San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

abbow

Re: San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Postby abbow » January 9th, 2015, 11:10 am

dont even know who the guy is....le inspector ie... heard abt it from the guy directly opposite the caca whose water is flecking up the road....

grant trace patched some places....it was much worst before...mondesir rd they patched it, then more trucks...now 4 x 4's needed to pass some parts..

there is alot of old people that normally would take a walk on evenings....they cant, the mud, water, potholes, speeding trucks, dust, heavy equipment.....too much risk for them to be anywhere on that road.. the cricket ground is being used by OAS workers as a car park...now normal work is fine...but the contractor have 2 - 12 hour shifts.. 24hrs of constant trucks and excavator...less than 200 ft in some cases from people homes...cant wait for the hw to complete...hopefully they will fix back these roads they totally destroyed...buh then again...Kams will ask for votes for it to be fixed.

tell me when you coming, if i am home i'll meet you there (731-6320)....heard a section they prepared to pave failed when they tested it...so it will have to be removed and then resurfaced, then paved...

TriP

Postby TriP » January 11th, 2015, 9:16 am

Work continues apace on Mosquito Creek section of the Point Fortin Highway
b.jpg

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2015, 12:13 pm

allyuh listening yet?

http://m.guardian.co.tt/letters/2015-01 ... omic-wound

"In mid 2010, a technical team of the Inter-American Development Bank met with senior ministers of the Government, party officials, and state bureaucrats and presented them with the results of its feasibility study of the Point Fortin highway system. These results, given in a power point presentation, stated the following:
1. The highway system was over-designed
2. It was too expensive
3. A better system of road connectivity was possible
4. The tendering process for this project was questionable
5. The IADB would not entertain any proposal for funding this project"

or allyuh still want to cover for this sheit ass government?

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2015, 12:41 pm

^^^ you are quoting Wayne Kublalsingh, progenitor of the 200 day hunger fast :roll:

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2015, 8:27 pm

Habit7 wrote:^^^ you are quoting Wayne Kublalsingh, progenitor of the 200 day hunger fast :roll:

fellas this highway was railroaded and you know it. even if yuh didnt want the highway yuh was getting it. that is because of the very lucrative kickbacks setup. they wasnt going to let go that money. yes you needed a highway and all support the idea of improved connectivity. but intelligent people could tell that the highway project was managed with foul intentions. u are not getting value for money. then allyuh does want to come on tuner and lowball ppl who giving you exceptional deal prices already. just wait.. prices go double with what this government do this country. wait. pad yuh bamsee for $10 doubles.

Postby RBphoto » January 13th, 2015, 9:20 am

Still want the highway.

Postby nervewrecker » February 17th, 2015, 1:57 pm

Mon desir

Back to oropouche from mon desir

Postby nervewrecker » February 17th, 2015, 1:59 pm

Silverstream back to Mon Desir

Road closed yes

Silverstream towards Grant Trace

Postby nervewrecker » February 17th, 2015, 2:06 pm

Grant Trace to Parry lands / Point Fortin

Grant Trace back to Silverstream

cliff here yes :lol:

Some random equipment parked up

Drainage I assume

Always wanted to go through here

Thanks for the tour Abbow

Postby UML » February 17th, 2015, 2:58 pm

If only PPG could win Pt Fortin for what they did for them which the PNM never did.

abbow

Postby abbow » February 17th, 2015, 3:16 pm

np nerve....

the NGC road you went into there could take you all the way to pt fortin but some areas u may need a 4 x 4......went driving on it during the rainy season....lots of fun..

that pic with the sign ...that spot used to be our cricket ground..my uncles bar was right where you took that pic..

lemme know when you passing through again...

Postby nervewrecker » February 17th, 2015, 3:41 pm

That was one of my hideaway bar's to drink in on a Sunday. :lol:

I drove up the NGC road with my car some years ago and met a gate. It was closed.

Might go exploring a day and see what I find.

abbow

Postby abbow » February 17th, 2015, 6:54 pm

at the gate 4 x 4 is needed...well in the rain season... :lol:

but security have been beefed up in recent years...usually armed men in black 4 x 4's or SUV's show up if they suspect or see any activity on the cameras...

i used to drink free over there..actually had my first beer there...

