tyres

Re: tyres

Postby Morpheus » March 27th, 2015, 6:41 pm

Big Z wrote:Ya... Dunlop came real good with the dz102... especially after that crap called dz101

Trying these in the front. Fingers crosse dthat they're better than the DZ101s :???:

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » March 29th, 2015, 8:00 am

Morpheus wrote:
Big Z wrote:Ya... Dunlop came real good with the dz102... especially after that crap called dz101

Trying these in the front. Fingers crosse dthat they're better than the DZ101s :???:
give us your opinion when you do.
If they hold as well as is being mentioned with a 460 treadwear, they'll be on my watchlist for my next tyre change.

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » April 7th, 2015, 11:00 pm

Guys I am looking to get new tyres...195/65/R15....any recommendations?

Thanks!

Postby noshownogo » April 8th, 2015, 10:31 pm

Got the dz102 from tyre clinic this past weekend $650 for 205/55/16

zorced

Postby zorced » April 8th, 2015, 10:52 pm

Nice..

Gona look for 14s

Postby Dave » April 9th, 2015, 8:16 am

Think 15's is the minimum size in DZ line
In 14's u will get LM and sp lines

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 10th, 2015, 2:10 pm

L & DG has the Kumho Solus KR21 in 205/60/14 for $629. Is it just me or is that really overpriced?

Postby Ted_v2 » April 10th, 2015, 9:12 pm

Too much.

The guy who wanted equipment. Send me a message. I know a guy that brings down pre loved equipment at a steal of a deal. Alignment ramps ect

Milkman45

Postby Milkman45 » April 13th, 2015, 4:56 pm

So some some tyres named sunny. Any thoughts on these? Cuz I never heard of them before. Those n westlake

TheAce

Postby TheAce » April 24th, 2015, 8:17 pm

FullStop wrote:
ADONI wrote:Tyre question. About every two months I most likely get a screw or nail in one of my tyre. One tyre shop simply plug the tyre, whereas another shop, take out the tyre and apply a patch from the inside.

What is your guys views about these two procedures?

For me plugging saves both time and money.

i usually plug it myself. Reduces risk of dumb labourers destroying my wheel nuts...

FullStop what method do you use to plug tyres?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 26th, 2015, 9:26 pm

I bought a plug kit from hyper V in the classifieds. The kit is an external application, just stick the plug through the hole. I was concerned since it didnt come with any rubber cement, but it never leaked, never lost any air.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » April 26th, 2015, 10:47 pm

Big Z wrote:
ADONI wrote:What is your guys views about these two procedures?

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/ ... ?techid=77
Do any tyre shops down here do this type of repair (the combination patch and plug, or mushroom patch)?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 8th, 2015, 12:05 pm

Guy
I know this has been discussed already but I cannot seem to find it
How much tyre thread must be left on the tyre before it is considered defective ?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » May 8th, 2015, 1:10 pm

Linky

Short version:

Tread Wear Indicator Bars - Another indicator of worn out tread already lives in your tires themselves. Every performance, light truck, or medium commercial tire comes equipped with indicator bars (or wear bars) embedded between the tread ribs at 2/32”. They’re there to help you monitor tread depth and make decisions about tire replacement. Just look to see if the tread is flush with the indicator bars. If they are, it’s time to replace the tire.

I dunno wah trini law says on the matter.
What I sez... yuh only need tread if yuh driving thru water.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 8th, 2015, 2:28 pm

Thanks Big Z
But I was trying to find out specific to Trinidad
I even looked up the laws but all the say is defective tyres
Have to pass inspection on my van and just wanted to verify before I set up an appointment

aidan

Postby aidan » May 10th, 2015, 3:38 pm

2nrs, i looking for a set of foreign used 15's to run for about 2-3 weeks and then leave on a spare set of wheels. anyone has any good recommendations on where to go to buy some decent quality?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 18th, 2015, 10:49 am

Gentlefolks,

I've been trying to play catch up in this thread but i not able na.

