TEN people missing on pirogue...from South to Tobago

alex jj

Re: TEN people missing on pirogue...from South to Tobago

Postby alex jj » March 2nd, 2015, 4:03 pm

was thinking about riding from chag or north coast..yea would be nice if a set of jet skis went as well as a boat with extra fuel

Postby SMc » March 2nd, 2015, 4:06 pm

pete wrote:From where? I'm sure it has been done and I'm also sure that I wouldn't do it alone. A jetski has the problem that if something happens to its one engine you're gonna have to float around until someone can save you or you drift to shore and you're not necessarily going to drift to shore in Trinidad..

you have a very strange way of thinking..

Postby Redman » March 2nd, 2015, 6:38 pm

SMc wrote:
pete wrote:From where? I'm sure it has been done and I'm also sure that I wouldn't do it alone. A jetski has the problem that if something happens to its one engine you're gonna have to float around until someone can save you or you drift to shore and you're not necessarily going to drift to shore in Trinidad..

But de man making sense.
Why is that strange?

Postby Mark! » March 2nd, 2015, 6:44 pm

What i can say is i applaud the folks on the boat for actually communication that bullsh!t story to someone on land.

This was soooo not a tobago trip..

alex jj

Postby alex jj » March 2nd, 2015, 7:18 pm

i don't think 10 ppl wudd go vene to bring back goods, where wudd the goods fit

Postby Slartibartfast » March 2nd, 2015, 7:45 pm

I know what the 8 fellas was hoping to do in Vene

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 3rd, 2015, 4:46 am

gangbang boatride

Postby DVSTT » March 3rd, 2015, 4:50 am

Slartibartfast wrote:I know what the 8 fellas was hoping to do in Vene

Lolz

Postby SMc » March 3rd, 2015, 5:31 pm

Redman wrote:
SMc wrote:

But de man making sense.
Why is that strange?

Not all boats have more than one engine, and the last time I checked most cars only have one. Its a simple case of having some degree of a backup plan.

In the case of a car, if the engine deads call a partner, tow truck, AA etc.

In the case of a boat/jetski, I cant think of why any sensible owner would do the trip alone (especially if you ever went through the shallows before). so at least with more than one craft there is always more than one engine with the ability to tow each other.

The reason I say Pete has a strange way of thinking is that he looks at the basic information given to him and makes an almost instant definitive decision based on that very high level info as though there is no alternative scenario/outcome...that's all.

Postby rspann » March 3rd, 2015, 9:29 pm

That ride not is not impossible,but it is not an easy thing to do unless you have real belly. Crossing from Toco is easier bit coming through the first Boca and running the north coast is not for the faint hearted. I go up on the north coast regularly up to Maqueripe. It real dread sometimes,like last Sunday there were some swells that have you coming down almost vertical. You would not like to pass close to land all around Saut d'eau .

When the water calm it is nothing to do, but like someone said above ,it dangerous to do it alone. Once my son had battery problems ,and when I did not see him after half an hour, I went looking for him and found him shut down in off monos. We had a protocol that if anyone is using the jetski ,he must check in every half an hour or call. That day the jetski battery pole broke off and cellphone battery went dead.

Even going up to Tobago or up the islands it is wise to go in groups ,so any problem, help is there . A radio/sat phone, life jackets and knowing the coast guard numbers also keeps you prepared. Once last year my steering sprung a leak, late in the evening and I called the coastguard immediately . They were there in ten minutes and helped me get back to the marina by bumping my bow with their craft so I could get back in. These people called the coast guard almost a day after when they couldn't find the missing boat on their own.

Postby Habit7 » March 9th, 2015, 9:13 am

Rescued 13 knock T&T Coast Guard

Kalifa Clyne
Published: Monday, March 9, 2015

The 13 people who reportedly left Marabella on joyride to Tobago, in a pirogue, that ended up drifting to Venezuela returned home yesterday but some of them hid their faces from media cameras. The 11 men and two women covered their faces with T-shirts and other pieces of clothing as they walked to the immigration office at Crews Inn, Chagauramas, to be processed. At 2.35 pm, a Coast Guard escorted the commercial vessel which brought the 13 people, including 11 Trinidadians and two Jamaicans, to the jetty.

The group shouted to the media that the Coast Guard abandoned them after they went missing last Friday. Members of the group said T&T had not done anything for them and that they loved Venezuela. They began chanting “Chavez vive, la lucha sigue,” a phrase which translates to mean Chavez lives, the struggle continues, a chant popular in Venezuela about their previous president Hugo Chavez who died in 2013.

