Re: uwi - mechanical vs electrical and computer engineering

Postby kiran8977 » May 10th, 2015, 10:45 am

Actually Utt and uwi have the same accreditation for some engineering courses

Postby black start » May 10th, 2015, 10:54 am

just utt much easier...

and the very "helpful" lecturers make it a lot easier....

Postby black start » May 10th, 2015, 12:26 pm

I PERSONALLY kno students who collect who paper from lecturers before exam...lol

Daran

Postby Daran » May 10th, 2015, 12:50 pm

i
kiran8977 wrote:Actually Utt and uwi have the same accreditation for some engineering courses

I think those are Petroleum or Process Eng courses, but for everything else, Mech, Elec and Civil....UWI is head and shoulders above UTT.

Corn Bird wrote:
Daran wrote:especially with regard to math which is a joke in UWI's eng program

is the maths in uwi eng too easy, too hard or not meeting the prerequisites for other courses?

UWI's math meets the minimum engineering requirements. But after doing my MSc in the UK, it utterly pales in comparison to what regular Eng students know. That said UWI's math is significantly harder than UTT's math by an even greater margin. Math is essential to being an engineer, don't let anybody else tell you otherwise.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » May 10th, 2015, 2:23 pm

UTT by far has the better engineering courses than UWI.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » May 10th, 2015, 2:25 pm

nick639 wrote:That^^^

Utt lecturers are extremely helpful. Class had some problems with thermo last semester and lecturer answered calls all 10 in the night and came out Saturdays for extra classes

did thermo this semester....but abandoned the course because it was too difficult.

Next year for it i guess :?

Daran

Postby Daran » May 10th, 2015, 3:19 pm

TheOwnerPO wrote:UTT by far has the better engineering courses than UWI.

Please stop spreading false information, every time there's one of these threads some idiot will come and post this.

UWI = Real Engineering Degree that can get you employed anywhere in the world. I have friends from UWI with just their BSc who work at Rolls Royce, Bell Labs, NASA.

Comparing UTT to UWI eng is like comparing Basic CXC to GSCE A-Levels (not CAPE which is too easy).

UTT graduates cannot enter any postgraduate program in the UK/US but UWI students can, easily.

Postby goalpost » May 10th, 2015, 3:23 pm

lol,
just because you find it was easier does not mean it is better...

and your judgment is nothing to go by seeing that:
TheOwnerPO wrote:

Utt lecturers are extremely helpful. Class had some problems with thermo last semester and lecturer answered calls all 10 in the night and came out Saturdays for extra classes

did thermo this semester....but abandoned the course because it was too difficult.

does UWI Faculty of Engineering even allow a student to drop a class, because it's "too difficult"

Postby black start » May 10th, 2015, 3:24 pm

Daran guh make men hug up bottle ah injun tonic yes.... :lol:

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 10th, 2015, 3:38 pm

:|:|:|:|:|

10-01

Postby 10-01 » May 10th, 2015, 9:12 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:

year 1 Manufacturing and Design Engineering UTT

Engineering Graphics - a guy from India teaches you to draw boxes and circles with a pencil and paper free hand :|

year 1 Mechanical engineering - UWI

Engineering Drawing 1 - Auto CAD and some hard a$$ isometric projections

and drawing is the easiest course in UWI

TheOwnerPO - u need to review uwi course outline bro .....

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » May 10th, 2015, 9:35 pm

Daran wrote:

Corn Bird wrote:is the maths in uwi eng too easy, too hard or not meeting the prerequisites for other courses?

UWI's math meets the minimum engineering requirements. But after doing my MSc in the UK, it utterly pales in comparison to what regular Eng students know.

what specific sort of maths did you do in your UK MSc that you didn't do at UWI eng?

Postby black start » May 10th, 2015, 11:50 pm

utt whiteknights in hibernation oar?

I expected epic beatup/mauby froth by now....

Daran

Postby Daran » May 11th, 2015, 7:39 am

Corn Bird wrote:
Daran wrote:

Corn Bird wrote:is the maths in uwi eng too easy, too hard or not meeting the prerequisites for other courses?

