Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

kyhamil

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby kyhamil » March 3rd, 2015, 9:16 pm

I had 40+ lbs of rock and it got lost in this tank and sump... I really didnt think this 100% through... and the stupid online calculator set me up said its 60 gallons sump included.
I just fulled another 30 gallons of water and im still short bout 10 to 15
Im filtering and making saltwater as fast ad I can... I threw some of the bio stuff raj sells in it, used the old sand and live rock... so now I need a new protein skimmer cuz mine rated for 50 gallons

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » March 3rd, 2015, 9:19 pm

And the reason I didnt fill the main tabk first is because all my containers were filled when I was breaking down the tank and I needed a spot for my fish... and that was the quickest fix put them in the sump.... buckets had sand, my tubs had new saltwater or rodi water... I needed 1 more big tub

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 3rd, 2015, 9:30 pm

You have an RODI unit to make water?

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » March 3rd, 2015, 9:33 pm

I ordered a unit online... paid like 100 us for it... its small doh... takes bout 5 hrs to full 2 kegs...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 3rd, 2015, 9:50 pm

did it come with a TDS meter? DI runs out rather quickly and has to be replaced.
Whats your TDS readings

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » March 3rd, 2015, 10:05 pm

No it didn't come with one... and haven't checked yet since I have it bout a month and only made 4 gallons so far... was planning to order some test kits for my tank as well... what do you use?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 3rd, 2015, 10:21 pm

4 gal is a lil bit. I bought the TDS meter. A regular DI cartridge makes about 4o-60 gal with a reading of 01. I change my DI at this time. That reading is dependent on water inlet readings

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 3rd, 2015, 10:23 pm

you also need various test kits - Amonia, nitrites, nitrates & PH.
additional for reef tanks are Alk, Cal & Phos

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » March 3rd, 2015, 10:51 pm

Yeah I just ordered the api master testkit, hm digital tds meter...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 3rd, 2015, 11:02 pm

cool.
yuh buy all yuh powerheads?

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » March 3rd, 2015, 11:08 pm

I have 2 and a uv filter... I like the uv it keeps the water clear

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 3rd, 2015, 11:46 pm

never run one on my tank

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 4th, 2015, 12:55 am

Hmm good to see another upgrade being done!

Over the weekend I also changed over my system from my old Chinese tank to my starphire front. Everything is up and running but the nitty gritty of the electricals and tidiness of the sump is still to be done which I will have to complete over the next two weekends.

Planning a new system shouldn't at all be done in a rush. Everything should be double and triple checked. I even did some 3d models of how I wanted everything from the carpentry to the plumbing fittings. And mind you those on the forum would remember me mentioning this upgrade about 7 months ago, so imagine I had been planning from even before then.

I took a couple pics which I will post up once I complete the project.
I must say it was a hell of a lot of work to get everything prepared and not to mention breaking down the old tank and reassembling the new one which literally took me from 6am Sunday to about 9pm.

Will definitely post some of the pics and 3d renderings I did in about a week.

Also just a note on the UV filter, If I can remember correctly, UV filters kill bacteria that may be beneficial to say a refugium if you plan on implementing one in your system so it shouldn't be on 24/7. Again not 100% sure about the types of bacteria and organisms it can kill but it's something worth reading.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » March 4th, 2015, 8:32 am

Ive had and ich problem in a previous tank and since the uv filter was added I never had it again... from my research you place ot before the refugium or area with live rock and sand... it's supposed to kill the bacteria, ich and other parasites at a very eaely stage. .. so it says... also it keeps the water crystal clear

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 4th, 2015, 11:08 am

kyhamil wrote:Ive had and ich problem in a previous tank and since the uv filter was added I never had it again... from my research you place ot before the refugium or area with live rock and sand... it's supposed to kill the bacteria, ich and other parasites at a very eaely stage. .. so it says... also it keeps the water crystal clear

Do you run it 24/7? Also do you use biopellets?

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » March 4th, 2015, 12:34 pm

Yeah it runs 24/7 and the bioballs are before the uv and then after is the refugium area... I got the design online... and bulfreefsupplies forums n youtube videos kinda helped me decide to keep it

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 4th, 2015, 12:38 pm

Cool cool ^

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 4th, 2015, 10:45 pm

There is biopellets and there is bioballs.......its not the same thing.......... which is it.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » March 4th, 2015, 10:53 pm

Bioballs...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 4th, 2015, 11:02 pm

OK............

UV only targets free-floating microorganisms, not nuisances attached to your fish, substrate, plants, decorations, or corals. For optimum performance, UV sterilizers should be placed after your biological or mechanical filtration. Also, the flow rate through the sterilizer should be controlled, based on the manufacturer's recommendations. This ensures the UV sterilizer is targeting microorganisms - not debris - and has the correct amount of exposure time to eradicate (kill) the nuisance.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 4th, 2015, 11:11 pm

What is Cryptocaryon?

