3ne2nr fishermen

JayB27

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby JayB27 » February 17th, 2015, 8:38 pm

proton17 wrote:Manzan today, jus some 2 pound catfish. Had a good bit of mullet liming out in d surf, d cavalli will find dem soon enough.

Nice man that's good to hear. I wanna head this week!

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 18th, 2015, 9:53 am

Well this is how the kayaking crew fared yesterday, not as well as we hoped as las cuevas was to rough, spent too much time trying to handle the waves vs fishing, ended up back in Damien's bay and we nabbed a lot of the grunts and some grouper
image.jpg
image.jpg

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 18th, 2015, 10:31 am

you hold that grunt on an artificial or you had bait on that hook too?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 18th, 2015, 10:51 am

I does hold grunt an grouper on sabiki...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 18th, 2015, 12:24 pm

I does usually hold jacks on sabiki, but i use the smallest size sabikis, never tried the larger ones.

proton17

Postby proton17 » February 18th, 2015, 6:30 pm

Wat all yuh caught for d carnival?

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 18th, 2015, 6:40 pm

So i went to Paragrant bay , it involved a 30 mins off road 4x4 adventure and a 20-30 mins hike to a cliff overseeing a "basin" , as soon as bait touch the water on the first cast was small grouper , lippey and cro cro. Bite started 8ish and ended 10ish.

For the effort that went into reaching that spot it was a morning well spent fishing.

Also saw stinyray on the water surface , couple guys who were spear fishing got lobster too.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 18th, 2015, 8:06 pm

^^ i tell you down there have plenty lippy

proton17

Postby proton17 » February 19th, 2015, 7:53 pm

All yuh hear bout dat oil spill down chag?

bumpie

Postby bumpie » February 19th, 2015, 8:22 pm

Serious were exactly , did it made news.

Postby joker » February 19th, 2015, 8:30 pm

^^ yup

Postby meccalli » February 19th, 2015, 8:57 pm

That happen over 3 weeks now on the docks, they try to keep it quiet. The mate on the ship showed the guys the wrong hatch to open and dumped oil into the docks ballasts which was running into the sea but it was being contained continuously, they paid fishermen in the area to spray the chem. to break it up continually as well as small barges.

proton17

Postby proton17 » February 19th, 2015, 9:01 pm

Oh in d papers dey talk like if it happened on carnival weekend.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » February 19th, 2015, 10:05 pm

damn fukheds

Postby meccalli » February 19th, 2015, 10:39 pm

ImageDSCN4466 by meccalli, on Flickr

ImageDSCN4464 by meccalli, on Flickr

These were taken on the 4th or 5th of this month. They did a good job of containment, that boat has a big bill to foot.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 20th, 2015, 8:04 am

And friggin Caridoc denying that it came from them? disgusting.

Hope they not using Corexit to break up the oil, because it will just sink to the bottom and coat the seabed. Heard that oil was affecting as far as Scotland Bay, Gasparee and Monos.

Postby meccalli » February 20th, 2015, 8:11 am

Yeah, I guess they playing with words- its the mate's fault ultimately though. Most of the oil was trapped in the ballast tanks and cleaned. I'll find out the chemical, think its 1k us a barrel...

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 20th, 2015, 8:34 am

Wow man so that's it for the whole west coast just about now huh.

Postby joker » February 22nd, 2015, 1:20 am

well today was a waste thanks to the rough seas .

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » February 22nd, 2015, 1:36 am

meccalli wrote:Yeah, I guess they playing with words- its the mate's fault ultimately though. Most of the oil was trapped in the ballast tanks and cleaned. I'll find out the chemical, think its 1k us a barrel...

I think the approved chemical for this is 'De-oil it'

Postby meccalli » February 22nd, 2015, 6:49 am

It's a company called kaizen that's handling the actual spill apparently, simple green is being used on the docks itself.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 22nd, 2015, 9:07 am

meccalli wrote:It's a company called kaizen that's handling the actual spill apparently, simple green is being used on the docks itself.

Ok well if its simple green being used thats a good thing.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 22nd, 2015, 11:19 am

Catfish all carnival week when i landed them, if it wasn't a catfish it would bust my 50lb wire leaders and go with my gear.. lost plenty hook's, weights and wire.

Postby meccalli » February 22nd, 2015, 11:34 am

Sharks or rays maybe?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 22nd, 2015, 11:43 am

Didn't see any rays, not saying they weren't there but my bet was sharks. Had a nice pre-rugged 60 lb setup with 2 6' mustards and a 12 oz weight.. as I dropped the line 4 - 500ft from shore started getting minor bites by the tide i tied it off on a tree line was already busted. Minor fray from the wire of the 1st hook closer to the weight, atleast i got back the 2nd hook. Water was mostly clear (8+ft visibility)with the odd branch and man-o-war but no issues.

Postby meccalli » February 22nd, 2015, 12:15 pm

No reservations about swimming out with bait in hand now lol? Need to paddle out a shark one day and see what you get. I noticed alot of man of wars where I was as well, suspect they probably shut off the bite somewhat.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 22nd, 2015, 2:32 pm

What's going on these days guys? Where the fish at from shore...? How is Manzan?

proton17

Postby proton17 » February 22nd, 2015, 2:41 pm

Went manzan dis morning, had a lil seaweed on shore but was ok to deal with, caught a 3.5 lb pompano for dinner later. Lol
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1424630416.976449.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1424630443.623369.jpg

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 22nd, 2015, 2:50 pm

proton17 wrote:Went manzan dis morning, had a lil seaweed on shore but was ok to deal with, caught a 3.5 lb pompano for dinner later. Lol
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1424630416.976449.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1424630443.623369.jpg

Nice man nice! :D

Postby meccalli » February 22nd, 2015, 3:35 pm

Sweet.