UWI's math meets the minimum engineering requirements. But after doing my MSc in the UK, it utterly pales in comparison to what regular Eng students know.

what specific sort of maths did you do in your UK MSc that you didn't do at UWI eng?

Literally too much to list but I can start with the stats mainly, but a lot of the advanced calculus was not taught at uwi, but it really was all the algorithmic techniques, kalman filters, Gaussian processes, kernels, Lagrangian, em, free energy divergences, optimization, proper stochastic methods and oh man so many other things that most other undergrads were familiar and I another Nigerian dude had no idea about.

The thing is when I checked UWI's comparable MSc , they didn't have even 1/10th of math and core topics that were well covered here in Manchester, which says a lot about the lack of proper post grad in trinidad.

Postby RBphoto » May 11th, 2015, 9:02 am

1) Given your choices, do mechanical. Plenty more work for Mechanical in Trinidad and abroad. Plenty more opportunities for advancement in related engineering fields such as management and construction supervision. Usually promoted ahead of Electrical Engineers because of the value of the projects they work on (turbo machinery is much more expensive than computers and wires thus the presumed contribution to the plant bottom line looks greater to upper management). Mechanical reliability is a very nice field also.

2) UTT>>UWI. You can do your UTT degree part time as well.

3) Consider process engineering. Process Engineers run things in both EPCM and on plants and are usually promoted to upper management faster than other technical disciplines, especially on process plants.

4) There are many other things to do with life than Engineering. Economics, accounting, statistician, are some interesting fields which require mathematical knowledge. Engineering requires very little use of science and math and mostly using proven methods and standard operating procedures to do something.

Hope this helps. Good luck.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 11th, 2015, 9:13 am

Back when I was in UWI a major problem with the Elec degree was over-assessment. There was this one course I remember some of my friends had with 1% coursework assignments. As in, each week they get an assignment worth 1% that they had to pass or else they fail the course. Then every lecturer wanted to give them exams and other coursework on top of it. Some of my lecturers said when the accrediters came down they said they were over assessing elec students by something like 400% (giving them 4 times more assignments and exams than what would be optimum).

I think that above all is what made elec the hardest according to my friends that used to constantly complain.

Daran

Postby Daran » May 11th, 2015, 10:09 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Back when I was in UWI a major problem with the Elec degree was over-assessment. There was this one course I remember some of my friends had with 1% coursework assignments. As in, each week they get an assignment worth 1% that they had to pass or else they fail the course. Then every lecturer wanted to give them exams and other coursework on top of it. Some of my lecturers said when the accrediters came down they said they were over assessing elec students by something like 400% (giving them 4 times more assignments and exams than what would be optimum).

I think that above all is what made elec the hardest according to my friends that used to constantly complain.

you got the rumor wrong man,lol.

What all accreditation bodies told UWI for their engineering programs, but particularly elec eng, was that the 'over assessment' meant that what UWI did in 3 years was comparable to most 4 year elec eng courses. They advised that it was too much work for the students to do full time, but I don't think UWI made any changes. That was in 2009-10 when I was assisting a lecturer with some research.

RBphoto,

You advice is very inaccurate, for process engineering i believe UTT is accredited, but for everything else, nada....they're technician level 'degrees' requiring 5 O Level passes to get in.

As for the view of mech being valued more than elec, I think this could be based on your industry, but in very few are mech engs valued more than elec or chem (the gods in oil & gas). In my experience, it seems civil and mech are usually under valued compared to Chem and Elec.