Trevor Cooke, a Marabella resident whose two sons were on the vessel, said he was happy to see his sons home. The Seven C’s, a private commercial vessel, which brought the group home, cost taxpayers around US$4,000, said Dr Bhoe Tewarie, Acting Minister of Foreign Affairs. One member of the group said they were hopeful to be rescued even after their mobile phones had gone out of range and the two female passengers began crying.

While they were on the vessel, one passenger, who gave his name as Darren, said they had tried catching fish to eat. They all said they were treated well by the Venezuelans and received three meals per day and learned a little bit of Spanish from the Guardia Nacional. They also praised the staff of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Venezuela. “They Air Guard and Coast Guard disappointed us. They could have found us. We were right there but they didn’t look,” Darren said.

Some of the group seemed to be angry at media, asking why local media didn’t go looking for them with their cameras. “You know how much trauma people went through and all yuh in our face.” one man said.

Diplomatic co-operation

Acting Minister of Foreign Affairs Bhoe Tewarie, who was on hand to welcome the group back home, said the private vessel was necessary to satisfy the national security issue of both T&T and Venezuela as T&T’s Coast Guard could not enter Venezuelan waters to retrieve them.

“The process worked very well but it took time. There was tremendous collaboration between the Permanent Secretary at the ministry and myself and then all the relevant ministries at different stages, the Ministry of National Security and Ministry of Transport and then finally the Ministry of Finance because of customs,” Tewarie said. He also praised the collaboration among the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Venezuelan Embassy and the Jamaican Embassy in Trinidad.

Both Venezuelan Ambassador Coromoto Godoy and Jamaican Ambassador David Prendergast were also present to greet the group. Tewarie said the main challenge in getting the group back to T&T had to do with citizenship requirements. “Some of them had to get passports or birth papers or national identification. That caused a little problem because we couldn’t process them without knowing that they were bona fide Trinidadians.”

Godoy said she was glad it came to a happy ending and said the collaboration between Venezuela and T&T was great. She said Venezuela was committed to developing relationships with T&T.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-03- ... oast-guard

What an ungrateful ship of fools. You travel such a distance in an open top boat with a defective engine and not enough fuel reserves. Your family took nearly 24hrs to report you missing to authorities and apparently it is the Coast Guard and Air Guard fault.

Well stay in Venezuela, we will start you off with a free roll of Charmin, you will have to get the rest for yourself.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 9th, 2015, 9:27 am

Habit7 wrote:
“They Air Guard and Coast Guard disappointed us. They could have found us. We were right there but they didn’t look,” Darren said.

Coast Guard - Ok please tell me the location of the missing vessel
Caller - Oh gwarm... we right there in the ocean. The only pirogue around. Yuh cyah miss us!

I agree, only two oceans in the entire world, Coast Guard should have known where to look
[/sarcasm]

Postby Chimera » March 9th, 2015, 9:28 am

Shudda leave they BUGWAANAAS right dey. Hell make them pay for the $4000 us boat ride back home.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 9th, 2015, 9:36 am

I wudda gas up their pirogue and tell them find their way back home. The level of their stupidity has actually amazed me.

Postby Mark! » March 9th, 2015, 10:12 am

they sound like some rel punks.

BUT...BUT... all of these media houses employ some of the most dumbest persons on earth. so i wouldnt doubt if his story is 100% false or missing a major part.

these sh!t for brains self proclaimed "journalists" never cease to amaze me.

Postby pete » March 9th, 2015, 10:44 am

Pics of these ungrateful aholes?

Postby DVSTT » March 9th, 2015, 2:36 pm

pete wrote:Pics of these ungrateful aholes?

Could have left them in zuela

Postby noshownogo » March 9th, 2015, 2:46 pm

Drop the rescue effort bill on them

Postby SMc » March 9th, 2015, 2:49 pm

chocolate starfish? I wonder if the 2 women were the JA crew, and if so are they likely to be re/deported.

In other news, Ill just leave there so the young ones know how not to do it...I didnt call any names so no PM's pleases

v1 wrote: some of the most dumbest persons on earth. .

Postby rspann » March 9th, 2015, 2:58 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Kalifa Clyne
Published: Monday, March 9, 2015

The 13 people who reportedly left Marabella on joyride to Tobago, in a pirogue, that ended up drifting to Venezuela returned home yesterday but some of them hid their faces from media cameras. The 11 men and two women covered their faces with T-shirts and other pieces of clothing as they walked to the immigration office at Crews Inn, Chagauramas, to be processed. At 2.35 pm, a Coast Guard escorted the commercial vessel which brought the 13 people, including 11 Trinidadians and two Jamaicans, to the jetty.

