Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Ted_v2 » March 29th, 2015, 6:47 am

Some damn good tools

Postby X_Factor » March 29th, 2015, 1:12 pm

once its on wheels it should just be vat on the compressor....
how did you ship it btw?...

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » March 29th, 2015, 2:22 pm

ocean freight

Postby black start » March 29th, 2015, 2:37 pm

That california air compressor real quiet! What's the intended use dok_tek?

Postby Chimera » March 29th, 2015, 2:47 pm

Compressor end up costing u about 3500 landed Dok?

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » March 29th, 2015, 3:35 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Compressor end up costing u about 3500 landed Dok?

not that much but i cant really work out a price on it cause it came with alot more stuff, washer and dryer etc

Main purpose of it is to get into pneumatic tools for automotive, and media blasting on a smaller set up, proper automotive painting (im done with rattle can business for car parts)

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 29th, 2015, 10:55 pm

Compressor crazy quiet

Postby X_Factor » April 8th, 2015, 6:06 pm

thoughts on this
http://www.amazon.com/Hitachi-DH22PG-8- ... =sds+drill

the others are double the prices

Postby Ted_v2 » April 8th, 2015, 8:10 pm

Looking for a pocket flashlight and screwdriver. Anything locally worth checking out?

I already got a cool neo magnet pickup tool

Postby *KRONIK* » April 8th, 2015, 8:27 pm

1428539212419.jpg

This serves as a keychain or just fits in ur pocket....
My dad swears by it.

As for screwdriver...swiss army knife FTW

Postby Ted_v2 » April 8th, 2015, 8:38 pm

Need to get one asap.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 8th, 2015, 8:48 pm

Amazon 1 day shipping and either ezone/aeropost....
U go get within 4 days for sure..

Postby 1UZFE » April 8th, 2015, 10:39 pm

X_Factor wrote:thoughts on this
http://www.amazon.com/Hitachi-DH22PG-8- ... =sds+drill

the others are double the prices

Good brand . Great price.

Postby cinco » April 9th, 2015, 8:49 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
1428539212419.jpg

This serves as a keychain or just fits in ur pocket....
My dad swears by it.

As for screwdriver...swiss army knife FTW

Stupid thing about the swiss army knife is when u go in legal affairs u have to leave it by the door or in Yuh car

Postby Ted_v2 » April 9th, 2015, 5:05 pm

Pm raptor but no reply.
1900 - Pelican looking like a flick

Postby *KRONIK* » April 9th, 2015, 5:10 pm

TBH i would choose the streamlight over the pelican.

I have a few of both...i always seem to reach for a streamlight 1st...
The streamlight always gives a better lighting than the pelican.
Pelican is great for warranty/replacement and robust build...
So depending on what u going use it for...choose based in that.
But both are great.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 9th, 2015, 7:00 pm

mechanic check, basically to keep in my pocket to view problems in customers car, before the job starts.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 9th, 2015, 7:07 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Rayovac-Light-FLA ... B00962B91W

just rediscovered i got one of these, bought it and lost it the same day.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » April 9th, 2015, 7:20 pm

Looking for an Affordable Pipe/Tube Bender. Yes online has it but sourcing one LOCALLY would be nice. Something like this at least or the little more expensive mandrel type like the 2nd pic >>
41EBpM1dIRL.jpg
41EBpM1dIRL.jpg (27.21 KiB) Viewed 3273 times
312wqzn6H-L.jpg
312wqzn6H-L.jpg (15.53 KiB) Viewed 3273 times

Postby X_Factor » April 9th, 2015, 8:03 pm

^ good luck you will also end up paying atleast 2 times the price you will pay for it landed

todd61

Postby todd61 » April 9th, 2015, 9:02 pm

Anyone know where i could get a set of bosch replacement brushes like these.

http://www.amazon.com/Bosch-26618-01-Im ... 9TBRC98X52

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 10th, 2015, 12:51 am

dok_tec wrote:Main purpose of it is to get into pneumatic tools for automotive, and media blasting on a smaller set up, proper automotive painting (im done with rattle can business for car parts)
Sorry but AFAIK a 5.6cfm single-stage compressor with a 10 gal tank can't do media blasting (maybe syphon-feed but that's painfully slow and wastes blasting media)... and most proper air-tools need more cfm than that to work properly.

BTW you must use DRY air if you want your air tools to last more than a few months.
I posted some alternatives (DIY and commercial) earlier in this thread with pix...

To get a better idea about media blasting, bodywork and painting buy a new/unsold Car Craft mag from Dec 2014 (Periodical Distributors in Barataria) for $20.00. I got a copy this week. There are a couple left. This Paint & Body issue is the most detailed I've ever read about "hi-end" custom media blasting, bodywork and paint prep.

My Image

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » April 10th, 2015, 12:01 pm

yea i know media blasting would be a long shot but im new to pneumatics and wasnt going to start big with a huge air compressor. i intend to do a syphon feed setup for small parts (wasnt planning on media blasting an entire car just want to start on a small scale, learn and work my way up) but thus far 5.6 cfm is running my IR impact wrench and air ratchet and cut of wheel quite well and future tools would be a paint gun, air hammer/chisel, some sort of rotary polisher/sander all of which on the tools ive been watching fall beneath that cfm.
Yea i am going to run permanent hard lines with in line particulate and water filters but unsure if im going to need a lubricator, i may just oil them when in use. This is the setup ive been looking at the EWO Variobloc filter/water separator.
I am gonna get that magazine though thanks for the info.

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2015, 8:35 pm

Cordless Dewalt angle grinder to use with the lithum batteries from drill
Digital protractor
qqq.jpg

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 30th, 2015, 8:09 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:I have a Bernzomatic exactly like the one posted.

Works well and does not go out when turned down/sideways. It's pressure regulated. Lights in one click.

If you need to braze things bigger than terminals, get a higher end torch as this one does not produce enough heat to use on anything thicker than sheet metal.

Get one for MAPP gas if you need even more heat. MAPP canisters available at Peakes but not the torch. Go figure.

MAPP torch can use propane but propane torch can't use MAPP.

I need a refil for my MAPP torch soon,,, the procedure is the same like cooking gas? just walk een with the empty canister and buy the gas in another canister ?

Postby nervewrecker » April 30th, 2015, 8:18 pm

Are there brushless power tools?
Like a small reciprocating saw and cordless drill?

Postby Ted_v2 » April 30th, 2015, 8:27 pm

Walk in and buy a new bottle. Paid 45$ for a fat boy. Some good brand lol. I'm using propane. The map gas is slightly more expensive

Postby X_Factor » April 30th, 2015, 8:32 pm

i know dewalt has the brushless drills but price kinda hot

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2015, 8:45 pm

all the main 20v cordless tools kinda expensive now but prices should start dropping
as everybody have competing models now.

I have the dewalt cordless dw995 hammer drill brushless motor
it is real badass, unbelieveable power and torque
snaps roofing nails and tapcon concrete scews easily if clutch not used

clutch is electronic so a bit tricky to get used to but
needs to be used with screws which have no slip like roofing etc

the real cost is the batteries,
99% of cordless power tools use 18650 cells in them, similar to laptop batteries and high output led flashlights
they use higher quality ones which accounts for the high battery cost.

next tool to get is the impact driver.

Postby black start » April 30th, 2015, 9:05 pm

looking to get the electric chain sharpener for my chainsaw. Anybody has any ideas where I can get it locally before I order one? Also any recommendations/reviews on any certain brands?