Ich, short for Ichthyophthirius (pronounced "ick") is an external parasite often referred to as "white spot disease." Aquarium fish develop Ich due to stress or improper aquarium conditions. Most often, it is brought on by fluctuating aquarium temperatures.
The symptoms of Ich can start with fish holding their fins close to their body. Progressive symptoms include fish hanging at the surface, as though it's hard to breathe, or fish trying to scratch themselves on rocks. Eventually, the parasites grow large enough to be easily visible, and fish appear to be "salted." The white spots may first appear on fins or gills but can eventually cover the entire body.

Quick treatment is required to save the fish. However, prevention, in the way of proper fish husbandry including stable water temperatures, is much easier.

Cryptocaryon is a fully ciliated protozoan that is present in all saltwater environments. It is prevalent in marine aquariums, aquaculture ponds, and in import and wholesale holding environments. This widespread protozoan penetrates the skin and gills of the fish. Depending on the immune status of the fish, it can cause symptoms as mild as just a few small white spots to more severe symptoms including severe irritation, loss of appetite, lethargy, severe respiratory distress, and death.

Why do fish get Cryptocaryon?
Most wild fish are exposed to low levels of this parasite but are able to effectively fight off the infection without becoming seriously ill. In contrast, due to a relatively small volume of water and a concentrated population of fish, the number of Cryptocaryon has the opportunity to explode in the home aquarium. High levels of stress caused by poor water conditions, improper diet, or aggression from existing tank mates can further aggravate the situation. As a result, even low, non-problematic numbers of Cryptocaryon protozoan can rapidly cause serious infections.

Identifying Cryptocaryon
Cryptocaryon is not too difficult to identify because of the characteristic white spots. The white spots are 0.5-2.0 mm in size and have a tendency to appear first on the pectoral fins. As a result, infected fish may swim with folded or clamped fins. As the disease progresses, the spots will become more wide spread and the eyes of the infected fish may become cloudy. A secondary fungal infection may also appear on the skin. If the infection is concentrated in the gills or is in the early stages, the fish may show irritation, respiratory distress, and lethargy without having any visual spots

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 4th, 2015, 11:34 pm

Just to let you know, I have four large tangs in my tank, all of them over 2.5 years. The sailfin and the yellow is from inception, (had them before I set up the tank - 4+yrs) then the hippo tang (approx. 3 yrs), and lastly the powder brown (approx 2.5yrs). I have other fish in the tank also. August will make it 4 yrs the tank up and running. Ever so often, maybe 2-3 days every 2-3 mths, the hippo tang will get a small dose of ich.................. no other fish will get it. To this day, I have never taken him out and treated him, I have never treated the tank, never raised temps or dropped salinity or have I run a UV light. Sometimes its just the lil stress he gets from the other tangs. Once the fish is properly fed they are good to go. And if you are going to say use a skunk cleaner shrimp, well that is a myth. Scientists did a research and cut open 1000 skunk cleaners after having keeping them in ick infested tanks, not one of them had an ick cyst in them. They say the shrimp maybe removes it, but never ingests it.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » March 4th, 2015, 11:42 pm

Ive read that post before somewhere... I remember it from my research... the last batch of fish I got was from a place In campo area... and they all died within 3 weeks ... had ich... that was my first tank bout a yr ago... but honestly since ive had the uv up n running niether tank fresh or salt has shown signs of any kind of bacteria or disease. .. so ignorance may be bliss but as I see it if it aint broke dont fix it... lol

Oh im still trying to filter bout 15 gallons of water... water pressure low still... took bout 3 hrs to make bout 6 gallons

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 4th, 2015, 11:56 pm

Did'nt the RODI unit come with a pump?

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » March 5th, 2015, 6:16 am

Nah it didnt... next 1 I buy id get a gd 1

xxstitch69xx

Postby xxstitch69xx » March 5th, 2015, 9:34 am

FS: Two King 3 pumps
$700 for both.
Used for 3 months, excellent condition.

SOLD
Last edited by xxstitch69xx on March 9th, 2015, 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » March 5th, 2015, 6:18 pm

So I filled the display with water... and tested the system... no leaks... and did the power outage test I have bouy 6-8 inches of clearance when the back siphon stops... now to setup my auto top off and buy the lights from amazon... next project would be to build and enclosure and hood to hide the mechanics, sump n wires...

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 6th, 2015, 12:20 am

Finally getting about to posting these pics from seaworld.

This is definitely one of then best tanks i've ever seen,

Didnt have any of the maintenance guys around, I wanted to know what type of lighting and wave makers etc they use.
But definitely an amazing tank!!

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 7th, 2015, 7:04 pm

Nice tank. Was to go seaworld a few weeks ago but decided to go the Miami boatshow instead................................. you planning to go to MACNA in Washington in Sep?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 9th, 2015, 9:36 pm

I really want to but won't be able to this year. Next year for sure I'll go though... I shouldn't have these classes to worry about.

Every year I always want to go that boat show but never made it lol. Eventually though.