bluebird sylphy trouble

sean364

bluebird sylphy trouble

Postby sean364 » May 17th, 2015, 9:55 pm

hey guys this is my first post on the Nissan forum.

my neighbor has a bluebird sylphy 2011 foreign used, 1.5 engine (hr15de).

the car starts but no power, cant rev.

carried the car to a guy in the bamboo( I thing his name is ryan)

ecu for both the engine and transmission changed to those from a y12.

the car now works (drives) however the tach and the display does not work.

any idea how to get this working.

thanks

Re: bluebird sylphy trouble

Postby skylinechild » May 17th, 2015, 11:32 pm

sean364 wrote:hey guys this is my first post on the Nissan forum.

my neighbor has a bluebird sylphy 2011 foreign used, 1.5 engine (hr15de).

the car starts but no power, cant rev.

carried the car to a guy in the bamboo( I thing his name is ryan)

ecu for both the engine and transmission changed to those from a y12.

the car now works (drives) however the tach and the display does not work.

any idea how to get this working.

thanks

ok so if the car starts and cant rev - when the accelerator pedal is pressed- nothing happens.??

why change the ECU though.?? if the pedal is pressed and nothing happens first thing to check would be the sensor for the pedal as these cars dont have a physical throttle cable from pedal to throttle body.

was the car scanned prior to changing ECU's .?

if you swap ECU and the tach an display doesnt work it could be the ECU has a different pin out - despite being for the same HR engine... did the y12 that the ECU came out of have a tach on the instrument panel???

i not sure why the ECU needed to change for the car to drive...but why change both and not one??

put back the original ECUs in the car - see if the problem returns and have a qualified electrician / diagnostics guy look at it.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » May 18th, 2015, 6:20 am

Same thing I was thinking..why change the ECU??? allyuh have $$$$ to bun yes...

Postby Ted_v2 » May 18th, 2015, 6:45 am

That mechanic / electrician is a quack. Locate another asap.

Yall feel is b14 engines you all fixing.

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » May 18th, 2015, 6:51 am

Lol, prolly d same mechanic from south dat crash d "Ghee Tee Arr" :o:shock:

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » May 18th, 2015, 7:34 am

Like skylinechild says, it is probably the gas pedal.
Nowadays cars do not have an accelerator cable. The system is called "drive by wire". The accelerator pedal is attached to a "potentiometer', something like a radio rotary volume control. This is connected to a servomotor in the throttle body. As you step on the gas, the voltage will increase. The ECU will send the appropriate current to the servomotor. The servomotor opens (or closes) the butterfly valve that allows air into the engine.
Something is wrong with the circuit, either the accelerator unit or the throttle body. It is very common with the throttle body in Nissan's HR15 engines to foul up with gunk. Or the servomotor going bad.

The ECU is one of the most rugged unit in the modern car.
Peace.
RR.

sean364

Postby sean364 » May 20th, 2015, 11:53 am

THANKS GUYS I WILL GET SOME MORE INFO AND REPOST SOON

hotmilkly

Postby hotmilkly » June 2nd, 2015, 1:47 am

Hi I'm new to Tapatalk Forum. I have a 2006 Sylphy 1.5A recently have a symptom as follow:-

When I cold start in the morning, while the blue temperature sign is still on, I shift to 'D' mode, the gear doesn't engage. I press the pedal, it just ram the engine.

When I shift to '2', it is the same. Only when I shift to '1', it move the car. Then I immediately shift back to 'D', it then back to normal.

I can't hear any noise from gearbox or engine.

Some people said it might be valve box problem. Some said electronic control box for gearbox problem. Some said it's a sign gearbox going to damage.

I would like to get your advise as I have never experienced this.

I understand this Sylphy gear shift is control by electronic control, using timing chain & is 4 speed Automatic. It require ATF fluid in the gearbox which I have no idea how long to get it change. Please advise me & appreaciate your time & advice. Thank you.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Postby skylinechild » June 3rd, 2015, 10:07 pm

hotmilkly wrote:Hi I'm new to Tapatalk Forum. I have a 2006 Sylphy 1.5A recently have a symptom as follow:-

When I cold start in the morning, while the blue temperature sign is still on, I shift to 'D' mode, the gear doesn't engage. I press the pedal, it just ram the engine.

When I shift to '2', it is the same. Only when I shift to '1', it move the car. Then I immediately shift back to 'D', it then back to normal.

I can't hear any noise from gearbox or engine.

Some people said it might be valve box problem. Some said electronic control box for gearbox problem. Some said it's a sign gearbox going to damage.

I would like to get your advise as I have never experienced this.

I understand this Sylphy gear shift is control by electronic control, using timing chain & is 4 speed Automatic. It require ATF fluid in the gearbox which I have no idea how long to get it change. Please advise me & appreaciate your time & advice. Thank you.

get the car properly scanned and see what turns up.
highly recommend ryotech performance aka ryan on the forums- do a search on the forums hes a power seller.

he can scan diagnose the issue and conduct the necessary repair.- he can also do a full fluid replacement for the transmission. 8-)

hotmilkly

Postby hotmilkly » June 4th, 2015, 12:48 am

Hi there. Thank you for your recommendation but Ryan is in America & I'm in Singapore region. I don't think it's geographically available to me. Thanks & hope anyone from Singapore or JB, M'sia can recommend me some workshop.

Postby skylinechild » June 5th, 2015, 12:00 am

hotmilkly wrote:Hi there. Thank you for your recommendation but Ryan is in America & I'm in Singapore region. I don't think it's geographically available to me. Thanks & hope anyone from Singapore or JB, M'sia can recommend me some workshop.

i didnt know you were literally on the other side of the world....
Ryan is located in the caribbean...ship your car to him and back to you... :lol:

any reputable shop in your local area should be able to scan your vehicle and tell you whats goin on.
also they should be able to handle a full transmission fluid replacement.

also a simple thing you can do is check your fluid level...and quality...go pull on the dipstick and check...and work from there. 8-)

hotmilkly

Postby hotmilkly » June 5th, 2015, 5:27 am

Haha what a good suggestion! Let me shrink it & put it in parcel then air-mail to him. Hope he able to restore it to original size after received it...[GRINNING FACE WITH SMILING EYES]

Back to million dollar question, anyone know what is the mileage to change the ATF Fluid? Some say 25k, some say 40k, some say yearly... Confused [FACE WITH COLD SWEAT]

Had checked with so called Nissan gearbox specialist, he quoted me to do overhaul with 6 mths warranty @S$2200 or change a used gearbox salvage from scrapyard with no warranty @S$1600. I got shocked of my life, he must be planning to slash my neck...

Anyone know ATF Fluid changing will help? Some said need to do flushing for better result.

If keep driving at this condition, will it get worsen one day totally cannot move? Appreaciate your advise. Thank you.

Postby skylinechild » June 5th, 2015, 8:38 am

hotmilkly wrote:Haha what a good suggestion! Let me shrink it & put it in parcel then air-mail to him. Hope he able to restore it to original size after received it...[GRINNING FACE WITH SMILING EYES]

Back to million dollar question, anyone know what is the mileage to change the ATF Fluid? Some say 25k, some say 40k, some say yearly... Confused [FACE WITH COLD SWEAT]

Had checked with so called Nissan gearbox specialist, he quoted me to do overhaul with 6 mths warranty @S$2200 or change a used gearbox salvage from scrapyard with no warranty @S$1600. I got shocked of my life, he must be planning to slash my neck...

Anyone know ATF Fluid changing will help? Some said need to do flushing for better result.

If keep driving at this condition, will it get worsen one day totally cannot move? Appreaciate your advise. Thank you.

a couple questions i have to ask...

