Re: Offical New Born Baby Thread

Postby air wick » May 5th, 2015, 3:40 pm

pricesmart had those, a long ass pillow... worked well for wife

SOLID FACTOR

Postby SOLID FACTOR » May 5th, 2015, 3:44 pm

any type of infant formula...except breast milk....is cancer`s rocket fuel...try goat milk with steel cut oats mashed

Postby goalpost » May 5th, 2015, 4:13 pm

Son due in less than two weeks.
We brought the crib and more or less his clothes for the first month. I assembled the crib in our room, but want to find something about the room itself.
The room is the only one in the house with carpet and I am worrying a bit about the dust. The carpet has never been maintained with a vacuum cleaner just a good broom. Should we invest in a vacuum cleaner to ensure better cleanliness. The room is not a dusty one.

Postby X_Factor » May 5th, 2015, 4:26 pm

I would get a vacuum cleaner and give it a good clean before you put the lil one in the room
the smaller types should work 500.00 or so for the shop vac

remember that room will now have a lot of movement in and out and will bring more dust as time goes on so you will still need the vacuum cleaner

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » May 6th, 2015, 6:33 am

X_Factor wrote:I saw some in superpharm

Thanks Man...

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » May 6th, 2015, 6:41 am

SOLID FACTOR wrote:any type of infant formula...except breast milk....is cancer`s rocket fuel...try goat milk with steel cut oats mashed

Kindly tell us more...benefits..drawbacks..

vishnu2112

Postby vishnu2112 » May 6th, 2015, 6:48 am

Enfamil baby formula.. pampers brand pampers.. pricemart members selection wipes.. nuk baby bottles.. panadol baby syrup.. occasional sego..

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » May 6th, 2015, 6:53 am

When is it okay for the baby to be out in the due? How many months? 6,7?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » May 6th, 2015, 7:06 am

Seriously, consider making your baby food before you buy all those bottle foods and pack stuff.
Its much healthier to make your own, and it's really easy.

At ten months, my daughter eats pumpkin, broccoli, squash, lentils, chicken breast, mango, banana, home made apple sauce(caused constipation), pears, watermelon juice, all kinds of fruits and veges. Just wash and cut up, steam it so it gets soft, then run it through the food processor.
Bought some storage containers shaped like an ice tray, and comes with a cover, fill it up and freeze it. A squash and some broccoli is food for the week. In addition to fruits everyday.
Just try new things one at a time, just monitor their stool and skin for reactions after you try something new.

Postby X_Factor » May 6th, 2015, 7:34 am

^ yupp... dont forget carrots
we never bought those bottled stuff
i pureed everything and the babysitter did an awesome job of feeding him and now he eats anything
without problems

between 8-10mths i still boiled the foods but i used the potato masher just to break it up into smaller pieces since he started the chewing action

he only got his first tooth after 10 mths and now he will be 1yr next week and now he eats whatever is cooked at home with steamed fish, boiled eggs, minced chicken
in addition to that we started the wellkids baby vitamins at 6mths

for those who use the pacifier, remember and try not to make it a habit forming thing
so give it to him even when he does not need it, take it away at any time so he wont form a habit and dependence on it ....and as he starts making the cooing and babling sounds the less time with the pacifier the better as it prevents them from making sounds which we all know is important

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 6th, 2015, 9:32 am

AllTrac wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Lotsa travel coming up in August, first time on long haul for my 18month old little one.
Seattle and San Francisco.
Good tips there Trac.

Should I walk with my own car seat? Not visiting family, so we'll be travelling via cab/taxi for all ground trips once we touch down.

dogg, check the state law, i know NY and las Vegas taxis are exempt from the car seat law, so its legal to hold a child in the back seat of a taxi but from a safety standpoint you should use a car seat, i find it too cumbersome to carry one around, so when I had to take a cab from jfk i called the cab company and requested a cab with a child seat, not much more extra in price, the least things i have to move around with the better for me.

Thanks pal
Yep, will be doing a fair amount of moving around, so I'll prefer to lug my car seat around. I have a firm stance on car rides and proper seating. My little popo's safety is first. :)

The Recaro proride we currently have is way too heavy to tote on that trip. >20lb

Car seat Rental in the US would cost as much as a new seat, so I'm thinking about buying a lighter seat that can be used for travel and should stay good as a backup for a couple years.
http://www.amazon.com/Evenflo-Tribute-C ... op?ie=UTF8

Postby AllTrac » May 6th, 2015, 11:17 am

air wick wrote:pricesmart had those, a long ass pillow... worked well for wife

those are too big and cumbersome to carry around, I used a small head pillow and put it on my lap, rested his head on it and his body on my wifes lap, when time to leave just take the pillow and stuff it in your carry on

Postby AllTrac » May 6th, 2015, 11:19 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Lotsa travel coming up in August, first time on long haul for my 18month old little one.
Good tips there Trac.

Should I walk with my own car seat? Not visiting family, so we'll be travelling via cab/taxi for all ground trips once we touch down.

dogg, check the state law, i know NY and las Vegas taxis are exempt from the car seat law, so its legal to hold a child in the back seat of a taxi but from a safety standpoint you should use a car seat, i find it too cumbersome to carry one around, so when I had to take a cab from jfk i called the cab company and requested a cab with a child seat, not much more extra in price, the least things i have to move around with the better for me.