Trying to find some 215/45/17, the prices i've gotten from calling around so far is:

Roadstone, Triangle, Sailun - $450,
Nankang- $495
Dunlop DZ101- $740
Maxxis- $700

Tyres are for a 2012 Kia Cerato Koup, any recommendations?

Postby noshownogo » May 18th, 2015, 11:59 am

Call Tire Clinic and ask for price of DZ102, can't recommend the 101.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 18th, 2015, 6:36 pm

Captainzaak wrote:Gentlefolks,

I've been trying to play catch up in this thread but i not able na.

Trying to find some 215/45/17, the prices i've gotten from calling around so far is:

Roadstone, Triangle, Sailun - $450,
Nankang- $495
Dunlop DZ101- $740
Maxxis- $700

Tyres are for a 2012 Kia Cerato Koup, any recommendations?

I run that size in Kumho Ecsta SPT from Mileage Mack. $920 i think.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » May 18th, 2015, 6:53 pm

Captainzaak wrote:Tyres are for a 2012 Kia Cerato Koup, any recommendations?

What are you looking for in the tyre?

sramnarase

Postby sramnarase » May 18th, 2015, 9:34 pm

Buy the Nankang...

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 19th, 2015, 9:16 am

Durability and grip preferably.

Big Z wrote:

Postby MG Man » May 19th, 2015, 9:26 am

Captainzaak wrote:Durability and grip preferably.

Big Z wrote:

durability and grip are mutually exclusive...a sticky tyre is gonan be soft, and a long-wearing tyre won't be as grippy.....if you're looking for a good compromise, I've personally found Toyo Proxes to offer a good combo....Kumho is a decent option as well...the Goodyear Assurance tyre is a good, if somewhat pricey option as well

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 19th, 2015, 10:03 am

Thanks for your advice MG! I'll call around to find out about the Toyo

Big Z wrote:

durability and grip are mutually exclusive...a sticky tyre is gonan be soft, and a long-wearing tyre won't be as grippy.....if you're looking for a good compromise, I've personally found Toyo Proxes to offer a good combo....Kumho is a decent option as well...the Goodyear Assurance tyre is a good, if somewhat pricey option as well

Big Z

Postby Big Z » May 19th, 2015, 10:13 am

I would recommend the Dunlop Direzza DZ102.
Generally a 460 tread-wear and a good handling tyre.

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 19th, 2015, 10:25 am

Agreed with MG on the Toyo Proxes and Kumho Ecsta. I've used both before and they give good grip. Check MM for both brands. Laughlin also sells the Kumho.

Haven't tried the DZ102 yet but hearing good things about it.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » May 19th, 2015, 10:27 am

the better ones I am getting in 205/60/15 are:
kumho solus kr21 - about $600+vat (mileage mack and L&dG)
Toyo - $650+vat at MM
bridgestone- $700/750 at M Ramrattan/Kamus respectively.

Can you all recommend a place that would have the dunlop dz102 in 15's?

So far been calling around and nobody seems to have that in 205/60/15

Big Z

Postby Big Z » May 19th, 2015, 10:29 am

Never tried the Toyo..
There are alot of different Ecsta... tried one of the touring tyre Ecsta.. was not happy with with the handling. Lasted long though.

Tyre Clinic for any Dunlop.

Postby MG Man » May 19th, 2015, 10:30 am

205 60 15???
YOu'll get 205 50 15
I bought DZ102 15s in Jack's in Couva last month....the tyre replacement warranty is great too...a few months back, I buss a tyre and it was replaced under warranty, no hassle
I have a pair of 205 15s and a pair of 195 15s on the car, both sets bought by Jack's
Can't really say how good they are re wear, because the car barely does 100kms a month...traction is ok tho

originalbling

Postby originalbling » May 19th, 2015, 10:39 am

yea, dont know if I should go with a lower profile... mazda 3 on steel rims. front bumper does touch easily.

some info on the dz102 here:

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... &tab=Specs