TeamEVO

Postby TeamEVO » February 17th, 2015, 11:04 pm

Nervewrecker, thanks for the updates, Nice Pics...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 17th, 2015, 11:53 pm

abbow wrote:np nerve....

the NGC road you went into there could take you all the way to pt fortin but some areas u may need a 4 x 4......went driving on it during the rainy season....lots of fun..

that pic with the sign ...that spot used to be our cricket ground..my uncles bar was right where you took that pic..

That road stops and the dirt track along the wayleave continues to Jangal.... From there you will meet the oil field road that comes out in the guapo area...You can then take that road to point. The wayleave however goes pass the dump area and eventually into mangrove. Alot of that area has been cleared for the highway.

Postby zoom rader » February 18th, 2015, 5:18 am

UML wrote:If only PPG could win Pt Fortin for what they did for them which the PNM never did.

The once Hard core pnmites are now beginning to understand that PNM held them back all these years. More and more once PNM ppl have broken the bonds of PNM Slavery and fast becoming successful.

abbow

Postby abbow » February 18th, 2015, 6:49 am

kamakazi wrote:
abbow wrote:np nerve....

That road stops and the dirt track along the wayleave continues to Jangal.... From there you will meet the oil field road that comes out in the guapo area...You can then take that road to point. The wayleave however goes pass the dump area and eventually into mangrove. Alot of that area has been cleared for the highway.

yup...but lot less Jangal now...and those oilfield roads...quite easy to get lost if you dont know the drive....

Postby RBphoto » February 18th, 2015, 10:12 am

Postby nervewrecker » February 18th, 2015, 8:38 pm

Ah teef some pics down Point Fortin before I get run.

grad

Postby grad » February 24th, 2015, 1:54 pm

Two more highway segments to open

TWO sections of the Solomon Hochoy Highway extension to Point Fortin will be opened next week.

Also to be opened to the public will be a portion of the Debe interchange.

This is according to head of the National Infrastructure Development Company Limited (Nidco) Dr Carson Charles, who said it was difficult to get high productivity during the Christmas season hence the extended deadline for completion of the segments.

Yesterday, Charles said: “He (the contractor) did not make it because he would have had to work very hard during the Christmas month and January and it is always a challenge to try to get high productivity at that time.”

Last December, Charles said several segments of the billion-dollar highway and the completed Debe interchange were expected to be opened by the end of January.

He said the new segments to be opened would be from Dumfries Road to Paria Suites Hotel and Conference Centre in La Romaine and St Mary’s Junction to Branch Road Rousillac.

From Dumfries Road to Paria Suites, two new lanes will be opened up to the public while work continues on the existing two lanes, “so later on you will get the four lanes”, Charles told the Express.

He said part of the Debe interchange will open to traffic next week, and the entire interchange in April.

“You can’t put the interchange fully in use until you have somewhere to go past the interchange,” said Charles. “They are working on the segment from Debe to get down to Gandhi Village and we are hoping to have that segment also ready by April.

“The plan is to open the interchange fully along with that segment so people will be able to use the interchange and by pass the Debe traffic and get to Gandhi Village and then, of course, into the Penal area.”

By June, the segment from Paria Suites Hotel and Conference Centre to Godineau Bridge should be completed, Charles said.

He added that contracts have already been awarded for the refurbishment of Branch Road, Rousillac and M2 Ring Road. Works should begin in March, he said.

Charles said it would cost about $40 million to fix the M2 Ring Road.

“The contract will go on for several months but the contractor will prepare it in a usable condition at first so people could actually use it while construction goes on.”

The last segment of the highway scheduled to be completed runs from San Francique to Seelal Trace, just before Siparia, since there were still acquisitions to do along that area and a number of oil wells still to be capped, he said.

Charles said Nidco was in discussions with Petrotrin for the removal of oil and gas lines in that area and a contract to Petrotrin was expected to be awarded soon.

There were no major hiccups, he said, except for those “ongoing challenges”.

And he reaffirmed that there were enough funds to continue work on the highway for this financial year as work continues on various parts.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Two ... 61801.html

Postby UML » February 24th, 2015, 2:01 pm

niceeee voters love this type of news 8-)

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 24th, 2015, 6:37 pm

Can't wait for the M2 refurb to begin. That road is beyond horrible.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 24th, 2015, 8:31 pm

grad wrote:. . .Charles said it would cost about $40 million to fix the M2 Ring Road. . .

