PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Morpheus » March 17th, 2015, 10:49 pm

pioneer wrote:Order it tru Raptor...I not even gonna attempt to bring a case via skybox

Good advice. I learnt that the hard way. Made absolutely no economic sense!
Shipping, tax and duty cost more than the darn case itself!

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » March 18th, 2015, 7:09 am

What or who is raptor?

Postby Ted_v2 » March 18th, 2015, 7:15 am

Raptor is the shipping God. He bringing anything for anybody.
Very good service. His post is in the stickies I believe.
He brought down some stuff for me already. Very prompt

Postby skylinechild » March 18th, 2015, 7:37 am

amd-dude wrote:What or who is raptor?

Ted_v2 wrote:Raptor is the shipping God. He bringing anything for anybody.
Very good service. His post is in the stickies I believe.
He brought down some stuff for me already. Very prompt

Raptor is the powerseller above all other powersellers.. name it he can get it to you.. down to genuine crazy glue...

this is raptors thread...>> viewtopic.php?f=4&t=120215

browse thru it...he has everything including the kitchen sink....literally...he more than likely imported one for a fellow tuner at one point or another. 8-)

Advent

Postby Advent » March 18th, 2015, 7:49 am

Too bad consoles would keep this from actually being how a game would look.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » March 18th, 2015, 8:32 am

Much thanks for all the info guys. Will definitely let him bring it in for me.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 18th, 2015, 8:42 am

amd-dude wrote:Much thanks for all the info guys. Will definitely let him bring it in for me.

Good choice. All my full tower cases (25lbs +) i asked him to bring in for me, saved between $200-$400 TT on average.

Archvile

Postby Archvile » March 18th, 2015, 10:05 am

Wish you guys had started the Case discussion earlier this year. I decided to try out CSF's Ocean Freight and bring down my tower to kill 2 birds with one stone - It reach by them since Feb 9th, and I still waiting for it :'(

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » March 18th, 2015, 2:20 pm

Always found ocean freight don't make much of a difference in terms of cost and that waiting period is too much.

Interesting move by Microsoft. Anybody else runnin pirated OS :lol:
Windows 10 upgrade

Archvile

Postby Archvile » March 18th, 2015, 3:36 pm

Well I was gonna order the case anyhow, and I've been wanting to try out ocean freight to see what the experience is like for future (larger) purchases, so I decided to give it a go.

Oh how I wish i didn't hahah

Postby M_2NR » March 18th, 2015, 10:23 pm

+1 on raptor bringing in full sized cases. Monies to be saved.

Brought in a mini itx case once also via skybox. But those are small.

Postby sMASH » March 18th, 2015, 10:54 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Interesting move by Microsoft. Anybody else runnin pirated OS :lol:
Windows 10 upgrade

U see dat... Two possibilities
Either is :
give them the phone and sell them everything it would need to function .
Or
: NSA looking for any future potential Edward Snowden to bantanimo.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » March 19th, 2015, 8:58 am

Got a quote back from raptor, while not bad it still expensive as hell though, I might end up bringing down a test bench case yes, that will break down into a small box and might be a lil lighter. Plus I could do all the water cooling I want since there is no size restriction.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » March 19th, 2015, 10:28 pm

Nice looking ram, Hynix is known for their memory modules in high end gpus.

Obi-Wan

Postby Obi-Wan » March 26th, 2015, 12:52 pm

What allyuh think?

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=620620

HSA

Postby HSA » March 26th, 2015, 1:34 pm

hey tuners...looking to buy a gpu for a htpc...don't want a new one from amazon and would prefer something used ...any hits?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 26th, 2015, 5:25 pm

Obi-Wan wrote:What allyuh think?

The cpu bottlenecking the two gpus?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 26th, 2015, 10:35 pm

HCCA wrote:
Obi-Wan wrote:What allyuh think?

The cpu bottlenecking the two gpus?

that...

and its ancient.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » March 26th, 2015, 10:51 pm

Guys I'm looking to do a new computer build. What I have in mind is this.

These are the parts I want to get.
Asus Sabertooth 990FX 2.0 or Asus crosshair v formula-z board
AMDFX - 8350 processor
8GB Ram

The are the parts I currently have

ECS A790-GXM AD3 Board
AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition
4gb DDR3 1333mhz
MSI R9 280X
Xion 800 watt power supply.

