for others but I'd be willing to share my experiences so far if you need help.Zim wrote:Ways didn't know u were so skilled in that field, well done mate. Smart move with the under ground conduit. Nice idea with running wires to the TV. the Front & centre speakers cleverly done also, do u do installs for others? I just don't wanna cut up my walls and I haven't time nor toools, basically I want wires run to the rear speakers. Lastly, can u link me to the specs of your shelf and joiner? thanks mate
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:nah I don't do installs for others but I'd be willing to share my experiences so far if you need help.Zim wrote:Ways didn't know u were so skilled in that field, well done mate. Smart move with the under ground conduit. Nice idea with running wires to the TV. the Front & centre speakers cleverly done also, do u do installs for others? I just don't wanna cut up my walls and I haven't time nor toools, basically I want wires run to the rear speakers. Lastly, can u link me to the specs of your shelf and joiner? thanks mate
anyone can build that - it's a box with a shelf and cut two 120mm hole in the back for fans and one 80mm hole for the cables. The size is up to you.
the sky is the limit thereRapToR wrote:recommend a premium HT setup for me
yes, yes you are.crazybalhead wrote:Duane is a real nerd for that Bazinga cushion.
And I am one also for noticing.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:this is the office setup with
it has that.iM@st@1 wrote:Impressive home office there Duane, props. All it missing is some nice ambient led lighting(but thas just me).
Waysnah I don't do installs for others
Yes that will be great thanks, I'll message u on What's Appbut I'd be willing to share my experiences so far if you need help.
I eh know about that, it have some poohar men out dey.. ok nice, can u send me the dimensions still though?anyone can build that - it's a box with a shelf and cut two 120mm hole in the back for fans and one 80mm hole for the cables. The size is up to you.
20" tall, 18" deep, 60" long.Zim wrote:I eh know about that, it have some poohar men out dey.. ok nice, can u send me the dimensions still though?Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:anyone can build that - it's a box with a shelf and cut two 120mm hole in the back for fans and one 80mm hole for the cables. The size is up to you.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the sky is the limit thereRapToR wrote:recommend a premium HT setup for me
OLED panel or huge projector
flagship Integra, Anthem, Marantz receiver
speakers and subwoofers KEF, Klipsch, Definitive Tech, Bowers & Wilkins, Paradigm, Sunfire... I couldn't name them all.
amplifiers
power management
bluray library management
digital library management
endless options
it's really only LG that are selling OLED TV's right now, but by the end of the year that will changeRapToR wrote:send me a link for the OLED panel
thanks!Ted_v2 wrote:Duane your home looks awesome. Totally jealous of the designs.
http://www.cnet.com/news/best-low-lag-hdtvs-for-serious-gamers/Humes wrote:Duane et al:
Can anyone recommend a good TV in the 46"-50" range? Low input lag is important, as I'll be gaming on it regularly. No 3D or smart TV features necessary. And from a reliable manufacturer/line.
It would be a big plus if it's locally available.
edit: I'm considering this 48" Sony W600B from Courts. Good reviews (particularly for response time) and I think the Courts extended warranty is a must this rounds. edit 2: Sold out.