Re: TEN people missing on pirogue...from South to Tobago

Postby supercharged turbo » March 10th, 2015, 1:03 pm

Interesting

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 10th, 2015, 1:29 pm

That would have been a really good time to check if the Jamaicans illegal or not. As they come back on land hold them and deport them immediately.

Postby zoom rader » March 10th, 2015, 1:58 pm

toyota2nr wrote:That would have been a really good time to check if the Jamaicans illegal or not. As they come back on land hold them and deport them immediately.

The emancipation support committee of Kaffca Kambon will not approve

landcruiserfj

Postby landcruiserfj » March 10th, 2015, 2:07 pm

who in their right mind taking that rickity boat to pass tru the bocas to go tobago? how stupid are ppl believing that ? they were heading veni..........to hide ,smuggle trade........pick one of the many transaction that go on ........one woman have a two year old an goin to lime pigeon point ??? that boat shoulda sink !!!!

Postby desifemlove » March 10th, 2015, 8:23 pm

is dis even legal? can anybody jus so tek a boat and go? is it similar to airspace, where yuh can take a plane but only specific types?

that said, if people know what they doing, and bring enough supplies, doh see why not. the gulf is calm, but a seasoned mariner can navigate the Bocas and north coast fine.

Postby pete » March 10th, 2015, 9:05 pm

Immigration a few years back at the Tobago Sailing week was upset that we did not clear out of Trinidad and then clear into Tobago. They claimed that even moving from San Fernando to POS you should do the same. I think they were just bored and trying to annoy us though.

Postby SMc » March 11th, 2015, 2:59 am

desifemlove wrote:is dis even legal? can anybody jus so tek a boat and go? is it similar to airspace, where yuh can take a plane but only specific types?

that said, if people know what they doing, and bring enough supplies, doh see why not. the gulf is calm, but a seasoned mariner can navigate the Bocas and north coast fine.

You serious?

Yes you can just go from Trinidad to Tobago by boat,its not that hard a task...and believe it or not is the same country. As long as you keep within the national waters (which not hard to do) you not doing anything wrong. not dissimilar from driving from town to Mayaro

It is always good to let the GC know what you doing for 2 reasons- so they at least know you out there that you are not up to something and as Pete said that can be silly sometimes and give a hard time for no reason. I remember some years back we were coming back from Tobago and the CG 'pulled us over' just as we entered the 1st flashing lights, guns draw etc- they wanted to know if we had any limes- then they said we should log in at Staubles on arrival though you dont.

anyway back to missed opportunities

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 11th, 2015, 8:03 am

a pirogue that's obviously a LOCAL boat does NOT need to check in our out when traversing Trinidad and Tobago, ANY of the Imported boats that are NOT registered locally and have foreign registration even though locally owned are SUPPOSED to be LAW check out Trinidad and check IN in Tobago and then vice versa.
The question of illegal/legal is not the problem, ANY boat operator should have known better that to try and attempt such a trip from south, obviously this is one of the problems with allowing inexperienced people to operate a boat.

Postby Mark! » March 11th, 2015, 9:32 am

some rel Nautical noobs in here boi.

Step your marine game up land lovers

Postby rspann » March 11th, 2015, 11:31 am

BRZ wrote:a pirogue that's obviously a LOCAL boat does NOT need to check in our out when traversing Trinidad and Tobago, ANY of the Imported boats that are NOT registered locally and have foreign registration even though locally owned are SUPPOSED to be LAW check out Trinidad and check IN in Tobago and then vice versa.
The question of illegal/legal is not the problem, ANY boat operator should have known better that to try and attempt such a trip from south, obviously this is one of the problems with allowing inexperienced people to operate a boat.

You are correct. The majority of yachts here are foreign registered because if you have to import a Yacht/boat ,the taxes are very high. To avoid this tax,you register a company in another country (Delaware is the favourite because of the system there) and purchase the boat in the company's name.
Although you are local you still have to check in /checkout with customs when going to Tobago.

The trip itself is very easy,with no need for navigational knowledge. You are always in sight of land. The problem is ,however, if you break down or the weather changes,then you are in deep sheit. The safest thing is to be prepared. I have a dinghy on board, EPIRB (emergency positioning indicating radio beacon), life jackets for every person on board, Radar with Seatalk (emergency radio) plus a hand held GPS in case of any failure on the vessel itself, Flare guns with flares which are renewed regularly.
I remember one day last year a storm broke just like that and nobody could move except me,so all the smaller boats leaving Scotland bay had to follow me out. this is the reason you have to be prepared,because you can never tell what's going to happen in the sea and" the sea don't have branch"