:| $40M to fix the failed sections of the M2 Ring Road as opposed to $30M+ to fix three small failed sections of Manzanilla-Mayaro Road? Something is definitely not right there.

Postby nervewrecker » February 24th, 2015, 8:37 pm

40m is pocket change now.
Ent that's how much it did cost to refurb baliser house?

I wonder who pocket getting lined...ah mean, being awarded the contract.

Ghandi village have some work doing I see.

TriP

Postby TriP » February 24th, 2015, 9:01 pm

NR8 wrote:Can't wait for the M2 refurb to begin. That road is beyond horrible.

Beyond..Beyond..Beyond Horrible

abbow

Postby abbow » February 25th, 2015, 8:34 am

these newspaper people eh...

its not Branch Trace.....it is Grants Trace..some refer to it as Grants Road...Rousillac.

and its about time they fix it...craters all over and my suspension is in a mess.

besides...when the hw reaches Grants Trace....there is no where for traffic to go if they dont fix the road

grad

Postby grad » February 25th, 2015, 8:42 am

TriP wrote:
NR8 wrote:Can't wait for the M2 refurb to begin. That road is beyond horrible.

Beyond..Beyond..Beyond Horrible

They should fix the dirt road from woodland ground to the M2. would save rel time by not going to the t junction

Postby nervewrecker » February 26th, 2015, 10:50 am

abbow wrote:these newspaper people eh...

its not Branch Trace.....it is Grants Trace..some refer to it as Grants Road...Rousillac.

and its about time they fix it...craters all over and my suspension is in a mess.

besides...when the hw reaches Grants Trace....there is no where for traffic to go if they dont fix the road

They said seelal trace too. Its sewlal trace.

Blasted illiterate reporters.

Oropouche to mon desir rumored to open next week.

Wuck pumping down silver stream! Pal posted some pics on Facebook.

Postby UML » February 26th, 2015, 3:34 pm

Kall Co worker injured during highway protest

By Sue-Ann Wayow sue-ann.wayow@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Feb 25, 2015 at 10:38 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 25, 2015 at 10:38 PM ECT

PROTESTERS in Point Fortin yesterday used sling shots to launch stones at equipment being used on the extension of the Solomon Hochoy Highway to Point Fortin, resulting in the injury of an employee.
Police reports are around 11 a.m., the group of protesters began hitting the equipment belonging to Kall Co Contractors, which is subcontracted by OAS Construtora to work on the highway.
One stone hit an excavator, breaking the glass and some shards went into the eyes of a Kall Co employee.
He was taken to Point Fortin Area Hospital for treatment.
The people, claiming to be farmers, were protesting against what they said was non-payment of money by the National Infrastructure Development Company Ltd (Nidco) for land to be used for the highway, said Point Fortin Mayor Clyde Paul.
The protest took place at Petrotrin oil fields in Point Fortin, in an area where people would have traditionally planted their crops.
Paul said Nidco was expected to meet with the Point Fortin Borough Corporation to deal with the issue.
“Some people may genuinely be farmers and others we are not quite sure. We had to discuss all of that,” he said. “That meeting has not come up yet. That was supposed to be held about three weeks ago and they told me they would come the next day.”
He said people were wondering exactly what was taking place in Point Fortin with regards to the highway project and especially the Dunlop roundabout, a crucial link-up.
The new Point Fortin hospital is also to be built some 100 metres away from the roundabout.
“We anticipate some trafficking problems and we want to find out exactly what OAS intends to do,” said Paul.
Attempts to contact Nidco president Dr Carson Charles yesterday were futile.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kal ... 33061.html

the pnm will do everything in their power for this project to not be completed to save face for their underachievements.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 26th, 2015, 5:28 pm

UML wrote:the pnm will do everything in their power for this project to not be completed to save face for their underachievements.

:| Fact: When the PNM were in power, the UNC did whatever they could for the project not to start. Moonilal and his blind sheep followers held protests against the project. There is documented evidence of these protests. Moonilal went and lied in Parliament the other day saying he was never against the project. He is a hypocrite, and, obviously, a liar. Now that the PPG is in power, the highway is being pushed through as if it is their project.

I am for the building of the highway, once the tax paying citizen gets proper value for money. It doesn't matter to me which administration builds it.