Also, your claim of engineering not being math based is quite laughable and show's that you probably don't have a UWI or real engineering degree.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 11th, 2015, 10:22 am

I heard both rumors. The three versus four year degree thing is something I hearing about since year one and was about all engineering. The over assessment thing I heard about was about elec in particular. Anyway, rumor or not, those elec students get way too many assignments.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » May 11th, 2015, 11:55 am

Project-JDM wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:

year 1 Manufacturing and Design Engineering UTT

Engineering Graphics - a guy from India teaches you to draw boxes and circles with a pencil and paper free hand :|

year 1 Mechanical engineering - UWI

Engineering Drawing 1 - Auto CAD and some hard a$$ isometric projections

and drawing is the easiest course in UWI

TheOwnerPO - u need to review uwi course outline bro .....

that man is de devil :| ..

a well educated devil but still a devil :\

if you can't draw and properly show representations of ure work .. F ..

that man teaches u how to project ure images in the most basic fashion .. .coz most of the time in the " real world " Auto-cad isn't present 20 ft up in a crane or in a plant to show parts and to draw tools or machinery to explain to a non engineer or the techs or the tradesman

it helped me plenty ah times when all u ever have is the back of a piece of paper and a pen :|

Daran please stop ure making uwi sound so fantastic both schools have there good points .

goalpost wrote:

lol,
just because you find it was easier does not mean it is better...

and your judgment is nothing to go by seeing that:
TheOwnerPO wrote:

does UWI Faculty of Engineering even allow a student to drop a class, because it's "too difficult"

Most schools have a time period not so ?

plus is $1500 a course now to repeat eh so u dunno ppl pocket :|

Postby black start » May 11th, 2015, 12:22 pm

I done see this thread gonna be real lolz...

What I does forth for is that both schools producing tonnes of engineering yearly and 90% of them could only regurgitate. They could bare think on their own much less outside of the box. If a problem occurs outside of what they learnt, well d world gonna end.....

And worst yet, you telling me in a mechanical disciple, you aint even know basic tools that the mech techs use? No wonder they does forking laugh at we....

Case in point from personal experience, an engineer designing some concrete columns for a structure. Mankind ha real calculations for buckling, steel content, punching shear reinforcement, yada yada yada. He want the construction workers build 12"x12" stirrup for a 12"x12" column. Man I never build so much jones in my life....He subsequently left the work.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » May 11th, 2015, 12:38 pm

Only scholars and gentlemen do Land Surveying. Everyone else are serfs and peasants.

Postby black start » May 11th, 2015, 1:46 pm

If land surveying gets you a bessup fassup lansah evo....then I had switch fields...

Postby RBphoto » May 11th, 2015, 3:02 pm

Daran wrote:You advice is very inaccurate, for process engineering i believe UTT is accredited, but for everything else, nada....they're technician level 'degrees' requiring 5 O Level passes to get in.

Wrong. UTT undergrad degree summer trainees I have had the opportunity to mentor have outperformed UWI graduates under my wing. The UTT degree is accredited and well recognized in the oil and gas as well as the manufacturing and downstream sector in Trinidad.

As for the view of mech being valued more than elec, I think this could be based on your industry, but in very few are mech engs valued more than elec or chem (the gods in oil & gas). In my experience, it seems civil and mech are usually under valued compared to Chem and Elec.

Guess what, Materials, Welding, piping and pipeline engineers come from what discipline?..Mechanical. All those departments have multiple times as many persons employed in each department as Electrical and Control departments combined. Electrical and control system Engineers tend to stay in their discipline and mechanical Engineers and Civil Engineers seem to be the ones who move into construction supervisor, project Engineering and upper management. I did state that Chemical Engineers basically run the show, but Gods?... no.

Also, your claim of engineering not being math based is quite laughable and show's that you probably don't have a UWI or real engineering degree.

Your comprehension of what I sated is poor. I said that Engineering is based on practices and proven methodologies. You will not be required to use calculus as most important calculations are automated into tools like Intools and smart plant, or vendor specific programs. You are there to supervise the calculations and ensure their integrity. It is really not rocket science, or complex, but it is rigorous and you need to understand physical concepts and what they translate into something you have to buy, fabricate, install or adjust a setting in the field. I got my degree in a cereal box and accredited by Hazel Maning, so I won't argue with you there.

Postby RBphoto » May 11th, 2015, 3:07 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Only scholars and gentlemen do Land Surveying. Everyone else are serfs and peasants.