The group shouted to the media that the Coast Guard abandoned them after they went missing last Friday. Members of the group said T&T had not done anything for them and that they loved Venezuela. They began chanting “Chavez vive, la lucha sigue,” a phrase which translates to mean Chavez lives, the struggle continues, a chant popular in Venezuela about their previous president Hugo Chavez who died in 2013.

Trevor Cooke, a Marabella resident whose two sons were on the vessel, said he was happy to see his sons home. The Seven C’s, a private commercial vessel, which brought the group home, cost taxpayers around US$4,000, said Dr Bhoe Tewarie, Acting Minister of Foreign Affairs. One member of the group said they were hopeful to be rescued even after their mobile phones had gone out of range and the two female passengers began crying.

While they were on the vessel, one passenger, who gave his name as Darren, said they had tried catching fish to eat. They all said they were treated well by the Venezuelans and received three meals per day and learned a little bit of Spanish from the Guardia Nacional. They also praised the staff of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Venezuela. “They Air Guard and Coast Guard disappointed us. They could have found us. We were right there but they didn’t look,” Darren said.

Some of the group seemed to be angry at media, asking why local media didn’t go looking for them with their cameras. “You know how much trauma people went through and all yuh in our face.” one man said.

Diplomatic co-operation

Acting Minister of Foreign Affairs Bhoe Tewarie, who was on hand to welcome the group back home, said the private vessel was necessary to satisfy the national security issue of both T&T and Venezuela as T&T’s Coast Guard could not enter Venezuelan waters to retrieve them.

“The process worked very well but it took time. There was tremendous collaboration between the Permanent Secretary at the ministry and myself and then all the relevant ministries at different stages, the Ministry of National Security and Ministry of Transport and then finally the Ministry of Finance because of customs,” Tewarie said. He also praised the collaboration among the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Venezuelan Embassy and the Jamaican Embassy in Trinidad.

Both Venezuelan Ambassador Coromoto Godoy and Jamaican Ambassador David Prendergast were also present to greet the group. Tewarie said the main challenge in getting the group back to T&T had to do with citizenship requirements. “Some of them had to get passports or birth papers or national identification. That caused a little problem because we couldn’t process them without knowing that they were bona fide Trinidadians.”

Godoy said she was glad it came to a happy ending and said the collaboration between Venezuela and T&T was great. She said Venezuela was committed to developing relationships with T&T.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-03- ... oast-guard

What an ungrateful ship of fools. You travel such a distance in an open top boat with a defective engine and not enough fuel reserves. Your family took nearly 24hrs to report you missing to authorities and apparently it is the Coast Guard and Air Guard fault.

Well stay in Venezuela, we will start you off with a free roll of Charmin, you will have to get the rest for yourself.

Sense. Any body here will shut down from Marabella to Maracas in the day,and still want to leave for Tobago at 5 pm?

Postby Slartibartfast » March 9th, 2015, 3:20 pm

Lol @ Why didn't the media come looking for them with their cameras... in the ocean!

Postby Chimera » March 9th, 2015, 3:33 pm

boatman must be collect money to take them and doh wanna risk losing it

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 9th, 2015, 8:54 pm

Put them back in a boat , drive them back into the gran baca and then sink the boat, such ungrateful low lives, should have left them in Vene to begin with.

Postby DVSTT » March 9th, 2015, 9:59 pm

BRZ wrote:Put them back in a boat , drive them back into the gran baca and then sink the boat, such ungrateful low lives, should have left them in Vene to begin with.

Should have left them adrift somewhere in the ocean.

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2015, 10:09 pm

Definitely some of the stupidest ppl after hearing them on the news

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » March 9th, 2015, 11:01 pm

James cook on board and they got lost? What d fadda fak is this?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » March 10th, 2015, 9:51 am

going thru the names of crew I realized that on that boat had some gangsters

Postby Slartibartfast » March 10th, 2015, 11:15 am

I want back my US$4000

Postby Redman » March 10th, 2015, 11:41 am

We should have just asked the Venes to fix the boat and fuel it up and bill us.

Would have been cheaper AND they might have gotten lost again.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 10th, 2015, 12:10 pm

pugboy wrote:Definitely some of the stupidest ppl after hearing them on the news

rumour has it they were trying a back door through South America to go join IS ?