1930s PLEASURE CRUISE TO TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Re: 1930s PLEASURE CRUISE TO TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Habit7 » May 13th, 2015, 9:34 pm

What madness I seeing in this thread. In 1930 Trinidad you think any of you all could walk in Botantic Gardens or go Macarique, far less use the change rooms? Pre-war colonial T&T was Petri dish of inequality, racism and social apartheid. The snippets of cleanliness and order you saw in that film eres the domains of the creole elite. The majority of Indo Trinidadians lived in barracks tethered to estates and Afro Trinidadian were the under rowers of society to maintain comfort for the planter class.

Your ancestors struggled and built our own so that you could walk in department stores and buy what you want, go to university for free and actual govern yourself and you wan return to colonial rule?

Let me surprise some of you all, London has vagrants on their street too you know.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » May 13th, 2015, 9:49 pm

bluefete wrote:Problem was that at Independence, Dr. Williams mash up all the good infrastructure and systems the Brits had in place in T&T by saying that "massa day done".

Not sure which politician since then cannot take a part of the blame.

Then came 1990 and we took off downhill, no brakes, and still picking up momentum....

Postby RASC » May 14th, 2015, 5:25 am

Habit7 wrote:
Your ancestors struggled and built our own so that you could walk in department stores and buy what you want, go to university for free and actual govern yourself and you wan return to colonial rule?

This is EXACTLY what they and their kind want!!

I don't even have to read the comments to guess the individuals who made these comments:!:

Postby TRAE » May 15th, 2015, 8:51 am

Trinidad was nice yes--- then it take PNM and UNC to ruin it

Postby RASC » May 15th, 2015, 8:57 am

TRAE wrote:Trinidad was nice yes--- then it take PNM and UNC to ruin it

You're insane:

No wide spread plumbing
No wide spread electricity
No free education
No workers rights
No equal access to information
HUGE gap in inequality
Widespread Under Development

That's what you call nice?
Trinidad was a neglected shithole.

Get Real!

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 15th, 2015, 9:19 am

LOL I'm glad for whoever prefers 1930's Trinidad...Don't glorify the past. Things have change mostly for better some things for the worse, it's called progress.

Postby j.o.e » May 15th, 2015, 9:31 am

Men really think that the '30s was great because of a tourism ad? No wonder tuners take chain up from punanny and politicians so easy

Postby Habit7 » May 15th, 2015, 9:42 am

FS: tickets to 1930's South Africa.

PM me, serious enquiries only.

Postby pete » May 15th, 2015, 11:24 am

RASC wrote:
TRAE wrote:Trinidad was nice yes--- then it take PNM and UNC to ruin it

You're insane:

No wide spread plumbing
No wide spread electricity
No free education
No workers rights
No equal access to information
HUGE gap in inequality
Widespread Under Development

That's what you call nice?
Trinidad was a neglected shithole.

Get Real!

Fuh real. Just look at Barbados.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 15th, 2015, 4:48 pm

Habit7 wrote:What madness I seeing in this thread. In 1930 Trinidad you think any of you all could walk in Botantic Gardens or go Macarique, far less use the change rooms? Pre-war colonial T&T was Petri dish of inequality, racism and social apartheid. The snippets of cleanliness and order you saw in that film eres the domains of the creole elite. The majority of Indo Trinidadians lived in barracks tethered to estates and Afro Trinidadian were the under rowers of society to maintain comfort for the planter class.

Let me surprise some of you all, London has vagrants on their street too you know.
this!

I don't think people understand what 1930 in any country was like compared to today.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 15th, 2015, 4:55 pm

bluefete wrote:Problem was that at Independence, Dr. Williams mash up all the good infrastructure and systems the Brits had in place in T&T by saying that "massa day done".

That was a really stupid move along with scrapping the Railway aswell.

I have a question, when Dr Williams mash up everything why didn't the people of this country say something?

Didn't they think about the future and how it would affect us today?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 15th, 2015, 5:22 pm

COROLLA KID wrote:Yeah, best we had stayed under the British, Trinidad might of been a 1st world country by now....

This is true considering Trinidad is the 3rd richest country in the Western Hemisphere after USA and Canada. And just look at it, complete 3rd world ripe with corruption.

Had the Brits remained, Trinidad would have been a first world country very easily hell it would have happened 10 years ago. While this is all just an assumption, based on their track record here and in other countries its pretty easy to see we would have been better off today under their rule.

Postby rspann » May 15th, 2015, 7:47 pm

If you want to see some good vids of Trinidad in the 50's and 60's, go on youtube and look for "Time out, Trinidad"

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 28th, 2022, 7:48 am

lost to all wrote:
Glitch wrote:This is amazing...Looked and sounded like such a hidden paradise.

it was a paradise once upon a time.

until pnm took over

This is the last thing Pioneer ever said on this site.

A simple phrase which effectively captures his essence.