Thanks pal
Yep, will be doing a fair amount of moving around, so I'll prefer to lug my car seat around. I have a firm stance on car rides and proper seating. My little popo's safety is first. :)

The Recaro proride we currently have is way too heavy to tote on that trip. >20lb

Car seat Rental in the US would cost as much as a new seat, so I'm thinking about buying a lighter seat that can be used for travel and should stay good as a backup for a couple years.

looks good man, good luck with the trip. Get all your sleep the night before your trip cause you not sleeping on the plane, most you might do is nod off for a couple mins, but sleep? nah lol

air wick

Postby air wick » May 6th, 2015, 11:20 am

AllTrac wrote:

those are too big and cumbersome to carry around, I used a small head pillow and put it on my lap, rested his head on it and his body on my wifes lap, when time to leave just take the pillow and stuff it in your carry on

No not to carry around for baby, to use as a pregnancy pillow for wife when sleeping...

Postby AllTrac » May 6th, 2015, 11:27 am

sleeping strong int he plane.
Thats the pillow I carried.

Postby AllTrac » May 6th, 2015, 11:28 am

air wick wrote:
AllTrac wrote:

No not to carry around for baby, to use as a pregnancy pillow for wife when sleeping...

i see

Postby tr1ad » May 6th, 2015, 12:37 pm

wait ... yuh hadda feed and clothe them too?!?!?!

Postby Chimera » May 6th, 2015, 12:43 pm

what allyuh does do when child really start to cry on a long flight though? annoying other passengers that trying to sleep/do work/rest

had a crying child on a very long flight a few years ago...lawd have mercy.....if i had benadryl i was gonna dose the child......

Postby AllTrac » May 6th, 2015, 12:55 pm

ive been on flights before, when i was not a parent and other kids were crying none stop behind me, i felt sorry for the parents, nothing the mother did could make them stop until she just held them and let them cry till they fell asleep. She and the child was on the aisle seat and the passange by the window seat leggo a big stupes and say "lawd faddah why i have to be in dis seat!?!!" the mother trip off and say "wham? yuh was never a child? or yuh did born ah big donkey so?"
lmao

Postby Damien » May 6th, 2015, 12:59 pm

Giving them something to drink helps alot with the ear pressure

Postby Chimera » May 6th, 2015, 1:11 pm

Wonder if that airline ever brought their childless flights on stream. Serious question tho, it doh have anything u cud dose them with to knock em out for flight?

Postby UML » May 6th, 2015, 1:27 pm

goalpost wrote:Son due in less than two weeks.
We brought the crib and more or less his clothes for the first month. I assembled the crib in our room, but want to find something about the room itself.
The room is the only one in the house with carpet and I am worrying a bit about the dust. The carpet has never been maintained with a vacuum cleaner just a good broom. Should we invest in a vacuum cleaner to ensure better cleanliness. The room is not a dusty one.

if the carpet could raise, vacuum under it and mop....hell just get rid of the carpet if u cud.

Postby X_Factor » May 6th, 2015, 1:36 pm

we may be doing a bit of flying for the july/august period
here to Houston, then to ft lauderdale then back home

those sippy cups should help with the ear pressure once he keeps taking small sips but
i honestly feel gonna walk with children's gravol, tussadyrl or something just incase
those sippy cups with the straw should help with the ear pressure tingy

searchingone

Postby searchingone » May 6th, 2015, 2:09 pm

AllTrac wrote:
air wick wrote:
AllTrac wrote:

i see

like these I was referring to

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_ ... Caps%2C374

Postby Damien » May 6th, 2015, 5:43 pm

Those who didn't breastfeed there kids talk to your pediatrician about giving your child probiotics....also don't rush and give your child antibiotics for every little flu like some doctors pescribe it causes alot of harm than good

PapaC

Postby PapaC » May 6th, 2015, 7:08 pm

AllTrac wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
Good tips there Trac.

Thanks pal

looks good man, good luck with the trip. Get all your sleep the night before your trip cause you not sleeping on the plane, most you might do is nod off for a couple mins, but sleep? nah lol

Just make sure and do research on car sets that are compatible with the plane seats.
When I went there were a couple parents who had to check their car seats because they weren't compatible and have the infant sit in the seat on their own. Those who were big enough, the others sat on their parents as lap infants.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » May 6th, 2015, 8:51 pm

air wick wrote:every baby will have a different reaction to formula.

My daughter was on breast milk while wife was on maternity leave, after I used Enfamil 1 up to 12 months, then switched to Enfagrow toddler tansitions 2 from 12 - 18 months
now my daughter is on Enfagrow toddler next step 3 and will continue using it till she is 3 years old.

As for pampers, i buy pampers brand from pricesmart

Wipers also from pricesmart pampers brand.

I buy the formula in cases from brydens pi, you end up saving alot that buying individual tins at the grocery.

Affirmative...

Postby AllTrac » May 11th, 2015, 2:01 pm

guys looking for playzone like this locally before i decide to buy it online, any one know where i can get it?

http://www.amazon.com/Safety-Playpen-Ce ... utdoor+Pen

khandman

Postby khandman » May 11th, 2015, 5:08 pm

Guys baby here now. Today is 11 days. Mom had to deliver early due to developed preclamcy. So baby was given formula after birth as mom was under anestitic and had to remain in nursing home for three days. Now baby doesn't want to take breast at all. I bought a pump today and will try expressing from tonight as I really want her to benefit from it.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » May 11th, 2015, 10:17 pm

Glad the family safe. The key will be consistency. Keep at it with the breast, pump and store milk. Get breast milk freezer bags. If the kid accustom to the bottle, you can try the breast milk via the bottle, so they get accustomed to the taste, but keep going back to breast.
Still very early, so don't worry too much.