This also is true.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » May 11th, 2015, 3:11 pm

I wanna see allyuh survive without some of those tools an app's :|

chem eng's can turn valves ? :|

sigh ... I need to hush :| ..

Postby RBphoto » May 11th, 2015, 3:29 pm

eurogirl wrote:I wanna see allyuh survive without some of those tools an app's :|

No I cannot. If I have to size 200 valves (or whatever else), I am not going to do it manually. Does not make sense for me to waste a client's time and money.

chem eng's can turn valves ? :|

They don't have to, they tell control systems exactly how much to turn it by then it is our problem to match that exactly.

sigh ... I need to hush :| ..

Nah.. doh do dat

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 11th, 2015, 3:58 pm

Regarding UTT vs UWI Engineering.

UTT has advantages like part time etc. But this can also be a con, for example even though I went fulltime I was forced to go part time because they didn't have enough money to hire the lecture to teach both fulltime and part time classes because everybody want to drop out of the freggin course in a couple of months as soon as things like differentiation and integration start, people suddenly start to drop out in UTT because they find it too hard.

One issue with UTT is there is really no entry requirement, they would take you with a F in A level maths as a pass. The problem now is when you have to do the work, you realize how important A level math actually is. UTT engineering is easier to do than UWI I agree but its not walk in the park. Especially when a certain UWI lecturer is teaching Signals and Systems in UTT he does give you the full UWI treatment, hardcore and he doh business that you don't have A level math he says he don't care.

So don't feel that all the courses in UTT Engineering is easier than UWI. It all depends on the lecturer. Now there is no questioning that UWI is a better university, do deny that is to deny Evolution and pretend that the earth is 5000 years old. BUT UTT has its pros and caters to people locally, most of what you learn in UWI you will never ever use in Trinidad.

yeah UTT has some gimmick courses like other people in this thread pointed out like drawing crap with your hand or a course called "Industry Seminar" which is one of the absolute most worthless courses its like a standard 2 course and you get 3 easy credits for it and as a golden rule nobody gets higher than a B- BUT most of the courses in the Engineering degrees are very useful.

My good friend who graduated from UWI with a BSc in Computer Engineering is working a normal IT job in a normal company. A job that to be honest he didn't get cause of his degree he got because of his experience and IT certs. And this was after he went to like 100 interviews.

So you guys tell me, UWI is better but does it even matter in the end? especially if you don't intend on leaving Trinidad? my physics professor has a BSc, MSc, PHd from University of Florida and he worked for Intel building the core 2 duo all the way up to the Ivy Bridge CPU, reducing TDP on the chips. And even he cannot just go back to the US as he please and he has said its not worth the trouble unless you are just flat out a US citizen. So leh me hear allyuh, even with a superior UWI degree, where are you going with it? what country?

If yuh have a US Green Card, then yes by all means go UWI no questions asked. If you got nothing, then UWI isn't as attractive when you compare the amount of extra work you have to do when in the end UTT is government and you far more likely to get a job with UTT due to "links" rather than UWI
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on May 11th, 2015, 4:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby black start » May 11th, 2015, 4:00 pm

eurogirl wrote:chem eng's can turn valves ? :|

i know quite a few working operations and making out just fine.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » May 11th, 2015, 4:08 pm

Ent de man up dey ^^ say they does tell the programme how much times to turn it .. :|

I hope allyuh getting where i'm coming from :?

Sometimes its better if you humble and turn valves so when u reach the big sawatee status yuh doh let ppl fool yuh head .

and that is basically what utt teaches you , they tell you flat you need to know EXACTLY what the technician knows , you need to know what the tradesman knows also .. otherwise how can u guide and develop ways to make it easier or solve a problem .?

but I find we rell straying from the man topic ...

boy go and sell pardy tickets :|

Industrial engineering is a good field too unno a lil bit of everything ..

Postby black start » May 11th, 2015, 4:14 pm

I didn't know it was big sawatee time.....

brb dusting off meh raleigh bicycle....