I'm looking to keep the PSU and GPU and just use it in the new parts. Is this a good option?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 26th, 2015, 10:57 pm

price wise yes.

if your budget can stretch about 200USD more..

i would go with a haswell setup.

http://www.amazon.com/MSI-DDR3-Motherbo ... rboard+z97

http://www.amazon.com/Intel-Core-i5-446 ... 1150+intel

http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-Ballistix ... s=8gb+ddr3

flawless combo ;)

but that amd 8350 also does very well in games.....

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » March 26th, 2015, 11:10 pm

Budget really tight at the moment, wish I could have gotten that combo. Also was looking at this MSI board. What you think?

http://www.amazon.com/MSI-DDR3-Motherbo ... otherboard

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 27th, 2015, 1:15 am

good as well. quite stable.

used both 990fx and 970 chipsets.

no issues there.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » March 27th, 2015, 8:03 am

Thanks man! If i were to sell the the parts I'm changing out, How much you think I should call for it?

Board, CPU and Ram ?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 27th, 2015, 8:22 am

well

used parts usually dont sell for much here. also considering the cpu is a bit aged. but still very good, personally i would aim for:

CPU- $500
Board- $500
Ram- $200

ballpark

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » March 27th, 2015, 8:34 am

Nice, thanks alot man :)

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 27th, 2015, 11:39 am

Ne1 wanna buy my 5820k when it arrives? Think I should've got a 5930k

viper1

Postby viper1 » March 27th, 2015, 3:11 pm

Yo guys wanna buy the HP Spectre x360 -13t Touch Laptop. what do you guy's think of it is it worth the price tag? really want a 2in1 (not looking for detachable ones) and portability and this seems like the best option so far from the reviews i've read so far so just wanted a little feedback on what u tech guys think if it's worthit? with the i5 it's coming up to $US1000
And also should i go with the i5 or i7(adds $US150) processor(would be mainly for home and some business uses...no photoshop or high end tasks the only only high end task i could think of would be using it to stream videos from it to my chromecast in full HD...would the i5 handle this with ease?
And next question the screen Full HD WLED-backlit IPS Display (1920x1080) vs QHD WLED-backlit IPS Display (2560x1440) is it worth it?especially on a 13.3 inch screen?going with the the FHD screen but just wanted to know if the QHD would be worth the extra $100?
thanks fellas

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » March 27th, 2015, 7:20 pm

Seems like a pretty solid laptop, like the hinge design. For your usage the i5 will be sufficient as well as the 1080p option since you won't be using it for movies/games. The 1440p screen will be alot nicer tho & you will notice the difference, imo it's worth an extra $100US, but do whatever your budget permits.

viper1

Postby viper1 » March 28th, 2015, 1:18 am

iM@st@1 wrote:Seems like a pretty solid laptop, like the hinge design. For your usage the i5 will be sufficient as well as the 1080p option since you won't be using it for movies/games. The 1440p screen will be alot nicer tho & you will notice the difference, imo it's worth an extra $100US, but do whatever your budget permits.

Thanks for the info man..not gonna be gaming but definitely watch movies, streaming live football games directly on laptop or thru chromecaast on my tv, and well also light/medium business use(such as price listing, contact information of sales reps...customer info, stock evaluation, etc...)[this is for a pharmacy business btw...keeping things light business wise for now til i get a dedicated system for it])
Guess i'll go with the QHD screenor is it just overated?and with that again should i go with i7?it has to be either or can't have both right now with my budget lol. Thanks again.. feel free to add any opinion u may have.

Last question is there any other better option available with specs/uses i want?(portability,long battery life, good speakers, screen quality, 2in1....)and vs the surface pro 3, lenovo yoga pro 3, etc or whatever u option u think may be best what would be your choice?
thanks again guys

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 28th, 2015, 6:51 am

jm3 wrote:Ne1 wanna buy my 5820k when it arrives? Think I should've got a 5930k

why u think so? at first i thought the same thing, but after reading and the numerous reviews, linustechtips finally did a comparison with the 2 chips..the 5820k and 5930k. the fps difference was 1 or 2 fps with 2 and 3 way sli. not worth the extra 200usd price tag bro. put that cash towards a higher end x99 board or a gfx card.

my 2 cents.. even though u didnt ask :oops: