Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby 16 cycles » March 24th, 2015, 12:33 pm

^normal thing to ship from Amazon to a hotel address

Make sure your name is on the address

e.g. "John Doe in care of *hotel*"
addresss etc

go for the express shipping options - might have to pay more - but you know you getting it

Make sure its a reputable hotel and let them know before hand you have packages arriving.

Postby pete » March 24th, 2015, 3:11 pm

Order it with two day shipping to arrive the day you are checking in. I ordered a car stereo to my hotel plus lots of other little things with no problem. I was there for over a week and they don't normally deliver on weekends out holidays tho.

Postby Chimera » March 24th, 2015, 3:13 pm

did the hotel charge you a fee to receive each item pete?

i saw online that some hotels charge $5 per package if they have to accept it/hold it when you aren't checked in yet

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » March 24th, 2015, 4:07 pm

Thanks guys. I was wondering how that worked since a room number won't be indicated in the shipping address. Sounds good.
Yeah, what about additional charges, are there any? I'll be at Loews in Orlando

Triniiphone

Postby Triniiphone » March 25th, 2015, 8:11 am

Anybody here use ship tropical (tropical express couriers)?
Ever had problems with their delivery?

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » March 25th, 2015, 11:26 am

^ Go to pages 7 to 11 of this same thread. You'd find some info there.

Triniiphone

Postby Triniiphone » March 25th, 2015, 11:57 am

Thanks. Didn't get much tho. I'm waiting to see how they handle my missing package issue before I post all and sundry here.

konartis

Postby konartis » March 26th, 2015, 9:54 pm

i need some information, anyone ever had a cellphone sent to them via mail and not using their skybox? i called websource and the csr told me that with them i need the invoice otherwise customs would put a price for it, but i can mail it and it would come to me directly...anyone can confirm this?? i knw when i ship larger packages to me, it goes to the local ttpost and i receive a card to collect and pay fees etc

or should i just play it safe and use my sky box

Triniiphone

Postby Triniiphone » March 26th, 2015, 10:03 pm

I would say play it safe and go through the skybox. With regular mail it would take longer to come (which means greater risk of it getting lost) plus if the package is not small enough to fit through your mail slot then they'll keep it at the post office and charge you the customs and vat on it.

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » March 27th, 2015, 12:52 pm

konartis wrote:i need some information, anyone ever had a cellphone sent to them via mail and not using their skybox? i called websource and the csr told me that with them i need the invoice otherwise customs would put a price for it, but i can mail it and it would come to me directly...anyone can confirm this?? i knw when i ship larger packages to me, it goes to the local ttpost and i receive a card to collect and pay fees etc

A cousin sent me a phone from the UK, a few months back. Used iPhone. No skybox address was used. It came through TTPost, although he paid for everything on his end. I still had to get it cleared with TTPost, they sent me a notice in my mailbox, with the fees and stated I had 7 days to collect, otherwise there'll be additional charges.
Total was slightly over $280, no invoice came with the phone.

I left a tablet up in SA a while back, and my friend was going to mail it back to me using FedEx, he was told that although he'd be paying on his end for everything, because it's classed as mobile technology, I will have to pay a sum of 50USD upon delivery. No way around it.

Don't know if this helps...

konartis

Postby konartis » March 27th, 2015, 7:46 pm

Nightshield wrote:
konartis wrote:i need some information, anyone ever had a cellphone sent to them via mail and not using their skybox? i called websource and the csr told me that with them i need the invoice otherwise customs would put a price for it, but i can mail it and it would come to me directly...anyone can confirm this?? i knw when i ship larger packages to me, it goes to the local ttpost and i receive a card to collect and pay fees etc

A cousin sent me a phone from the UK, a few months back. Used iPhone. No skybox address was used. It came through TTPost, although he paid for everything on his end. I still had to get it cleared with TTPost, they sent me a notice in my mailbox, with the fees and stated I had 7 days to collect, otherwise there'll be additional charges.
Total was slightly over $280, no invoice came with the phone.

I left a tablet up in SA a while back, and my friend was going to mail it back to me using FedEx, he was told that although he'd be paying on his end for everything, because it's classed as mobile technology, I will have to pay a sum of 50USD upon delivery. No way around it.

Don't know if this helps...

Ok thanks this helps alot, Its a used s5 international version from my cousin, what shipping service ur cousin used?

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » March 27th, 2015, 8:50 pm

^ Royal Mail

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » April 1st, 2015, 8:31 pm

Bought an S5 online, Paid $1211.00 to clear it with CSF yes. Swear it was gonna cost less.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » April 1st, 2015, 9:04 pm

bassotronics wrote:Bought an S5 online, Paid $1211.00 to clear it with CSF yes. Swear it was gonna cost less.

Lol yeaa..dats when d custom officer realize he/she getting horn, vexation takes over.

Postby Chimera » April 1st, 2015, 9:13 pm

That sounds like legal taxes. 35% of 500 usd?

gurmuk

Postby gurmuk » April 1st, 2015, 9:30 pm

bassotronics wrote:Bought an S5 online, Paid $1211.00 to clear it with CSF yes. Swear it was gonna cost less.

yup they starting to charge correct values now

Postby Chimera » April 1st, 2015, 9:46 pm

They have always charged at least what the invoice says

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » April 1st, 2015, 9:56 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:That sounds like legal taxes. 35% of 500 usd?

Thats correct, I saw tuners in previous comment state that they pay like 2-300TT to clear cell phones, and CSF usually charge less than the online calculator.

gurmuk wrote:yup they starting to charge correct values now

Its sucks lol

Jade_Inc. wrote:Lol yeaa..dats when d custom officer realize he/she getting horn, vexation takes over.

She look for it lol

Postby S_2NR » April 1st, 2015, 9:57 pm

And?
Oh lemme guess you heard all the cool stories men coming here with and thought you would be the same?

Edit: Spoke too soon.
It good for yuh. I forever telling people that is luck and not the norm.

Postby Chimera » April 2nd, 2015, 5:06 am

So yuh pay 4400 for a phone that sells locally for $3400-3700

Plus u eh really have warranty lollll

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » April 2nd, 2015, 8:34 am

S_2NR wrote:

And?
Oh lemme guess you heard all the cool stories men coming here with and thought you would be the same?

Edit: Spoke too soon.
It good for yuh. I forever telling people that is luck and not the norm.

LOL...Was just giving some tuners feedback of the cost to clear a cellphone as this was the first time I brought in a cellphone.

ABA Trading LTD wrote:So yuh pay 4400 for a phone that sells locally for $3400-3700

Plus u eh really have warranty lollll

We win some, we lose some yes...I have it up for sale in the Misc Section...selling at a loss bleh...

Postby Spitfir3 » April 2nd, 2015, 9:33 am

once the invoice gets shipped with the item then is your angus to catch, if one isn't present they set their own price which is usually less than the original resulting in lower fees

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » April 5th, 2015, 6:58 am

Anyone knows which skybox company offers a repackaging service?

Postby *KRONIK* » April 5th, 2015, 7:12 am

JSL speedpak

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » April 5th, 2015, 7:29 am

^ Thanks.

Postby supercharged turbo » April 5th, 2015, 9:33 am

Brought in a mechanic's glove,pick-claw,headset and a 6lb book,all in the same box.No customs and VAT :smile:

Postby S_2NR » April 5th, 2015, 8:24 pm

trying to order from target. catching my ass.
tried american express and local rbl cc. it cutting the skybox address leaving it without a box number even in line 2.
any body get tru with them before?

Postby Chimera » April 5th, 2015, 8:53 pm

Even if they leave out the box number then you just call your skybox company and tell them to expect the package. Give them the package tracking number as soon as you get it

Postby S_2NR » April 5th, 2015, 9:26 pm

doesnt matter anymore. order is not going through with both cards. looks like they dont like freight forwarders. trying macys now

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » April 5th, 2015, 10:01 pm

So on a real though who u guys vote as the best skybox