1. not that i mind but why join an automotive forum on the other side of the world :lol:
2. why do u refer to it as a gearbox when its an automatic transmission?

to answer your questions
i think the fluid replacement is 100,000 kms or every yr...which ever comes first
also do a full fluid replacement not just a drain and refill as the torque converter holds alot of oil that can only be replaced when the engine is running.

remember 4 spd auto requires any oil that meets or exceeds the nissanmatic D,J & K specification
CVT transmission requires NS2 oil.

get the car scanned..it could be a simple thing as loose ground connector or speed sensor.

dont be soo hurry to buy a new transmission or to rebuild without going through all the basic checks.
get scanned fix any faults...change out oil...and work from there.

hotmilkly

Postby hotmilkly » June 5th, 2015, 9:50 am

[SMILING FACE WITH OPEN MOUTH AND TIGHTLY-CLOSED EYES] First of all I didn't realized this is a forum from the other side of the world. I just get the Apps Store recommendation.

I didn't know only manual gear call gearbox in your country. Ya it's 4 speed auto transmission.

Thanks for your advise. I will have more second, third opinion from other mechanic workshops.

Thanks again!;-)

Postby skylinechild » June 5th, 2015, 5:58 pm

hotmilkly wrote:[SMILING FACE WITH OPEN MOUTH AND TIGHTLY-CLOSED EYES] First of all I didn't realized this is a forum from the other side of the world. I just get the Apps Store recommendation.

I didn't know only manual gear call gearbox in your country. Ya it's 4 speed auto transmission.

Thanks for your advise. I will have more second, third opinion from other mechanic workshops.

Thanks again!;-)

well look at that..duane app works wonders....fyi duane is the owner of the site and app.
visit the website - www.trinituner.com for a full experience.

start off basic...full fluid replacement....check grounds...get car scanned.....check speed sensor....

a few question thou - why is it the mechanic is soo hurry to rebuild your transmission though..?
did he tell you exactly what the problem is.???
what parts will he be replacing in the rebuild..??

I smell b.s....

hotmilkly

Postby hotmilkly » June 5th, 2015, 6:43 pm

He said he will replace 32pcs thin clutch disc for 5 gears

I also smell b.s... That's why I say might be back...

Btw is it no good to AT to start driving while the blue thermometer sign still light up?

Just learn more from the more experience people. Thanks!

Postby skylinechild » June 5th, 2015, 7:19 pm

hotmilkly wrote:He said he will replace 32pcs thin clutch disc for 5 gears

I also smell b.s... That's why I say might be back...

Btw is it no good to AT to start driving while the blue thermometer sign still light up?

Just learn more from the more experience people. Thanks!

i think it should be fine to start driving once u start the car...as long as u not goin a 1/4 mle race....there is no issues to start driving when the blue thermometer light is on.

that light actually indicates the engine is cold - thermostat will be in the closed position to allow the engine to reach the normal operating temp quickly.

what i usually do is start my car - wait about a 30 secs..for the engine to get a little warm...then pull off...but my car doesnt have the little temp lights...i got a temp guage :lol:

as i said.... get car scanned...you sticking...change oil..check grounds..check speed sensor.

hotmilkly

Postby hotmilkly » June 5th, 2015, 7:30 pm

Sorry what is Grounds & Speed Sensor? Locate at where? Sorry for my silly question...;-)

Postby skylinechild » June 5th, 2015, 10:55 pm

hotmilkly wrote:Sorry what is Grounds & Speed Sensor? Locate at where? Sorry for my silly question...;-)

ground is the various grounding cables thats connected to various parts of the engine, chassis and transmission....they all tie back to the negative battery terminal.

the speed sensor is a sensor on the transmission. if its going bad you'll get a lazy pull off as well as other issues. cant tell you exactly where on the transmission it is though - consult a qualified mechanic.

This is as far as i can guide you...get car scanned....
check the speed sensor...replace if necessary do a full fluid replacement....and work from there.